Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wesley College granted 150,000 in government grants to resurface their hockey pitch.

lazygal wrote: »
    Loads of parents pay more for child care every year. I know we do.

Amen to that, too. My childcare costs in fees alone are slightly over €25,000 per annum so I'm decidedly unimpressed by the notions of these clowns who are trying to big up their €6,500 per annum fees for some outdated anglocentric secondary school in south Dublin. It's taking these parents a while to realise power has shifted and that Europe, not Britain, is where the power is now.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,857 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

The British Army has never directly run football in this country.

Unlike that evil foreign cult that was deeply entrenched with the Gah mafia bartering kids in to playing their crap sports.

Doubt any of that gets a mention in their museum.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

What exactly did Michael D do that was out of order?

Going by this thread every penny spent in a ministers constituency is a disgrace.

Greybottle wrote: »
    Michael Ring and John O'Donoghue did this in Mayo and Kerry and were rightly roundly slated for it....
    Shane Ross built his career on the back of outrage over wasteful government spending and critiscising stroke politics. Then he gets in to a Minsiters seat and we get this.

This, a million times. Let's not forget before Ross reinvented himself, he was the biggest cheerleader of Seán Fitzpatrick and Michael Fingleton, calling them "superstars" and wanting the former appointed to the Central Bank of Ireland. This all happened after he regularly told readers in the Sunday Independent to sell Eircom shares, the price dropped and in rode his boss, "Sir Anthony", to buy Eircom shares cheaply. Then, Ross advised readers to buy Eircom shares because O'Reilly was now involved. Shares went up, O'Reilly sold up at a massive profit. Such impartial journalism indeed.

The last person in Ireland who can lecture anybody about "ethics" is Shane Ross and all this stroke politics from Stepaside to Wesley with Irish taxpayers' money is more of the same from that arch sycophant of powerful people.

Still a great read: Brendan Burgess's open letter to Shane Ross (2011)

Zebra3 wrote: »
    The British Army has never directly run football in this country.
    In the two other places to see soccer emerge in Munster at the time, Tipperary and Limerick, the military influence certainly does appear to be more noticeable.... These military connections would see the club listed by South Tipperary No. 3 Brigade of the IRA as one of the enemy institutions in the area in 1921.... In Limerick, one of the early important civilian sides, Limerick AFC, founded in 1908, certainly relied on local military sides to provide them with opponents. Yet, their efforts paid off as a promoter of the game: by 1912, more civilian soccer teams began to emerge in the city. In Munster, the growth of soccer reveals a complex relationship between the military and civilian teams.

One area where military dominance was obvious was in the committee of the local governing body of the sport, the Munster Football Association, which had been founded in 1901. But the strong military presence on that committee was in fact resented and often a negative for the game’s development among the civilian population. The official control of the game by the military meant that soccer was played on Saturday afternoons, usually between three and four p.m, when many civilians were still at work. In the round up of the 1908/1909 season, “Centre Forward” had noted that, ‘A great obstacle to the games in Cork being attended is the lack of a general half-holiday, and I venture to predict that when that drawback is eliminated the attendance at local Soccer matches will far exceed that of past seasons.’

.... With so many players and organisers in the military, winter-time furlough (a break for soldiers for the months of December and January) also played a significant role in the shape of the season and was the root cause of the cluttered pre-Christmas calendar of fixtures. So, in some years football could halt for close on two months, taking much of the steam out of the leagues and competitions, particularly for the civilian sides. All of this led to supreme dissatisfaction amongst civilian clubs...

More here: The Garrison Game: soccer's foreign image in Irish popular culture

• Registered Users Posts: 24,298 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Ajsoprano wrote: »
    At the end of the day ask yourself where would these kids be if there were no fee paying schools.

In public schools using all the money.

So a private school saves the taxpayer money.

Why shouldn’t they get a bit of funding when they pay for their own teachers and heating and stuff.

If it was found that they got a disproportionate amount of funding I’d be annoyed but disadvantages areas get funding too.

Doesn't the state pay the teachers?

lawred2 wrote: »

Yes, the vast, vast majority of teachers in fee-charging schools are paid by the state. Latin teachers, rugby coaches, school libraries and the like are almost always paid out of the school's own resources -but they get extensive state grants to help develop buildings on their own private land as long as they are used for education. A mess of a system: the state should only be funding state-owned schools rather than directing millions into these private organisations. Long overdue for change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Good man Shane Ross, the South County Dublin Healy-Rae.
    "he fixed the hockey pitches!"

