Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Looting in Lidl?(mod warning in op-read it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

PandaPoo wrote: »
    That was my point though. Bray has a bad reputation, same as tallaght. And yet ive mentioned numerous stories of lovely people in my local area being helpful to elderly and disabled folk.

My point (though I admit really hard for me to make clear) is that places like bray and tallaght get a bad rep, but for every story of badness there is 100 stories of kind decent people trying to help their neighbours.
    How do we end up with a bunch of people breaking in to a shop, looting it, people joining in, snapchatting it as if it's a bit of craic and other people who were nothing to do with the original bunch of scumbags, acting as if it's their lucky day and grabbing a few bits for themselves?

Yes , i was agreeing with you ! Sorry if it seemed I was lecturing . I feel strongly as you do that a while community should not be branded because of a gang of scumbags .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Cazale wrote: »
    There are a number of Lidl stores in Tallaght so I'd imagine they will relocate the staff. It's the locals reliant on the shop for their groceries who will be hit the hardest.

They probably havnt been understaffing the other stores while they wait for this one to be looted and destroyed. If they do fit them in elsewhere then the same amount of working hours may well have to now be divided among more people.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭thebull85

so it turns out it was a black sham driving the digger.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭Autochange

Vronsky wrote: »
    While there are clearly "new irish" involved in this, we also must me mindful that there is a concerted campaign by organised extremists to drive a race angle to incidents like this. I believe far-right forums are stoking this angle here, as they have done before

More moderates amongst us should be aware of what is driving some posters.

Get a grip. There are videos circulating and posters sharing their personal experiences with some of these types. Its people who bury their heads and ignore reality are part of the reason that these problems arent nipped in the bud.

If you are an outsider who is given the chance to live in our country but you decide to break the rules you and yours should be ejected back to where you originated from.
    If you are one of our own dragged up scumbags an appropriate punishment should be handed out to you. None of this 67 convictions with minimal jail time rubbish. No more chances

anna080 wrote: »
    ''I don't think they will remember it for that and I hope it's not one sided the news. There's so many reasons that people turn to measures like these and it always stems back to people feeling alienated''

This type of absolute sh*te is dangerous. Excusing them robbing a digger and smashing up a local amenity. It's their fcuking shop ffs. God I hate these hug-a-thug types probably more than I hate the scrotes. Shame on any tramp in here defending or deflecting any of that behaviour tonight. You're the knackers here folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Wexfordboy89

Couldn't agree more. I was brought up in foster care after being beaten and sexually
    abused. I had my son at 18, and I joined boards when he was very small. You can even see by my posts (older accounts) then that I was trying to better myself, go to college, give him the life I didn't have blah blah blah. I was on rent allowance, single parents allowance, child benefit.....and I swear to god I was rolling in it. I lived in a penthouse apartment in Dublin in 2011, I had enough money to shop in dunnes, pay my bills, smoke 20 a day and I had svdp offer me 50 a week. It's unbelievable.

Obviously you can't blanket it and say that because I did well, they will too. But another girl my age had a son the day before I did, she was raised 'right'. Loving family and all the good stuff you would hope for a teen mother. 7 years later she's on single mothers benefit, her son has been kicked out of 1 school, he's her little angle (obtuse if you're asking)
    She's always posting on Facebook asking for ways she can beat the system, she has rent allowance, child benefit, her boyfriend lives with her, she gets fuel allowance, svdp helps her every week. That's 7 years and she hasn't changed.

Totally agree with you just trying to say just because u come from a bad area doesnt mean I have to act like a little shyt mentality.a bit of self belief goes a long way.no saying you have to want to become the nxt bill gates or anything but the belief to say right I want to get myself a decent job and better myself and my kids when im older.the excuse that oh sure there from a rough area what do ya except really isnt an excuse to me ppl may disagree with me and thats fair enough ive no problem with it just my opinion

• Site Banned Posts: 23 swift18

the right wingers will be rubbing their hands with glee for this propoganda
    not against the white digger driver but against the african looters
    sad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chrongen

I hope the army and the cops get up there and kick the absolute fucking shite out of them.

So what's it going to be?

Certain players have beaten and shot the legs of people because of criminality and this, I'm quite sure you have decried.

Yet here you are calling for battery.

The thugs who smashed up and robbed this business should be brought before the courts, charged, tried, and convicted if found guilty, and then severely punished.

When this doesn't happen enough for you, you demand extra-judicial action and in the same breath you call others savages for delivering such retribution. There are people on here who are clamouring for hand-chopping in light of this gang of thieves yet scream about other cultures who actually effect such punishments.

Arrest the thieves, try them and sentence them, without idiotic epithets of savagery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,403 ✭✭✭✭listermint

The excuses are already rolling with Dublin Councillor Hazel de Nortuin..

''I don't think they will remember it for that and I hope it's not one sided the news. There's so many reasons that people turn to measures like these and it always stems back to people feeling alienated''

I’ve felt alienated plenty of times in my life. Never left the need to lift the roof off a local supermarket though. Honestly is there any wonder scummers the way they do with shiite like this practically wiping their arses for them.

Turned off people from commenting to her.

Great performance from a public official

bob marley buffalo soldier

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

Dr Brown wrote: »
    Noel Rock blames Paul Murphy.

28378395_1878201765532619_8212702605969914828_n.jpg?oh=8f23b5f154d718a0c794d108490d0729&oe=5B09F94B
    photo.php?fbid=1878201765532619&set=a.355887207764090.91778.100000284416316&type=3photo.php?fbid=1878201765532619&set=a.355887207764090.91778.100000284416316&type=3

Hopefully Murphy takes Rock to the cleaners over that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

While there are clearly "new irish" involved in this, we also must me mindful that there is a concerted campaign by organised extremists to drive a race angle to incidents like this. I believe far-right forums are stoking this angle here, as they have done before

The fact that you got so many people to fall for that steaming pile of sh!te is impressive.

