Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,752 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

They were grand this morning, went to give them their meal this evening and discovered them, my dad who's eyesight is crap looked at the meal and saw the fertiliser, the dead ones are in 2 different pens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,282 ✭✭✭alps

whelan2 wrote: »
    ye, just hope there's no more deaths Young stock were turning their noses up at the meal this morning and eating the silage ahead of the meal, now we know why

Hope they make a fuss about your young lad, and treat him special...its much more than an economic hit to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 PLW17

Well. What are the rates for milking 470 cows through a rotary followed by 600 cubicles on my own with bucket and sometimes help with calves. Start 5:30 finish 11 or 12 and back in evening. Well capable with two years experience in the parlour. Mainly weekend work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,403 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

alps wrote: »
    Hope they make a fuss about your young lad, and treat him special...its much more than an economic hit to him

A bit different but there's a common theme of death.
    When I was in my teens Dad gave me a filly foal by a jumping draft stallion out of a thoroughbred mare we had.
    I was thrilled with this filly and had great plans what I was going to do with her.
    Then one afternoon my uncle was visiting and I was going to show him the horses and the foal. A heavy rain shower came over and we had to wait in the house till it passed. Then there was an almighty crack of thunder.
    It passed and we put no pass on the shower. So off over to the field and here wasn't the foal lying dead in the middle of the field still warm.
    We weren't sure what happened it first and thought about poisoning etc etc.
    Then we copped it must have been struck by lightning.
    Luckily we had the stock insured for lightning. So called the vet and post mortem done and he confirmed it as lightning strike.

Insurance paid out and then off we go to buy a replacement filly foal. We studied the catalogue and ticked off a few.
    I bought one anyway on the first day of the sale and nobody else was interested in this chestnut filly foal. So it was bought reasonable enough.

Fast forward years and I bred a foal out of her that topped the sales in goresbridge and her first progeny jumped in the Dublin horse show and it brought us to millstreet as well to see it jumping. Then it went on out to jump in Switzerland and ended up in 1.50 grand prixs.

But anyway to cut a long post short.
    Maybe some people believe things happen for a reason and fate and that malarkey but it was terrible at the time but maybe it... was ...fate that sent that lightning strike down at the time or just plain old science.
    I know the situation is bad atm Whelan but who knows what the future will bring.

Hopefully the meal company will look after yous well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Where will I send the sample to find out what fertilizer it was?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,282 ✭✭✭alps

Where will I send the sample to find out what fertilizer it was?

Have you an advisor or somebody that can represent you in this issue whelan? The supplier may be very upfront and fair, but if not, it would be an issue that you need like a hole in the head to resolve.

The more power the supplier sees that you have on your side, the easier it will be to fix up, and it's not a bill you will have to cover at the end of the day.

I'm sure the supplier has greater concerns at present, as it is likely that you are not the only farmer affected by this contamination, and if their quality control is such that it can lead to incidences such as this, well anything up to and including the pig feed contamination breach is possible....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Have you an advisor or somebody that can represent you in this issue whelan? The supplier may be very upfront and fair, but if not, it would be an issue that you need like a hole in the head to resolve.

The more power the supplier sees that you have on your side, the easier it will be to fix up, and it's not a bill you will have to cover at the end of the day.

I'm sure the supplier has greater concerns at present, as it is likely that you are not the only farmer affected by this contamination, and if their quality control is such that it can lead to incidences such as this, well anything up to and including the pig feed contamination breach is possible....

Totally agree. Was thinking the same last night. We had a somewhat similar situation some years ago and while supplier was initially very agreeable the situation changed when the extent of the problem and redress became apparent.

Find some professional independent person that can prepare your case in comprehensive and professional way, they will

Thanks. I am in with teagasc this morning on another matter and will discuss it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,671 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Sorry to hear about your weanlings Whelan.
    Since it's a case of food contaminated poisoning would it not be better to send the carcass a RVL for independent testing/conformation as to the cause of death. I think the State Laboratory at Backweston may offer the service but Weatherbys labs at Backweston do offer feed testing/analysis
    http://weatherbysscientific.com/food-testing/

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,498 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Totally agree. Was thinking the same last night. We had a somewhat similar situation some years ago and while supplier was initially very agreeable the situation changed when the extent of the problem and redress became apparent.

Find some professional independent person that can prepare your case in comprehensive and professional way, they will
    Hold your horses boys.wouldnt go down that route in hurry if they are acrowd you ve dealt with along time.that said i would comunicate by email rather phone in future on this matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,623 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

K.G. wrote: »
    Hold your horses boys.wouldnt go down that route in hurry if they are acrowd you ve dealt with along time.that said i would comunicate by email rather phone in future on this matter.

With email you have a record.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Dont always look in on this dairy thread. Terrible thing to happen whelan2. The quiet way is the best way if it can be worked out. A genuine mistake can happen in any business. Would u be happy if u got compensated adequately for the value of the stock, veterinary callouts, knackery charges, pms etc? I'd make up the costings yourself and put it to the supplier and he should pull the cheque book out of the top pocket in a jeffy if he has any sense.

Bord Bia would be another few buzz words to throw out if he is a registered animal feeds supplier and there is any bother.

Cctv has been checked and the trailer was clean before loading

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,623 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

So it's the loader then

Reggie. wrote: »
    So it's the loader then

I hope this doesn't go the way it could go.

Not doubting the integrity ( :rolleyes: ) of the meal supplier but this could end up like a car crash with everyone apologetic at the time of the accident but then the brain cells start working overtime after.

I'd like to have back up to fight my corner.

Valuation on year old good ebi fr heifers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

May be no harm to get a valuers opinion if you know one. I have the sheet the department send somewhere if I can route it out where they give their range of values depending on pedigree yields etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Valuation on year old good ebi fr heifers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭einn32

mahoney_j wrote: »

Lost future profits?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

einn32 wrote: »
    Lost future profits?

If you're looking to make money for some solicitor/barrister who you would have to carefully explain to the difference between fertiliser and weanlings head down that road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

It must be some cctv camera. They can't use most cctv systems for facial recognition but these lads can see into a trailer passing a fixed camera to see whether there's fert in it.

If you're looking to make money for some solicitor/barrister who you would have to carefully explain to the difference between fertiliser and weanlings head down that road.

I have been on that road before. Both sides want it sorted. Meal is gone to be ploughed in. . Hopefully that's the end of it. I seem to be very unfortunate.

It must be some cctv camera. They can't use most cctv systems for facial recognition but these lads can see into a trailer passing a fixed camera to see whether there's fert in it.

Camera on weighbridge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭cute geoge

I have been on that road before. Both sides want it sorted. Meal is gone to be ploughed in. . Hopefully that's the end of it. I seem to be very unfortunate.

As the old crowd used to say ''once it stays outside the door''

Have they accepted responsibility?

Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Yes

In writing?

Accepting responsibility and compensation are two very different things. All very unfortunate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Went over to dries easier on and found one thrown on the ground dead. Dunno what the he'll happened her, good condition really scratching my head.10 left to go with one in the calving box

In writing?

Accepting responsibility and compensation are two very different things. All very unfortunate.

Hopefully all be finished with tomorrow. . Didn't need it on top of everything else