• Registered Users Posts: 13,857 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

So there were figures involved in football who were also members of the foreign occupation. But it doesn’t show that the sport was directly controlled by the occupying forces.

And you’ve refused to acknowledge the violence against Irish children by members of a foreign cult in support of the Gah.

Would you care to comment on this?

Or does it not fit into the bogballers deluded self-image of Irishness?

They seem to have no problem speaking the language of the occupier 24/7.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,779 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Yes, the vast, vast majority of teachers in fee-charging schools are paid by the state. Latin teachers, rugby coaches, school libraries and the like are almost always paid out of the school's own resources -but they get extensive state grants to help develop buildings on their own private land as long as they are used for education. A mess of a system: the state should only be funding state-owned schools rather than directing millions into these private organisations. Long overdue for change.

Every child in private education costs the state half the amount of a child in public education.

Explain to me please how the state would cope with the sudden removal of the subsidy when thousands of students suddenly need to be put into public schools, whatever about the cost there is simply no room for it to happen currently.

Indeed but a child in private school costs the state half the amount a child in public school costs

• Registered Users Posts: 14,054 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Y To think taxes from a sovereign Irish republic in 2018 subsidise that Irish culture-hating colonial hangover is galling.

Perhaps we should set fire to Trinity College so. Meet you tomorrow? :pac:
    Thanks be to Jesus for the Fenians, Parnell, Michael Cusack, Conradh na Gaeilge and the Easter Rising for keeping the flame of well over a millennium of Irish cultural distinctiveness alive when every cultural cringe lowly educated Johnny-come-lately Irish knacker was (and still is) trying to emulate the coloniser's sport and wider culture. Amen.

Is this you by any chance?

image.jpg

Ironiclly for Fuaranach or our resident Irish version of Tommy Robinson, Irish rugby is an all-Ireland affair, the only sport on the international stage where both North and South come together.

You wont find many unionists playing GAA but they will play rugby.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,967 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Stephen15 wrote: »
    ...No one in Ireland bar a small minority of fee paying girls schools play hockey whereas most children and some adults play football....
    WTF? What planet are you living on? We have a very long established men's hockey league. I know more men who play hockey than play football. What makes you think it's just played by girls in fee paying schools?

• Registered Users Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

I have a feeling that the parents of these kids pay an awful lot of tax so I don't see an issue with the school getting this grant. Is every grant that every organisation gets going to be scrutinised this way now?

VinLieger wrote: »
    Every child in private education costs the state half the amount of a child in public education.

Source? As the vast majority of Irish secondary students are, in fact, in private education as things stand the equation of fee-charging students with private education does the reality a further disservice.

Furthermore, if the state were to put that €100 million subsidy to the 8% of schools that are fee-charging schools into building and developing a publicly owned school system it would get far greater economies of scale and we would end this preposterous situation of huge amounts of state money being used to build buildings on property owned by private organisations.

markodaly wrote: »
    image.jpg

This was a devastatingly original response, never before seen here. You must be exhausted from stretching your creativity so much.

So there were figures involved in football who were also members of the foreign occupation. But it doesn’t show that the sport was directly controlled by the occupying forces.

Actually, that's precisely what it showed if you go back and read it.
    And you’ve refused to acknowledge the violence against Irish children by members of a foreign cult in support of the Gah.

Would this be the same foreign cult whose members set up Glasgow Celtic and who set up most of these rugby/cricket fee-charging schools? Strange how that is overlooked...
    Or does it not fit into the bogballers deluded self-image of Irishness?...

Hmmm. What a pity.

This was a devastatingly original response, never before seen here. You must be exhausted from stretching your creativity so much.

So it was you? Better burn you Celtic FC jersey as its a relic of imperial foreign rule.

Your line of thinking belongs in 1921 not 2018 when most people could not care less.

I don't get this hang up about soccer. It is a world game enjoyed by billions, are our resident bigots and philistines really going to give out about it? Would the same people favour keeping rule 27.
    In 1938 Douglas Hyde, recently inaugurated as first President of Ireland, was removed as Patron of the GAA after attending an Irish soccer international. After Rule 27 was abolished in 1971,

The GAA has a long history of bigotry and sectarianism it was meant to fight.

The idea of people who play and enjoy sport like Soccer and Rugby are not as Irish as those who play in the GAA belongs to the Wahhabism school of Irish Republicanism. Extremists who should be shown the door.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

150,000 wouldnt go anywhere towards the homeless
    Issue. So bringing that into it is the usual rubbish.
    It might get a basic house outside dublin but seemingly the homeless, the ones that make their opinion known anyhow, want to remain in the capital so let this school have its grant.

