Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

Enjoyed that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Salvation Tambourine

Dunphy saying he resents Guardiola for trying to be innovative was very strange but I'm glad he admitted it rather than saying it without saying it.

He never really answered Eoin's statement that without innovators we'd have the same game as it was in 1890. Did Dunphy have an issue with Cruyff or Sachi when they were trying something new?

He seems to be largely lamenting the fact that the likes of Cannavaro and Baresi would be redundant in the 'new world'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,436 ✭✭✭Beersmith

Its not hard to pick on eamos arguments, did anyone seriously think he would give watertight explanations?!! Its eamonn dunphy for gods sake.

He was very respectful of the lads and they like him too. Ken could have easily pulled him up on so much but obviously it was just a harmless laugh between friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

Beersmith wrote: »
    Its not hard to pick on eamos arguments, did anyone seriously think he would give watertight explanations?!! Its eamonn dunphy for gods sake.

He was very respectful of the lads and they like him too. Ken could have easily pulled him up on so much but obviously it was just a harmless laugh between friends.

Now, if they got Giles on, that could be really funny. Horse a few Bacardi and Cokes into Giles, make sure Ken is back on and back off the tabs in good time beforehand. Kick off with the audio bed, and see what happens...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Plot twist: Giles was the one telling Ken to cheer up on Twitter under a false account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

Pter wrote: »
    Plot twist: Giles was the one telling Ken to cheer up on Twitter under a false account.

And stole his bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,773 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Eoin Reddan is grand and all but he waffles some amount.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Running Balance

God dunphy can't start giving an opinion without changing that opinion half way through. He is a spoofer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Sounds like dunphy and Ken just don't have much on air chemistry. I don't blame Ken, his views just bemuse me, I don't even care about his opinions because they don't appear to be fully formed and committed to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Pete Moss

I liked it. Even though I'd disagree with a lot of what Eamonn has to say, his point on the over analysis of stats in the modern game is fair.

Sky Sports, BT, and sports writers, Ken included, churn out many statistics, facts and figures, most of which are pretty redundant when it comes to the actual game.

I did like Ken's point on the speed of the modern game. Depending on the teams involved, football games can boil down to who can run the fastest for longest, some teams would do better with overpaid ostriches instead, which, in fairness, I'd probably pay to watch.

Pete Moss wrote:
    I did like Ken's point on the speed of the modern game. Depending on the teams involved, football games can boil down to who can run the fastest for longest, some teams would do better with overpaid ostriches instead, which, in fairness, I'd probably pay to watch.

I think he was referring to speed of thought as well as actual foot speed.

Not sure the ostriches would have it on both counts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

Pter wrote: »
    I think he was referring to speed of thought as well as actual foot speed.

Not sure the ostriches would have it on both counts.

I'd take an Ostrich over Fellaini any day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭tomwaits48

despite his protests to the contrary and Eoin's prodding, I reckon Eamonn definitely thinks someone who has played the game has a better understanding of it than your average career journo. The conversation was a little anti-climactic, think Horgan's promo hyped it up too much in retrospect.

threein99 wrote: »
    I'd take an Ostrich over Fellaini any day

Fair point, well made.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Trent Houseboat

That Brolly interview was terrible sounding. They should just have put no interview in and apologised for the shorter pod this week. I turned it off after about a minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,781 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

I heard a shoutout at the start of today's pod to a certain poster here.

Winkyface.

You're famous!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

That Brolly interview was terrible sounding. They should just have put no interview in and apologised for the shorter pod this week. I turned it off after about a minute.

Fair play to brolly. Unlistenable in more ways than one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

Mark should present more of the shows. Or at least more whenever Eoin isn't there.

Guess we'll see him in 2019 again :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Mark should present more of the shows. Or at least more whenever Eoin isn't there.

Guess we'll see him in 2019 again :pac:

I say it every time.

He better than every single one if the current OTB lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,134 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    I say it every time.

He better than every single one if the current OTB lads.

Wouldn't be hard, OTB is gone to the dogs! That's not to take away from Mark though, who is quite good in his own right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

Anyone know what episode the Ken stolen bike story is on? Think i missed it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Anyone know what episode the Ken stolen bike story is on? Think i missed it

Think it's the 16th Jan pod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,902 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Not quite sure why they thought that Frankenstein pod was a good idea. A whole hour of it too. One of very few pods that I've not bothered to listen to beyond the 15 mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,864 ✭✭✭Raoul

I found it really interesting, I do love the book though. I don't think Ken's pod should be called a political pod, it should just be whatever he wants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Evil_g

I loved it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭Bigtoe107

Wasn’t a massive fan. I didn’t really take to the guest. The book is great though and I think it’s good that they are doing some different stuff. This one just didn’t hit the mark for me

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

The discussion of the Martin O'Neill interview was great, I like that image of O'Neill grumbling to himself over Christmas dinner over some innocuous comment that TOD made to him a few weeks before that.

Enjoyed the Mary Shelley pod, Ken's story about Sean Fitzpatrick doesn't sound all that surprising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I hadn't heard about the O' Neill interview until I heard about it on the pod. Jesus, that is some deranged stuff.