Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jastine Valdez found dead. No Ana discussion please. Mod warning post 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

Just got sent a video of him picking up the Nissan from a garage last year. So strange to watch after what unfolded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Mod-Seeing as a body has been found I've unstuck the thread. Also thread title will remain till confirmation from the Gardai. Lets hold on to the shred of hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭ProudIRISHman

Am I the only one pissed off at all the cars who rang into the Gardai to report seeing a woman in distress being driven down the motorway but never thought about following the car? I am not looking for heroics here but honestly is it too much to ask for the person to follow behind the car while on the phone to the guards??? A life could have been saved.

Too many people in this country never want to be inconvenienced. And following the car would only be that, an inconvenience. If he saw you following you could turn off the road or stop following him if your that much of a coward but from the reports not one car even bothered following him and carried on with their route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Am I the only one pissed off at all the cars who rang into the Gardai to report seeing a woman in distress being driven down the motorway but never thought about following the car? I am not looking for heroics here but honestly is it too much to ask for the person to follow behind the car while on the phone to the guards??? A life could have been saved.

Too many people in this country never want to be inconvenienced. And following the car would only be that, an inconvenience. If he saw you following you could turn off the road or stop following you if that your that much of a coward but from the reports not one car even bothered following him and carried on with their route.

How many rang in ? I only read about one ?
    And if I am totally honest if I had kids in my car or he was driving at speed there is no way I would speed down the N 11 after him .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

Too many people in this country never want to be inconvenienced. And following the car would only be that, an inconvenience. If he saw you following you could turn off the road or stop following him if your that much of a coward but from the reports not one car even bothered following him and carried on with their route.

I agree but only for the women who saw the kidnap happen. I imagine not choosing to do so will haunt her for the rest of her life.

For the others it's easy to say this in hindsight with the knowledge of what happened but can you really expect people to follow every car where a person looks like they are upset, distressed or crying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,861 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    How many rang in ? I only read about one ?
    And if I am totally honest if I had kids in my car or he was driving at speed there is no way I would speed down the N 11 after him .

Particularly if you were going the other way or he suddenly turned off the road, which may have been the case here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Trasna1

Easy to say that now with the benefit of hindsight. Abductions are extremely rare in Ireland and to come across one in progress is rarer still. The people that called the gardai did the right thing

Follow them and then what? Be the hero? Find out it was someone upset/distressed for an innocent reason?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭Thestones

This case makes me think of that woman Esra Uyrun who is still missing to this day, her car found in Bray 6/7 years ago, makes you wonder could this guy could be responsible?.. what a senseless act, I feel so bad for Jastines family.

Reati wrote: »

For the others it's easy to say this in hindsight with the knowledge of what happened but can you really expect people to follow every car where a person looks like they are upset, distressed or crying?

Abso-****ing-loutely.

I mean is this even up for debate? She was banging on the rear window screaming. I would follow the car while staying on the phone without even a second of thought. Why the hell wouldnt you? Someone's life is in danger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

There are so many ifs, buts and hindsight. Whilst I hate this element of assessing the case such as the Garda bashing etc and some of the posters on here are shocking with diversion of blame, I do empathise with your emotions on this one. But it is a pointless exercise right now.
    And I definitely don't blame the party for not following them.

But i WISH they had.

Abso-****ing-loutely.

I mean is this even up for debate? She was banging on the rear window screaming. I would follow the car while staying on the phone without even a second of thought. Why the hell wouldnt you? Someone's life is in danger

Where did you hear that? The public weren't exposed to that level of information.

There are so many ifs, buts and hindsight. Whilst I hate this element of assessing the case such as the Garda bashing etc and some of the posters on here are shocking with diversion of blame, I do empathise with your emotions on this one. But it is a pointless exercise right now.
    And I definitely don't blame the party for not following them.

But i WISH they had.

How is this even hindsight? They should have followed the car and known it at the time. You are in your car driving down the N11 and there is a woman screaming for help. You have the guards on the phone. Why the hell wouldn't you blame them for not following the car? Realistically by following the car they are not in any danger. They are in their car, if he saw them following and pulled over then you can simply drive on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I can’t stop thinking about her being in distress in the car. The poor girl, it’s so upsetting.
    As for the scum who did it to her. A bullet is the least he deserved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

Where did you hear that? The public weren't exposed to that level of information.

