Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

Mod note: I'll take down a few posts and replies at the request of the poster. It's safe to say we are all feeling the same at the minute.

Buford T. Justice.

Understandable .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭farisfat

I've kept in touch with a few that could be under pressure the last 10 days.....fodder shortage poor growth and financial pressure.

It happened here 15 years ago....talk is for free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,282 ✭✭✭alps

This FRX business on blue cards is absolute boll##

Just got a card for a fr bull, magnificent animal by British Friesian bull Nerewater Launcher..

His pedigree is 66%Fr 28%Ho 3%Danish Red 3%Swedish Red.......and his card is FRX

He can be registered pedigree....

He can't be exported as they won't buy him with FRX on the card..

Sold to a local man in any case, who raises a small few animals, and delighted he is going there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭visatorro

alps wrote: »
    This FRX business on blue cards is absolute boll##

Just got a card for a fr bull, magnificent animal by British Friesian bull Nerewater Launcher..

His pedigree is 66%Fr 28%Ho 3%Danish Red 3%Swedish Red.......and his card is FRX

He can be registered pedigree....

He can't be exported as they won't buy him with FRX on the card..

Sold to a local man in any case, who raises a small few animals, and delighted he is going there...

Angus calves outta friesian could could come back frx or aax or just fr or aa. No rhyme nor reason. Lad bought a few off me before Xmas and demanded the cards be changed to aa as he wouldn't get bonus. All registered on agfood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭farmer lad

Any1 at the bull sale in Kilkenny today? Trade good or bad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Dropped phone in a bucket of milk. Working fine but the speaker, can hardly hear anyone on it. Can't take it apart any one know the best way of drying it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,755 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Mooooo wrote: »
    Dropped phone in a bucket of milk. Working fine but the speaker, can hardly hear anyone on it. Can't take it apart any one know the best way of drying it

Hot press or aga cooker. Or put in a bowl of dry rice

farmer lad wrote: »
    Any1 at the bull sale in Kilkenny today? Trade good or bad?

Poor I believe....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Morris Moss

If it's a Samsung the bin is the only place for it, the speaker will never come right on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭RedPeppers

Anyone point me in the direction of any sales where I could buy some calved jex heifers? Don’t mind traveling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

RedPeppers wrote: »
    Anyone point me in the direction of any sales where I could buy some calved jex heifers? Don’t mind traveling

Grasstec.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭boggerman1

Cover the phone in rice.leave for 24 hrs.i dropped an iPhone in a bit of water a couple of yrs ago.it automatically shut down but got going again after the rice treatment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,855 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Cover in the rice (uncooked)ha, in a plastic bag or container you can seal for 24 hours. Same principle as a dehumidifier, rice draws moisture from the air in the bag, which draws the water out of the phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

If it's a newer Samsung/apple there meant to be waterproof so I'd chance pulling out the warranty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Hows everyone's milk production going this spring well behind here on litres and solids only have 5kg of grass in the diet rest a mix of maize and grass silage . Sitting at the same production for the past 3 weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

trixi2011 wrote:
    Hows everyone's milk production going this spring well behind here on litres and solids only have 5kg of grass in the diet rest a mix of maize and grass silage . Sitting at the same production for the past 3 weeks

I'd be throwing some soya bean in. What's your protein levels in silage like? What nut are you using?. Are your cows in good condition?. I'm actually doing the same as last year and was up 2 litres in Feb. I'm 50% winter calving tho. Silage quality last year made all the difference.

Buying in all silage at this stage not sure of the protien , feeding 5kg of 16% meal will have some distillers or supergrains next week will bring up the protien in the diet a little only at 22l a cow been hovering around that for the last few week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

trixi2011 wrote: »

I remember asking an old lad many moons ago how does he stop his hounds from consistent barking? (He had quite a few)....I feed them, he said.
    Not being smart, but that’s poor return from fresh calved cows. Assuming their fresh, not stale.
    A balanced diet is what’s needed. Emphasis on ’balanced’ Trixi.

Buying in all silage at this stage not sure of the protien , feeding 5kg of 16% meal will have some distillers or supergrains next week will bring up the protien in the diet a little only at 22l a cow been hovering around that for the last few week

I’d take a stab and guess that your nutritive value per kgdm is letting you down.
    How’re their coats looking? Is there a shine off them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

You'd want to be feeding 20% p nut, maize prob 9% p, silage could be anything from 9 to 15 depending on the load. Doing about 24 here with 23 % roll overs from last spring, 6 of 20% nut grass by day maize by night.

