Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Looting in Lidl?(mod warning in op-read it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

lawred2 wrote: »
    Why would lidl want to reopen that supermarket?
    I wouldn't want to be the staff working in a supermarket that had a history of being attacked and looted. What would have happened if the store had been open, and staff and customers were present?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

RoboKlopp wrote: »
    Not a brain cell between them.

Hopefully a jail cell though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

PandaPoo wrote: »
    Couldn't agree more. And to be perfectly honest I don't know what I'm even agreeing with!!!

I checked in on my elderly neighbour across the road yesterday, asked if she needed a dinner over the next few days. She was grand, happy as larry.
    A woman went to centra on the boghall road (a rough area in bray) her card was declined, the man behind her paid for her shopping which was milk and nappies.
    A woman in my estate took in a frozen bird and it's sh*tting all over her house, but can't fly so she's letting it until the vet opens.
    I walked back from the shop today and I was offered a lift home from 2 different people.
    The local page for my area was offering lifts to people working in nursing/social care/ hospitals.
    I could go on and on. I haven't heard a single bad story, and bray isn't known as being a fantastic place to live. I can't imagine being from an area where this is considered an ok thing to do. To share this story as a bit of craic or encourage it of it was my neighbour.

I'm no Florence f*cking nightingale but Jesus Christ how can people think this is funny?

It is not considered by the area as an ok thing to do ? There are people in that area who are horrified by it , frightened by it , discussted by it. Its some people doing this not a whole area

• Closed Accounts Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Vladimir Poontang

Line them up and shoot the bastards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭TallGlass

From RTE
    Nine people have been arrested following robberies and looting at two shops in west Dublin.

The Lidl supermarket at Fortunestown Lane was broken into at around 5pm and was subsequently looted.

It was also bulldozed using a stolen digger, the safe was removed and later found partially open.

A small number of gardaí responding in an SUV could not get to the scene due to the weather conditions, which included snowdrifts of up to five feet.

They were then attacked and drew ASPs and pepper spray for personal protection but did not use them and retreated.

Civil Defence and Defence Forces trucks and snowploughs had to be utilised to bring garda reinforcements to the scene and six people were arrested.

Another garda unit which was en route came across a raid using a con saw on a Centra store in Jobstown.

Three more people were arrested there.

More than fifty gardaí, including the armed support, the traffic and local divisional units are involved.

The nine people are being detained in Tallaght Garda Station and can be questioned for up to twenty four hours.

In a statement Lidl Ireland said the store was closed at the time and as a result no members of staff were injured.

Great work by everyone involved. And without a doubt every single user on this site knows who is going to let the side down. The judges of this country.

The amount of damage and resources used in this situation tonight at a guess would cost about 1.5/2 million Euros.

What are the judges going to handout to anyone brought before then? 6 months suspended, 200€ fine.

It's Joe soap taxed to the fúcking hilts as it is that's going to fork out yet again to pay for this 1.5/2 Euros costs by this crap.

The time has come, to build a super prison and let the judges finally give out sentences like no tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,404 ✭✭✭✭listermint

hmmm wrote: »
    I wouldn't want to be the staff working in a supermarket that had a history of being attacked and looted. What would have happened if the store had been open, and staff and customers were present?

Tbh I think that was the point it was unguarded and the guard's couldn't get their quick due to weather.

Wouldn't have happened if it was open with shoppers in it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

They aren't going to have to pay for a house, like their parents and their parents. The state will give them one while the rest of use breaks our balls.

Give it a rest with that ****e.

What are you ****eing on about? Nobody, i repeat nobody get's a free house. Everyone pays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,933 ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

BillyBobBS wrote: »
    Spoken like someone who's grown up with a silver spoon in their mouth.

I grew up right at the poverty line thanks. But I still managed to grow up and know the difference between a warzone and a rough area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,312 ✭✭✭rameire

Some of the locals.

Just out of curiosity though. What would you have done - had you been there this evening :confused:

I was lead to believe that the locals were very community orientated and worked together to make their lives and environment a better place.
    based on this I would have expected a very rapid response to the looting which would have meant a large portion of the society would have stood up to the scum coming out with their hands full of stolen goods.
    I know its not their job to stop scum being scum, but the locality are known to work well together to get their views and points across.
    Had I being their I would have been one of those people there blocking the scum trying to get away with their spoils.

🌞 3.8kwp, 🌞 Clonee, Dub.🌞

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,202 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

hmmm wrote: »

It wouldnt of happened because in most cases these ****ers are cowards. They knew cops wouldnt be around cause where busy with other matters and no one would touch them because very few around with the weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

I see there are a lot of hysterical people in this thread. Getting this worked up isn't healthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

At the risk of sounding repetitive, I still don't think anyone should be killed.
    There's only a few headbangers who want to see people killed. However, looting is seen as something that is quite different to normal crimes - it usually happens at a time when public order has broken down, and the normal rules of policing don't apply. In other countries, police forces are routinely given instructions to shoot looters, because they are in a situation where normal policing is not effective, and order needs to be re-established quickly to prevent the situation escalating.

The guards were lucky they were able to get a large-ish force into the area, and the looters ran away - I doubt whether we have the resources to bring in a riot squad in these conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭apieceofcake

Disgusting behaviour. Makes me ashamed to be Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭n!ghtmancometh

9 arrests according to the guards. Crazy stuff. Guess when those looting saw there was no initial Garda response they decided to take things further and try and get to the safe with the digger.

