Your experience with the Gardai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

rannerap wrote: »
    A few years ago I was the victim of an attempted mugging when coming out of work on the Malahide road in Dublin. It was 5.30 in the day and two lads tried to rob me while one swung a stanley blade at me/kicked me. The guards were there very quickly. They followed it up and I was interviewed etc. They were nothing but lovely and so helpful. They managed to catch one of the guys and he got sent to prison for a few months.

I would have assumed because nothing much happened it would have just been brushed off and forgotten about. Especially because of the area it was in. Was surprised by how seriously they took it and how much work they put in to not only find them, but to get them punished for it.

Im very surprised too that they cared, and even more surprised they caught them. But its sad that somebody swinging a knife at you isn't considered a crime worth caring about !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

He can use his powers to ask me my name and address. Thats it.

Yes and he can arrest you if you don't answer so your claim that
    If you are not under arrest you have no obligation to speak to them

is incorrect. And that's only the Public Order Act. There are additional questions they can ask under other legislation.
    If he suspects I've committed a crime, he can arrest me, but he's going to have to provide an explanation as to why he suspected me. He was using his civil rights and this annoyed me is not enough to arrest someone.

He doesn't have to explain anything to you. He simply needs to make a lawful demand and arrest you if you fail to comply. Yes, you might manage to get off the eventual charge in court but you'll still have to go through the process of being arrested, put in a cell, charged and brought to court. So like I said, if you just ignore him you'll probably have a bad time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Ok, but you mentioned time wasting, hey if they approach you simply not answering questions saves time on both parties. You can knock yourself out telling them your life story!.

Here is an excellent youtube video by an American Solicitor on why you should NEVER speak to police on duty. Think his decades of law knowledge trumps yours or mine!. ;)

https://youtu.be/d-7o9xYp7eE
    I had more problems with solicitors than I ever had with a garda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Yes and he can arrest you if you don't answer so your claim that

is incorrect. And that's only the Public Order Act. There are additional questions they can ask under other legislation.

He doesn't have to explain anything to you. He simply needs to make a lawful demand and arrest you if you fail to comply. Yes, you might manage to get off the eventual charge in court but you'll still have to go through the process of being arrested, put in a cell, charged and brought to court. So like I said, if you just ignore him you'll probably have a bad time.

I'll explain this again s l o w l y.

He can ask any lawful question if you are stopped on the street, legally you are only obliged to give your name and address. You cannot be arrested for only giving your name and address.

So when you are arrested the Garda doesn't say "You are not obliged to say anything unless you wish to do so, but whatever you say will be taken down in writing and may be given in evidence."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭Aethan Dor

Noveight wrote: »
    I don't need a solicitor or a VICE article to tell me otherwise tbh. Experience trumps knowledge for me and in my experience being up front and straightforward with a Garda is a surefire way of going about your day as planned as opposed to cracking on with "no comment" or questioning the legal obligations to answer a question.

But hey, whatever floats your boat.

Ok, but you mentioned time wasting, hey if they approach you simply not answering questions saves time on both parties. You can knock yourself out telling them your life story!.

Here is an excellent youtube video by an American Solicitor on why you should NEVER speak to police on duty. Think his decades of law knowledge trumps yours or mine!. ;)

US Solicitor referring to US Police 🙄 If you think the possible interactions (especially any bad ones) you can have with a Garda are worth whinging about I recommend you go have even just 1 bad experience once with a US Law enforcement official, the thing about the relationship we have with the Garda is most don’t realise how good we have it with the majority good Garda out there doing their job as best as they can, the attitude of most Police forces in Europe and the US (as others have mentioned in the thread) would make you cry for the decent touch we get off (most) Garda.

The management level are problematic and that’s where a lot of the scandal stuff has emerged from, no more so than any other corporate level management does here (banks etc), but the rank and file, like any other cross section of a profession are, as shown by people’s contributions here, roughly 60% do a good job, 20% are fantastic, like hero level stuff and then there’s probably 20% who are just either unsuited and incapable or worse power trip types.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Right, but the law is based on what the Garda suspects, not what you were doing. So even if you did nothing wrong the Garda can still use this power if he suspects you may have.
    Noveight wrote: »
    I can never understand why a person would waste their own time and that of the Gardaith such nonsense.

So if you answer all the gardas questions and give them any information they happen to ask for what will happen to that data?