Only snatching grazing when we can, but there will be no chance of allowing over 5kg of grass a day for at least the next 3 weeks.

Poor silage, our huge weakness, as we always thought of it as a dry cow feed..(this needs a new directuon)..

Protein levels dropping, just put in the lowest one in 15 years at sub 3%. Cows in great form, looking well, bulling like mad, but producing only 1.6kg ms.

Diet 6kg high 18% but, 2 kg sugar beet, and balance silage and grass...half herd now calved 4 nearly 5 weeks and getting to critical stage for intake and peak output..

Will need to chase, and don't mind throwing What we can at it for the e nextb3 to 4 weeks..

Any suggestions?

alps wrote: »
    Only snatching grazing when we can, but there will be no chance of allowing over 5kg of grass a day for at least the next 3 weeks.

Poor silage, our huge weakness, as we always thought of it as a dry cow feed..(this needs a new directuon)..

Protein levels dropping, just put in the lowest one in 15 years at sub 3%. Cows in great form, looking well, bulling like mad, but producing only 1.6kg ms.

Diet 6kg high 18% but, 2 kg sugar beet, and balance silage and grass...half herd now calved 4 nearly 5 weeks and getting to critical stage for intake and peak output..

Will need to chase, and don't mind throwing What we can at it for the e nextb3 to 4 weeks..

Any suggestions?

With protein that low and getting them in good feck for breeding...toasted maize if you can get it at a reasonable price. Circa €165/t would be the going rate.
    Protein levels in grass are sure to escalate. This weather has to become much better, and shortly.

With protein that low and getting them in good feck for breeding...toasted maize if you can get it at a reasonable price. Circa €165/t would be the going rate.
    Protein levels in grass are sure to escalate. This weather has to become much better, and shortly.

How much if this could you add to the diet? If toasted maize not available, would maize meal do? Would you be inclined to drop the parlour 6kg a little and go hard with the maize through the silage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,855 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Looks like the Chinese will target USA soya bean for tariff. Not a help ATM but that should drop the price for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,125 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Well north of 200 euro for flaked maize, brilliant feed though feeding flaked maize/cooked peas/soya bean meal plus nis and beet-pulp at 4 kgs through the silage and their motoring away along with 6 kgs nuts in the parlour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,449 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Well north of 200 euro for flaked maize, brilliant feed though feeding flaked maize/cooked peas/soya bean meal plus nis and beet-pulp at 4 kgs through the silage and their motoring away along with 6 kgs nuts in the parlour

They'd want to be with 10kg of meal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

They'd want to be with 10kg of meal!

Hes probably doing close to 30 litres tho. Alot of spring fellas are as low as 16-18 with poor solids and cows losing condition. I know a very good farmer who's feeding 3kg crimp through the diet feeder with 80+ dmd silage bales which are 17% protein and is just feeding a 18% high quality nut on a feed to yield in the parlour. He's not feeding any maize because he said it brings Down the total protein in the diet. He's gonna buffer feed it all year at grass instead. Must see his results. It's based on top quality silage tho. Silage analysis is huge. Even bought in stuff, the seller should have it tested so you can adjust cow diet accordingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,707 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

blackdog1 wrote: »
    Hes probably doing close to 30 litres tho. Alot of spring fellas are as low as 16-18 with poor solids and cows losing condition. I know a very good farmer who's feeding 3kg crimp through the diet feeder with 80+ dmd silage bales which are 17% protein and is just feeding a 18% high quality nut on a feed to yield in the parlour. He's not feeding any maize because he said it brings Down the total protein in the diet. He's gonna buffer feed it all year at grass instead. Must see his results. It's based on top quality silage tho. Silage analysis is huge. Even bought in stuff, the seller should have it tested so you can adjust cow diet accordingly.
    Introduced trafford gold a week ago now feeding 4 kg of it along with 78 dmd wraps ,6 kg average of 16% hi energy nut on average fty and grass by day .30.8 kg Ltrs 4.48 fat 3.27 protein .89% calved cows in super condition and showing very strong heats .this extra feeding is going to have a very good effect on upcoming breeding season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

Have a mess around with this, should give ye a guide

Edit, go to the 2nd page if it doesn't open on it

You'd want to be feeding 20% p nut, maize prob 9% p, silage could be anything from 9 to 15 depending on the load. Doing about 24 here with 23 % roll overs from last spring, 6 of 20% nut grass by day maize by night.
    You feeding maize straight ? Trying hard to get some distillers type product but hard to get with all going to the bio digesters these days .