Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

radio nova

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭guile4582

Thats always been the problem with Nova...they just cant shut up and play music...Courtenay is probably the worst offender...

Just be aware as far as I know there is BAI compliance targets that have to be met according to their license.
    Basically x% needs to be talk and they can only play x% of music.

Not saying this is the reason and I'm unaware of their percentage breakdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

guile4582 wrote: »
    Just be aware as far as I know there is BAI compliance targets that have to be met according to their license.
    Basically x% needs to be talk and they can only play x% of music.

Not saying this is the reason and I'm unaware of their percentage breakdown.

Seems like 70/30 in favour of talk...the Nova bible has a "talk as much as you like" clause for the breakfast show...:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭Kyle More

Seems like 70/30 in favour of talk...the Nova bible has a "talk as much as you like" clause for the breakfast show...:rolleyes:

More like 'Talk as much sh1te as you like' for that show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

Ah, that station has turned into such a shít show in the last few years. I remember a time when you were guaranteed some classic rock when you tuned in. Now a'days you be lucky to get bon jovi...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

Hal1 wrote: »
    Ah, that station has turned into such a shít show in the last few years. I remember a time when you were guaranteed some classic rock when you tuned in. Now a'days you be lucky to get bon jovi...

People need to start requesting the classics more. If enough people ask, Nova might actually cop on to the fact that it what the listeners want.

FanadMan wrote: »
    People need to start requesting the classics more. If enough people ask, Nova might actually cop on to the fact that it what the listeners want.

It's a nice thought, but they wouldn't listen. They've decided to go mainstream and that's what they're going to focus on from here on in. Their musical content will be watered down even further and I imagine that it will be rigorously enforced.

The few "listeners :rolleyes:" that do ring up generally pick decent tunes....its the PD that's the problem..."dont give them what they want, give them what i say they want"....

The few "listeners " that do ring up generally pick decent tunes....its the PD that's the problem..."dont give them what they want, give them what i say they want"....

A few years ago I requested some song on PCs show. He replied that the PD would shoot him if he played it....was Clint on duty that day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭MikeyTaylor

A few years ago I requested some song on PCs show. He replied that the PD would shoot him if he played it....was Clint on duty that day.
    Which song was it?

Highway to Hell, I think. It's not like they don't play it anyway but it surprised me! I think they even use it in their "This is Nova music" ads.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,435 ✭✭✭Trebor176

Do any of you hear that flushing sound? That's the sound of Nova going down the toilet! Well, it may as well be at this rate.

Trebor176 wrote: »
    Do any of you hear that flushing sound? That's the sound of Nova going down the toilet! Well, it may as well be at this rate.

Sorry i thought it was the sound of Bastille/Kodaline/Spoon...and most of the hipster sh1t theyve started playing...:)

I was probably a bit hasty with Loosey about her knowledge of music....seems she knows more about "vinyl" than i thought.....:D

maxresdefault.jpg

I'd love to see your collection...!!

Jaysus, wonder if she is on kik!

Or maybe drop an email to Kevin Branigan, I’ve found him very responsive to my emails!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭guile4582

Can't beat John Clarke on a Sunday. I'm an avid listener
    When they can him, then Nova is completely dead

guile4582 wrote: »
    Can't beat John Clarke on a Sunday. I'm an avid listener
    When they can him, then Nova is completely dead

I doubt they will.

zorro2566 wrote: »
    Or maybe drop an email to Kevin Branigan, I’ve found him very responsive to my emails!

"Hi Kevin its me again....just wondering if you could come and run a bath for me ...badly...you seem quite apt at such things..".......

:p

Was just listening to Nova and finally got sick of the pop being played by the robot so switched to Planet Rock. First song on was Wherever I May Roam by Metallica. Think the last time I heard it on Nova was when they played the Black album as the classic.

That's the sort of thing that they should be playing all the time! Not George bloody Ezra or Bastille or other hipster shyte they call "rock"

Was just listening to Nova and finally got sick of the pop being played by the robot so switched to Planet Rock. First song on was Wherever I May Roam by Metallica. Think the last time I heard it on Nova was when they played the Black album as the classic.

That's the sort of thing that they should be playing all the time! Not George bloody Ezra or Bastille or other hipster shyte they call "rock"

So you'll be looking forward to hearing the new Florence and the machine song then.....:p

It looks like some of the negative feedback/comments in relation to the new breakfast show have been removed from Nova's Facebook page.

Kyle More wrote: »
    It looks like some of the negative feedback/comments in relation to the new breakfast show have been removed from Nova's Facebook page.

That always happens. They don't like negative publicity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,037 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Had a listen this morning... The banter was appalling, great you got summer clothes out of the attic....

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Kyle More wrote: »

I tweeted them negative feedback this morning. About an hour later they retweeted some of the positive feedback. Some to them have switched to nova based on who the new breakfast show presenters are...their profiles probably lined up with that tbh.
    If I was still doing a long drive I'd listen to Dublin City. I'm driving to Belfast on Wednesday morning so feck knows what I'll listen to for that as you'd get Nova up to about Dundalk or so :(

I tweeted them negative feedback this morning. About an hour later they retweeted some of the positive feedback. Some to them have switched to nova based on who the new breakfast show presenters are...their profiles probably lined up with that tbh.
    If I was still doing a long drive I'd listen to Dublin City. I'm driving to Belfast on Wednesday morning so feck knows what I'll listen to for that as you'd get Nova up to about Dundalk or so :(

You should be in BBC territory by then...

Had a listen this morning... The banter was appalling, great you got summer clothes out of the attic....

The whole thing is embarrassing...BAI should be ashamed of themselves

The worst part is that they're refusing to engage with their listeners. As I mentioned earlier, negative feedback is either being ignored or deleted on their Facebook page. Long time listeners want to know why they're being force fed a flagship show that they didn't want. The station should at least come out and say why they've implemented such drastic changes in their programming. If it happens to be the case (as many of us suspect) that it's a step in the process of re-branding into a pop station, why not just say it out straight and be done with it?

They dont care about their listeners, its all about keeping the advertisers happy...and boy are there plenty of those..As long as they play the minimum amount of music intermixed with the maximum amount of talk and ads then everyones happy...the listeners dont fit into the equation...Theyre relying on the "ah sure it better the devil you know" listener....Radio Nova...no ones bothered....:rolleyes:

https://youtu.be/Kg6jniUE2Dg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,037 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Anyone else have fond memories of the old breakfast show with Marty and the lady that wasn't dee? I assume she's the presenter that was unfairly dismissed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,480 ✭✭✭Kamili

Anyone else have fond memories of the old breakfast show with Marty and the lady that wasn't dee? I assume she's the presenter that was unfairly dismissed
    Joan Leia

Eh no, that was awful too. 98fm all over.

The presenter who was unfairly dismissed was on after Pat Courtenay in the evening.