Also, pretty distasteful how the majority of comments in this thread are ignorant fools arguing about free houses and social welfare. But sure, that's the level of this site these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,260 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

dav3 wrote: »
    Are people genuinely concerned about Lidl, Centra and a possibility of some people being out of a job for a bit?

Or are we just going to let the usual knuckledraggers have a bit of a rant while tugging themselves off in front of the late late show again?

And then there's those who will attempt to deflect from and downplay disgusting behaviour like this because it doesn't fit with their misguided and potentially dangerous views on the future development of Irish society, while at the same time calling other's names and completely missing the irony of their "contributions".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

BillyBobBS wrote: »
    What are you ****eing on about? Nobody, i repeat nobody get's a free house. Everyone pays.

If you are on the dole and live in a council house, its free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭Cheerful Spring

Mate, if you gave me a gun right now and lined them up I would execute them laughing, scum of the earth as are their parents and their parents. These people should be eradicated, they add nothing to society except scrounge and cause misery

Why you wouldn't want them killed is beyond me

Laughing? Seek medical attention you clearly not well in the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

Reports that they stole everything except work clothes and father’s day cards

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,380 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

It's refreshing to see that most people on Facebook were angered by the scenes and there was practically zero approval.

First thing that strikes me is that these eejits are making a holy show of their area and the community they live in, making it look like a complete kip (I've no doubt the overwhelming number of people who live there will be disgusted).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Disgusting behaviour. Makes me ashamed to be Irish.

It shouldn’t. There was a lot of altruistic generosity shown this week for the more vulnerable of our society and I refuse to let the actions of these inhuman maggots detract from the goodwill and benevolence we stood for this week. I wouldn’t give them that power. I’m still proud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭plastic glass

Some of the locals.

Just out of curiosity though. What would you have done - had you been there this evening :confused:

I’m sure he wouldn’t have stood there laughing and he probably would have called the guards.
    Scum the lot of them and those people defending them should be made live amongst them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Wexfordboy89

drillyeye wrote: »
    A lot of the people living in those type of areas have been left behind by society, either through their own mistakes, or more likely were simply born into it.

How is a child from an impoverished family supposed to afford a 300k house as an adult? Considering their likely very poor connections, very poor upbringing (will their mother know how to pursue certain educational paths?), very poor example of neighbours and on and on and on

So when you are so detached from ever making a successful life for yourself.....that's when you say "foook it, I owe nothing to society, I'll grab some cash out of that safe."

Add an influx of very poor immigrants into the mix and we are simply looking at example number 500 of failed societal planning.

We need to STOP doing what other countries have failed doing over and over, while expecting it to somehow work out here.

Watch Jobstown in 20 years, and see how it differs from the likes of Detroit now, only by then the focus will fall on racism being the problem. The problem is poor people being left behind, and their numbers growing and growing.

Where are we headed at all?!

Srry im afraid I dont agree with u there.I grew up on a council estate and had sweet fa growing up went to a desh secondary school.its all to.do with how u raise your kid right from wrong.just because you came from nothing doesnt mean u have to act like an animal and brake the place up robbing etc.many a person whos come from nothing a very successful ppl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

drillyeye wrote: »
    A lot of the people living in those type of areas have been left behind by society, either through their own mistakes, or more likely were simply born into it.

How is a child from an impoverished family supposed to afford a 300k house as an adult? Considering their likely very poor connections, very poor upbringing (will their mother know how to pursue certain educational paths?), very poor example of neighbours and on and on and on

So when you are so detached from ever making a successful life for yourself.....that's when you say "foook it, I owe nothing to society, I'll grab some cash out of that safe."

Add an influx of very poor immigrants into the mix and we are simply looking at example number 500 of failed societal planning.

We need to STOP doing what other countries have failed doing over and over, while expecting it to somehow work out here.

Watch Jobstown in 20 years, and see how it differs from the likes of Detroit now, only by then the focus will fall on racism being the problem. The problem is poor people being left behind, and their numbers growing and growing.

Where are we headed at all?!

We all make our own choices in life unfortunately some choose to be scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭shaunr68

Cazale wrote: »
    There are a number of Lidl stores in Tallaght so I'd imagine they will relocate the staff. It's the locals reliant on the shop for their groceries who will be hit the hardest.

With any luck they will be left with just a Waitrose, that will show em :D

No human is 'vermin'. Not even the racist ones.

I've often wondered what virtue signalling is. Now I know. Child rapists are most certainly vermin. Disagree with that, go on.

The people in these videos will never offer society anything. They're not working class, they're underclass. There's no defending any of what they did. None. What's wrong with having a snowball fight? Even if you stole the digger for a rip around in it in the snow (scummy, but it's a novelty), why not leave it there instead of ploughing through a store that benefits your own community. They're vile, they're without regard for their fellow man and, if they're not vermin, they're very close to it. You'll probably reply that my labelling of them is what makes them like that in the first place. Nah, it's not. But your excuses probably are a factor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

Patww79 wrote: »

There are no free houses. If you can link to them i'd love to see the evidence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Mahony0509

Fair fecks to the Gardai, they got attacked as they were arriving which hindered their response. No doubt with all the videos there'll be many more arrests.