Will it be kept forever, will it be deleted if and when your no longer "suspected" of an offence.

Or maybe some corrupt garda might sell it on to a private company which might not be in your best intrest.

I would be of the opinion that you are best served by keeping your information to yourself unless obliged to do otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

I'll explain this again s l o w l y.

He can ask any lawful question if you are stopped on the street, legally you are only obliged to give your name and address. You cannot be arrested for only giving your name and address.

So when you are arrested the Garda doesn't say "You are not obliged to say anything unless you wish to do so, but whatever you say will be taken down in writing and may be given in evidence."

You can type as slowly as you like, it all comes up together. Do you now know how forums work? You're claim that I quoted was still completely incorrect no matter how much you want to move the goalposts. Even the caution which you just quoted there is subject to exceptions.
    RustyNut wrote: »
    So if you answer all the gardas questions and give them any information they happen to ask for what will happen to that data?

Will it be kept forever, will it be deleted if and when your no longer "suspected" of an offence.

Or maybe some corrupt garda might sell it on to a private company which might not be in your best intrest.

I would be of the opinion that you are best served by keeping your information to yourself unless obliged to do otherwise.

I suppose that depends on the information being requested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

wakka12 wrote: »
    Im very surprised too that they cared, and even more surprised they caught them. But its sad that somebody swinging a knife at you isn't considered a crime worth caring about !

Well I mean I was fine bar some bruising from being kicked. I managed to avoid getting stabbed and fought them off so they didn't get my bag. So I guess I wouldn't have considered it serious since I was grand and nothing was taken! I think the guy got three months or something. I was amazed they even caught him! Apparently he was known in the area and was released from prison literally the day before for something else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

Coming from the UK I can tell you the Garda here are great. They are not the Robocop type thing you get in the UK.

I was pulled at a checkpoint onetime because my tax was out by 5days but I had no nct. The garda was sound about it he gave me 30 days to produce because I was busy on the road ... and I imagine because he knew it would take that long to get an nct. I got one on day 29 ( first appt I could get) and produced and never heard any more.

In the UK it would have been a fine and points for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Peintre Celebre

Well keep your response to a polite but firm "No comment" and "Am I obliged to answer that question?". If they say yes "Can you explain under what law please?

Remember kids fish only get caught because they open their mouths!.

Only knew one personally who was mates with a old Housemate of mine. Mad whore with drink and drugs in him. Think Brendan Gleeson in the Guard type.

You sound like a retard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Davidth88 wrote: »
    Coming from the UK I can tell you the Garda here are great. They are not the Robocop type thing you get in the UK.

I was pulled at a checkpoint onetime because my tax was out by 5days but I had no nct. The garda was sound about it he gave me 30 days to produce because I was busy on the road ... and I imagine because he knew it would take that long to get an nct. I got one on day 29 ( first appt I could get) and produced and never heard any more.

Maybe that's why people in the UK are far more likely to keep their car taxed and mot'd, proper enforcement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,131 ✭✭✭malinheader

Davidth88 wrote: »

Same sort of thing happened to me. I was working away from home at the time but on returning home one weekend I was stopped. My NCT was booked but my new tax disc was in my father's house as he had taxed my car when I was away. Anyhow after explaining this and wanting no more hassle I returned to the station and produced New disc and proof NCT was booked around an hour or so of being stopped. All was said to me was that's grand so I thought that was it. A fortnight later 2 fixed penalties 120 euro for not displaying tax and NCT disc expired. Disc was expired 1 week. Really great alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,372 ✭✭✭✭branie2

I gave a Garda a thumbs up at a check point many years ago, and he returned the gesture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,129 ✭✭✭redcup342

Had very few dealings with the Gardai except for one time when I wanted them to witness my passport form as I was going on Holidays in a few weeks.

He said "I don't know you so I can't sign it"

After which I said, Yeah but it's just to witness who I am not that you know me.

Next thing I knew he was saying "You trying to be a smart bollix with me"

At which point I left the station and waiting until I was back at my Parents place down in cork and did it in the local cop shop there.

They said "Jaysus you came all the way to cork to do this, which didn't you do it in Dublin"

On a whole they are a good police force doing what they can with what they have, but you do meet the odd d1ck just like in all walks of life.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

redcup342 wrote: »
    Had very few dealings with the Gardai except for one time when I wanted them to witness my passport form as I was going on Holidays in a few weeks.

