Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pavee point criticise judge for telling truth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,032 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Count Down wrote: »
    Remember that cringe-inducing episode - a couple of years ago, I think - in the Dail when Travellers were accorded Ethnic Minority Status by the EU and all the 'afraid to be seen as racist' TDs started applauding, most through gritted teeth?:mad:

They got what they wanted but in reality it's pretty meaningless.

Might as well slap some lipstick on a pig.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

I wonder if this is also Enda Kenny's ethnic friends "gardai believe the issue started at a christening earlier"
    https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/terror-as-gang-run-through-hotel-with-hammers-36861887.html

But sure there'd be no comments from Pavee Point on that either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

CeilingFly wrote: »
    I wonder if this is also Enda Kenny's ethnic friends "gardai believe the issue started at a christening earlier"
    https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/terror-as-gang-run-through-hotel-with-hammers-36861887.html

But sure there'd be no comments from Pavee Point on that either.

if they had hammers and balaclavas what were the locals in the Swallows armed with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

So it turns out 3 guys on bikes were doing the rounds.

They circled around the front of the house and one guy got of the bike took out a copy book and ripped a page from it.

This had a landline number and to let written on it.

The landline belongs to Sherry Fitz as I mentioned previously.

Now worried they are targeting the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,437 ✭✭✭corner of hells

They circled around the front of the house and one guy got of the bike took out a copy book and ripped a page from it.

Just get yourself a big bag of thumb tacks , that'll put paid to thier master plan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Dr Brown wrote: »
    Is that how they stop CAB from coming after them ?

CAB must have heard you!
    https://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/cab-probes-funding-of-limerick-crime-gangs-assets-470120.html

Now im not saying they're travellers, but its highly probable they're travellers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Just get yourself a big bag of thumb tacks , that'll put paid to thier master plan.

More like get a big ****ing gun...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,994 ✭✭✭Odelay

Sounds a bit sinister, could they want you to vacate the house for some reason?

Odelay wrote: »
    Sounds a bit sinister, could they want you to vacate the house for some reason?

No as I'm not there a lot...

I've no issue meeting them if they do have an issue though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/circuit-court/damages-claim-dismissed-after-judge-finds-crash-never-happened-1.3481425

Road traffic accident personal injuries claim dismissed because the accident did not happen. No mention of the word "traveller". However, the following indicate it is likely to be travellers;

(1) The name "McDonagh".
    (2) Tom Senior, Tom and Tom Junior are the men's names.
    (3) Mary Theresa is one of the female names.
    (4) It is a road traffic accident.
    (5) They were travelling in a 6 seater "utility vehicle".

Absolutely disgraceful and I wonder why the media consistently avoid associating the word "traveller" with negative stories when they are clearly involved. Thieving gypsies, unworthy of any protected status; a law unto themselves and morally empty - should be removed from the face of the earth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

... I wonder why the media consistently avoid associating the word "traveller" with negative stories when they are clearly involved...

Because they are Enda Kenny's ethnic friends. Their demands for financial compensation due to their 'crash' is akin to those dark folks demanding to be served in restaurants in Mississippi and schooled in Alabama.
    And that is the way the EU wants it.
    We upper middle class types get to feel smug and virtuous.
    But you ordinary people must suffer it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,513 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Absolutely disgraceful and I wonder why the media consistently avoid associating the word "traveller" with negative stories when they are clearly involved.

what does it matter? as you said yourself some clues were given in the article. what's the problem. if they mention they are travelers then so be it, if they don't so be it. it's actually not relevant either way.
    Thieving gypsies, unworthy of any protected status; a law unto themselves and morally empty - should be removed from the face of the earth.

they are worthy of protected status due to the discrimination faced. travelers not involved in anything face such discrimination, hence it's even more vital the protection was implemented. nobody is going to be removed from the face of the earth.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

what does it matter? as you said yourself some clues were given in the article. what's the problem. if they mention they are travelers then so be it, if they don't so be it. it's actually not relevant either way.

they are worthy of protected status due to the discrimination faced. travelers not involved in anything face such discrimination, hence it's even more vital the protection was implemented. nobody is going to be removed from the face of the earth.

Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

CAB must have heard you!
    https://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/cab-probes-funding-of-limerick-crime-gangs-assets-470120.html

Now im not saying they're travellers, but its highly probable they're travellers.

Sad attitude. Really sad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭Count Down

These scuts should be charged with perverting the course of justice, or perjury, or both.
    This reminds me of an amusing incident a good few years ago. A friend of my brother's, who had a passionate hatred of all things Knacker, was approached in a pub in his native Kildare by a member of Ireland's newest ethnic minority. The Knacker asked him would he be interested in "Makin' some easy money". Sylvie said yes, he would. The Knacker then told him his grand plan, which consisted of planning a road crash at a roundabout in a certain town nearby.
    The plan was that at an appointed time the Knacker and his three accomplices would be waiting in a car near the roundabout. Sylvie would then ring the Knacker to tell him to drive to the roundabout where he would then drive into the back of the Knacker's car, not too fast, and the emergency services would be called and a big compo claim would result. All awarded monies would of course be shared equally.
    Sylvie was a bit reluctant at first because he didn't want to have anything to do with the hated Knackers and besides, he didn't trust them.
    But the following day he went into the same pub and overheard the Knackers who, a little tipsy, were boasting that "That focking fool Sylvie thinks he's gettin' some of the money! He is in his hole!" They were all laughing and having a great time of it, and just as Sylvie went to leave, he heard one say "We must call round to his house after the 'accident' and beat the shyte out of him in case he gets any ideas!"
    The next day he told the Knacker that the deal was on. Arrangements were made, and when the time arrived Sylvie told the Knackers to take up their positions, and drive slowly to the roundabout where he would catch them up and give them the 'bump'.
    What he didn't tell them was that instead of arriving in a beat-up old banger, he turned up in a big truck and rammed into them at high speed, causing the poor Knackers extensive injuries. :D
    They couldn't claim because Sylvie exited the scene without the Knackers seeing him, and there were no witnesses. He abandoned the truck and sped back to the scene in the old banger and innocently asked of the boys "What's happened lads? Looks like yiz started without me!" They didn't suspect a thing!:D

