Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

radio nova

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭MikeyTaylor

Heard the Temperance Movement and Tax the Heat, two British classic-rock revival bands, on Autism Radio this afternoon. Never heard either on Nova.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

Heard the Temperance Movement and Tax the Heat, two British classic-rock revival bands, on Autism Radio this afternoon. Never heard either on Nova.

tut tut Mikey...Cause Nova's not a rock station....:p

In fact i really dont know what they are nowadays....

tut tut Mikey...Cause Nova's not a rock station....:p

In fact i really dont know what they are nowadays....

They were on around 3-3:30pm or so with their respective songs "Caught in the Middle" and "All That Medicine". You can listen back at 9pm on the 105.2 frequency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭ORBY73

They were on around 3-3:30pm or so with their respective songs "Caught in the Middle" and "All That Medicine". You can listen back at 9pm on the 105.2 frequency.

Very apt frequency that was Phantom R.I.P.

ORBY73 wrote: »
    Very apt frequency that was Phantom R.I.P.

I think I heard DBFC as well, their track "Autonomic" was played to death on the station in summer 2016. The track I heard was "Jenks" from last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭KildareP

Kyle More wrote: »
    Colm Hayes is now the Programme Director and it looks like he has decided to take a giant leap forward in the dilution process of an already hopelessly watered down 'rock' station. If the past week is anything to go by, celebrity gossip and interminable waffle are now the standard criterion for your Nova Breakfast show. One may argue 'But Conor and Marty waffled' and they'd be right, but no, not like this other pair. Who knows what way the ratings will go. They're clearly trying to appeal to a wider, mainstream audience. But in doing that they may lose a lot of long term listeners who initially took to Nova to escape from what Colm and Lucy are now selling.

Isn't this the same approach Phantom tried with breakfast, Joe and Keith trying to recreate their success on Spin 1038 with the bantz and lolz format, and it caused listener numbers to tank. And, well, we all see how that ultimately played out... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭ORBY73

KildareP wrote: »
    Isn't this the same approach Phantom tried with breakfast, Joe and Keith trying to recreate their success on Spin 1038 with the bantz and lolz format, and it caused listener numbers to tank. And, well, we all see how that ultimately played out... :(

Phantom was brilliiant till them 2 ***** arrived. Richie McCormack /Michelle Doherty were a brilliant mornin pair. Good tunes decent chat with no mindless drivel. Even TXFM was good till its closing. Hayes andKennedy are a ****in joke. Im changing jobs soon and thankfully wont have a chance to listen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,037 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Ha just read through all the negative posts on Facebook book and then stumbled upon one positive one, but the next poster pointed out "you would say that being Lucy's pr company" :)

ORBY73 wrote: »
    Ive tried Apple on joy. Says not availavle in Ireland

The Planet Rock iOS app works for me. I’m in Sligo, remember don’t put in your location, just skip that part!

Wanna hear Tax the Heat/Temperance Mvmt? 105.2 in Dublin now.

Tax the Heat on Autism Radio right now

Are you their manager ....;)

Nope, I was just letting people know as I listened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭Kyle More

Ha just read through all the negative posts on Facebook book and then stumbled upon one positive one, but the next poster pointed out "you would say that being Lucy's pr company" :)

A lot of negative comments seem to have mysteriously disappeared once again. If the station is deleting comments they don't approve of, they're only making themselves look arrogant, petty and out of touch with their listeners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭Kyle More

KildareP wrote: »

The one size fits all approach can backfire drastically. Time will tell with the Colm & Lucy Show, but it doesn't appear to be off to a good start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Cominatcha

zorro2566 wrote: »
    The Planet Rock iOS app works for me. I’m in Sligo, remember don’t put in your location, just skip that part!

It’s available on iOS app called Radio Stations online player , along with Beeb etc - not geo blocked

Cominatcha wrote: »
    It’s available on iOS app called Radio Stations online player , along with Beeb etc - not geo blocked

The official Planet Rock app works if you just skip the part where you are asked for your email address.

zorro2566 wrote: »
    The official Planet Rock app works if you just skip the part where you are asked for your email address.

