Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,138 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

dulux99 wrote: »
    Is it just my device or has the quality of the audio on the last couple of pods been quite poor? Especially the one today with Sadlier
    Any time a sound issue is mentioned on this thread it gets sorted quickly. I reckon Mark Horgan reads the thread. Hi Mark :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Not sure if it was me not particularly having an interest in the winter Olympics or was it just a plain boring pod? Short too...

How many of the people here are still listening to Off The Ball? I gave it a wide berth for ages when Ken and the gang left but lately it's just gold! The lineup is great, the chemistry between Gilroy/Kilbane/Molloy and when Kenny Cunningham is around is brilliant.
    Really enjoying the programme lately. SC is still great but in patches, when Ken is on fire nothing comes close but those moments are becoming more infrequent, there was a time I couldn't be without SC but if I stopped my subscription in the morning I think I'd only miss the occasional Ken rant and players chair...the rest...meh.

I don't mean to sound condescending, but are you taking the piss?! :pac: In my opinion (and a lot of others I know), OTB is gone to the dogs. And I say this as someone who used to regularly listen to the show after the Second Captains crew left. Joe Molloy and Ger Gilroy seem to have embraced the social justice warrior within them, and are now on a crusade to cure all of sports ills. It is painful at times listening to them on their high horse, pontificating about the rights and wrongs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭bren2001

I don't mean to sound condescending, but are you taking the piss?! :pac: In my opinion (and a lot of others I know), OTB is gone to the dogs. And I say this as someone who used to regularly listen to the show after the Second Captains crew left. Joe Molloy and Ger Gilroy seem to have embraced the social justice warrior within them, and are now on a crusade to cure all of sports ills. It is painful at times listening to them on their high horse, pontificating about the rights and wrongs.

They do a great golf Podcast.

Never got the hate for Molloy, I've always thought he was very good. OTB is fine tho, gets a lot of stick for no reason. It can be as good or bad as SC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,643 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

I view OTB and 2nd Captains as different beasts though. OTB is about live, sport reporting. 2nd captain is more for the analysis/etc. Yes they both crossover, but they can exist together, and it's possible to listen to both...

I like Joe Molloy, I like Ger Gilroy (:o), I also like 2nd Captains. #shrugs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

dulpit wrote: »
    I view OTB and 2nd Captains as different beasts though. OTB is about live, sport reporting. 2nd captain is more for the analysis/etc. Yes they both crossover, but they can exist together, and it's possible to listen to both...

I like Joe Molloy, I like Ger Gilroy (:o), I also like 2nd Captains. #shrugs

I like Joe & Ger.

Just not as much as they like themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,826 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Anyone else always skip the players chair? Is this the first female he's had on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,643 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Anyone else always skip the players chair? Is this the first female he's had on it?

The Player's Chair is great to be fair (Paul Galvin excepted). I think it's his first female guest, looking forward to it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭CaptivePortal

Since OTB got rid of Colm Parkinson there has been a steady improvement in their output

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭CaptivePortal

Patww79 wrote: »

his whole shtick was about how mad they were in Laois and his hobby horse was gah drinking bans. contributed nothing of substance ever as far as i heard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,029 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Since OTB got rid of Colm Parkinson there has been a steady improvement in their output

He was the only dissenting voice they had. Especially when one of them got up on their high horse. Which was fairly often.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 103 ✭✭JoshRosen

He was the only dissenting voice they had. Especially when one of them got up on their high horse. Which was fairly often.

What was the reasoning for him being let go? Was under the assumption he just left for joe.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭jones

Definitely agree with the sound issue on the SC podcasts lately. I thought it was my app at first but glad to hear others are hearing it too. It's like the microphone is constantly adjusting or something. I love SC but i do zone out on some players chairs and most GAA stuff until the business end of the championship. I really enjoy Ken political podcast stuff (mostly) and find its a nice change of pace from the rest of the week.

OTB is very good also as someone above said i do see them as slightly different beasts and listen to both.

ps am i the only subscriber who never received the goody pack? Subscribed last march or so and it just never showed up. I did notice on the website it says "If requested, you can get the Second Captaineer induction pack!" do you have to actually request it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,029 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

JoshRosen wrote: »
    What was the reasoning for him being let go? Was under the assumption he just left for joe.ie

Don't know exactly. He got a gig at sportsjoe.ie but I don't know if he left of his own accord or was pushed out. I remember him having a few digs at them on Twitter in the aftermath so there was definitely some ill feeling there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,826 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Don't know exactly. He got a gig at sportsjoe.ie but I don't know if he left of his own accord or was pushed out. I remember him having a few digs at them on Twitter in the aftermath so there was definitely some ill feeling there.

He left for Joe and they put him on gardening leave for his last month

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Don’t think he was let go? The rumor I heard was that Ger and wooly has a toxic relationship for about 8 months before he left for a better job that he is better at.

I don’t get the hate for Molloy at all and never understand how SC which are far more “right on” to my ear don’t get the same criticism for it. Gilroy has some good moments but I do think he’s a little weird or prissy. Have heard his personality at corporate gigs isn’t great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Dots1982 wrote: »

I don’t get the hate for Molloy at all and never understand how SC which are far more “right on” to my ear don’t get the same criticism for it.

Y'see the second captains boys at least have some charm on their side.

I find myself in broad agreement with the "right-on" politics in SC and OTB 90% of the time, but for some reason I don't like the way Gilroy and Malloy preach about it, even if I think they're generally right.

