Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jordan Peterson interview on C4

• Registered Users Posts: 17,849 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

20Cent wrote: »
    T

Ze students making lists of vermin teachers doesn't sound fascist at all does it.

fk right off with those makeyuppy genders, there are only 2 genders :pac:

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users Posts: 12,965 ✭✭✭✭bnt

The brouhaha over this interview has crossed the Atlantic, and is now in The Atlantic - the magazine. Their most popular article today is a deconstruction of the interviewer's technique: Why Can't People Hear What Jordan Peterson Is Saying?.

From out there on the moon, international politics look so petty. You want to grab a politician by the scruff of the neck and drag him a quarter of a million miles out and say, ‘Look at that, you son of a bitch’.

— Edgar Mitchell, Apollo 14 Astronaut

• Registered Users Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Pa ElGrande

The monsters, you can't even call black people the N word these days PC gone mad.

I'm offended by your cisnormative heteronormative imperialist white supremacist capitalist racial microaggression. The correct term is people of color.

Net Zero means we are paying for the destruction of our economy and society in pursuit of an unachievable and pointless policy.

• Site Banned Posts: 406 ✭✭Pepefrogok

The monsters, you can't even call black people the N word these days PC gone mad.

The poor things, you can't go into a college and put up a photo of a student calling her a pervert or advocating for sex with children these days without someone getting mad!

Ze students making lists of vermin teachers doesn't sound fascist at all does it.

Remember that time when you complained that someone godwin'd the thread only for it to turn out you had already done it earlier lol that was really funny!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 591 ✭✭✭Saruhashi

Peterson: We diverged from lobsters evolutionary history about 350 million years ago. And lobsters exist in hierarchies. They have a nervous system attuned to the hierarchy. And that nervous system runs on serotonin just like ours. The nervous system of the lobster and the human being is so similar that anti-depressants work on lobsters. And it’s part of my attempt to demonstrate that the idea of hierarchy has absolutely nothing to do with socio-cultural construction, which it doesn’t.

Newman: Let me get this straight. You’re saying that we should organize our societies along the lines of the lobsters?

Amazing.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Pa ElGrande

Saruhashi wrote: »
    [
    Newman: Let me get this straight. You’re saying that we should organize our societies along the lines of the lobsters?

Amazing.

Tongue in cheek this is likely based on her work experience. Lobsters are known as bottom feeders and going on past form the channel4 news department seems to be organised along those lines already.

Net Zero means we are paying for the destruction of our economy and society in pursuit of an unachievable and pointless policy.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

pemay wrote: »
    Herb Powell?

Herb f**king Powell?!

Man, how long has it been?! I had to think fast there, knew it couldn't be anyone else, good old Herb, good ol' Herb "Black Tuesday" Powell!

Remember that time back in college, do you? How could you forget, says you! You smeared pig fat all over your face and swore "that's the last time you'll see me peeping through a hedge crooked, let me tell ya!"

Ah jaysus, good times, wha'? And sure where would you leave the time you went leppin' across the street like a mad yoke to the Reichstag, sure they couldn't tell you not to put your flute away, they couldn't!

Ye mad yoke, Herb :)

How's the head?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭Wombatman

It is just the return of the classical liberals, the progressives who commandeered the Liberal label throughout the 20th century are disintegrating and reverting back to their socialist origins.

Doesn't Peterson describe himself as a classic British liberal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

I'm new to Peterson but he seemed to do very well in that interview, although the interviewer was a mindless drone so it couldn't have been too difficult for him.

However I have looked at one or two of his other videos and I find if he doesn't like a question (eg Do you believe in god?), he'll torture it with scrutiny and essentially tell you the question is wrong.

Early days for me though so I could be wrong, but that is an early impression.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,783 ✭✭✭SeanW

Nice, start your "argument" by slandering your opponent by playing the race card, even though race has nothing to do with this.

For the record:
    1. No free society jails people just for using the N-word. Bill C16 and the regional law aims to criminalise a failure to adhere to SJW norms.
    2. The n-word is not an accurate description for a black person. It's a slur. "Man", "male", "Sir" etc. are accurate terms for a person with XX chromosomes.
    I ask you now to withdraw your scurrilous assertion that this debate has anything to do with racism.

