Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Looting in Lidl?(mod warning in op-read it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    It is not considered by the area as an ok thing to do ? There are people in that area who are horrified by it , frightened by it , discussted by it. Its some people doing this not a whole area

My point was that our local centra (in one of the roughest parts of bray) was opened today by a man that walked 90 minutes in the snow so people could shop. I could putup a screenshot of the post, there was hundreds of comments from people saying if anyone inthe community was unable to get there they would get coal or milk or whatever was needed for the elderly or disabled.
    If anyone was robbing it or destroying it id bet my life that people would have done something. I would have done something. How do we get to the state that there was 30+ people in the video and not only did nobody do anything, but a dozen or so people joined in what the original 'heist masters' were doing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

silverharp wrote: »
    Reports that they stole everything except work clothes and father’s day cards
    hilarious !! any more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,038 ✭✭✭✭adox

It is not considered by the area as an ok thing to do ? There are people in that area who are horrified by it , frightened by it , discussted by it. Its some people doing this not a whole area

Unfortunately it’s easier to blame a group, be it a whole area, community, race etc rather than think about it rationally.

I would hope most people realize that, even if there are major social problems in areas of Dublin or whatever county that you can’t just label the whole area.

It’s incredibly simplistic lazy thinking and as, if not more dangerous than the scrouts out there tonight looting and destroying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,753 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

drillyeye wrote: »
    But what difference will it make to someone with such a bleak outlook for the future?

"I better not take that cash cos........?!" What difference will it make if he leaves it there on the ground?

It will make no difference from their perspective, so why not have no future AND an extra 100 quid?!

Couldn't give a toss about their outlook. It's those law abiding people in those neighborhoods that deserve our compassion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

If you are on the dole and live in a council house, its free.

No it's not. Go on explain how it's free.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭Autochange

BillyBobBS wrote: »
    There are no free houses. If you can link to them i'd love to see the evidence.

Thats correct.Some money from the weekly social welfare payment goes toward the house. The council cover the rest.
    Social welfare isnt free you know... Oh no wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

rameire wrote: »
    I was lead to believe that the locals were very community orientated and worked together to make their lives and environment a better place.
    based on this I would have expected a very rapid response to the looting which would have meant a large portion of the society would have stood up to the scum coming out with their hands full of stolen goods.
    I know its not their job to stop scum being scum, but the locality are known to work well together to get their views and points across.
    Had I being their I would have been one of those people there blocking the scum trying to get away with their spoils.

The vast majority of people in that area are young families . Would you honestly expect a father of kids to go out and approach a gang of young feral thugs ? And most people were at home and knew nothing until it was on social media
    I know I would hold my son or my husband back from confronting feral scum as a death or injury of an innocent person iis not going to help at all .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭Dr Brown

There are no free houses. If you can link to them i'd love to see the evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,403 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Patww79 wrote: »
    Didn't take the whole thing long to turn into a pity parade. No wonder these animals always get off when there are so many gullible idiots around.

I've yet to see anyone condone the actions tonight.

Can you point that out?

These lads were reckless scumbags and I was actually overjoyed when I saw the guard tackle the lad on top of the safe.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭Autochange

Mahony0509 wrote: »
    Fair fecks to the Gardai, they got attacked as they were arriving which hindered their response. No doubt with all the videos there'll be many more arrests.

Any video of that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,060 ✭✭✭conorhal

What are you ****eing on about? Nobody, i repeat nobody get's a free house. Everyone pays.

LOL.
    Here's some irony for you, the digger and equipment used was stolen just down the road from a building site providing new social housing and traveller accommodation in the area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

In fairness its not free. The poor cnut commuting 60km past it every day is paying for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭drillyeye

Patww79 wrote: »

Being blind to the root cause of it all does you no favour, and does society no favour.

How very American. All these people on here quick to jump to THEIR money being used to "fund" these "leeches" and how they should be "shot" and "poisoned"

Its disgraceful, to be honest.

No, you are NOT funding these people, you are paying your taxes to the GOVERNMENT, who then spend your money completely ineffectually.

But ye same fooking gombeens will go out and vote for tweedle dum and tweedle dee time and time and time and time again.

So, so American.

Like I said before, watch the area become a Detroit or Birmingham or st louis........then roar at the poor people about your money when they act upon being disenfranchised from society by the governments YOU keep voting in.

If you are on the dole and live in a council house, its free.

You might be PAYING some nominal amount of rent money, but that money is GIVEN to you by the Government aka the taxpatyer aka people like me

Reminds me of a time i was in a post office and this wan queueng for her sw, and teling her mate she was going to buy some top in Penneys when she was 'paid'

I always thought you actually had to do something in return for being paid. But it seems in this day and age simply existng is all you have to do to get 'paid'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭macnug

PandaPoo wrote:
    And they're no different to the white people in the area. I mean seriously in some of the videos you can see throngs of white adults and children running in to the shop! All it takes is 2 or 3 people to start it off, and the people in the area follow, black or white, it doesn't matter.

