Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jordan Peterson interview on C4

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 20,993 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

benjamin d wrote: »
    Most "real" feminists recognise that the word is distorted beyond recognition nowadays. I would like to call myself a feminist. My girlfriend, an educated and clever woman, rails against the term as it is currently applied. Almost every rational woman I have heard discuss this in real life agrees that the word feminist has been utterly ruined by the Tumblr and Twitter charlatans who insist that the patriarchy and white male privilege are singularly responsible for all the world's ills. Any rational human can see that the word feminist has been hijacked and completely bastardised for a nefarious agenda. It's time for true feminists to abandon the label for something else IMO.

I await retribution.

How about alpha-females?

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users Posts: 8,934 ✭✭✭20Cent

conorhal wrote: »

Does he run? Is he cowed by the mob?
    No, when they take his mic, he merely SHOUTS his refusal to be silenced. It's an electrifying moment of defiance from the unlikeliest of hero's and the video that made him both a famous and important voice against the tyranny of censorship.

Jaysus you'd think he saved the world from alien invasion.
    It's a college.
    He's protesting/arguing against college rules and regulations.
    This is what ye are calling censorship, cultural marxism destroying society.
    It's pathetic.
    If his fanboys experienced one fraction of the discrimination, fear and silencing that minorities face every day they would have something to cry about. So ironic they call the other side snowflakes.

"Academic politics is the most vicious and bitter form of politics, because the stakes are so low." Wallace Sayre.

• Registered Users Posts: 921 ✭✭✭benjamin d

Brian? wrote: »
    How about alpha-females?

What about them?

Insofar as I think the alpha and beta theory is nonsense in general, I think some females have some of the traits that you're probably referring to here, but manifesting to a lesser extent than males. What do you want me to say here?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

How about alpha-females?

Alpha females don't have time for third wave feminism.they're too busy taking care of business to listen to that nonesense.

What about them?

Insofar as I think the alpha and beta theory is nonsense in general, I think some females have some of the traits that you're probably referring to here, but manifesting to a lesser extent than males. What do you want me to say here?

I was a bad joke.

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users Posts: 921 ✭✭✭benjamin d

I was a bad joke.

You were a bad joke?

I was.

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users Posts: 658 ✭✭✭johnp001

I don't, of course. But then I don't believe that Stalin, Mao, Lenin, Pol Pot etc. were socialists either. Authoritarianism is an anathema to pure socialism. Only the worker can free them-self, freedom cannot be granted by a central authority.
    I would completely agree that freedom cannot be granted by a central authority but this belief is not something that I had previously associated with socialism.

If as you describe, the worker frees themself then for this freedom to be actual they must therefore be free to choose whether or not to participate in social and communal structures and if their freedom is not granted by a central authority it follows that they are not coerced into social and communal interactions by a central authority and that all interaction between individuals is on a purely voluntary basis.

Is this an accurate description of your definition of pure socialism?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,050 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

conorhal wrote: »
    The easiest way to identify such creatures is to answer the simple question: Who's burning the books these days? Who's building pyres of words they disagree with?

You really need to watch out for those sorts of people.
    German Jewish poet Heinrich Heine, wrote in his 1820–1821 play Almansor the famous admonition, “Dort, wo man Bücher verbrennt, verbrennt man am Ende auch Menschen":
    "Where they burn books, they will also ultimately burn people."

100% agree. The question many people don't ask themselves is that who is trying to censor people, who is burning books and who are the mob going after and trying to silence.

The video is interesting. At the end the mob try and shout him down by shouting things like 'hate speech' A few hundred years ago the same type of tyrannical mob existed to shout down men of reason, science and logic. Instead of shouting hate speech, they shouted things like, "Heretic" or "Blasphemy".

For whatever reason I thought of Galileo and wonder are we going back to those times.
    Galileo was found "vehemently suspect of heresy", namely of having held the opinions that the Sun lies motionless at the centre of the universe, that the Earth is not at its centre and moves, and that one may hold and defend an opinion as probable after it has been declared contrary to Holy Scripture. He was required to "abjure, curse and detest" those opinions.

He was sentenced to formal imprisonment at the pleasure of the Inquisition. On the following day, this was commuted to house arrest, which he remained under for the rest of his life.

