Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jastine Valdez found dead. No Ana discussion please. Mod warning post 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Robocopwannabe

So I have a problem with woman because I point out that the woman in the video weren't anything to write home about?

I was making the point that the fact he couldnt even hold the attention of normal looking women when combined with his sense of entitlement must have made him furious and this built and built in him until one day he acted.

You are clearly objectifying women, suggesting it should be all about looks whether a man bothers to chat them up and whether they respond to said man. So all women you consider ugly or below your standards should fall at your feet should you grace them with your precious company

And you can’t gather a synopsis like you have made from a 20 second video clip of a man I presume you never met before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭ProudIRISHman

So he took her because of her nationality, which makes sense because a lot of Irish men think they are God's gift to girls from poorer nationalities.

Then this contradictory guff;

Even if you're not a troll, get some help.

That would be the sense of entitlement coming in.. he felt he could take her and do what he wanted because he deserved it and he is superior to her. This is a common theme in most rapists

Idont need any help for calling out a creep as a creep. Did I miss something or is the guy in the video not the same guy that abducted and murdered an innocent girl?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

She was an only child :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭jaykay74

I wonder will we get some sympathetic background pieces, pillar of the community, did a lot of good etc. like with the guy who murdered his wife and kids recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,353 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

RTE News reporting that poor Jastine probably died very shortly after being abducted, less than an hour or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

jaykay74 wrote: »
    I wonder will we get some sympathetic background pieces, pillar of the community, did a lot of good etc. like with the guy who murdered his wife and kids recently.

That'll be interesting. I find the constant need to state "father of two" strange also. Like being a father makes he móre or less a monster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Getting back to the crime itself.
    When the Gardai were first alerted that a woman had been punched and dragged in to a car, what did they do then? They were given a reg. plate and a witness account of an assault and abduction.
    When did they follow that up and go to the registered address of the owner of that car? Or did they only start following it up, after receiving a report of a missing person later that night and several hours after the first report?
    They only started searching the scene of the abduction the next morning.
    I won't hold my breath waiting for the likes of Paul Reynolds to ask hard questions of the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,993 ✭✭✭eigrod

This 9 o clock news is one of the most upsetting I ever remember. Lump in my throat. Such an absolutely awful end to 2 beautiful young lives with so much ahead of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

Rip Jastine, I'm so sorry, I wish our country valued life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,964 ✭✭✭caviardreams

Strazdas wrote: »
    RTE News reporting that poor Jastine probably died very shortly after being abducted, less than an hour or something.

Yes, this struck me too. Within 45 minutes or so they said. So quick :( Hard to believe it all happened in such a short space of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,768 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

When the gardia were first alerted that a woman had been punched and dragged in to a car, what did they do then? They were given a reg. plate and a witness account of an assault and abduction.
    When did they follow that up and go to the registered address of the owner of that car? Or did they only start following it up, after receiving a report of a missing person later that nigh several hours after the first report?
    I won't hold my breath waiting for the likes of Paul Reynolds to ask hard questions of the Gardai.

They didn't have the the plate to start. They had a partial reg, as I understand. Then cctv to get the full reg. Called to his house...got his mobile number and began trying to locate using that.

That's a rough outline of what I gleaned anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,063 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

jaykay74 wrote: »

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭oneilla

When the Gardai were first alerted that a woman had been punched and dragged in to a car, what did they do then? They were given a reg. plate and a witness account of an assault and abduction.
    When did they follow that up and go to the registered address of the owner of that car? Or did they only start following it up, after receiving a report of a missing person later that night and several hours after the first report?

Afaik the full reg plate was only released yesterday afternoon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,993 ✭✭✭eigrod

He obviously chucked her body deep in to the gorse like a rag doll. The absolute evil cowardly bullying murdering bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭autumnbelle

His wife is seemingly pregnant with his third child. God love her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭JaMarcus

Garda

Garda is in one you know, or they've said so publicly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

The last 10 pages of this thread are car crash stuff.
    Strazdas wrote: »

You know I was wondering about this. AGS will be put through the ringer about the response times and whether they even summoned the traffic corps that would have been out. All will come out in time about what happened between 5pm and 11.20pm, the first report and the family phone call.

