Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Breaking: At least 1 man dead after stabbing rampage in Dundalk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

It amazes me that people believe that the garda can and should just lift a man off the street and because he has no papers then put him on a flight back to Syria or Egypt.
    Jasus there would be some BS on a thread here if that happened and he was denied his rights. Probably by the same posters too.

Go to USA or Australia or Russia or China etc. without the correct paperwork and prepare to be amazed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,898 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Locals yesterday claimed that a squat was raided not too far from where the murder happened and items were removed....no mention of that.

If only someone had mentioned that in the mainstream media
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/egyptian-murder-suspect-squatted-in-disused-dundalk-house-1.3344863

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Of course illegal immigrants should be detained and deported if they've no legal right to stay. Otherwise the entire continent of Africa and the entire middle east would simply relocate here.

You may think that “here” is where they want to be, but it’s not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,903 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

It doesnt say they have found evidence ruling out a terrorist link, just that they have no evidence to confirm it. This isnt really a surprise.

Nobody in the thread suggested this guy was on the board of directors of ISIS.

at the same time ISIS usually are quick enough to claim responsibility for attacks

The people who carry them out (if they survive) usually have no issue telling authorities why they did it

presumably at this stage the suspect is not claiming he di it for such reasons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,227 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Chrongen wrote: »
    Well if you think about it in the US there are 3 suicides daily perpetrated by veterans. That in and of itself is violence. Then there are the daily attacks by veterans on random members of the public or members of their families resulting in severe injury (permanent or otherwise) and/or death. Most of these episodes go unreported on a national level because there are just so many of them that it would take a 24 hour news channel to constantly loop through them as new ones emerge. I suppose I'm trying to draw a comparison in that PTSD most likely affects veterans in a similar way to civilians coming from war zones. Most of the children in refugee camps are withdrawn, nervous, clinically depressed, prone to bedwetting and nightmares etc. So it doesn't really beggar belief that a huge percentage of people coming from these places, seeing and experiencing what they have, have mental scars.

Ehh sunshine we are in Europe not the US of A, with it's litany of fooked up people, some of which are ex servicemen.

BTW this now supposed "mentally ill" individual is from Egypt, not a warzone, not a refugee camp last time I checked.
    The "mentally ill" individual that carried out the Berlin massacre was Tunisian, not a warzone or somewhere you have thousands of refugees.
    He also decided to try burn his fellow "refugees" whilst in Italy.
    Really charming individual that would contribute lots to European society if he was given a chance to stay. :rolleyes:

The "mentally ill" individual that carried out the Stockholm attack was from Uzbekistan, also not a warzone.

The 2017 Istanbul nightclub attack was also carried out by an Uzbek.

Granted all these places are sh**holes or have been sh**holes due to the way they are run, often by autocratic regimes.

Then again what ideology is the predominate one in all of them and even when they do get to vote, they vote for parties that are autocratic ?
    Go figure.

Nice try though at explaining why they reward places that treat them with some humanity with utter contempt and slaughter.
    Chrongen wrote: »

Funny how many countries have had their citizens flee war, famine and economic hardship in the past (Poland, Hungary AND Ireland) but when other people are fleeing war, famine and deprivation to their countries there's always a fucking complaint and it's usually the lie that they are spongers who don't integrate.....whatever integrate is supposed to mean.

You take a look at the Irish in New York and Boston. How many of these troglodytes spend their lives in the Irish pub or Irish club, spuds and cabbage for dinner, vacation is a boozefest in the Catskills. It's only by pure demographic happenstance that they have any interaction with the natives because their birth tongue is English so they have some interface. If their mother tongue was Irish these knuckledraggers would be as isolated as any other ethnic group.

A lot of the Irish that left from West of Ireland around and just after The Great Famine spoke Irish as their mother tongue.
    They worked hard and even though they were originally marginalised, ghettoised and treated as second class citizens they often fought and died for their new country, they worked their way up and their children and children's children rose to prominent positions within their new countries.

Also it say a lot more about you then them that you term the Irish that emigrated as knuckledraggers.

I notice some of the usual suspects are crowing and playing this as some form of triumph that the Gardaí don't think it is a terrorist attack.

Talk about missing the whole point.
    This happened because an illegal alien from a certain part of the world was in our country unlawfully.

No matter how the fook people try to spin this, it is yet another attack by a migrant/asylum seeker/refugee from certain parts of the world.

Should we only get worried about what type of people are wandering around our country and this continent when they slaughter people with a truck or let off a bomb of some sort.
    How many victims does it take for it to be a fooking concern in some people's eyes ?

