Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jastine Valdez found dead. No Ana discussion please. Mod warning post 1

Jesus I'm reminded again today to stay away from twitter. Seems this is being turned into a societal issue by some, yet society is made up of individuals. I'm sick of being tarred with the same brush as rapists and murders. There is one disgraceful person responsible for these crimes. Our society is not enabling these people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 DaveTheLad

Anyone know what job he had within construction? Looks like a fella I used to work with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,881 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

What if his victim was still alive somewhere? The Gardai didn't know that. What if he has done his before?
    It might have been useful to question him
    I have zero sympathy for this scumbag,in fact I'd favour hanging him after a trial; but shooting first isn't the way to go.

What would happen if the lunactic had killed a garda with the knife? Once he pulled that knife all bets are off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,353 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Yes, this struck me too. Within 45 minutes or so they said. So quick :( Hard to believe it all happened in such a short space of time.

It sounds like she was very unlucky and in the wrong place at the wrong time.

Having said that, if it hadn't been Jastine, it would have been some other poor girl. It seems like that maniac headed out with the intention of killing someone that evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,201 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Jesus I'm reminded again today to stay away from twitter. Seems this is being turned into a societal issue by some, yet society is made up of individuals. I'm sick of being tarred with the same brush as rapists and murders. There is one disgraceful person responsible for these crimes. Our society is not enabling these people.

Twitter Instagram even this place half the time nothing is free from it.

Jesus I'm reminded again today to stay away from twitter.

IBDOjgr.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭Jeff2

Omackeral wrote: »
    What the f*ck

That's mad alright.
    Dog gets an early and longer walk tonight so I don't read crazy posts to come.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

theballz wrote: »
    Then why say such a distasteless thing? You’re a disturbed individual

The comment doesn't even make sense????????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭take everything

RIP to this poor woman.
    Sickening.
    God bless her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Mickey Mike

Just for me to say, words cannot express how I feel, how in the name of God could any man do what he did! I'll never understand it. It boggles the mind, why why why. And also the young beautiful 14 year old, what happened there. Such a dreadful world we have to live in.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭bloodless_coup

A note found in the car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

God bless the poor girl, life is so precious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭Missix

Rte reporting that a blood stained note found in the car may have had info about where the body was,and the motive.

He was to cowardly to top himself then,suicide by cop it would seem.

doylefe wrote: »
    A note found in the car

Yes, reported by RTE's Paul Reynolds just now.

It seems the murderer may have already been planning to kill himself in the car before the Gardai arrived

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,233 ✭✭✭giveitholly

A note found in the car

Did they give any info as to what might be on the note

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Mod note: AnneFrank, do not post in this thread again.

Buford T. Justice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

Boards has responded in the majority of posts quite civilised and with empathy, yes it's kinda turned into a 'socially awkward' debate, but those things blow over and trolls are outed or move on.
    Boards ROCKS....

No, we can't just ignore the vileness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

They reported that a note was found in the car hours ago, well before they found the body?

Did they give any info as to what might be on the note

Sounds like it may have been a suicide note from what Paul was saying : he speculates that Gardai may even have interrupted him killing himself in the car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭theballz

I have a source in the Garda that listed the following (that RTÉ has since confirmed so I am happy to share.)

When the Garda approached the car the man had self harmed, he had slit his wrists and legs. They went to the car and removed the knife from before he slit his own throat. He then moved to pick up something in the car (which they thought was a gun) and they shot him.

He was shot in upper arm shoulder area which exited through to his head. They did not intend to kill. The man had left a letter with details of the murder and intended to take his own life.

My source is a member of the Gardai and told me this earlier today but I didn’t want to share. It sounds like RTÉ are doing the same now

I have a source in the Garda that listed the following (that RThas since confirmed so I am happy to share.)

When the Garda approached the car the man had self harmed, he had slit his wrists and legs. They went to the car and removed the knife from before he slit his own throat. He then moved to pick up something in the car (which they thought was a gun) and they shot him.

He was shot in upper arm shoulder area which exited through to his head. They did not intend to kill. The man had left a letter with details of the murder and intended to take his own life.

My source is a member of the Gardai and told me this earlier today but I didn’t want to share. It sounds like RTare doing the same now

F*cking hell, that's grim if true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭wellwhynot

I have a source in the Garda that listed the following (that RTÉ has since confirmed so I am happy to share.)

My source is a member of the Gardai and told me this earlier today but I didn’t want to share. It sounds like RTÉ are doing the same now

I heard the same from a person who knew Mark and the family.

wellwhynot wrote: »
    I heard the same from a person who knew Mark and the family.

What did he say Mark was usually like?
    Poor family, they must be in bits?

Then ban all Yes voters because someone joked about voting Yes in this thread too.

Or just have a bit of cop on and respect and don't bring something so utterly irrelevant into this thread at all, from either side. How bout that?

Omackeral wrote: »
    Or just have a bit of cop on and respect and don't bring something so utterly irrelevant into this thread at all, from either side. How bout that?

What have I got to do with it? I didn't post anything like that or suggest a certain group of people be banned to suit my own agenda.

I mean everyone, in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

So many families suffering this week . Anas family , Jastines family , the Gardai and families and the families of two murderers . I hope they all get strength to cope and get support and love . My heart goes out to them all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭TheChosenOne_

Im guessing that tomorrow mornings papers will be running with what details were in the letter?

Or maybe we'll find out in 12months after the inquest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Lackey

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/suspect-in-jastine-valdez-case-recalled-as-a-quiet-man-1.3503362

It says here that the guards didn't arrive at his door until Sunday...
    But it also says he is a quantity surveyor, so it may be wrong

I'm still confused what action was taken after the initial report of an abduction.

if the above is true I'm delighted he got shot and didn't get to kill himself, dirty rotten pr!k.