Source? As the vast majority of Irish secondary students are, in fact, in private education as things stand the equation of fee-charging students with private education does the reality a further disservice.

Furthermore, if the state were to put that €100 million subsidy to the 8% of schools that are fee-charging schools into building and developing a publicly owned school system it would get far greater economies of scale and we would end this preposterous situation of huge amounts of state money being used to build buildings on property owned by private organisations.

Heres the source, behind a pay wall unfortunately but ill quote the relevant paragraphs https://www.irishtimes.com/news/education/time-to-end-this-divisive-debate-on-private-education-1.604805
    Fee-paying schools in Ireland are often castigated for taking funds from the State at a time when more essential services provided in education are being cut back. Let me put that argument to bed quickly: the State has to pay teachers for every child. The fee-paying sector saves the State more than €90 million – circa €3,500 per student – annually. The State does not pay for the buildings or maintenance at Belvedere, and it doesn’t pay the capitation grants given to non-fee schools.
    In short, a child who attends a non-fee school costs the State about €8,000 a year. The cost to the State of a child at Belvedere is about €4,500. Parents, who are taxpayers, make up the rest.

If we end, the subsidy there will be hundreds if not thousands of parents who suddenly cannot afford to send their children to private school and they will end up back in the public system, we currently don't have the space for them and that is an indisputable fact.

There is then the possibility of a domino effect so that depending on how many people stay on in the private schools a certain number of them may not be able to stay afloat due to student losses so they will close throwing the rest of their students back into the public system putting the public system under even more strain and getting the 100 million subsidy back is not going to fix it.

May I ask why you have a problem with rugby?

Amen to that, too. My childcare costs in fees alone are slightly over €25,000 per annum so I'm decidedly unimpressed by the notions of these clowns who are trying to big up their €6,500 per annum fees for some outdated anglocentric secondary school in south Dublin. It's taking these parents a while to realise power has shifted and that Europe, not Britain, is where the power is now.

What are you even talking about with garbage chip on shoulder comments like that? You have a problem with the sport they play so their schools should be shut? You need to get out more

• Registered Users Posts: 4,638 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

CeilingFly wrote: »
    maybe those earning good wages shouldn't pay tax then?

BTW - most parents of wesley pupils would not be considered wealthy. Most live in ballinteer area.

Ironically, anybody with a child in full time childcare in Ireland is paying far more annually than it would cost to send the kid to somewhere like Wesley for a year.

I don't think it's the preserve of the wealthy although if fee paying schools didn't recieve the state support that they do, you could argue that the fees would probably be way beyond what many could afford.

Edit, I see that point has already been made.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,638 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

How about arguing the substantive issue?

If there is so much outrage here for a €150,00 grant for a schools sporting facilities, why no outrage over the richest sporting organisation in the country getting €30 million from the Taxpayer to upgrade a stadium?

While other codes aren't allowed to use the stadia (unless, of course, they fork out millions for the privilege a-la FAI and Croke Park)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Jaysus, I think this thread is a perfect example of why boards.ie is seen as being a place on the internet that is full of argumentative weirdos.

A discussion board that has people arguing about various topics? Im shocked, cus that doesnt happen anywhere else on the Internet at all.........

If you think boards is full of weirdos youve lived a very sheltered life

• Registered Users Posts: 23,401 ✭✭✭✭ted1

At the end of the day ask yourself where would these kids be if there were no fee paying schools.

Why shouldn’t they get a bit of funding when they pay for their own teachers and heating and stuff.

If it was found that they got a disproportionate amount of funding I’d be annoyed but disadvantages areas get funding too.

They pay for some of the teachers but unlike free schools they don’t pay fir the upkeep or buildings so the private school saves the state money there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,723 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

that is the most ridiculous argument ever
    the STATE pays for the salaries of all the teacher

so the private colleges can afford things like excellent sports facilities

our club got 2000 euro as we were looking for a mower to cut the grass. we don't have one. and the pitch is used by men's, women's, boys and girls teams

we had sheep on it over the winter to keep the grass down

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    that is the most ridiculous argument ever
    the STATE pays for the salaries of all the teacher

No they don't private schools pay a percentage of their teachers themselves, id say on average probably max its about 50% of their teaching staff for the bigger private schools with 20-30% for smaller ones and the state pays the rest. That way they get smaller class sizes and is one of the benefits of sending your child to private school.

So don't talk about things you know nothing about.