Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Annoying Gym Behaviour - Mk2(?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭D3V!L

Paladonia wrote: »
    People who treat the changing room like their bedroom and leave clothes etc flung all over the place while they go shower.

This is very very common in Flyefit CHQ. I find the clothes get in my way so I have to walk on them :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭diusmr8a504cvk

Love how people namedrop their gyms as if everyone here lives in Dublin and knows exactly what they're on about. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,766 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Love how people namedrop their gyms as if everyone here lives in Dublin and knows exactly what they're on about. :rolleyes:

That's straight out of the Danny Healy Rae playbook.

It's just a reference to where someone thinks annoying behaviour is rife. Not sure how that affects the clarity of the poster citing people leaving their clothes all over the place in the dressing room though. Or is that somehow different in Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

GPS coordinates please included in ever post now come on!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭diusmr8a504cvk

That's straight out of the Danny Healy Rae playbook.

It's just a reference to where someone thinks annoying behaviour is rife. Not sure how that affects the clarity of the poster citing people leaving their clothes all over the place in the dressing room though. Or is that somehow different in Dublin?
    'My gym' would suffice...

'My gym' means nothing to anyone. Naming the gym might mean something to some and nothing to others. So how 'My gym' is better, I'm not sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭Paladonia

The annoying behaviour in the annoying gym behaviour thread is more annoying than annoying gym behaviour...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I usually finish my workouts with a few minutes on the heavy bag.
    The last few times there's this dude who follows me the and watches me from afar.

I dunno.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I don't see how naming the gym gives you less information. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

you're a gym owner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 cashcow

Your Face wrote: »
    I usually finish my workouts with a few minutes on the heavy bag.
    The last few times there's this dude who follows me the and watches me from afar.

I dunno.

I've started this again too using the bag for a few minutes before I finish up,usually just throwing combos. However since I started I've noticed more and more people start using the bag thinking their Bruce Lee kicking with their runners on,then falling over because their off balance and the bag has knocked them to the ground. Also their using really light cheap gloves the gym provides probably no more than 6oz and throwing big wild punches,which is an injury waiting to happen.

*note I don't find the above annoying,sometimes it's great viewing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭jam83

People standing doing sets about 6 inches in front of the free weights rack, so you can't grab anything on the rack till they finish. Rage burns inside when that happens!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,729 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

People doing sets in the "thoroughfares" of the gym that block you from moving around until you ask them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,265 ✭✭✭RangeR

** I work in a Gym **

The amount of people who come to the gym, go to the toilet and don't flush?

On a side note : Thanks to the guy who robbed 6 of our toilet cisterns a few weeks ago. You trying to stop others flushing?

Dirty...

What were the staff doing while this guy was dismantling and stealing the toilets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

RangeR wrote: »
    ** I work in a Gym **

The amount of people who come to the gym, go to the toilet and don't flush?

On a side note : Thanks to the guy who robbed 6 of our toilet cisterns a few weeks ago. You trying to stop others flushing?

Dirty...

Not excusing theft but if it was one stolen by a student as a prank/dare/to replace a broken one in a rented house etc. I could possibly understand on one level; but 6? Is there a black market for stolen cisterns that I'm unaware of? :confused:
    Mellor wrote: »
    What were the staff doing while this guy was dismantling and stealing the toilets?

I wouldn't expect the staff to be in the bathroom area protecting the toilets from theft now in fairness!

We certainly don't be in the locker rooms eyeing up the members....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Can't believe I haven't posted this before but there's this one guy in one of the gyms I go to who NEVER has any toiletries. Everytime I happen to be in the changing room when he's post session he's going around asking pretty much everyone in the changing room "would you mind if I borrowed some shower gel/shampoo/deodorant etc. I forgot mine......". This has been going on for the last at least 5 years. The one time he asked me for shampoo I handed him the bottle and he was looking at it with a confused look. I explained it was a "medicated shampoo" (basically very gentle). He said "I don't want any of that" - obviously confused by what medicated means methings. Worked out well for me though as he hasn't asked me for anything since.....but he annoys the hole off me when I hear his voice begging again. Forgetting stuff one or twice I can understand, but every single time?

BUY SOME FOCKING TOILETRIES YOU SCAB.

Not excusing theft but if it was one stolen by a student as a prank/dare/to replace a broken one in a rented house etc. I could possibly understand on one level; but 6? Is there a black market for stolen cisterns that I'm unaware of? :confused:
    No black market or anything like that. He sells/uses them without having to pay for them.
    I wouldn't expect the staff to be in the bathroom area protecting the toilets from theft now in fairness!
    Nor would I.
    But it's not like he can put them in his pocket and walk out.
    We certainly don't be in the locker rooms eyeing up the members....
    That's good to know, as it would be a bit perverted.

If he was stealing the taps, or something small. I'd understand as these could go into a bag. But cisterns aren't small. Presumably the thief had to walk out of the locker room, past reception carrying a heavy, awkward cistern. 6 times. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭jimmythedivil

Am I the only person who thinks gym membership is a money racket for people with too much time on their hands? Most gym members I know are jobless and the fittest people I know never went to a gym in their lives.

If he was stealing the taps, or something small. I'd understand as these could go into a bag. But cisterns aren't small. Presumably the thief had to walk out of the locker room, past reception carrying a heavy, awkward cistern. 6 times. :confused:

Cistern tops. Not the full unit. Just the top bit that comes off. Weird.

Am I the only person who thinks gym membership is a money racket for people with too much time on their hands? Most gym members I know are jobless and the fittest people I know never went to a gym in their lives.
    That's probably more a reflection on the people you know than gyms/people generally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,127 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Nope I work in a office and without the gym I'd be a fatter fecker :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

Nope I work in a office and without the gym I'd be a fatter fecker :pac:

Same!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,813 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

the guy who robbed 6 of our toilet cisterns a few weeks ago. You trying to stop others flushing?

That's pretty annoying. But not quite as annoying as australian biker gangs murdering people

Am I the only person who thinks gym membership is a money racket for people with too much time on their hands?

It's possible you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Squatman

what do you mean by fittest?

That's pretty annoying. But not quite as annoying as australian biker gangs murdering people

I thought we gave that up a while ago. Must check.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭brianblaze

{Garda Recruitment Forum} Sit and wait might be best option. You could contact HR but it won't speed things along and people have been known to get misleading info. Hopefully offers for the April intake will be out soon enough anyway.

Sure look, when you get into the Gardaí you'll have plenty of sitting around doing nothing to do, you won't need to go to a gym to do it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Johnnyhpipe

???