His offending Dialogue was banned; and in an action not announced at the trial, publication of any of his works was forbidden, including any he might write in the future.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,050 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

20Cent wrote: »
    It's a college.
    It's pathetic.
    If his fanboys experienced one fraction of the discrimination, fear and silencing that minorities face every day they would have something to cry about. So ironic they call the other side snowflakes.

"Academic politics is the most vicious and bitter form of politics, because the stakes are so low." Wallace Sayre.

Yesterday you were giving out about people taking sides, then today you write that. Your a bit tone deaf aren't you?

johnp001 wrote: »
    I would completely agree that freedom cannot be granted by a central authority but this belief is not something that I had previously associated with socialism.

You're not alone there. Thanks to the bastardisations of socialism that were Leninism and Stalinism mainly.

If as you describe, the worker frees themself then for this freedom to be actual they must therefore be free to choose whether or not to participate in social and communal structures and if their freedom is not granted by a central authority it follows that they are not coerced into social and communal interactions by a central authority and that all interaction between individuals is on a purely voluntary basis.

Is this an accurate description of your definition of pure socialism?

That's it exactly. It can't be enforced and must be entirely optional. Unfortunately most socialists believe a vanguard state is required to implement societal change. This is a flawed interpretation as it inherently involved some sort of coercion.

You should do some reading about libertarian socialism.

they/them/theirs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭JenovaProject

markodaly wrote: »
    Yesterday you were giving out about people taking sides, then today you write that. Your a bit tone deaf aren't you?

Selective hearing.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,437 ✭✭✭tritium

It's a college.
    It's pathetic.
    If his fanboys experienced one fraction of the discrimination, fear and silencing that minorities face every day they would have something to cry about.
    So ironic they call the other side snowflakes.

Because you have the inside track on what those people have experienced?

Or are you just subscribing to that arrogant privilege argument like it’s religious dogma?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,934 ✭✭✭20Cent

tritium wrote: »
    Because you have the inside track on what those people have experienced?

Or are you just subscribing to that arrogant privilege argument like it’s religious dogma?

Gas the same people who argue you shouldn't even use the preferred pronoun for a trans person or let them go to the toilet claim there is no discrimination against them.

Imagine being called the wrong gender all the time or having to hold in your pee all day because just going to the toilet is an ordeal.

Religious dogma? what you on about.

Gas the same people who argue you shouldn't even use the preferred pronoun for a trans person or let them go to the toilet claim there is no discrimination against them.

Imagine being called the wrong gender all the time or having to hold in your pee all day because just going to the toilet is an ordeal.

Who said you shouldn't use the preferred pronoun?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

People who like his 12 rules, you'll love this, there are around 30 rules!

Omg...I just googled and...
    100 rules!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,437 ✭✭✭tritium

Except that’s not remotely what I claimed, was it?

Tell me, what discrimination or social challenges do you think white males might face? Young men might face? Since you’ve indicated white privilege is a thing, explain to me, is it global? Does it exist in Zimbabwe? Saudi Arabia? How does it differ from majority privilege? How does it differ in Ireland, with a very limited history of non-white interaction and the US with a very different history and demographic?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭conorhal

Ahhahahahahahahhahahhaha......*sigh*

• Registered Users Posts: 992 ✭✭✭kg703

Omg...I just googled and...
    100 rules!

Sounds like life advice for an 'American Psycho'

Own a handcrafted shotgun. It’s a beautiful thing.

Desserts are for women. Order one and pretend you don’t mind that she’s eating yours.

Revenge can be a good way of getting over anger.

Drink outdoors. And during the day. And sometimes by yourself.

Date women outside your social set. You’ll be surprised.

No-one cares if you are offended, so stop it.

Hookers aren’t cool, but remember, the free ones are a lot more expensive.

You can get away with a lot more if you’re the one buying the drinks

does the last one sound a bit 'rapey' to anyone else?!! :confused::confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭Wombatman

markodaly wrote: »
    100% agree. The question many people don't ask themselves is that who is trying to censor people, who is burning books and who are the mob going after and trying to silence.

gettyimages-603553684.jpg?w=575&quality=90&strip=info

• Registered Users Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Most "real" feminists recognise that the word is distorted beyond recognition nowadays. I would like to call myself a feminist. My girlfriend, an educated and clever woman, rails against the term as it is currently applied. Almost every rational woman I have heard discuss this in real life agrees that the word feminist has been utterly ruined by the Tumblr and Twitter charlatans who insist that the patriarchy and white male privilege are singularly responsible for all the world's ills. Any rational human can see that the word feminist has been hijacked and completely bastardised for a nefarious agenda. It's time for true feminists to abandon the label for something else IMO.

