Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pavee point criticise judge for telling truth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

I can agree with the majority of your post regarding travellers,but I take exception at the mention of Niall Boylan.
    The man is the epitome of tabloid trash radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

I have had very little exposure to travellers and I'd very happy to keep it that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭JMNolan

"The deaths raised serious questions over how Traveller families were forced to live in cramped and unsafe conditions."

I don't understand, who forced them to live there? Had they no alternative, no method of renting a house or buying a house or getting social housing? They weren't even allowed to leave the halting site as they were "forced" to live there. Could they not do anything to raise their children in safer accommodation?

JMNolan wrote: »
    "The deaths raised serious questions over how Traveller families were forced to live in cramped and unsafe conditions."

I don't understand, who forced them to live there? Had they no alternative, no method of renting a house or buying a house or getting social housing? They weren't even allowed to leave the halting site as they were "forced" to live there. Could they not do anything to raise their children in safer accommodation?

"You try raring childer in dese cunditions boss,no runnin' water or electric for de babies,it's a disgrace. We've no life here,no standard of livin'.....We're left with nottin'!! "

.........says Paddy's Gerry whilst he stands in front of a delapidated ex storage container.
    Small child with pierced ears crying loudly.

All the while,his 40 grand 4x4jeep with 15k caravan are conveniently parked out of camera shot..... right beside his 7ton tipper for doing "tar" on the side for cash.

Shower of sh1tes.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭CosmicJay

VinLieger wrote: »
    Haha not a chance they will show their face in this thread for at least another day.

He's gotta read books on all the ideologies of Marxism-Leninism, Marxism-Leninism-Trotskyism or Marxism-Leninism-Stalinism so he can destroy people.

Or is it Luxembergist, Chomskyist & Bennite socialism.

It's like that Prius episode where everyone sniff's their own farts, just with books written about a useless ideology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Red_Wake

Uncharted wrote: »
    JMNolan wrote: »

"You try raring childer in dese cunditions boss,no runnin' water or electric for de babies,it's a disgrace. We've no life here,no standard of livin'.....We're left with nottin'!! "

.........says Paddy's Gerry whilst he stands in front of a delapidated ex storage container.
    Small child with pierced ears crying loudly.

All the while,his 40 grand 4x4jeep with 15k caravan are conveniently parked out of camera shot..... right beside his 7ton tipper for doing "tar" on the side for cash.  

Shower of sh1tes.....
    As long as there are fools to entertain them, there'll be con artists.

Red_Wake wrote: »

I don't consider my vulnerable elderly neighbours as 'fools'.

Uncharted wrote: »

I don't consider my vulnerable elderly neighbours as 'fools'.
    Was referring to their defenders rather than the victims of their vile actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Dr Brown wrote: »
    Whenever a traveller goes to college its seems to a big media event and they're interviewed on all the talk shows.

That is because so many journos see themselves as leftist superheroes battling against social injustice.

In their minds they see the girls in the southern U.S. states in the 60s entering the school doors with a police cordon keeping back angry racists.

They think an Irish person coming from a background that dismissed the value of education finally engaging with the Irish education system somehow equates to that picture in their minds.

I've seen a few foreigners with a left-wing leaning visit here and start out with those notions too, only to have experience and a little further research change their opinion.

Congrats to ALL citizens of our republic who seek to better themselves through education, but please drop the circus.

Just heard the promo....
    Traveller 'discrimination ' debate happening right now on 98fm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,446 ✭✭✭blackwhite

I wonder how they will word the outcome of the inquest now?
    https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/no-prosecutions-over-carrickmines-fire-that-claimed-lives-of-10-people-dpp-36915496.html

After that tragic fire in the Carrickmines halting site a few years ago, the DPP has decided that no charges will be brought against the County Council.

This to me means the blame must be laid squarely at the travellers themselves who put themselves in those conditions thereby contributing to this awful tragedy with their own lifestyle. The traveller lifestyle must be seen as some sort of child abuse or at the very least neglect and this used as a base for dismantling protected status for the travellers.

From what I've heard locally, the source/cause of the fire would make it very difficult for blame to have been planted at the feet of the council.

Whether that will make it as far as the inquest is another matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,513 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/no-prosecutions-over-carrickmines-fire-that-claimed-lives-of-10-people-dpp-36915496.html

After that tragic fire in the Carrickmines halting site a few years ago, the DPP has decided that no charges will be brought against the County Council.

This to me means the blame must be laid squarely at the travellers themselves who put themselves in those conditions thereby contributing to this awful tragedy with their own lifestyle. The traveller lifestyle must be seen as some sort of child abuse or at the very least neglect and this used as a base for dismantling protected status for the travellers.

can't be done, there are no grounds to dismantle the vital protected status ttravelers have. the protection is remaining, and it will highly likely become more stringent as the decades go on.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭CosmicJay

can't be done, there are no grounds to dismantle the vital protected status ttravelers have. the protection is remaining, and it will highly likely become more stringent as the decades go on.

