lawred2 wrote: » Why would lidl want to reopen that supermarket?
RoboKlopp wrote: » Not a brain cell between them.
PandaPoo wrote: » Couldn't agree more. And to be perfectly honest I don't know what I'm even agreeing with!!! I checked in on my elderly neighbour across the road yesterday, asked if she needed a dinner over the next few days. She was grand, happy as larry. A woman went to centra on the boghall road (a rough area in bray) her card was declined, the man behind her paid for her shopping which was milk and nappies. A woman in my estate took in a frozen bird and it's sh*tting all over her house, but can't fly so she's letting it until the vet opens. I walked back from the shop today and I was offered a lift home from 2 different people. The local page for my area was offering lifts to people working in nursing/social care/ hospitals. I could go on and on. I haven't heard a single bad story, and bray isn't known as being a fantastic place to live. I can't imagine being from an area where this is considered an ok thing to do. To share this story as a bit of craic or encourage it of it was my neighbour. I'm no Florence f*cking nightingale but Jesus Christ how can people think this is funny?
Nine people have been arrested following robberies and looting at two shops in west Dublin. The Lidl supermarket at Fortunestown Lane was broken into at around 5pm and was subsequently looted. It was also bulldozed using a stolen digger, the safe was removed and later found partially open. A small number of gardaí responding in an SUV could not get to the scene due to the weather conditions, which included snowdrifts of up to five feet. They were then attacked and drew ASPs and pepper spray for personal protection but did not use them and retreated. Civil Defence and Defence Forces trucks and snowploughs had to be utilised to bring garda reinforcements to the scene and six people were arrested. Another garda unit which was en route came across a raid using a con saw on a Centra store in Jobstown. Three more people were arrested there. More than fifty gardaí, including the armed support, the traffic and local divisional units are involved. The nine people are being detained in Tallaght Garda Station and can be questioned for up to twenty four hours. In a statement Lidl Ireland said the store was closed at the time and as a result no members of staff were injured.
hmmm wrote: » I wouldn't want to be the staff working in a supermarket that had a history of being attacked and looted. What would have happened if the store had been open, and staff and customers were present?
Goose81 wrote: » They aren't going to have to pay for a house, like their parents and their parents. The state will give them one while the rest of use breaks our balls. Give it a rest with that ****e.
BillyBobBS wrote: » Spoken like someone who's grown up with a silver spoon in their mouth.
Johnny Dogs wrote: » Some of the locals. Just out of curiosity though. What would you have done - had you been there this evening
Hapax Legomenon wrote: » At the risk of sounding repetitive, I still don't think anyone should be killed.
dav3 wrote: » Are people genuinely concerned about Lidl, Centra and a possibility of some people being out of a job for a bit? Or are we just going to let the usual knuckledraggers have a bit of a rant while tugging themselves off in front of the late late show again?
BillyBobBS wrote: » What are you ****eing on about? Nobody, i repeat nobody get's a free house. Everyone pays.
Goose81 wrote: » Mate, if you gave me a gun right now and lined them up I would execute them laughing, scum of the earth as are their parents and their parents. These people should be eradicated, they add nothing to society except scrounge and cause misery Why you wouldn't want them killed is beyond me
apieceofcake wrote: » Disgusting behaviour. Makes me ashamed to be Irish.
drillyeye wrote: » A lot of the people living in those type of areas have been left behind by society, either through their own mistakes, or more likely were simply born into it. How is a child from an impoverished family supposed to afford a 300k house as an adult? Considering their likely very poor connections, very poor upbringing (will their mother know how to pursue certain educational paths?), very poor example of neighbours and on and on and on So when you are so detached from ever making a successful life for yourself.....that's when you say "foook it, I owe nothing to society, I'll grab some cash out of that safe." Add an influx of very poor immigrants into the mix and we are simply looking at example number 500 of failed societal planning. We need to STOP doing what other countries have failed doing over and over, while expecting it to somehow work out here. Watch Jobstown in 20 years, and see how it differs from the likes of Detroit now, only by then the focus will fall on racism being the problem. The problem is poor people being left behind, and their numbers growing and growing. Where are we headed at all?!
Cazale wrote: » There are a number of Lidl stores in Tallaght so I'd imagine they will relocate the staff. It's the locals reliant on the shop for their groceries who will be hit the hardest.
Hapax Legomenon wrote: » No human is 'vermin'. Not even the racist ones.
Patww79 wrote: » This post has been deleted.