I await retribution.

3rd wave is /insert term of ridicule/. 2nd wave has won the war albeit with a handful of battles in the West but with a lot more it could do elsewhere in the world. I don't blame women for wanting advocacy groups but that's not a synonym for equality- I say it's egalitarianism+narcissism - equality for all... but me first.

I don't know you and don't aim this at you but whenever I hear men declare themselves feminists (in the name of to declaring equality credentials) smacks (to me) of self hatred from decades of brainwashing. Some very smart people are feminists but then again JP, and a lot of other highly intelligent people immersed in the subject denounce feminism as it exists today as a religion bent on indoctrination and self perpetuation.

Meanwhile the vast majority of homeless are men, the vast majority of suicides are boys, the vast majority of war deaths are men, the vast majority of child custody goes to women, men lead shorter live, and boys are doing increasingly worse in all levels of education but no one seems to care... which patriarchy is to blame for, apparently.

The upshot is that boys are the ones who need a voice today (and not just in the name of destruction of the patriarchy).

Here's an extensive interview between JP and 2nd wave feminist Camille Paglia - spoiler: they agree on almost everything.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,849 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

cantdecide wrote: »

Here's an extensive interview between JP and 2nd wave feminist Camille Paglia - spoiler: they agree on almost everything.

I threw that on my headphones over xmas, interesting interview, Paglia seems to be of the view that modern feminism is attempting to infantalise women, she probably isn't too far off

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭Wombatman

Forget the gender politics boys and girls. We need to team up and fight the real fight. Don't let the establishment divide and rule.

image.png

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/markets/report-says-gap-between-ceo-pay-and-irish-worker-is-widening-1.3356562

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

I want to rip this twots tonsils

cantdecide wrote: »
    3rd wave is /insert term of ridicule/. 2nd wave has won the war albeit with a handful of battles in the West but with a lot more it could do elsewhere in the world. I don't blame women for wanting advocacy groups but that's not a synonym for equality- I say it's egalitarianism+narcissism - equality for all... but me first.

I don't know you and don't aim this at you but whenever I hear men declare themselves feminists (in the name of to declaring equality credentials) smacks (to me) of self hatred from decades of brainwashing. Some very smart people are feminists but then again JP, and a lot of other highly intelligent people immersed in the subject denounce feminism as it exists today as a religion bent on indoctrination and self perpetuation.

Meanwhile the vast majority of homeless are men, the vast majority of suicides are boys, the vast majority of war deaths are men, the vast majority of child custody goes to women, men lead shorter live, and boys are doing increasingly worse in all levels of education but no one seems to care... which patriarchy is to blame for, apparently.

The upshot is that boys are the ones who need a voice today (and not just in the name of destruction of the patriarchy).

What I find funniest is that everything is down to the Patriarchy. Toxic Masculinity and all that. Then when someone actually comes along to say to guys "Sort yourselves out" they're women-haters.
    Or the argument that feminism is good for everyone but needs to focus on women's issues first. Fine, then why is anyone who campaigns on men's issue instantly a misogynist?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

kg703 wrote: »

Desserts are for women. Order one and pretend you don’t mind that she’s eating yours.

Unpleasant, woman-hating rubbish.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

Cilocnadal wrote: »
    I agree with Jordan's point that most women are generally unhappy when they are in relationships with weak men they can easily dominate. In my opinion most women are happier in relationships with strong men who are comfortable taking charge. Women are happiest with a man they can trust to take charge. In my opinion.

I find it amusing that Cathy got so defensive on this point, it makes me wonder if she bosses and bullies her hsband around.

If nothing else, your ability to think up new usernames on a daily basis is impressive.

kg703 wrote: »

They sound horrific. I didn't read them beyond the first couple. Just thought people liked lists of rules. Plus I noticed one that was common to Peterson's; compare yourself to your past self.

Unpleasant, woman-hating rubbish.
    I thought that was what you guys liked :confused: