Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Enzo Amore thread

• Registered Users Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭oneilla

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Enzo is NoMore in WWE

Sorry couldn't resist, I'll get my coat :p

I popped for that!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,929 ✭✭✭Monokne

Monokne wrote: »
    Yeah they won't be happy. Murphy of Blake and Murphy did something similar, got a DUI and didn't tell management and then when they found out they very quickly took the tag belts off them and he's largely been missing from TV since.

In hindsight, this was prescient! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

I think losing his job could be the least of Enzo's worries, did some Googling, and apparently the charges leveled against him, depending on severity could/will possibly be looking at jail time according to this.

http://statelaws.findlaw.com/arizona-law/arizona-sexual-assault-laws.html

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

His page is gone from WWE.com , it's not even in the Alumni section, just gone. CW Title is held by that upstart Vacant.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,179 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

My guess is that since Enzo had massive heat in recent times he hid this from WWE out of fear he'd get the axe.
    Stupidly thought it wouldn't come out.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Frank O. Pinion

montyrebel wrote: »
    sounds all made up to me, cant buy into it at all. the fact she is advertising her private snapchat accounts with half naked pics etc after this event supposedly took place says it all.
    genuine victims would be shying away from anything to do with sex etc

she just wants her 15 secs of fame
    What? Many rape victims have gone on or continue to be strippers, cam girls, escorts, porn stars, etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,179 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

What? Many rape victims have gone on or continue to be strippers, cam girls, escorts, porn stars, etc.

I do believe monty is referring to instantly afterwards.
    Such as with this woman she was immediately selling naked pics of herself online.

• Registered Users Posts: 456 ✭✭ECookie13

Didnt even wish him luck in his future endeavours.

That says a lot.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,425 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Lads, Don't be in a rush to judgement like OJ!!

Joking aside, here is meant to be a video of the accusers former friend with "evidence" Enzo is innocent. Whether this is all true who knows. Just passing on the video

• Registered Users Posts: 39,627 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Omackeral wrote: »
    His page is gone from WWE.com , it's not even in the Alumni section, just gone. CW Title is held by that upstart Vacant.
    Old vacant has been the go to wrestler at times. A good hand.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,116 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Omackeral wrote: »
    That guy is worse than Lesnar. Never shows up.
    Lads, Don't be in a rush to judgement like OJ!!

Joking aside, here is meant to be a video of the accusers former friend with "evidence" Enzo is innocent. Whether this is all true who knows. Just passing on the video

Haven't a clue if it's true but dude tells some entertaining gossip.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Old vacant has been the go to wrestler at times. A good hand.

Poor work-rate and stole Cena's gimmick of not being able to see him.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

• Registered Users Posts: 838 ✭✭✭A Rogue Hobo

I can completely understand WWE's stance, not even because of the climate the last few months but even just with the alleged issues they've had with Enzo the last few months. Him not informing them of the case (if true) was awful shortsightedness when working for a public company and was no doubt the last straw.

As for the validity of the whole thing...the whole thing seems absolutely bizarre so its sort of hard to know what the hell is going on, if its true then Enzo deserves the book thrown at him the maximum amount. But if not, it sorta highlights exactly what i was speaking about in terms of the Elgin topic in a thread with Leggo recently. This is the danger of putting all of this on social media. Because even if it isn't true the guy is sort of tainted forever. It's guilty until proven innocent and its very worrying and dangerous.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Tbh I don't really think the tainted thing applies to public figures. Look at the likes of Donald Trump, he was caught a year ago speaking of his own volition about sexual assault and it hasn't affected him (he won the election just a few weeks later sure). See also: Kobe Bryant and Mike Tyson, two of the most celebrated men who've been formally charged with sexual assault (whether they did it or not) and are now still celebrated. James Franco is still working the talk show circuit as claims about him break and will continue to do so if nothing sticks, in a few months when he releases his new movie or The Deuce season 2 airs, we'll have forgotten about it. Aziz Anzari will probably be back in the limelight again soon when his story is long enough out of the news cycle, his career doesn't seem to be over. Only now after YEARS of reports about the weirdest treatment of women are the reports of R Kelly's misconduct beginning to affect his public image.

In fact I think social media shaming is a direct reaction to the lack of consequences that doing this often has for men, particularly public figures. Again, I'm not saying it's the 'right' way to go about it, I think victims themselves would much prefer if they could not have the worst moment of their lives discussed so publicly, but it's a reaction based off not feeling like they can do much else except take the abuse. And the argument that careers are being destroyed by false accusations when I can't think of one person who this is true of. Harvey Weinstein, Kevin Spacey, Louis CK, Al Porter etc...these people all confessed that the allegations were true (and we're yet to get far enough away from the news to know if it has permanently tarnished them or just been a career setback, of those I could easily see Spacey and CK have a remorseful comeback in a few years relatively unopposed). If Enzo gets proven innocent and there's an actual willingness on WWE's part to give him another look, I've no doubt he'll be back. In the meantime it seems he got sacked for not telling them more than the crime itself, which is understandable.

• Registered Users Posts: 838 ✭✭✭A Rogue Hobo

Ultimately I hope you're right in that if these allegations are proven to be false that people can recover from them. But I honestly dread feeling like we're gonna see someone turn to self harm because of all of this. I very much hope I'm wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭HandsomeBob

DM_7 wrote: »
    Eh? What have you read. I understand WWE only found out yesterday and acted swiftly to suspend him, then fired for not telling them.

Just saying I'd be amazed if the likes of TMZ hadn't gotten their hands on this info and leaked it to either WWE or as an exclusive.

This happened in October, and Enzo has missed dates since then due to being Sick, the latest being pulled from the mixed match challenge before this came out.

