Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,644 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

It felt to me that he's against Sky Sports because #british, but didn't want to specifically say that. His argument re. pay per view fell apart with the Eir Sports example...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,826 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

talk about a ramble, still not sure what his point is except he doesn't think his auld lad should have to pay for sky to see a hurling match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

Was it just me or was Michael Duignan all over the place with his argument on yesterday's pod?
    I find Michael Duignan to be all over the place quite regularly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Was it just me or was Michael Duignan all over the place with his argument on yesterday's pod?

I had to skip past it halfway through. It was taken apart fairly quickly. No live match on RTE between Sept and something like May was mentioned!

It would have been an easier argument to try to justify ( not that I am interested in the merit of it) if you listed protected games such as provincial finals, all ireland semis/finals or whatever as having to be free to air. Makes more sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭jones

Yep i thought the exact same. He was just rabbiting on and then started contradicting himself. Definitely seemed to be against sky just to be anti-british than any real thought out reason

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,743 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Thought Duignan was interesting on volunteerism and player burnout.

Ken's Timberlake rant was gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Running Balance

Duigan is a tool.. "attendances haven't fallen and maybe they have or maybe they havent" great argument that...

He called eoin -ger.. around 37 mins in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Raisins

dulux99 wrote: »
    It's not €20+vat though? it's a fiver plus vat.

Just picking up on this reply of course you're right it's not €20 it's €5 complete slip on my part dunno what I mixed it up with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭tomwaits48

jones wrote: »
    Yep i thought the exact same. He was just rabbiting on and then started contradicting himself. Definitely seemed to be against sky just to be anti-british than any real thought out reason

He was a terrible and the lads rightly grilled him on it. His insinuation too that the lads own business is driven off the back of the GAA was crass.

tomwaits48 wrote:
    He was a terrible and the lads rightly grilled him on it. His insinuation too that the lads own business is driven off the back of the GAA was crass.

Stupid (and he admitted it to) considering how he makes his money.. definition of a spoofer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭pm1977x

If you subscribe do the daily pods have those god awful stings throughout like the free shows? They're funny once or twice but by god they're tedious on repeat listens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

I’m sorry to be whinging about this again, but I can’t be the only one to notice that the ‘you can not call a player a baby’ jingle seems to get played on every other pod these days? It’s so long and boring at this point it drives me up the wall. They have plenty of funny ones but this one is their most played by far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

If you dont like them, then you are right to vent about it. I dont see them removing them as section dividers though.

I agree with you on that jingle. I was sick of it this time last year, so skip over it as soon as i hear the first notes of it being played.

Some interesting new ones coming out.

That Ken Noir one was good - but i dont know if it will have any longevity. Liked the Sexton drop goal rien mix one too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Salvation Tambourine

I’m sorry to be whinging about this again, but I can’t be the only one to notice that the ‘you can not call a player a baby’ jingle seems to get played on every other pod these days? It’s so long and boring at this point it drives me up the wall. They have plenty of funny ones but this one is their most played by far

Is that Yaya Toure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Nokotan wrote: »
    Is that Yaya Toure?

Adebayor i thought. From when he was at Spurs and Poch called him a baby (i could be completely wrong as im drawing from memory on that).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,588 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

COACH!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭mang0

Pter wrote: »
    Adebayor i thought. From when he was at Spurs and Poch called him a baby (i could be completely wrong as im drawing from memory on that).

It was from when he was at Arsenal and Evra called the Arsenal players babies.

http://www.skysports.com/football/news/11667/5287553/evra-men-against-babies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

I still love the coach one. It's amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Hippo

I really enjoyed Sinead O'Carroll talking about the Winter Olympics, lovely to hear a fresh voice on the pod. By the same token I think I might have reached peak US Murph....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,952 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Hippo wrote: »
    I really enjoyed Sinead O'Carroll talking about the Winter Olympics, lovely to hear a fresh voice on the pod. By the same token I think I might have reached peak US Murph....

I enjoyed listening to her as well. She was so enthusiastic and well clued in on Winter Olympics as well. Very natural.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭jones

Hippo wrote:

I know what you mean about US Murph

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

I see they've made that podcast about George Gibney freely available. Great interview by Eoin, with none of the idiotic SJW postering that goes on on OTB. It is infuriating and depressing to know that Gibney's still at large and that he *allegedly* has friends in high places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

I see they've made that podcast about George Gibney freely available. Great interview by Eoin, with none of the idiotic SJW postering that goes on on OTB. It is infuriating and depressing to know that Gibney's still at large and that he *allegedly* has friends in high places.

What does 'idiotic SJW postering' mean in this context?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

jones wrote: »
    I know what you mean about US Murph

I used to enjoy the US Murphy segements but I largely don't bother with them any more. They've become very samey over time. I don't think he brings a lot to the show anymore.

I also thought his predictions about the Superbowl kinda showed up, let's face it, that he's full of crap. I know that there's a healthy bit of guesswork in any form of prediction about outcomes in Sport, but he does have a bad track record of calling the wrong victor in games - and he talks in it up beforehand like there's no chance the opposite might happen, "No way Eoin, there's no chance anybody but Team A will win this one". I can recall him making the same type of gaff with The World Series.

Arghus wrote: »
    I used to enjoy the US Murphy segements but I largely don't bother with them any more. They've become very samey over time. I don't think he brings a lot to the show anymore.

I also thought his predictions about the Superbowl kinda showed up, let's face it, that he's full of crap. I know that there's a healthy bit of guesswork in any form of prediction about outcomes in Sport, but he does have a bad track record of calling the wrong victor in games - and he talks in it up beforehand like there's no chance the opposite might happen, "No way Eoin, there's no chance anybody but Team A will win this one". I can recall him making the same type of gaff with The World Series.

Hand on heart I fancied the Patriots but US Murph talked complete sh*te in the lead up to the game. He said the Eagles beating the Patriots would be one of the great upsets but also acknowledged that they were barely 4 point underdogs. Nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭jhammer

The subscription service is 1 year old today. Anyone know how it is holding up or what are subscribers numbers at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,644 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

jhammer wrote: »
    The subscription service is 1 year old today. Anyone know how it is holding up or what are subscribers numbers at?

9,308 patrons right now. So that's what? $558,480 per annum if they get the full $5 from Patreon. Not too shabby...

Edit: They are also listed in the top 20 across all of Patreon. Not sure if that's based on income or number of patrons though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Salvation Tambourine

jhammer wrote: »

It can be checked on their Patreon page

https://www.patreon.com/secondcaptains