Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jastine Valdez found dead. No Ana discussion please. Mod warning post 1

2 shots whern there was no need to shoot, is a panic reaction.

Again , nobody knows this yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,890 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

CeilingFly wrote: »
    This guy was deranged, had a knife and put a garda in danger of his / her life.

Where's the proof that he was deranged?

Also wasn't he in the car when they shot him? If so how did they know he had a knife?

It does seem like someone panicked. They had him surrounded. They should have been able to arrest him without killing him and bring him in for questioning. I understand these gardai are highly trained but that's not to say someone made a mistake.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

While I agree completely with the views that as no one was there we can't judge the situation and what caused the Gardaí to shoot. GSOC will be the judge of whether the action was justified or not.

I got peoples worry though. The only person who knew for sure where that girl is now lies in a morgue and Gardaí will have a hell of a job finding her now. Masts pings aren't going to do more than narrow it down to a 3 to 5km sqaured area out in the mountains.

Anyway, I really feel for that Gardaí who shot him. Do people here not think they are sitting somewhere now reliving and regretting every millisecond of having to fire that shot knowing that was the most critical lead dead.

Thinking he might be the reason that girl might never be found. You can bet he didn't go down the local celebrating. They made a call (with more info that anyone here has) and now have to live with it. I imagine they hardly slept a wink since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

Killiney Hill search underway.

• Im sure the armed guard is trained to use the weapon when there is a threath to him or his colleagues lives.

I can't believe what I'm reading

Some people in here don't think that carrying a knife is for leathal use

Sitting in a car or running at you, if he was a threath to life then he was shot which sounds like a reasonable reason to discharge the weapon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Im bowing out of the thread due to this nonsense above and to stop derailing it.

Also near schooltime

strandroad wrote: »
    Killiney Hill search underway.

Who is reporting that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Tyson Fury wrote: »
    that's not to say someone made a mistake.

...didn't make...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

Omackeral wrote: »
    Who is reporting that?

Local groups on Facebook. Hill sealed off apparently, they turn dog walkers away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

Whatever mistakes were made by AGS, we'll never get hear about them anyway.

There will be a massive cover up operation underway as we speak..

It's one thing our force is extremely well versed at..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

How do people know that this man was not threatening a member of the public when shot ?Brides Glen Luas area is a busy place and it is absolutely possible a civilian was in danger . This nonsense happens all the time when people rabbit on while not knowing any facts and spring to conclusions about something they know nothing about
    In this thread and in the Ana thread people are posting as if they were there and no it all .

https://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/kidnap-suspect-killed-after-a-massive-manhunt-but-victim-is-still-missing-470935.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

It is relevent.

Im not talking nonsense.

2 shots whern there was no need to shoot, is a panic reaction.

Who teaches you this stuff? What are your degrees of force?

Is shooting a man with a knife, sitting in a car, a justifiable action? Or is it an execution?

NCIS:Dublin? This comment alone leads me to believe you were "trained" in Call of Duty.

Every person who is weapons trained knows you are legally accountable for every round you shoot.

"Shoot to kill", such an iidiotic statement from a "trained" weapon user. In fact, if you are in Ireland, everyone should be worried with you walking around.

I hadn't realised you were there. Tell us more about what happened??

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Cherrywood Luas area is a busy place

No it's not.

It's deserted most of the time.

• Swanner wrote: »

Comical :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,235 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Swanner wrote: »

The attitude shown towards members of AGS on here is disgraceful. People have a huge axe to grind and have very little appreciation for the daily dangers and issues members of the force have to deal with sometimes literally making split second life or death decisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,890 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Hopefully the truth will come out but it wouldn't be the first time the guards have done a cover up.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

No it's not.

It's deserted most of the time.

Oh for Gods sake its totally possible there were people there .

• iamwhoiam wrote: »
    How do people know that this man was not threatening a member of the public when shot ?Brides Glen Luas area is a busy place and it is absolutely possible a civilian was in danger . This nonsense happens all the time when people rabbit on while not knowing any facts and spring to conclusions about something they know nothing about
    In this thread and in the Ana thread people are posting as if they were there and no it all .

https://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/kidnap-suspect-killed-after-a-massive-manhunt-but-victim-is-still-missing-470935.html

Agree totally. It's always a conspiracy theory with some people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

No it's not. /s

kippy wrote: »
    The attitude shown towards members of AGS on here is disgraceful. People have a huge axe to grind and have very little appreciation for the daily dangers and issues members of the force have to deal with sometimes literally making split second life or death decisions.

Well I base futire predictions on past events and I can only go on the endless number of scandals and cover ups we've watched unfold over the last 30 years or so but sure maybe you are correct and this time it will be different from all the other times.

We'll see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

You lads are gas on here...

If someone has a knife and he's coming at you, he's going to get shot.

Fair play to the garda too.

I work there. the place is deserted.

I don't even let my daughters get off the Luas there because it's so deserted.

I pick them up in Sandyford instead.

Do you even know the area ?

It's mostly wasteground.

You should be listening to your teacher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭Green Peter

kippy wrote:

I guess it's their way of putting the boot in to AGS after getting that speeding ticket 5 years ago or being arrested for being a dick at 4am drunk on the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭Baraics Pollox

All these experts on here saying the Gardaí were in the wrong to shoot him. You don't know the circumstances.

What's done is done now and no amount of "should haves" will change that.

Put the shoe on the other foot, if a member of the gardai happened to be stabbed to death in the apprehension of this scumbag you could be sure as shíte that the same "armchair experts" would be saying "sure aren't some member of AGS carrying guns? Why didn't they shoot him? We need to arm all our gardai with guns in future...blah blah blah"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,235 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Well I base futire predictions on past events and I can only go on the endless number of scandals and cover ups we've watched unfold over the last 30 years or so but sure maybe you are correct and this time it will be different from all the other times.

We'll see.
    You do realise the 'all the other times' are a very small percentage of incidents that AGS have dealt with over the years?
    Why jump to so many conclusions on this incident with absolutely no access to the facts or situational details?
    How about you back the group of people that are literally putting their lives on the line on a daily basis to protect the rest of us in our bubbles of idealistic thinking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭ConnyMcDavid

kippy wrote: »
    You do realise the 'all the other times' are a very small percentage of incidents that AGS have dealt with over the years?
    Why jump to so many conclusions on this incident with absolutely no access to the facts or situational details?
    How about you back the group of people that are literally putting their lives on the line on a daily basis to protect the rest of us in our bubbles of idealistic thinking?

Because hes made his mind up that any facts will be part of a cover up so facts or no facts he can keep claiming the AGS are hopeless.

I can guarantee you that if he was killing a school full of children the same people would be on here saying the same about Gardai.

pjohnson wrote: »
    Because hes made his mind up that any facts will be part of a cover up so facts or no facts he can keep claiming the AGS are hopeless.

Agreed I have. I don't trust AGS.

They have shown themselves to be utterly untrustworthy over and over and over again. How many more scandals and cover ups do we need to have before people start to doubt their honesty ?
    pjohnson wrote: »
    You should be listening to your teacher.

Incredibly witty. Well done. Go you..
    I guess it's their way of putting the boot in to AGS after getting that speeding ticket 5 years ago or being arrested for being a dick at 4am drunk on the street.

No just sick of endless cover ups, lies, scandals and countless innocent victims as direct result of their garda incompetence and corruption.

Trust and respect are earned. AGS have earned neither.