So if they got caught on the hop on this then that's unbelievable to me. For a company that has previously shown a "zero tolerance" towards this kind of thing where they'll suspend someone on allegation alone, that's amazing to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,709 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

Just saying I'd be amazed if the likes of TMZ hadn't gotten their hands on this info and leaked it to either WWE or as an exclusive.

This happened in October, and Enzo has missed dates since then due to being Sick, the latest being pulled from the mixed match challenge before this came out.

So if they got caught on the hop on this then that's unbelievable to me. For a company that has previously shown a "zero tolerance" towards this kind of thing where they'll suspend someone on allegation alone, that's amazing to me.

He was still the Cruiserweight champion though. They would surely have moved that belt off him if they thought this was coming down the tracks.

I think you’re overestimating WWE a bit. Vince isn’t god, he’s not omnipotent, it’d be quite easy to keep stuff like this under wraps in the short-term. Think about it: if you got accused of something like this, would your employer find out unless it started getting covered by the media and you had to go to trial? Same deal, WWE are just a regular business and employer at the end of the day. There’s no conspiracy here. The leak was the woman that was accused, in public, on Twitter. If TMZ had got a hold of any of this they’d have run it almost immediately because that’s exactly what their job is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,861 ✭✭✭Mr.H

It sounds like he was fired because he didn't tell them. He probably informed them which led to he immediate suspension. Then when talking with him and looking into it they decided they need to release him.

I'm sure that if this turns out to be false (which it sounds), WWE will rehire him

Mr.H wrote: »
    It sounds like he was fired because he didn't tell them. He probably informed them which led to he immediate suspension. Then when talking with him and looking into it they decided they need to release him.

I'm sure that if this turns out to be false (which it sounds), WWE will rehire him

She went to hospital on the night she alleges it happens and, off the back of that, the police then began an investigation into Enzo which he risked his career by deliberately keeping it a secret from WWE, despite that being a sackable offence.

I'm not saying it's true...but I wouldn't be so quick to say it sounds false with any conviction either. Let the investigation run its course.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,929 ✭✭✭Monokne

Given what a pain in the ass he is alleged to have been backstage, I wouldn't be convinced he'll quickly be rehired should he be exonerated.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,815 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

These allegations always freak me out a bit. I don't want to get into the whole "is it true or is it false?". They are a real minefield.

When somebody holds up their hands there is no question. Weinstein et el rightfully deserve to be blackballed and lambashed.

If we look at Enzo's case. It looks like he is pleading innocence. How does he do this without question? What's that phase? Nobody knows what goes on behind closed doors.

It will basically be one story against another persons story and which of them is most bulletproof. If they've had sex (they most certainly did) how would you prove or disprove consent?

I hope I'm not George Hook-ing my point but I'm just saying if Enzo is innocent like he is reporting it must be a truly terrifying place to be.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,429 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

ShagNastii wrote: »
    I hope I'm not George Hook-ing my point but I'm just saying if Enzo is innocent like he is reporting it must be a truly terrifying place to be.

My brother is a teacher and there was a kind of anonymous allegation a few weeks ago made. Now, he was lucky; a large part of the allegation was demonstrably false, and the school immediately moved to prove this fact, and has backed him to the hilt. The Gardai are in, and are also backing him, so everything looks to be moving in a good direction.

But yeah, it can be absolutely terrifying to have that sort of allegation made, when you know for a fact you're innocent. When you know there's someone out there trying to destroy your life, and even if you've "proven innocent", there's a strong risk your character has been tainted anyway?

(Mind, that's not saying Enzo is or isn't guilty; just talking about the proposed hypothetical).

• Registered Users Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭KKkitty

So last night I watched her TMZ video and read somewhere that initially she said she could barely remember what really happened. On the TMZ video she "suddenly" remembered almost every detail of the alleged incident. I also watched another video where a former friend of hers had screenshots of messages where she bragged about sleeping with Enzo. I don't know what to believe with this. I can understand why WWE fired him though. They can't have him on the roster with these allegations hanging over him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭HandsomeBob

leggo wrote: »
    I think you’re overestimating WWE a bit. Vince isn’t god, he’s not omnipotent, it’d be quite easy to keep stuff like this under wraps in the short-term. Think about it: if you got accused of something like this, would your employer find out unless it started getting covered by the media and you had to go to trial? Same deal, WWE are just a regular business and employer at the end of the day. There’s no conspiracy here. The leak was the woman that was accused, in public, on Twitter. If TMZ had got a hold of any of this they’d have run it almost immediately because that’s exactly what their job is.

I'm not broadcasted to millions of people every week in the role that I do, so I can't really accept the comparison between me (a regular joe) and Enzo Amore trying to keep a rape allegation under wraps. Far too many external factors to control.

Maybe I am giving WWE too much credit in believing they were aware and Enzo not enough for keeping this under wraps for nearly 3 months.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,858 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Will watch later out of curiosity, but did they address the title situation on 205 Live? I initially thought they would leave it til next week to give them time but with the PPV this weekend, they may want it on there.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 24,773 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

CastorTroy wrote: »
    Will watch later out of curiosity, but did they address the title situation on 205 Live? I initially thought they would leave it til next week to give them time but with the PPV this weekend, they may want it on there.

They addressed it on Smackdown Live, saying Next week there will be a GM for 205 Live announced and the GM's first act will be to sort out the vacant championship.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,294 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Enzo's been accused of rape... by a complete lunatic. I don't believe it for a second.

Tweet is NSFW

https://twitter.com/missgucciwitch/status/955496170414985216

go to the police then

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,429 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

lawred2 wrote: »
    go to the police then

She did...