Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 3.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,002 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Teferi wrote: »
    The robes in those places are always hilariously small. They seem to bulk buy them in a ladies medium and don't offer larger sizes. Always loads of lads in ill-fitting robes and those fabric flip flops they give out in a size 5 following their girlfriends/wives around.

Shìt now you've got me paranoid. How small are we talking?

I've a feeling I'm going to make an eejit of myself here tomorrow....much worse than the bollix I made of myself in mass on christmas morning - and that was bad enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

mfceiling wrote: »

Most times the robe arms only come a little bit past my elbow but YMMV! I'm a little over 6ft tall for reference.

• Administrators Posts: 55,081 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I've a feeling I'm going to make an eejit of myself here tomorrow....much worse than the bollix I made of myself in mass on christmas morning - and that was bad enough.
    They're not that small, they'll fit you no problem.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,080 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

This fibre connection is an absolute joke. 30 minutes to download a small app from right beside the router. Have to share my 4G connection to use the web FFS.

Full body massage is the business really, you'll really enjoy it and will actually feel good after it. They'll ask you if you prefer it light or intense, I always go for medium.

You are brought into the massage room, the masseuse will leave for a few minutes to let you undress to your jocks, get yourself up onto the table and cover yourself with the blanket. They only uncover the part they're working on so don't worry about feeling awkward lying there in just your jocks.

I've never done the other things you're getting so can't comment on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

awec wrote: »
    They'll ask you if you prefer it light or intense, I always go for medium.

Awec is the sort of person who think Marmite is OK

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Cq82OT-UsAATaSA.jpg

As good as you'll get I imagine :D

Pedicure might be a bit painful they will trim your nails and remove all the cuticles

My OH loves facials and massages, he says the robes have plenty of room

Where are you going?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,002 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Stheno wrote: »
    Cq82OT-UsAATaSA.jpg

As good as you'll get I imagine :D

Pedicure might be a bit painful they will trim your nails and remove all the cuticles

My OH loves facials and massages, he says the robes have plenty of room

Where are you going?

Summerhill house in wicklow.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Ah then you'll be grand they'll have stuff to fit you

I took the oh up to Bellinter house in Navan once for a spa day ( just for him, im not a fan of that stuff) and when i arrived in to collect him there he eas in his robe chilling out with some juice etc

Enjoy it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭DGRulz

Sister had her wedding there a few years ago, very nice place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Some of the places give you a little pair of mesh/gauze disposable jocks to wear similar to what you might get ahead of a surgery. Just holds all in place while they're working their magic. Other times I've just gone in the raw. I'm probably on a blacklist somewhere with Harvey Weinstein though.

I went for a full "man" package on my honeymoon. The wife was getting a day spa and I was shattered from the flight still so said I crack on an give it a lash. Manicure, pedicure, fully body massage and some sort of facial treatment that I didn't even realise I was getting as they did it during the massage. I just thought it was part of. Wouldn't make a habit of it and I reckon the manicure and pedicure was a waste of time on me but the rest was top notch and finished with a cocktail.

Pedicure is something I wouldn't recommend. Men are not designed for it. Wife thought it was hilarious and took a video of it.

tenor.gif?itemid=4981879

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Anything involving feet would be a big no no for me, wouldn’t even let them massage them. Don’t know how people get enjoyment from that :eek:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,080 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

maybe I'm an old grump but the idea of a facial, manicure, pedicure or any of that just seems absurd to me.

Absolutely zero interest. Had to get an ingrown toe nail cut out twice when I was a teen and honestly, I wouldn't be in a rush to volunteer to have anyone trim my claws as a result.

Facial spa treatments just seem pointless.

Even a massage I can take or leave, used to have to have them for recovery and you'd get off the plinth bruised.

I would happily sit by the pool in a robe with a cocktail for two hours than go through that. No comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Jaysus lads, next thing you'll be telling us ye moisturise!

FFS

hqdefault.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,469 ✭✭✭kuang1

I'm in the NO camp too.
    Gimme a sauna or steam room any day and I'm content.
    (Got to do the cold shower or plunge pool every 10 minutes though, followed by 5 minutes sitting out, otherwise wasting yer time!)