Arghus wrote: »

I don’t get the hate for Molloy at all and never understand how SC which are far more “right on” to my ear don’t get the same criticism for it.

Y'see the second captains boys at least have some charm on their side.

I find myself in broad agreement with the "right-on" politics in SC and OTB 90% of the time, but for some reason I don't like the way Gilroy and Malloy preach about it, even if I think they're right quite a lot of the time.

Yeah, I don’t know..plenty of preaching on SC to my ear. Plus they have dedicated politics podcasts which have never felt anything other than biased and for me are not pleasant to listen to.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 103 ✭✭JoshRosen

Don’t think he was let go? The rumor I heard was that Ger and wooly has a toxic relationship for about 8 months before he left for a better job that he is better at.

I don’t get the hate for Molloy at all and never understand how SC which are far more “right on” to my ear don’t get the same criticism for it. Gilroy has some good moments but I do think he’s a little weird or prissy. Have heard his personality at corporate gigs isn’t great.

I don’t hate Molloy at all, actually think he’s very good at his job in fairness. It’s his know it all attitude I don’t like. Never seems to listen to arguments or reasoning once he has his mind made up.

Take last night with Delphs red card. It seems pretty split in regards pundits opinions if it was red or not. Andrews a ex professional said he thought it was harsh & Molloy presided to talk over him about how it’s a blast ant red, reckless tackle & nearly a leg snapper. Now I’m not saying if Molloy was right or wrong with his analysis of the tackle but surely he has to understand the listeners would prefer to here Andrews reasoning for his opinion more so than Molloys? Keith could barely get a word in about it with him.

I don’t hate Molloy at all, actually think he’s very good at his job in fairness. It’s his know it all attitude I don’t like. Never seems to listen to arguments or reasoning once he has his mind made up.

Take last night with Delphs red card. It seems pretty split in regards pundits opinions if it was red or not. Andrews a ex professional said he thought it was harsh & Molloy presided to talk over him about how it’s a blast ant red, reckless tackle & nearly a leg snapper. Now I’m not saying if Molloy was right or wrong with his analysis of the tackle but surely he has to understand the listeners would prefer to here Andrews reasoning for his opinion more so than Molloys? Keith could barely get a word in about it with him.

Didn’t hear it but again I wouldn’t associate molloy with a I am right/you are wrong attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Yeah, I don’t know..plenty of preaching on SC to my ear. Plus they have dedicated politics podcasts which have never felt anything other than biased and for me are not pleasant to listen to.

That's true I suppose. But at least Ken and the boys are usually engaging, to my ears anyway, when they get up on their soapbox and they have a lightness and humour about them that OTB don't: Gilroy is long winded and santicmonious and Molloy doesn't seem to have a personality as far as I can tell and neither have much in the way of a sense of humour. Note to Gilroy: thinking you are funny does not make it objectively so.

I’ve come to the consclusion that there is far too little argument on SC for me to consistently subscribe. Richie sadlier comes in, they all reach a consensus, dion fanning comes in and they all reach a consensus, politics contributors come in and they mostly reach a consensus or I’m just not bothered by the topic when it can be covered far better by other pods.

It’s too cosy and has been for so long, that I don’t see it getting a shake-up that I would need to subscribe. Even when they had someone on at Christmas who is disagreeable with almost everything and every one like ewan mackenna they still reached a consensus. I also found it weird they didn’t allow a single question from the audience/scumbags when they had their Christmas Mcgregor bashing session.

Good luck to them and theirs numbers are good but I’ll probably only sub for June July this year if at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,903 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

I'll be honest, I find it very difficult to listen to OTB. I'll stick it on if I'm in the car or making dinner, but I just don't think it comes close to the output that SC offers.

The fake craic is the biggest problem I have with it. Joe Molloy's blandness. Kilbane’s straight down the middle views. The fawning over Kenny Cunningham. The backup presenters that act as if they are part of a famous person's entourage. Smug Pat Nevin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

I'll be honest, I find it very difficult to listen to OTB. I'll stick it on if I'm in the car or making dinner, but I just don't think it comes close to the output that SC offers.

The fake craic is the biggest problem I have with it. Joe Molloy's blandness. Kilbane’s straight down the middle views. The fawning over Kenny Cunningham. The backup presenters that act as if they are part of a famous person's entourage. Smug Pat Nevin.

Agree.

Plus the lads falling over each other to try to take the p*ss out of actual sports person Kevin Kilbane really gets on my t*ts.

I want to like it, and I believe they're all good lads, but I find it hard to listen to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

I couldn't have put it any better. The key factor for me is that the second captains lads actually seem to get on very well, and their interactions/banter seems natural (whether that is actually the case or not, I don't know, but it comes across as natural). On the other hand, OTB banter seems very forced and contrived at times.

Was interesting to hear Jonathan Liew on about Burnley and how they represent Brexit isolationism and racism apparently. Seemingly laying the blame at their feet and not even asking whether any players of African origin even want to play for them. Then defending his argument by arguing that racism is not binary, it is more of a spectrum thing. To which I wish he had been asked: how far along the spectrum is he himself? I did enjoy the interview but felt he got let away with some dodgy strawman arguments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,952 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

I agree. He's devoid of any charm or personality. He's phony and affected. Reminds me of Ryan Tubridy in a way. Nothing sincere about him at all.

Dunno if I agree with you I find Molloy quite a decent guy if a little bland and safe.