I hope to god my own kids don't become this gullible.

There are certain warning signs in nature, be it brightly coloured flowers or animals, spikes sticking on things. All there to dissuade interaction.

I think this status is the serving the same purpose.

By all means give them a fair shake and judge them by their actions, but I wouldn't be taking my eye off them for a second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,032 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Protected status is just window dressing. It changes nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Anyone see the article of one in Galway who slashed a guy and girl while trying to rob them.

He used a pizza knife.

His family have been on Facebook backing him up and even going as far as insulting settled people etc.

Shocking stuff.

http://connachttribune.ie/mugger-jailed-for-pizza-knife-attack-on-couple-at-spanish-arch-009/

I don't know why it's not linking properly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Anyone see the article of one in Galway who slashed a guy and girl while trying to rob them.

He used a pizza knife.

His family have been on Facebook backing him up and even going as far as insulting settled people etc.

Shocking stuff.

http://connachttribune.ie/mugger-jailed-for-pizza-knife-attack-on-couple-at-spanish-arch-009/

thread here : https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057872770

Can't for the life of me think of any reasons why anybody (traveler or not) with 90+ convictions should be allowed to continue being a part of our society.

(and I'd probably set that bar a lot lower than 90 as well)

How about we treat them as properly endangered species, and put them in a zoo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭JPCN1

He used a pizza knife.

Shocking stuff.

Judge gives 8 years and promptly suspends the final 18 months? On bail at time of offences with 90 previous... Vicious attack and lucky neither victim died. We absolutely need to have a 3/5/7 strike rule.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

JPCN1 wrote: »
    Judge gives 8 years and promptly suspends the final 18 months? On bail at time of offences with 90 previous... Vicious attack and lucky neither victim died. We absolutely need to have a 3/5/7 strike rule.

....I'd be happy with a 50 strike rule to be honest :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

JPCN1 wrote: »

Will never happen - the Irish judiciary guards it's turf well, and makes sure there's always plenty of "free" legal aid to keep mediocre lawyers in the style they're accustomed to - this inbred recidivist scumbag and his ilk have summer homes bought for generations of lawyers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭Dr Brown

He used a pizza knife.

Shocking stuff.

That just highlights traveller racism against settled people which you never hear about in the media.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

And yes, I am a Socialist, but not of the Marxist-Leninist or Trotskyist variety more of the more Luxembergist, Chomskyist & Bennite variety. And if you want to have a debate on political ideology & Marxist theorists I will destroy you.

To throw my hat in on the Marxist theory of travellers. They are lumpen proletariat. Not workers.

Interestingly Marx always said there would be an alliance between elites and lumpens to keep the working man down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭Minister

blackwhite wrote: »
    From what I've heard locally, the source/cause of the fire would make it very difficult for blame to have been planted at the feet of the council.

Whether that will make it as far as the inquest is another matter

Indeed. I believe it might have been a 'connection' issue? If so, I would suspect it is doubtful that the state will permit this to be referred to given status etc.

It is still sad so many people died.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭mcko

Travellers look down on us and take the p, we allow them to live outside the norms of society and they know they can do pretty much whatever they want. They want all the rights of citizenship but none of the responsibilities.

Amazing the contrast when one of them were killed in the UK by a home owner, crime of the century yet when they commit crimes they are victims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,966 ✭✭✭corks finest

I see very little in present-day traveller culture that warrants its continued existence.

They should just better themselves, get a proper job, obey the laws of the land like the rest of us and integrate.
    That'll never,ever happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,966 ✭✭✭corks finest

Unfair to the other inmates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

mcko wrote: »
    Travellers look down on us and take the p, we allow them to live outside the norms of society and they know they can do pretty much whatever they want. They want all the rights of citizenship but none of the responsibilities.

Amazing the contrast when one of them were killed in the UK by a home owner, crime of the century yet when they commit crimes they are victims.

This is where the real problem lies, and where most of the trouble stems from.
    Travellers have been taught that domestic abuse, tax evasion, scamming, inter-familial marriage, feuding, early school leaving etc. are cultural traits that deserve support and sympathy, rather than criminal activities that should be stamped out. The "traveller support" industry has turned travellers into dependent, uncontrollable, outlaws.

The constant refrain here "not all travellers are bad" is true to an extent, however pretty much all travellers live a bad and unsustainable lifestyle, reflected in the infant mortality, conviction, suicide, and life expectancy statistics of travellers as a whole. This is the fault of those who have led them to believe their lifestyle has a future in the modern world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭aziz

Imagine that "Howya boss,are ya lookin for any zebra's"

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,876 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Someone please protect the Rhinos!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,032 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

That'll never,ever happen

Probably not.
    Not while their current lifestyle, if you could call it that, is approved by interest groups and assorted do-gooders and aided by the State.