After which I said, Yeah but it's just to witness who I am not that you know me.

At which point I left the station and waiting until I was back at my Parents place down in cork and did it in the local cop shop there.

They said "Jaysus you came all the way to cork to do this, which didn't you do it in Dublin"

On a whole they are a good police force doing what they can with what they have, but you do meet the odd d1ck just like in all walks of life.

Was this yer man in Tallaght again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭cavemeister

Never had to deal with a single Garda in my 40 years on this planet (touch wood)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭kildare lad

I did get arrested once or twice, for stupid suff when i was younger and got a few digs, but i deserved them. Havent been in any trouble in years and the only contact ive had with garda were at checkpoints and ive always found them fine. Although i did get a young garda, who must have been fresh outta templemore questioning me at a checkpoint last year when i was coming back from fishing. Who are you, where do you live, What are you doing out here etc.. I had to say i was pretty pissed off after it. But ive found just be civil and they'd be civil back.

My house got robbed about 15 years ago. I rang the garda and two came up a little while later. I showed them where they broke in and the garda had a look around my house . i could see that they werent too bothered until they seen a picture my father had of his brother, who was a training officer in templemore getting an award from the commissioner in the house. The garda asked who the was in the picture and i told them it was my uncle. Well their attitude changed fairly quick. Out came the notepad and a call to get someone up to take fingerprints etc...They never did catch them tho.

They have a tough job dealing with scum and when the scum are brought to court, more often than not the judges arent tough enough. Its a job i wouldnt do. But on a whole the garda arent that bad. When you look at cops in the States , we should count ourselves lucky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

redcup342 wrote: »

This wasn't in the Tallaght station near the square shopping centre was it? Had a remarkably similar encounter to that one there over picking up a clearance cert that I'd arranged to collect with the woman putting it together (who in her defense, was sound as was everyone else I dealt with in the process). This one prick then left a bitter taste in the mouth over the whole affair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

Billy86 wrote: »
    This wasn't in the Tallaght station near the square shopping centre was it? Had a remarkably similar encounter to that one there over picking up a clearance cert that I'd arranged to collect with the woman putting it together (who in her defense, was sound as was everyone else I dealt with in the process). This one prick then left a bitter taste in the mouth over the whole affair.

The question is:
    If some of them behave like this, then why are they allowed to get away with it?

I presume (to answer my own question) that since they can get away with falsifying breath tests and similar activities without any repercussions then they have no fear of being rude, uncivil, and unprofessional to the general public.

Root and branch changes are required at all levels of the Garda organisation, which will not only benefit the country but the Gardai themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,244 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Neither suspect nor victim, but I did have to deal with them after I found a man who had just been assaulted. His assailant was still there, too drunk to understand what he had done or think about e.g. leaving the scene. No problems talking to the Gardai, the officer in charge was professional and I went in to give a statement later. When it came to trial I was asked to stand by in case I was needed to testify, but it was an open-and-shut case and the guy copped a plea.

Government resting upon the will and universal suffrage of the people has no anchorage except in the people's intelligence.

— Grover Cleveland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 450 ✭✭Piper101

They are different police organisations, we are not in the US and operate to a different legal system, societal rules.

I had a crash (minor) a time ago and two guards and a ban gardai turned up on the scene. Now I don't know if they're typical of the force at present and I'd be a cynical person at the best of times, but by jasus were they sound as fook!

a credit to their parents to be fair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

rusty cole wrote: »
    I had a crash (minor) a time ago and two guards and a ban gardai turned up on the scene. Now I don't know if they're typical of the force at present and I'd be a cynical person at the best of times, but by jasus were they sound as fook!

a credit to their parents to be fair.

Of course you meant three Gardaí.

I have never found them to be anything but courteous and helpful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,557 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Have spoken to the community Gardai here in Bray responsible for the estate I live in and they've been the model of politeness and helpfulness. A couple of our neighbours had reported attempted break ins and they came door to door asking if anyone had seen anything and giving security advice.

On the other hand, I've rung Bray Garda station on two occasions to report dangerous behaviour by people and vehicles in the area and have been met with the verbal equivalent of a shrug of the shoulders along the lines of "What do you want me to do about it?"

Of course you meant three Gardaí.