It was in a few papers that a woman was seen in an SUV in a distressed state.

Abso-****ing-loutely.

Was she ? The report was she was seen on the front passenger seat and in distress . And where are you getting tge " many cars saw her " ?

How is this even hindsight? They should have followed the car and known it at the time. You are in your car driving down the N11 and there is a woman screaming for help. You have the guards on the phone. Why the hell wouldn't you blame them for not following the car? Realistically by following the car they are not in any danger. They are in their car, if he saw them following and pulled over then you can simply drive on.

The Hindsight Hero ! Do you want a round of applause ?

Was she ? The report was she was seen on the front passenger seat and in distress . And where are you getting tge " many cars saw her " ?

It doesn't matter as I can't say. We will go by whats reported and that one driver saw her in the front passenger seat in distress as it doesn'ta ffect my argument.

He knew she was in enough danger to call the guards but didn't bother to stay on the phone to them and follow them giving the guards updates on their location. A life could have been saved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭theballz

There is an audio note going around (might be fake) by one of his family members.

I don’t want to add to further speculation but it is fairly gripping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,682 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

I always thought it would be hard for a lone individual to get someone into a car against their will. I thought there would need to be two people?
    Is there a chance he had an accomplice?

To thine own self be true

Suckit wrote: »
    It was in a few papers.

And where was their source................. if you have followed the media over the last few days the grossly wrong level of information is embarrassing. I mean the IT had a large article up stating she was found in the car last night in critical condition.

It just takes one tweet from here say to sett off a butterfly of rumours.

I mean, even here, earlier, a poster "confirmed" that her body was found according to their journalist friend - 4 hours before it was found, and immediately, w/o any source (apart from this), people concluded this was correct.

It may be true but no Garda media release of info (who would be the ones privy to the report of the incident) stated this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,522 ✭✭✭Wheety

Just been sent a video of him drinking and having the craic. Supposedly from Saturday night. Obviously I can't confirm that.

The Hindsight Hero ! Do you want a round of applause ?

I can't understand this hindsight nonsense. This is something that should have been known right away. The girl was in danger this was obvious to the driver so much that he felt the need to call the guards but didn't think it would be a good idea to follow the car so the guards knew where it was going?

It doesn't matter as I can't say. We will go by whats reported and that one driver saw her in the front passenger seat in distress as it doesn'ta ffect my argument.

He knew she was in enough danger to call the guards but didn't bother to stay on the phone to them and follow them giving the guards updates on their location. A life could have been saved.

How do you know it was a he ? It could have been a young woman with babies in the car .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Suckit wrote: »
    It was in a few papers that a woman was seen in an SUV in a distressed state.

The witnesses said she was forced into the boot. Why would he move her? If she was in the front how could he control her?

I always thought it would be hard for a lone individual to get someone into a car against their will. I thought there would need to be two people?

According to the witness he gave her a punch. A fully grown man punching a petite woman who I assume has had no exposure to violence her whole life would be enough to get people to do something against their will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,522 ✭✭✭Wheety

She was petite. 5 foot according to her description. Wouldn't take 2 people imo.

Wheety wrote: »
    Just been sent a video of him drinking and having the craic. Supposedly from Saturday night. Obviously I can't confirm that.

No way would anyone not report seeing him over the weekend. I find this hard to believe.
    AFAIK his movements weren't known since he took the car Sat afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,682 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

According to the witness he gave her a punch. A fully grown man punching a petite woman who I assume has had no exposure to violence her whole life would be enough to get people to do something against their will.

OK thanks.
    I hadn't heard that and I hope I wasn't being offensive. I was just genuinely stumped by the level of braziness but I guess the element of surprise is what worked in his favour.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭soiseztomabel

*When something violent happens....

"The animal should have been put down, cops are a joke in this country, cant even use force"

*When Cops actually do something...

"Ah here lads this is disgraceful, cops are some joke in this country"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

eviltwin wrote: »
    The witnesses said she was forced into the boot. Why would he move her? If she was in the front how could he control her?

I never said she was in the front. I just said it was reported in a few papers that a Woman was seen in an SUV in a distressed state.

Someone on Twitter mentioned that it was his childs firt holy communion yesterday.
    Do they have them on a Sunday?
    https://twitter.com/Ccurley0Carol/status/998592988874969088