Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vogue Williams

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,092 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

You're right, she's in great shape and obviously looks after herself and this is clear for anyone to see. So why, in that documentary, did she pretend to feel out of shape around the interviewees? There was something very fake about some of her comments - stuff along the lines of "look at how fat my arse is - im so inadequate compared to my interviewees" - when the reality is that she knows she's in great shape.
    She may or may not. Of the women I've known the ones with the worst body image of themselves were usually not the heavy women, but those within the current ideal body shape and the closer they got to that ideal the more unsatisfied they became(and often overdid the gym and diet). Crazy but there you go.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,364 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Wibbs wrote: »
    She may or may not. Of the women I've known the ones with the worst body image of themselves were usually not the heavy women, but those within the current ideal body shape and the closer they got to that ideal the more unsatisfied they became(and often overdid the gym and diet). Crazy but there you go.

So very accurate. It's because those fitter and healthier have different ideals I guess - so when they slip a bit they feel bad about it. While often their 'slipping' can still be significantly healthier than a heavier woman. Psychology of it all is quite interesting.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,314 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    how does nepotism explain craig doyle and lucy kennedy?

Mary Kennedy is Lucy Kennedy’s mother.
    No she’s not.

But Ryan Tubridy is cousins David McSavage are Barry Andrews of FF who are brothers and sons of David Andrews FF ( ex minister) there uncle is Niall Andrews FF(TD and MEP) ( former executive in RTE)
    Another cousin is Chris Andrew also off FF

• Registered Users Posts: 401 ✭✭soiseztomabel

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I would reckon that outside of genetic frame/muscle size, diet, more, appetite is the biggest factor, but also the hardest to change.

We used to go to the missuses mothers for dinner every Sunday, not so much now that we've moved county. Her mother was always commenting on my appetite as in "spongebob doesn't eat much for a big fella does he" - It's was largely down to the cooking however - I'd be fúcking ravenous leaving the house, more often that not I had to stop at the chipper on the way home! I eat as much as a small African village.

I think it's all down to metabolism - if I tried to get by on what some of my friends do, I'd be taken off in an ambulance. If they ate what I did, they probably would be too but for different reasons. The key is to not overeat - whatever that means for you. If you're getting fat you need to eat less, if you're always hungry you need to eat more. You're supposed to be hungry every day - that's how you know it's time to eat, but stop then don't keep eating till you physically can't fit any more in!

In short, there's no need to second guess your body, eat when you're hungry, don't eat when you aren't. Any "system" is just some bollox trying to sell a book!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,133 ✭✭✭mistersifter

good point , not convinced it applies here though.

IMO her "im so fat" comments were just part of an overzealous attempt to seem down to earth. If you look at her twitter, she's also fond of posting "look at all the food i eat photos - im so not a typical model" sort of thing. Maybe it's some sort of attempt to counteract the vacuous/vain/glamour model reality TV image. There was one tweet which described a plate of fried chicken as her pre-photo shoot preparation. If she had body issues would she be posting pics left right and centre of all the food she eats and her body? Maybe she would and maybe she does have a very negative self-image, but I dont really believe that to be the case.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,502 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

• Registered Users Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭chrissb8

eeguy wrote: »
    I'll admit her documentary series last year wasn't that bad.

Except when she decided to interject and give her full blown opinion as opposed to remaining relatively objective. See the episode about young Eastern European women trying to land a middle aged sugar daddy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller

chrissb8 wrote: »
    Except when she decided to interject and give her full blown opinion as opposed to remaining relatively objective. See the episode about young Eastern European women trying to land a middle aged sugar daddy.

What was the documentary about? I didn't see it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Red_Wake

eeguy wrote: »
    I'll admit her documentary series last year wasn't that bad.

How rich does one have to be to become a sugar daddy? Asking for research purposes only.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,187 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

what was her opinion? It has potential to be delightfully ironic.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,091 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Mary Kennedy is Lucy Kennedy’s mother.

Mary Kennedy daughters name is Lucy Foster and she is not the Lucy Kennedy on RTE .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

pjohnson wrote: »
    Gavan Duffy picked Jessie Jay. Is he an idiot aswell?

I have no idea who that is. Was his specialist subject the Kardashians also?

Just looked her up, she seems like a nice person with enough savvy to parlay a minor innings on tv into a presenting career. She's not a failure, unless failure consists of one's own television show with one's name in the title. She's also very pretty and seems effortlessly friendly and chatty. Well done her.

I don't understand the hate, if you don't like her then switch channels.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Candie wrote: »
    I don't understand the hate, if you don't like her then switch channels.

An unfortunate trait of a lot of Irish people, they hate to see anybody doing well. We have a national sport of begrudgery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller

BattleCorp wrote: »
    An unfortunate trait of a lot of Irish people, they hate to see anybody doing well. We have a national sport of begrudgery.

Her specialist subject on mastermind was Kim Kardashian. Doesn't that tell you something about her?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

She is engaged to Spencer Matthews so has really gone up in the world.
    Good luck to her.

Her specialist subject on mastermind was Kim Kardashian. Doesn't that tell you something about her?

So what though? Maybe it's a bit of a vacuous Mastermind choice but if she's confident she knows more about it than something else, then go for it. The only thing it tells me about her is that she doesn't care who knows that she's a fan of KK.

I'm not a big follower of this kind of thing myself, but I don't think everyone who has a handle on celebrity culture is some kind of brain-dead drone either. It's a good thing that we're all different you know, life would be boring if we weren't! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

So what. Is that a reason to dislike her?

It tells me that she knows a bit about Kim Kardashian, that's all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Jack Kanoff

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Mary Kennedy daughters name is Lucy Foster and she is not the Lucy Kennedy on RTE .

A bit of a "whoosh" moment there I'm afraid.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,091 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

A bit of a "whoosh" moment there I'm afraid.

By who ?

• Registered Users Posts: 400 ✭✭Skyfloater

So what. Is that a reason to dislike her?

It tells me that she knows a bit about Kim Kardashian, that's all.

Would it sound better if her topic was KK Inc? After all, KK reputably is worth $175M with branded sales in the billions.
    On another note, has anyone tested themselves on the general section of Mastermind that she got zip in? I tried to find it on youtube, only to get what looked like computer generated clips of the first few questions!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Don't like someone and people in Ireland automatically think it's automatically begrudgery. That's the national sport.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

annascott wrote: »
    She is engaged to Spencer Matthews so has really gone up in the world.

He's punching above his weight there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭jimbobalob309

shouldnt this thread belong in the 'famous people you dislike' thread, not sure why it warrants a thread of its own. its very easy to dislike these reality tv stars and has feic all to do with ireland being a nation of begrudgers (very creative line there fair play to yiz). she's vacuous and represents these 'famous for being famous' types along with kim kardashian and charlotte from geordie shore who i also dislike, head like melted wellies on the lot of em with the amount of plastic surgery thev;ve had

• Registered Users Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

Vooooooooooogue

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 125 ✭✭Koala Sunshine

He's punching above his weight there.

Not sure about that, Spencer Matthews is a very good looking man.

• Registered Users Posts: 103 ✭✭EoC

I think the Irish Independent and their lazy writers are obsessed with this girl. Most annoying 'so called' celebrity around today. I dread opening the Irish Independent as she is bound to appear.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Only a matter of time before her extra curricular activities catch up on her is the rumour.....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 409 ✭✭Sassygirl1999

Only a matter of time before her extra curricular activities catch up on her is the rumour.....

I'm not parent bashing but I'm not sure she's qualified to be one