The poor things, you can't go into a college and put up a photo of a student calling her a pervert or advocating for sex with children these days without someone getting mad!
    You say Ben Shapiro and Nigel Farage go around to colleges putting up posters accusing students of being perverts? Please show me your evidence.

Antifa have a simple message - we will use any means including terrorism, to silence people we disagree with. Are you defending Antifa? If so, why?
    You're right. It is not fascist.

Demonising individuals because of their group, advocating that people in serious trauma should be let die because of their skin colour, advocating the murder of children with mental disabilities, anti semitism, calling for people who disagree with you to be executed, (or maybe just raped), spreading blood libels against Jews, seems to be just fine by the Post-Modernists, despite much of it being literally copied from Nazi Germany or Stalin's USSR, and some other ... unorthodox ideas about math and science that would not be out of place in a Middle Ages witch trial.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,090 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

First time ever hearing of this guy.

It was one way traffic, the interviewer was totally out of her depth due to lack of preparation.

He really made some really good points.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Saruhashi wrote: »
    Peterson: We diverged from lobsters evolutionary history about 350 million years ago. And lobsters exist in hierarchies. They have a nervous system attuned to the hierarchy. And that nervous system runs on serotonin just like ours. The nervous system of the lobster and the human being is so similar that anti-depressants work on lobsters. And it’s part of my attempt to demonstrate that the idea of hierarchy has absolutely nothing to do with socio-cultural construction, which it doesn’t.

Amazing.

Reminded me of this a bit.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,934 ✭✭✭20Cent

SeanW wrote: »
    Nice, start your "argument" by slandering your opponent by playing the race card, even though race has nothing to do with this.

For the record:
    1. No free society jails people just for using the N-word. Bill C16 and the regional law aims to criminalise a failure to adhere to SJW norms.
    2. The n-word is not an accurate description for a black person. It's a slur. "Man", "male", "Sir" etc. are accurate terms for a person with XX chromosomes.
    I ask you now to withdraw your scurrilous assertion that this debate has anything to do with racism.

Now I know how Peterson felt.
    So what you are saying is ...........

C 16 is an amendment to the the Canadian Human Rights Act and the Criminal Code. They are saying that even if someone has xx chomosomes but identifies as female we should respect that. Calling a female He all the time is a form of bullying.
    You say Ben Shapiro and Nigel Farage go around to colleges putting up posters accusing students of being perverts? Please show me your evidence.

Was referring to Milo. He went to a college and put a photo of a trans student up on a screen to slag off https://youtu.be/h2oV1QKUMdM and humiliate. The student was actually in the room at the time. Shapiro also has form attacking trans people.

Antifa have a simple message - we will use any means including terrorism, to silence people we disagree with. Are you defending Antifa? If so, why?
    So what your saying is ......

Demonising individuals because of their group, advocating that people in serious trauma should be let die because of their skin colour, advocating the murder of children with mental disabilities, anti semitism, calling for people who disagree with you to be executed, (or maybe just raped), spreading blood libels against Jews, seems to be just fine by the Post-Modernists, despite much of it being literally copied from Nazi Germany or Stalin's USSR, and some other ... unorthodox ideas about math and science that would not be out of place in a Middle Ages witch trial.

This is literally what you are arguing against. Attacking people because of their words or beliefs!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Max Prophet

C 16 is an amendment to the the Canadian Human Rights Act and the Criminal Code. They are saying that even if someone has xx chomosomes but identifies as female we should respect that. Calling a female He all the time is a form of bullying.

Was referring to Milo. He went to a college and put a photo of a trans student up on a screen to slag off https://youtu.be/h2oV1QKUMdM and humiliate. The student was actually in the room at the time. Shapiro also has form attacking trans people.

This is literally what you are arguing against. Attacking people because of their words or beliefs!!!!

Did you watch the interview yet?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,934 ✭✭✭20Cent

Did you watch the interview yet?

Yeah she was terrible and he wiped the floor with her.

So I'm sure then you would be fine with someone who says that Michael Brown deserved what he got because he was black ?

If it's ok for someone to be allowed believe and say that a white man should be denied medical help because they are white, then someone else can be allowed to believe and say that a black person can be denied the same because they are black.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 20,993 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

For the record:

No. He didn’t.