Even a massage I can take or leave, used to have to have them for recovery and you'd get off the plinth bruised.

I would happily sit by the pool in a robe with a cocktail for two hours than go through that. No comparison.

Depends on the massage. I've had massages that have been top notch and I've had massages where the masseuse could easily have operated as an interrogation specialist in a Siberian gulag.

Deep tissue massages are horrible experiences particularly if you've any aches or issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,534 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

kuang1 wrote: »
    I'm in the NO camp too.
    (Got to do the cold shower or plunge pool every 10 minutes though, followed by 5 minutes sitting out, otherwise wasting yer time!)
    Best place I've been to is The Heritage. You can literally spend hours in their thermal suite going from room to room and sipping chilled fruit juice or the like.

The best bit is the ice bucket :eek:. Literally iced water in a bucket and you pull the rope to dump the whole thing on yourself. Amazing how it becomes less shocking after a couple of turns between it and the saunas. Yes, they have two saunas.

So if you're not into the massages or 'beauty' treatments, no bother. Herself can get all that stuff done while you wander around increasingly hotter rooms in any order you like. And the hottest sauna is the proper temperature too.

There is a huge difference though between a deep tissue sports massage and the sort of massage you get in those kind of places. Deep tissue is like going ten rounds with a heavy weight, that one is closer to a good nights sleep.

stephen_n wrote: »
    There is a huge difference though between a deep tissue sports massage and the sort of massage you get in those kind of places. Deep tissue is like going ten rounds with a heavy weight, that one is closer to a good nights sleep.

Yeah I've had both kinds, I get a bit bored having a massage to be honest - just not that bothered.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,657 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

kuang1 wrote: »
    I'm in the NO camp too.

Spent new years in a friends place in lapland. 10 minutes in piping hot sauna followed by jumping into a couple feet of snow. It's eh...refreshing.

Only problem is your beer can get too hot to drink.

Yeah I've had both kinds, I get a bit bored having a massage to be honest - just not that bothered.

I just challenge myself to stay awake for the whole thing :)

Podge_irl wrote: »
    Spent new years in a friends place in lapland. 10 minutes in piping hot sauna followed by jumping into a couple feet of snow. It's eh...refreshing.

What we need to design is a sauna with a gin and tonic supply system.

You would keep the G & T in an external tank and then deliver into saunees via a drink-induction system which would be a heavily insulated straw that allows people inside the sauna to drink.

I think this would cost roughly 1 Sauna + 1 G&T + 1 tank. But we could sell it with a serious markup.

Beer is another option for drinking, but I don't think it's a straw drink.

IT's easy to fall asleep with the aromas and the comfort and the warm oil they pour over you, along with that hippy music they play.

What we need to design is a sauna with a gin and tonic supply system.

You would keep the G & T in an external tank and then deliver into saunees via a drink-induction system which would be a heavily insulated straw that allows people inside the sauna to drink.

I think this would cost roughly 1 Sauna + 1 G&T + 1 tank. But we could sell it with a serious markup.

Beer is another option for drinking, but I don't think it's a straw drink.

Bees easy, you just need a funnel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,534 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

Podge_irl wrote: »

A few years ago I was in Holland for a competition. We had a small house rented in a holiday park for the whole team (seven or eight) and it had a sauna. It also was in winter and temperatures were very low and it had snowed heavily.

So the sauna/snow thing became very popular for the duration. :D

stephen_n wrote: »
    Bees easy, you just need a funnel

We could drop a beer bong down from the roof. Like an airplane oxygen supply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,469 ✭✭✭kuang1

Would love to try the sauna-to-snow thing someday alright.

Ever hear about this guy?

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wim_Hof

Total extreme sh1te. Fascinating stuff about "Brown Fat" though.

Edit...sorry forgot link :

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brown_adipose_tissue

Why would anyone want to sit in a big box of ice.

What a load of bollocks.

awec wrote: »
    Why would anyone want to sit in a big box of ice.

What a load of bollocks.

Never been to the Sportsground?

Also a load of bollocks, coincidentally. :pac: