Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Breaking: At least 1 man dead after stabbing rampage in Dundalk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

Attacker turns out to be Muslim = What you say now all you liberal, lefty loons? You have blood on your hands.

Attacker turns out not to be Muslim = In your face racists. Where are you all now?

Only one side are “jizzing” from their “boners” though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 54,733 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Go to USA or Australia or Russia or China etc. without the correct paperwork and prepare to be amazed.
    We are not talking about USA, Australia or Russia though. We are talking about Europe and Ireland in particular. We don't go by the rules of those places either, we go by Irish and European rules.
    That's the way things are and until they're changed we're stuck with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

We are not talking about USA, Australia or Russia though. We are talking about Europe and Ireland in particular. We don't go by the rules of those places either, we go by Irish and European rules.

You think there is no law to arrest illegal immigrants in Ireland??

http://www.thejournal.ie/brazilian-woman-imprisoned-threatened-deportation-3506216-Jul2017/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 54,733 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

You think there is no law to arrest illegal immigrants in Ireland??

http://www.thejournal.ie/brazilian-woman-imprisoned-threatened-deportation-3506216-Jul2017/

Yeah and I remember all the uproar from posters about that?
    Were you one of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭kravmaga

Yeah and I remember all the uproar from posters about that?
    Were you one of them?

What has that got to do with anything??

You stated

I've shown that we can do that and now you are waffling on about Boards posters being outraged. Whats has Boards posters whinging got to do with Irish law???

What has that got to do with anything??

You stated

[HTML]We are not talking about USA, Australia or Russia though. We are talking about Europe and Ireland in particular. We don't go by the rules of those places either, we go by Irish and European rules.
    That's the way things are and until they're changed we're stuck with them.[/HTML]I've shown that we can do that and now you are waffling on about Boards posters being outraged. Whats has Boards posters whinging got to do with Irish law???
    It would mean that you become outraged no matter which argument arises.
    You cannot argue both sides of it.
    The authorities were right on one of them but you said they were wrong on both sides surely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

So far, this is what they are saying: “At this time, we can find no established link to indicate that this tragedy is terrorist related”

From reading the breaking news piece earlier this morning It comes across that it is not terror related but more so that the person in question is a complete whackball who just so happens to be Egyptian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

I haven't caught up with the thread, but I don't think there's a big media conspiracy. However, the Irish authorities often seem to err on the side of caution, and frankly at times manipulate/mollycuddle the public. I'm thinking of reporting on suicide for example where AGS will state in a press release that a person died in "tragic circumstances".

I think it likely that authorities and the relevant investigative departments would be over-cautious in their press releases in an effort to avoid alarmist headlines.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Doltanian

The suspect screamed Allaha Akubar according to the Irish Daily Mail, pity the Armed Response Unit didn't shoot him, it would have spared the taxpayer millions and he could have his 74 virgins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

, and frankly at times manipulate/mollycuddle the public. I'm thinking of reporting on suicide for example where AGS will state in a press release that a person died in "tragic circumstances"..

That's not mollycoddling nor manipulation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,394 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I can't understand why the guards came across this guy a few days ago and just told him to head to Dublin and claim asylum, surely they should have detained a person who is in the country illegally and found out how exactly how he got in.

Doltanian wrote: »
    The suspect screamed Allaha Akubar

Proves he's not a terrorist of the Islamic persuasion so.

It would mean that you become outraged no matter which argument arises.
    You cannot argue both sides of it.
    The authorities were right on one of them but you said they were wrong on both sides surely.

What are you going on about??

You said "It amazes me that people believe that the garda can and should just lift a man off the street and because he has no papers then put him on a flight back to Syria or Egypt."

I've shown you in the link above that they can. They arrested the Brazilian lady, detained her, and flew her home. You are now waffling on about boards posters giving out. Talk about moving the goalposts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

The first Muslim terror incident in ireland and not a peep about it???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭Palmy

Dublin must be a Sanctuary City I guess. Trump doesn’t look so crazy now does he?

The first Muslim terror incident in ireland and not a peep about it???

Just woke up? At last read back 5 pages or so

Palmy wrote: »
    Dublin must be a Sanctuary City I guess. Trump doesn’t look so crazy now does he?

Yes, yes he does

https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump/status/948355557022420992

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

ThisRegard wrote: »

that's just trolling, I bet lil Rocket Man doesn't sleep so well these days :D

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,008 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

I haven't caught up with the thread, but I don't think there's a big media conspiracy. However, the Irish authorities often seem to err on the side of caution, and frankly at times manipulate/mollycuddle the public. I'm thinking of reporting on suicide for example where AGS will state in a press release that a person died in "tragic circumstances".

