Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,781 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Anyone calving yet? Any cows out? Will be starting calving here next week. Grass is mainly under water here at the moment :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,128 ✭✭✭jaymla627

whelan2 wrote: »
    Anyone calving yet? Any cows out? Will be starting calving here next week. Grass is mainly under water here at the moment :(

Have 10 dry cows out strip grazing a "dryish" field not doing to much damage but anymore in that group and they would plough the place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭stretch film

degetme wrote: »
    Agritech dry cow elite was always expensive. I bought all winter requirements early December on the back of advice here on a factory fire.

I bought all in early Dec on advice of my merchant.
    Bad form if most had to pick up that info here first.

kevthegaff wrote: »
    First in 10 yrs havent

What's the reasoning behind not using them this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭farmersfriend

orm0nd wrote: »
    wonder that people are giving for pre calver mins.

got a few bags y/day and think I've been jocked

17 a bag delivered, blf in carlow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭RedPeppers

whelan2 wrote: »

Had first calf here on 8th cow went about 12 days early fairly small fr bull. As for cows out come back to me around 3rd week of March on that place here is swimming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

RedPeppers wrote: »
    Had first calf here on 8th cow went about 12 days early fairly small fr bull. As for cows out come back to me around 3rd week of March on that place here is swimming

Ground is floating here at the moment, still plan to be grazing bt mid feburary. Its amazing how ground dries as days get longer and hopfully weather dried up, cant rain forever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

yewtree wrote: »
    Ground is floating here at the moment, still plan to be grazing bt mid feburary. Its amazing how ground dries as days get longer and hopfully weather dried up, cant rain forever!

Big amount of standing water in the wetter paddocks, but drier ones doing well, got 10 maiden heifers hogging the calf house for last 2wks and need to turf them back out to get it ready for calving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭alps

Agritech dry cow elite was always expensive. I bought all winter requirements early December on the back of advice here on a factory fire.

Are Agritec minerals fed at a 50g rate as opposed to the normal 100g rate of most pre calved minerals.....double the strength so to speak....would account for the apparent expense..

Timmaay wrote: »
    Big amount of standing water in the wetter paddocks, but drier ones doing well, got 10 maiden heifers hogging the calf house for last 2wks and need to turf them back out to get it ready for calving.

Gave up on the weanlings here on Wednesday and boxed them home...thought we could make it through to the other end. Bunch of 19 of the lightest that we left out when the rest came home 1st of December..you could not pick them out of the group now....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Clear in the herd test thank god, may make the jump to spring milk this year now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭degetme

alps wrote: »
    Are Agritec minerals fed at a 50g rate as opposed to the normal 100g rate of most pre calved minerals.....double the strength so to speak....would account for the apparent expense..

100grams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭White Clover

Gave up on the weanlings here on Wednesday and boxed them home...thought we could make it through to the other end. Bunch of 19 of the lightest that we left out when the rest came home 1st of December..you could not pick them out of the group now....

What was dlwg of the weanlings outside?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Haven't fed pre calving minerals here in the past 4 years. No difference in calving difficulty or retained after birth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭degetme

Haven't fed pre calving minerals here in the past 4 years. No difference in calving difficulty or retained after birth

What made you think there of no benefit

Hadn't fed for years then got nearvous as numbers grew. Started feeding and saw no difference, then as we found no difference stopped.

Cow condition at drying off and no stupid decisions regarding bull selection are major factors in my view

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,419 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

You're spoiled rotten with that land.

I know if I stopped with the minerals here I'd have retained cleanings, lazy calves and harder to go back incalf.
    It's for those reasons I started with minerals in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,459 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

It would depend on your soils mineral status I reckon. We have to feed minerals here in the dry period and as well at breeding. Wheels fall off the wagon otherwise. Get a lot of sub clinical milk fever if we skimp on minerals in the dry period

Stopped feeding minerals to the milkers a few years ago and all's ok so far. Still stuck with the pre calving ones though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Don't feed any dry cow minerals anymore, all minerals through the water now and blood tested 4x/year. Calving last spring was the easiest it's been for years and only had to jack a few heifers and 2 cows. Only 1 case of cleanings held last year as well and that was a cow that slipped a calf.