What acts of terrorism have Antifa committed?

What do you propose we do about these professors? Should we silence them? I would prefer if we present logical arguments as to why they’re incorrect.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

Brian? wrote: »
    What do you propose we do about these professors? Should we silence them? I would prefer if we present logical arguments as to why they’re incorrect.

But how much outrage is there about those professors and their comments ?
    I have never heard them before and obviously as a result neither have I heard the outrage.

Are they put down to the ramblings of fools ?

Had someone with a more "right wing" view made similar comments about others would we hear more about it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Yeah she was terrible and he wiped the floor with her.

Would you disagree with many of the arguments he puts forward in the interview?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

No. But we should openly lampoon them for the nonsense that they are.

But how much outrage is there about those professors and their comments ?
    I have never heard them before and obviously as a result neither have I heard the outrage.

Are they put down to the ramblings of fools ?

Had someone with a more "right wing" view made similar comments about others would we hear more about it ?

So be outraged. It adds nothing to this argument to point out idiots being idiots. It's nothing to do with left/right wing.

they/them/theirs

No. But we should openly lampoon them for the nonsense that they are.

I agree.

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users Posts: 299 ✭✭SSr0

Are you having a fücking laugh or what?

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/antifa-domestic-terrorists-us-security-agencies-homeland-security-fbi-a7927881.html

Sure what would the US Homeland Security know, huh?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 108 ✭✭CarlosHarpic

We still do not know for sure the motivations behind the Las Vegas mass slaughter.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Rory28

We still do not know for sure the motivations behind the Las Vegas mass slaughter.

Ridiculous. That guy was a sick fcuk. There is your motivation.

• Registered Users Posts: 658 ✭✭✭johnp001

I listened to Karen Straughan's commentary on the Newman-Peterson interview.
    (Link to relevant section of video)

She references an analysis of the violent language used on the internet in its aftermath which gave the following results:
    Cathy Newman’s feminist fans aimed 30 times more violent sexist abuse at Peterson & his supporters than vice-versa
    Adding up all the tweets, retweets and likes we find the following totals:

Non-sexist violence aimed at Newman or her supporters: 2

Sexist violence aimed at Newman or her supporters: 0

Non-sexist violence aimed at Peterson or his supporters: 8

Sexist violence aimed at Peterson or his supporters: 55

• Registered Users Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

Rory28 wrote: »
    Ridiculous. That guy was a sick fcuk. There is your motivation.

You could say that about any person that goes out and intentionally kills strangers.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Rory28

You could say that about any person that goes out and intentionally kills strangers.

But to link him to antifa is absurd. i hate antifa as much as the next guy but antifa didnt shoot up the las vegas strip.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

johnp001 wrote: »
    I listened to Karen Straughan's commentary on the Newman-Peterson interview.
    (Link to relevant section of video)

She references an analysis of the violent language used on the internet in its aftermath which gave the following results:
    Cathy Newman’s feminist fans aimed 30 times more violent sexist abuse at Peterson & his supporters than vice-versa

I see where you're going wrong there. You see, the far left have a free pass on reprehensible behaviour on account of being drunk on righteous moral superiority.

If you're far left, hate is perfectly admirable when leveled against 'haters' (assuming that objectively, your 'haters' are indeed full of hate).

• Registered Users Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭conorhal

I would prefer that the courses they taught actually debated the philosophy they present honestly and allow it to be critiqued as part of the course.

I would prefer that universities were real safe spaces, safe spaces in which honest debate and dialogue were permitted.
    A course that presents ideas that cannot be critiqued isn't teaching, it's indocrtinating.
    Take the case of Lindsay Shepherd.
    In a class debating communications, Shepherd, a teaching assistant, played an interview from a local news network with Peterson debating Bill C16.
    For doing so she was reported for creating a transphobic and toxic enviornment and sanctioned for playing a video that one of the pannel of university staff questioning her described as akin to playing one of Hitler's speaches to her students.

When university lecturers are stifiling intelectual debate and demanding ideological purity without question on pain of sanctions in their classes, they could be at the very least described as, failing at their job to educate critical thinkers.