There are specific guidelines for reporting on suicide that virtually all Irish media and AGS abide by. That's why you almost never see the word "suicide" used in such reports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Walter Bishop

The suspect screamed Allaha Akubar according to the Irish Daily Mail...

Well that'll certainly be true then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,989 ✭✭✭✭recedite

So far, this is what they are saying: “At this time, we can find no established link to indicate that this tragedy is terrorist related”
    Lets face it, this is not going to measure up to your definition of terrorism unless the guy formally announces he is a paid up member IS or Al Quaeda and is an agent fully under their command.

And there is probably a free legal aid lawyer in with him right now, telling him under no circumstances should he say anything like that. "A temporary insanity came over you". The guy himself is probably surprised to be still alive. Has probably only just discovered that the standard Irish Garda is unarmed.

Nevertheless, most of the terror attacks we have seen in Europe over the last 2 or 3 years have been perpetrated by "lone wolf" individuals from islamic countries, many of them failed asylum seekers wandering around the EU committing petty crime. Changing their name regularly and applying for temporary benefits in different countries, until eventually they get fed up with infidel society and decide to go out with a bang. Classic case in point; the Berlin lorry attack

Normally (if the attack is newsworthy) IS would get to hear about it, and then claim the credit retrospectively. Not going to happen now though, because they have recently had their asses handed to them at former HQ in Raqqa.

So you can happily declare that this is just a sad case of temporary insanity in a gentleman who happened to have been born abroad.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    That's not mollycoddling nor manipulation.

It is imo.

I still read the French news in my spare time, and the contrast between reporting on road accidents, suicides, and crime is obvious.

It shows an intent by AGS or whatever departments are involved in press releases to control how the public reacts to events.
    It could be to protect families of the victims at times, or to avoid copycat acts, or to prevent panic responses, I don't know exactly the intent, but imo, when you are trying to avoid or prevent some reactions, you are in effect mollycoddling or manipulating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,392 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

recedite wrote: »
    Lets face it, this is not going to measure up to your definition of terrorism unless the guy formally announces he is a paid up member IS or Al Quaeda and is an agent fully under their command.

And there is probably a free legal aid lawyer in with him right now, telling him under no circumstances should he say anything like that. "A temporary insanity came over you". The guy himself is probably surprised to be still alive. Has probably only just discovered that the standard Irish Garda is unarmed.

Nevertheless, most of the terror attacks we have seen in Europe over the last 2 or 3 years have been perpetrated by "lone wolf" individuals from islamic countries, many of them failed asylum seekers wandering around the EU committing petty crime. Changing their name regularly and applying for temporary benefits in different countries, until eventually they get fed up with infidel society and decide to go out with a bang. Classic case in point; the Berlin lorry attack

Normally (if the attack is newsworthy) IS would get to hear about it, and then claim the credit retrospectively. Not going to happen now though, because they have recently had their asses handed to them at former HQ in Raqqa.

So you can happily declare that this is just a sad case of temporary insanity in a gentleman who happened to have been born abroad.

What's my definition of terrorism?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Isis will only claim it if the perpetrator dies.

Dial Hard wrote: »
    There are specific guidelines for reporting on suicide that virtually all Irish media and AGS abide by. That's why you almost never see the word "suicide" used in such reports.

And that's manipulating public reaction.
    Same goes with car accidents it seems, and for these kind of attacks where terror is a possibility, I would guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,898 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Most of the attacks have been committed by citizens who were born in those countries. It's only a few that weren't. I'm not sure if the "lone wolf" is responsible for a majority but it's not a tiny amount.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Britain the island/landmass excluding NI has a population of Over 60m, are you implying it's less?

United Kingdom is 66,379,645 as of Tuesday, January 2, 2018, based on the latest United Nations estimates. NI has population of just over 1.81 million.

Do the math (take the smaller number from the gross number).

Ffs.

66 odd million.

Minus 1.81 million

Equals 64 million. Hence why I posted 60 odd million.

I had neither the time nor the inclination (considering the drivel I was replying to) to get out my abacus.

Apt username though. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,539 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

kravmaga wrote: »
    Who is Mark Humphrys?

you are best off not knowing IMO.
    The suspect screamed Allaha Akubar according to the Irish Daily Mail, pity the Armed Response Unit didn't shoot him, it would have spared the taxpayer millions and he could have his 74 virgins.

it is not the job of the armed response unit to shoot people to save the tax payer money. the armed response unit's job is to shoot when there is a genuine threat requiring such force. the tax payer does not need any money saved when it comes to due process, which must be followed regardless of cost.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

kravmaga wrote: »
    Who is Mark Humphrys?

A part time boards poster wit ha really big hangup about Ibrahim Halawa is about what I know of him, think he works in or used to work in UCD, not sure if a lecturer or different role.