I have never found them to be anything but courteous and helpful.

#metoo :D

I'm unfamiliar with the nomenclature but I genuinely thought it's Garda masculine, Ban Gardaí feminine. anyway yea, they were all sound EQUALLY so :-)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

I wonder what the various Gardai think of their experiences with some of the pillocks posting here ?

Any approach meet with aggression, violence and abuse , threats and false accusations without basis.

Threats to family members and friends . Ill informed demands of fictional rights and quasi legal nonsense that they saw on some freeman website . Having a camera jammed in your face while trying to defuse a violent situation or just plain out being kicked punched bitten or spat on out numbered under resourced and restrained by law from effectively defending themselves.

That is what they signed up and trained for, they are well paid for it I hear those of particularly low IQ among them say.
    No it wasn't and the training received by front line police in this country is minimal in the extreme.

Solicitors train for about 6 years to enter our adversarial legal system inorder to operate in the basic district court against average front line Gardai .
    Gardai spend less that one year studying law while at the same time training physically, basic self defense crime investigation first aid social studies health and safety and other policing skills all while on a fraction of a solicitors pay packet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭Popeleo

In my unscientific measurement of my dealings with them, 90% good or very good, 9% so-so, 1% are-souls.

The problem is that 1% stick in the mind a lot more than the rest. Like the one and only time I got breath-tested, while riding a motorbike. I was at a midweek gig in the RDS with friends and we arranged to meet after in a pub a mile from my house for a quick pint and a chat. I usually don't drink anything when I ride but one pint so close was OK.

A few seconds after riding off afterwards to go home, I got pulled over. They must have seen the bike parked outside the pub and were waiting - three or four cops, which seemed unusual. I told them I was under the limit and when I passed the test, they were all OK except one, who got visibly enraged and started on an anti-biker rant for a couple of minutes, including lying that new laws were coming in that would make having one pint illegal, so I should get used to it now (wtf?). As I'm in a car 90% of the time, I just let it go.

Despite all the good experiences dealing with gardai through my work and having some nice ones let me off with a warning for minor traffic stuff, the image of that jumped-up idiot stays with me. And his anti-biker bias meant that he didn't breathalyse one my car-driving friends - he had two pints and was probably over the limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Heckler

Called them a couple of times after attempted car robberies. Just to have a garda record for insurance purposes. Had a good chat about music with one of them after he saw the tapes in the car (yeah I'm old). Sound out.

Checkpoints and breathalysed a few times. Always very courteous and professional. Same with form stamping and so on.

When I applied for my first firearms licence the guy interviewing me was a hardass but maybe thats par for the course when it comes to granting a gun permit. Any subsequent applications for firearms and renewal etc they've all been sound. So overall all yeah no problems with them at all.

I did go to school with a guy who I later found out became a guard. By god if noone was ever suited it was him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,303 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

NIMAN wrote: »
    Very limited contact, but excellent.

Then again, I grew up with the RUC.

Around our area we just threw rocks at them cnuts

• Site Banned Posts: 19 jim_bull

mynamejeff wrote: »
    I wonder what the various Gardai think of their experiences with some of the pillocks posting here ?

Any approach meet with aggression, violence and abuse , threats and false accusations without basis.

Threats to family members and friends . Ill informed demands of fictional rights and quasi legal nonsense that they saw on some freeman website . Having a camera jammed in your face while trying to defuse a violent situation or just plain out being kicked punched bitten or spat on out numbered under resourced and restrained by law from effectively defending themselves.

That is what they signed up and trained for, they are well paid for it I hear those of particularly low IQ among them say.
    No it wasn't and the training received by front line police in this country is minimal in the extreme.

Solicitors train for about 6 years to enter our adversarial legal system inorder to operate in the basic district court against average front line Gardai .
    Gardai spend less that one year studying law while at the same time training physically, basic self defense crime investigation first aid social studies health and safety and other policing skills all while on a fraction of a solicitors pay packet.

most guards earn more per annum than most solicitors , your average solicitor in a small town isnt on close to what your average guard brings home , i say that as someone who had two uncles in the guards until they retired a few years ago , my sister is a solicitor in a ( small ) firm in dublin , she earns 40 k per year and is there since 2006 , average guard is on 60 k

the top criminal law firms or the michael mc dowells of this world can give a skewed version of the profession

they also put in far more hours per week than a guard