Happy out now, it's not cheap but overall have a much easier time calving and bulling that before so that has to count as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭einn32

Don't feed any dry cow minerals anymore, all minerals through the water now and blood tested 4x/year. Calving last spring was the easiest it's been for years and only had to jack a few heifers and 2 cows. Only 1 case of cleanings held last year as well and that was a cow that slipped a calf.

Happy out now, it's not cheap but overall have a much easier time calving and bulling that before so that has to count as well.

Sounds like a nice system. How do the blood tests work?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

einn32 wrote: »
    Sounds like a nice system. How do the blood tests work?
    I just keep a few extra cows when the vet comes and bloods about 10 animals. I send them off to FBA and get an email a few days later with the results of the bloods. The company I buy from come onto the farm a while after and adjust the mix depending on the results and time of year when they top up the tanks. In fairness there is little adjustment now as most of the levels were sorted in the first 6 months.

I'd like my iodine levels higher than they are and am still fighting that corner here but I think I'll get that sorted after the next samples, hopefully.

You're spoiled rotten with that land.

I know if I stopped with the minerals here I'd have retained cleanings, lazy calves and harder to go back incalf.
    It's for those reasons I started with minerals in the first place.

I'm well aware of the land I have and feed it as required. Started mineral and trace element analysis in last 3 years. I've spread some zinc in certain areas.

In very early stages of building a picture of what's required at a micro level. I've enlisted the services of a highly regarded agronomist to assist in this.

When we grew tillage with beet in the rotation we paid very close attention to trace elements especially in the sugar beet. I don't think we can grow much more grass but perhaps we could grow as much with less artificial N.

I'm certain that the amount of N lost to ground water here is minimal as we are in the catchment for a water scheme bore hole that's monitored monthly. The N levels are very stable and on the low side of safe limits. I'm copied in on these test results as I feel this back ground info may become valuable in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭White Clover

I'm well aware of the land I have and feed it as required. Started mineral and trace element analysis in last 3 years. I've spread some zinc in certain areas.

In very early stages of building a picture of what's required at a micro level. I've enlisted the services of a highly regarded agronomist to assist in this.

When we grew tillage with beet in the rotation we paid very close attention to trace elements especially in the sugar beet. I don't think we can grow much more grass but perhaps we could grow as much with less artificial N.

I'm certain that the amount of N lost to ground water here is minimal as we are in the catchment for a water scheme bore hole that's monitored monthly. The N levels are very stable and on the low side of safe limits. I'm copied in on these test results as I feel this back ground info may become valuable in the future.

Some very astute actions taken there. Fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,419 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

There's no denying you're on top of your game.

By Jaysus, I often wonder ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

By Jaysus, I often wonder ;)

Was going playing with trace elements part of the want for a decent sprayer? Have ye played around with soil mapping yet?

No not as yet. All farm is gps mapped. I have created ph, p and k maps and find them really useful.

We're trying to create a base line of trace elements. I'm not sure what ones to hone in on as priority as I'm uneducated in this area.

By soil mapping are you referring to gps based soil testing coupled with yield monitoring? I think we may have this done to some degree as I mentioned all farm is mapped and divided into aprox 4 ha paddocks and are sampled as such. We were sampling every year and now have a base line.

It's amazing the difference acting on the results can yield so hoping that continued work on micro elements will improve soil health further thus increasing herd performance.

Sunday Independent running an article on the 250 wealthiest people in Ireland.....

We're all going to be named now.....

Sunday Independent running an article on the 250 wealthiest people in Ireland.....

We're all going to be named now.....

Feck