I've not doubt there are Irish scum heavily involved but my point was that just because you hear an indigenous accent doesn't mean it is from a white Irish person.

At the end of the day putting an already marginalised group into a poor area like jobstown is like throwing petrol on a fire, unfortunately immigrants tend to be attracted to poor areas because of lower accommodation cost etc, which is why initial immigration control is important.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

9 arrests according to the guards. Crazy stuff. Guess when those looting saw there was no initial Garda response they decided to take things further and try and get to the safe with the digger.

Also, pretty distasteful how the majority of comments in this thread are ignorant fools arguing about free houses and social welfare. But sure, that's the level of this site these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭plastic glass

Jesus what’s up with you? You annoyed cause you have to pay a fee quid for your council house every week.

Free or practically free. Don’t be so pedantic. We all knew what he meant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

Wake up sheeple, it's all a false flag event orchestrated by the Bilderbear Group from Dundrum Shopping Centre.

I took a photo of them making preparations last week.

hard_at_work_teddy_bear_on_digger_postcard-r92396c69ce524e2fabc5b2d925682a55_vgbaq_8byvr_540.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,403 ✭✭✭✭listermint

The vast majority of people in that area are young families . Would you honestly expect a father of kids to go out and approach a gang of young feral thugs ? And most people were at home and knew nothing until it was on social media
    I know I would hold my son or my husband back from confronting feral scum as a death or injury of an innocent person iis not going to help at all .

Perhaps the community needs a community alert system with group action. This would stamp out such anti social activities it could be triggered in minutes.

A community versus a few toe rags there's no comparison

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

anna080 wrote: »
    It shouldn’t. There was a lot of altruistic generosity shown this week for the more vulnerable of our society and I refuse to let the actions of these inhuman maggots detract from the goodwill and benevolence we stood for this week. I wouldn’t give them that power. I’m still proud.

Every time you post I feel like you're saying what I want to say but can't express clearly enough.
    You have it bang on 100% every time.

Of course you shouldn't be ashamed to be Irish. For every one of these stories there is 100 good ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭drillyeye

lawred2 wrote: »
    Couldn't give a toss about their outlook. It's those law abiding people in those neighborhoods that deserve our compassion.

And that's why they wont give a toss about your outlook, or societys outlook.

Do you get it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Mod-BillyBobBS thread banned. Reason- Personal abuse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭TallGlass

PandaPoo wrote: »
    My point was that our local centra (in one of the roughest parts of bray) was opened today by a man that walked 90 minutes in the snow so people could shop. I could putup a screenshot of the post, there was hundreds of comments from people saying if anyone inthe community was unable to get there they would get coal or milk or whatever was needed for the elderly or disabled.
    If anyone was robbing it or destroying it id bet my life that people would have done something. I would have done something. How do we get to the state that there was 30+ people in the video and not only did nobody do anything, but a dozen or so people joined in what the original 'heist masters' were doing?

Pandapoo, your point is touching on something I have been thinking for quite sometime about now. The hard paying tax payers of this country are feeling quite hard done by, and it seems the laws we follow are easily and readily abused by quite alot of people. I feel while the anger is there from quite the majority it worries me, I really really think that this is the start of the state loosing control and we are border line vigilantism, if you look closely it's started in some part of's of the countryside, who rightly so (and say this as Dub) are isolated by the state.

Unless the state, not just the government, but the Dail and elected representatives start to take this matter seriously, it's only a matter of time before a total loss of control. I for one don't want vigilantism. But we can't have case after case, where we have wánkers with 100 convictions getting away time after time, this crap needs to stop, communities need to feel safe again, if in Dublin City Centre or Miltown in Co Clare both must have the same level of security available to them.

• Site Banned Posts: 23 swift18

stolen from africa
    brought to tallaght

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭irishproduce

On all those clips I don't hear one Nigerian or any other African accents unless there's some strange Zimbabwean dialect that sounds remarkably like Dublin knacker.

The voices you are hearing are the voices of the person with the camera, recording. Not the person committing the crimes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭backspin.

anna080 wrote: »
    It shouldn’t. There was a lot of altruistic generosity shown this week for the more vulnerable of our society and I refuse to let the actions of these inhuman maggots detract from the goodwill and benevolence we stood for this week. I wouldn’t give them that power. I’m still proud.

You are right the vast majority of Irish people behaved impeccably this week. They were asked to stay off roads so as to keep safe and not stretch the emergency services and they did that. They helped neighbours and elderly etc. Its a few complete scumbags and a few new irish taking advantage of the county that give them or their parents refuge that we should be ashamed off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,104 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

minikin wrote: »
    Gestapo state... right... you think interviewing people in the same age bracket as the offenders within the vicinity of a serious crime is gestapo tactics???

How is the current namby pamby softly softly approach working out do you think???

Oh, nice little sly change. My quote was in response to you wanting people within a certain age bracket (teenagers) “scooped up”. Not quite the same as “interviewing”, is it?

And why should just people of that age group be “scooped up”? Why not older people? Have you magic powers that allow you to see through all the hoods and scarves that people were wearing?

Or are just an old fashioned bigot?