Do you have any more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭drillyeye

swift18 wrote: »
    the right wingers will be rubbing their hands with glee for this propoganda
    not against the white digger driver but against the african looters
    sad

Yeah, its pretty terrible when your political ideology doesn't score a talking point, but the other side does score a talking point.

Doesn't matter what actually happened at all, just that the people I disagree with have gotten a point.

Sad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭irishproduce

Some have noted here that the judges will let the side down. Fact is there is no space in the prisons and we don't have plans to build more so suspended sentences and fines are the order of the day. Masking the swelling problem we have with crime and criminals.
    I think we should commit public funding to building a super prison.
    The alternative is to continue to dole out welfare payments to people who are essentially criminals who are not in jail. Continue to dole out payments to those who are going to become criminals.
    Yes it costs a lot to house prisoners but at least the prison term would act as a threat or deterrent.
    Not building a new prison and doling out welfare is completely a waste of resources when the judges have no where to house prisoners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

BillyBobBS wrote: »
    Hopefully Murphy takes Rock to the cleaners over that.

Amazingly, Rock would be one of the more moderate FG members. He deleted that tweet, but the 'nice guy' mask has slipped. Gives you a good indication of just how much contempt Fine Gael has for the poor.

Everything that was predicted by allowing mass uncontrolled immigration is coming true. Maybe you should listen instead of attacking others to what path we are on. Everywhere mass uncontrolled immigration has been allowed has seen these types of problems.

Imagine what a further 1 million immigrants will do within the next 12 years, unless you subscribe to the idea that they will be all Doctors, Engineers etc

thebull85 wrote: »
    so it turns out it was a black sham driving the digger.
    i'm honestly impressed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭drillyeye

Amazingly, Rock would be one of the more moderate FG members. He deleted that tweet, but the 'nice guy' mask has slipped. Gives you a good indication of just how much contempt Fine Gael has for the poor.

The poor don't vote, generally. So what do our political parties care?

Sure the gombeens complaining about their taxes being spent in poor areas keep voting them in, and evidently care very much about their money, so that's who the political parties pander to.

Round and round she goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭veronymus

My point was that our local centra (in one of the roughest parts of bray) was opened today by a man that walked 90 minutes in the snow so people could shop. I could putup a screenshot of the post, there was hundreds of comments from people saying if anyone inthe community was unable to get there they would get coal or milk or whatever was needed for the elderly or disabled.
    If anyone was robbing it or destroying it id bet my life that people would have done something. I would have done something. How do we get to the state that there was 30+ people in the video and not only did nobody do anything, but a dozen or so people joined in what the original 'heist masters' were doing?

I accept your point that people have a duty to their community, however, I can guarantee that people in Tallaght, West Tallaght particularly have learned that you are putting your own safety on the line when you intervene.

By the way, there WERE lots of acts of kindness around the area today and yesterday, but that story gets lost in all this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

It's in FG's DNA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,403 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Everything that was predicted by allowing mass uncontrolled immigration is coming true. Maybe you should listen instead of attacking others to what path we are on. Everywhere mass uncontrolled immigration has been allowed has seen these types of problems.

Imagine what a further 1 million immigrants will do within the next 12 years, unless you subscribe to the idea that they will be all Doctors, Engineers etc

Irish people did this.

You are aware of that , right ?

Like actual Irish people locals people that were born here and their parents before them.

You know that yes ?

The excuses are already rolling with Dublin Councillor Hazel de Nortuin..

I’ve felt alienated plenty of times in my life. Never left the need to lift the roof off a local supermarket though. Honestly is there any wonder scummers the way they do with shiite like this practically wiping their arses for them.

this is why women shouldn't be allowed to vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Pappacharlie

In any country in the world looters are liable to be shot on site.. I think it’s time to take off the gloves and treat these people like the animals they are!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Autochange wrote: »
    Thats correct.Some money from the weekly social welfare payment goes toward the house. The council cover the rest.
    Social welfare isnt free you know... Oh no wait

A working couple with a heap of kids and a mortgage actually get their house for free because they get children's allowance.

Am I doing this right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

I'd have to echo this.

Don't agree with FG policies much, but Rock and (on some things) Leo make some good points at times (look up rock and ticket touts for example).

However the mask slipped on this one.

Murphy may be a thorn on their side, but even remotely insinuating theirs a link Murphy was somehow relevant to what happened here is a nonsense.

And they keep wondering why they lost the last election?

listermint wrote: »
    Irish people did this.

You are aware of that , right ?

Like actual Irish people locals people that were born here and their parents before them.

You know that yes ?

Ive seen images of two black lads looting Lidl, havent seen any images of Irish people. Maybe you can post them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭Autochange

pablo128 wrote: »
    A working couple with a heap of kids and a mortgage actually get their house for free because they get children's allowance.

Am I doing this right?

No you see they are working. Contributing up to 50% in some cases. They have earned their children allowance.

See the difference?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,842 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

Ive seen images of two black lads looting Lidl, havent seen any images of Irish people. Maybe you can post them.

Irish were involved but the smoked paddies made up a lot of them as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭SkepticQuark

Are we back to this **** here? You'd think this is another terrorist attack thread with all the "BLACK PEOPLE CAN'T BE IRISH" bull****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,128 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I don't have much time for FG, but it's about time that someone said something out loud.

We seem to have a terrible fear in this country of offending anyone, but certain cohorts can do it without any repercussions.

We need to say something, and someone needs to say it for us. Otherwise things will slip out of control.

However I read somewhere that Paul Murphy has condemned this atrocity. Anyone got confirmation of that?