I was also thinking of the context of the video. If it is footage from Saturday night, then what has been reported as time of death makes it so sinister.

Anyway I'm out. Fúcked up place we are living in.

oneilla wrote: »
    Afaik the full reg plate was only released yesterday afternoon

I know they only released the full reg. plate yesterday afternoon to the public but when did they have the full reg. plate I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭Tefral

You'll have to do better than that. The credibility of the Gardai ain't that good these days.

Source is probably the whatsapp messages with screen grabs and videos of the individual in question id say that are doing the rounds at the moment.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,992 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Terribly sad to hear she lost her life this way, so young. Can't imagine what her final moments were like. Maybe something can be named after her, if there is any good to come from this. No doubt Dr. Marie Cassidy's team will bring answers in the coming days. Thoughts with Jastine's family.

RIP, poor girl.
    Devastated for her family.

If anything, was hoping it was quick.

As always with these cases, I hate that the focus lands on the perpetrator or the guards or who knew what when or the weirdness of the situation instead of on the victim: the real "person". For her family it's all about her life and friends and achievements and potential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,794 ✭✭✭snotboogie

Yes, this struck me too. Within 45 minutes or so they said. So quick :( Hard to believe it all happened in such a short space of time.

At least the suffering wasn't as prolonged as it seemed it could have been. This is just horrific though, it's sad to say but the most shocking aspect is how brazen it was; abducting a woman in broad daylight, in his wife's car, with another vehicle driving right behind him and continued the journey (some are saying on the M50) with her extremely distressed in the back seat (I wonder if she managed to get from the boot to the back seat in an attempt to escape) and he still got her alone and got to murder her. I mean, what can you say :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭gctest50

You'd get a clear picture of what he was like - using a carpet knife to threaten someone ( who had a gun and well able to use it )
    It is understood Hennessy was armed with a Stanley blade and had threatened the detective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭TheChosenOne_

Amidst all of this, there are still numerous lunatics on twitter complaining about the garda detective shooting this waste man dead.

He couldn't have shot him enough in my very honest and correct opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭Sean 18

snotboogie wrote: »
    At least the suffering wasn't as prolonged as it seemed it could have been. This is just horrific though, it's sad to say but the most shocking aspect is how brazen it was; abducting a woman in broad daylight, in his wife's car, with another vehicle driving right behind him and continued the journey (some are saying on the M50) with her extremely distressed in the back seat (I wonder if she managed to get from the boot to the back seat in an attempt to escape) and he still got her alone and got to murder her. I mean, what can you say :(
    I wondering how many more his abducted in the past

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 Conor1974

He was barely able to stand probably had no idea where he was. Do you pull all the ladies when you are in that state?

I’d say he may have been a local eejit though and that’s explain why there are videos of him from strangers hoping he’s about to do something odd.
    Probably known locally for being a bit of an odd drunk.

Big drunk.Wasnt he up in court soon for serious drink driving offenses.
    Crashing into several cars and leaving the scene

Like in the case of poor s Karen Buckley in Glasgow. Seems to have been moments / few minutes until he fatally attacked her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭Jeff2

obi604 wrote: »
    What do people think went on here. Your man seemed normal but then I heard he had a few previous issues.

Wonder did he just go mad or did he even know the girl etc.

Seems a very strange case.

When I was young our nextdoor neighbour would come home from the pub and all hell would kicked off in their house.
    My dad told me the man would be great craic in the pub and you could work with someone and have pints with them every weekend and never know what they are really like.

Amidst all of this, there are still numerous lunatics on twitter complaining about the garda detective shooting this waste man dead.

He couldn't have shot him enough in my very honest and correct opinion

What if his victim was still alive somewhere? The Gardai didn't know that. What if he has done his before?
    It might have been useful to question him
    I have zero sympathy for this scumbag,in fact I'd favour hanging him after a trial; but shooting first isn't the way to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,609 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

AnneFrank wrote: »
    No I value all life, I'm sickened by it, god bless her poor family Rip

Then why did you post something like that. There is a thread dedicated to the other discussion. It's sickening to use her death to make a joke and push an agenda