...or pull any email from any uk address

Big improvement this morning

Why ,was Mr.Potato head and Loosey Kardashian not on..........:confused::p

No they were there but in my 40min commute I heard better music and less "banter" although I'm sure I caught the end of a pop song when I switch on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

No they were there but in my 40min commute I heard better music and less "banter" although I'm sure I caught the end of a pop song when I switch on

Maybe, just maybe they are actually listening to the complaints about the show

FanadMan wrote: »
    Maybe, just maybe they are actually listening to the complaints about the show

Hayes doesnt do complaints...especially not form mere listeners....they just ran out of stuff to say...its like they were a couple...:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 appletara

Christ, just back from a month away, on the commute into work and cannot believe it - F*&king Colm Hayes again in the morning - he's desperate - before you know it there'll be "comedy" phonecalls and pranks in the mornings. Lucy might be okay on TV in small doses but rubbish on radio. Listened to a convo about Harry Potter this morning, is this a permanent change? definitely cannot listen to this tripe in the mornings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,480 ✭✭✭Kamili

appletara wrote: »
    Christ, just back from a month away, on the commute into work and cannot believe it - F*&king Colm Hayes again in the morning - he's desperate - before you know it there'll be "comedy" phonecalls and pranks in the mornings. Lucy might be okay on TV in small doses but rubbish on radio. Listened to a convo about Harry Potter this morning, is this a permanent change? definitely cannot listen to this tripe in the mornings.

unfortunately, yes. its permanent.

I was listening to Greg last night, and an advert came on for the Colm and Lucy show where they had done a piece where Colm must have thought it funny to comment on Lucy's nose. As in isn't it hilarious, she has a big nose and she looks like Pinocchio! He was asking what her parents noses were like.

Is that meant to be funny or am I absolutely missing something? From hearing that alone it would put me off tuning in. I can't get a break from that dratted breakfast show even in the evenings listening to another DJ.
    That type of tripe really is ruining the good DJs shows now too.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I still think that the Aussie woman that used to do the early news and work with Greg was really good. She had a great handle on Irish placenames. During the GAA club championship she perfectly pronounced clubnames that would fox a native Gaelic speaker.

Used to drive me mad how she pronounced Gardaí
    Kamili wrote: »
    I was listening to Greg last night, and an advert came on for the Colm and Lucy show where they had done a piece where Colm must have thought it funny to comment on Lucy's nose. As in isn't it hilarious, she has a big nose and she looks like Pinocchio! He was asking what her parents noses were like.

Sweet Jesus I heard that ad at lunchtime today. Nearly crashed the fu*king car, which would have been really impressive as I had just parked.
    Switched radio straight off. On the upside. Pat has become far less annoying. I've been listening to dublin city in the mornings, downloading apps for planet rock now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

Used to drive me mad how she pronounced Gardaí

Sweet Jesus I heard that ad at lunchtime today. Nearly crashed the fu*king car, which would have been really impressive as I had just parked.
    Switched radio straight off. On the upside. Pat has become far less annoying. I've been listening to dublin city in the mornings, downloading apps for planet rock now.

Surely Lucy would be able to take action as slagging of her appearance would be classed as workplace bullying and there is thousands of public witnesses. She could make a feckin fortune! And the upside would be that Hayes would get sacked.

Maybe we'll be getting a new morning show in a few months and a new programme director :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,090 ✭✭✭prunudo

I'm conflicted here this morning. They're playing good music but then then spoil it by talking about Kardashian and kanye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,480 ✭✭✭Kamili

Surely Lucy would be able to take action as slagging of her appearance would be classed as workplace bullying and there is thousands of public witnesses. She could make a feckin fortune! And the upside would be that Hayes would get sacked.

Maybe we'll be getting a new morning show in a few months and a new programme director :D:D

I actually thought that at the time of hearing the piece, it was really cringeworthy.

Lucy herself made minimal one word answers while Hayes kept digging..

" The Colm and Lucy show..they have 5 kids between them.."....

Goes to show that they do look in here ...which makes them sadder....sticks and stones...:p