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,876 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

These scuts should be charged with perverting the course of justice, or perjury, or both.
    This reminds me of an amusing incident a good few years ago. A friend of my brother's, who had a passionate hatred of all things Knacker, was approached in a pub in his native Kildare by a member of Ireland's newest ethnic minority. The Knacker asked him would he be interested in "Makin' some easy money". Sylvie said yes, he would. The Knacker then told him his grand plan, which consisted of planning a road crash at a roundabout in a certain town nearby.
    The plan was that at an appointed time the Knacker and his three accomplices would be waiting in a car near the roundabout. Sylvie would then ring the Knacker to tell him to drive to the roundabout where he would then drive into the back of the Knacker's car, not too fast, and the emergency services would be called and a big compo claim would result. All awarded monies would of course be shared equally.
    Sylvie was a bit reluctant at first because he didn't want to have anything to do with the hated Knackers and besides, he didn't trust them.
    But the following day he went into the same pub and overheard the Knackers who, a little tipsy, were boasting that "That focking fool Sylvie thinks he's gettin' some of the money! He is in his hole!" They were all laughing and having a great time of it, and just as Sylvie went to leave, he heard one say "We must call round to his house after the 'accident' and beat the shyte out of him in case he gets any ideas!"
    The next day he told the Knacker that the deal was on. Arrangements were made, and when the time arrived Sylvie told the Knackers to take up their positions, and drive slowly to the roundabout where he would catch them up and give them the 'bump'.
    What he didn't tell them was that instead of arriving in a beat-up old banger, he turned up in a big truck and rammed into them at high speed, causing the poor Knackers extensive injuries. :D
    They couldn't claim because Sylvie exited the scene without the Knackers seeing him, and there were no witnesses. He abandoned the truck and sped back to the scene in the old banger and innocently asked of the boys "What's happened lads? Looks like yiz started without me!" They didn't suspect a thing!:D
    How long did it take to type that fantasy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

Graces7 wrote: »
    Sad attitude. Really sad

Damn straight. The idea that people think insurance scams are a legitimate way to make a living is pretty disgusting. Worse than sad, really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭Count Down

How long did it take to type that fantasy?

No brag, just fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭Pedro K

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/circuit-court/damages-claim-dismissed-after-judge-finds-crash-never-happened-1.3481425

Road traffic accident personal injuries claim dismissed because the accident did not happen. No mention of the word "traveller". However, the following indicate it is likely to be travellers;

(1) The name "McDonagh".
    (2) Tom Senior, Tom and Tom Junior are the men's names.
    (3) Mary Theresa is one of the female names.
    (4) It is a road traffic accident.
    (5) They were travelling in a 6 seater "utility vehicle".

Absolutely disgraceful and I wonder why the media consistently avoid associating the word "traveller" with negative stories when they are clearly involved. Thieving gypsies, unworthy of any protected status; a law unto themselves and morally empty - should be removed from the face of the earth.

One of the other claimants was a "Mongan" too. So you can add that as point number 6 and increase the probability again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Damn straight. The idea that people think insurance scams are a legitimate way to make a living is pretty disgusting. Worse than sad, really.

It's as a result of scammers that my insurance is about 70% more to renew this month than it was costing 10 years ago in a similarly specced model of car.

Despite living in a quiet residential area, car on private property at night, 20 years no claims bonus my insurance keeps going up, and no one seems to be able to tell me why exactly.

Unfortunately, they have you by the balls. You must have insurance by law if you want to drive on the road.

I've shopped around, and coincidentally all the insurance companies are in and around the same price (pretty much) 8 euro here, 10 euro there, 6 euro there in price differences, but when all is said and done, I'm not going to get insurance for less than the mid 600e mark.

For a family car, that's disgusting.

Undoubtedly a knock on effect from those scamming the insurance industry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭Dr Brown

Travellers seem to have some special exemption which allows them to drive their cars without tax or insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Travellers seem to have some special exemption which allows them to drive their cars without tax or insurance.

I wouldn't necessarily agree with this.

It's not that they have an exemption, (9/10 When you see the Gards with travellers pulled over , they're checking out the tax and insurance validity).

It would be more precise to say that they perhaps think they have some kind of exemption.

Grand job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,513 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

no they don't. nobody has an exemption from the law. lack of enforcement is not an exemption.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

no they don't. nobody has an exemption from the law. lack of enforcement is not an exemption.

They just don't give a shyte.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Milkman..

They seem to have a fondness for avensis and passats

Milkman.. wrote: »

Aventises

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

Haven’t noticed them driving passats, but they really have a thing for the avensis. Back in the 80’s/90’s almost every traveller drove a hiace, and seemingly overnight they all switched to the avensis. Wonder why that was, and what’s the obsession with toyotas.

Avensii

Reference below