Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Morris Moss

satstheway wrote: »
    Not the sealer its normally clumpier sticky sh1t.
    This is harder and grainer. If u squeese them with ur nail its like parmesan shavings. Quite hard.

Milk stones, get them every now and again, nothing to worry about just make sure you strip them fully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭satstheway

Milk stones, get them every now and again, nothing to worry about just make sure you strip them fully.

Thanks never heard of them.
    Milking all my life and never seen them before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

satstheway wrote: »
    Thanks never heard of them.
    Milking all my life and never seen them before.
    I had a girl calve down with the same this year, big lumps that were hard to draw properly. I had to take off the unit off that quarter during milking and draw by hand until the lumps went again. Tubed her and she is still very slack in that quarter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Mf310

Fresh calver gone into tank this morn I thought i had dump line on but i had it on for the wrong cluster.. its a heifer and she had been milked twice before so this was her third milking id reckon she only had maybe 2 or 3 litres gone into a tank of 400 litres.... Would ballyragget test it if I brought it down? As its a heifer there would be no antibiotics although it would be very fresh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,765 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Mf310 wrote: »
    Fresh calver gone into tank this morn I thought i had dump line on but i had it on for the wrong cluster.. its a heifer and she had been milked twice before so this was her third milking id reckon she only had maybe 2 or 3 litres gone into a tank of 400 litres.... Would ballyragget test it if I brought it down? As its a heifer there would be no antibiotics although it would be very fresh
    Should be fine if she got no antibiotics. I let hwifers milk in on second day here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,453 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Shouldnt be an issue. Second milking heifers go in the tank here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

No antibiotics no bother. Nothing to worry about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

15% protein and 6% fat.:D

Shouldnt be an issue. Second milking heifers go in the tank here

15% protein and 6% fat.

Great job thanks lads only a new entrant this year doing a bit too much of listening to Teagasc....

Oh Jaysus don't listen to them or your cows will die ;)

How's it going for you? Happy with the change?

Flying it now ..bought 55 maiden heifers last spring aied them and have 40 calved down now will buy a few more calved soon ... couple of lads couldnt believe the idea of all heifers and said we were mad but I can say there was only 1 heifer that really was trying to cause trouble but she calmed down after a few milkings and then maybe 2 or 3 others that youd have to hold for a few milkings other than that it couldnt be better. Changed from sheep/beef so big change really... happy out now only really getting fully set up last week with roadways and the like will makes thing easy having a few paddocks instead of reels everyday

Delighted to hear that. All the best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,453 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Nice to finally see green shoots. Grazed 3 weeks

445333.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

blackdog1 wrote: »
    Have to upgrade the water system this year. Anyone got any number or name of a good guy in North munster area? Also wondering is the loop system expensive to set up?
    whelan2 wrote: »
    Should be fine if she got no antibiotics. I let hwifers milk in on second day here

Rules say 4-5 days
    Please be careful what u put in print

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

Have to upgrade the water system this year. Anyone got any number or name of a good guy in North munster area? Also wondering is the loop system expensive to set up?

cant find poster pass it on

Terra services will do job or advice
    Decent people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

milkprofit wrote:

cant find poster pass it on

milkprofit wrote:
    Terra services will do job or advice Decent people

Tq electrical thurles tom quinlan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Weather looking bad this weekend, anyone going with fertilliser?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,623 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Weather looking bad this weekend, anyone going with fertilliser?

Have it out yesterday

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 96 ✭✭BigSteaks

Reggie. wrote: »
    Have it out yesterday

Did you get much out with the barrow and bucket? Must be pure hardship...are ya worried about heavy rain promised or think you have it out on time?

BigSteaks wrote: »
    Did you get much out with the barrow and bucket? Must be pure hardship...are ya worried about heavy rain promised or think you have it out on time?

Nah just did 5 acres of paddocks. A bag to the acre. Had to put something out. Grass not moving. It'll be well absorbed by Wednesday I'd say

Take ya long to do that? Feck all grass here but won't get it out this week so be and after now. Late year!

BigSteaks wrote: »
    Take ya long to do that? Feck all grass here but won't get it out this week so be and after now. Late year!

About an hour. Glad I did it now. Give grass a help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭greenfield21

Looks like it might be a quick cold snap, hopefully back to mild weather after the weekend. Where's George with an update

Buying bread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,522 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Soil temp only crossed six degrees here today, so today is the first day anything would grow apart from daffodils and snowdrops....gonna be a long winter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,297 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Where would you pick up a thermometer to check soil temps and how much would it cost

wrangler wrote: »
    Soil temp only crossed six degrees here today, so today is the first day anything would grow apart from daffodils and snowdrops....gonna be a long winter

Was a very warm day yesterday. Ground Temp not far from you were higher than that sat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭greenfield21

Has anybody started the second round what are growth rates like? Percentage grazed here 0.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,765 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Has anybody started the second round what are growth rates like? Percentage grazed here 0.

5% grazed here. No fertiliser out. Some slurry out.