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I'm glad they survived, are they conscious and lucid? If so and have already been interviewed and there was nothing that they remembered him saying along those lines, that is good in a way, but does not in itself rule it out. The report said the gardai haven't found a link, but apparently they're still investigating at an international level. So to say something has been ruled out seems premature.

I haven't read the thread just skimmed it and can do without the revolting masturbation jokes so I may have missed details of the victims.

My post was a simple reply to the poster bizzarely claiming there were no witnesses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭testaccount123

ThisRegard wrote: »
    A guy attacked and murdered someone.

A young male illegal immigrant who the Garda seem to initially think was Syrian, then Egyptian, attacked FOUR random people, killing one.

Besides the story WAS fairly widely reported so the other posters point is bunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Several points arise regardless of whether it was an ISIS type attack:

1. What was he doing in Ireland?
    2. How did he get in here?
    3. Why was he not held by Gardai when he had no documentation?
    4. If it had been a serious terrorist incident the response time by Gardai was inadequate.

There's probably more that I haven't thought of, but given that I'm 'racist scum' that one of the ostrich posters referred to I'm sure I'll be back. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Skedaddle

I really don't understand how anyone could think that the entire Irish media or entire media in any country would conspire to suppress facts. In any country with a free press, journalists are journalists and they will break stories in print, on the radio, online, and all over social media.

It's not like the entire Irish media meets up on a Monday morning and decides what to suppress that week!
    If you've ever seen news media from the inside out, it's mostly seat-of-pants type high speed production of stories and try to avoid libelling people while you're doing it.

We don't live under some kind of authoritarian regime, quite the opposite actually and we also don't have over polite journalists who will all fall into line either.

Mark Humphreys, he's no dog in this race for it to be anything but such an attack.

He even backtracked himself on that tweet.

Daily Mail though, hardly a credible source.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Irishmale0399

I never claimed anything of the sort.

A guy attacked and murdered someone. You expect it to be reported Europe wide because the person involved was Egyptian? The rest of your post is off the wall stuff.

The first statement was that he was Syrian...then he was Egyptian...Refused asylum in the UK....arrived in Ireland and killed an innocent man on the street.
    Went on to injure another with a knife and then to beat another....all in 3 different parts of a town.

Just your regular Joe Soap having a bad day??? No news in it.

Christ the closure of 2 shopping centers at different times in Germany for fear of attacks last year made world news...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

That guy was no more 'Isis' than this guy is Opus Dei.
    8a31d3c641d53b4c150de545d33736f5.jpg

The first statement was that he was Syrian...then he was Egyptian...Refused asylum in the UK....arrived in Ireland and killed an innocent man on the street.
    Went on to injure another with a knife and then to beat another....all in 3 different parts of a town.

Just your regular Joe Soap having a bad day??? No news in it.

Christ the closure of 2 shopping centers at different times in Germany for fear of attacks last year made world news...

As much as you'd like it to be, it's simply of no interest to the majority of people outside of Ireland. It's that simple, no conspiracy, no dictate from Merkel or other such madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,227 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Skedaddle wrote: »
    I really don't understand how anyone could think that the entire Irish media or entire media in any country would conspire to suppress facts. In any country with a free press, journalists are journalists and they will break stories in print, on the radio, online, and all over social media.

It's not like the entire Irish media meets up on a Monday morning and decides what to suppress that week!
    If you've ever seen news media from the inside out, it's mostly seat-of-pants type high speed production of stories and try to avoid libelling people while you're doing it.

We don't live under some kind of authoritarian regime, quite the opposite actually and we also don't have over polite journalists who will all fall into line either.

Ok then why has the Irish times a big picture and story lauding the Weathermen on Valenia island taking prominence on their front page the morning after a foreign national is slaughtered on the streets of one of our biggest towns and two other men are also hospitalised in a totally unprovoked attack at 9am ?

The indo couldn't be bothered putting up a picture either AFAIK.

Then check all the UK owned papers and the Examiner.

AFAIK Newtalk show by Ivan Yates yerterday evening didn't deem it worthy for discussion, at least not as one of it's leading stories.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

How can RTE say terrorism is ruled out when the Gardi are still making inquires at international levels?
    I don't think this is going to turn out to be terrorism, but I think they're jumping the shark a bit.

Same way that the Flinders Street guy who ploughed his car into a crowd was reported in the media as being a junkie with mental health issues, even though "Police say the man who crashed his car into Melbourne pedestrians yesterday has blamed "the mistreatment of Muslims" for "some of his activities", but they still do not know what motivated him to drive through a busy crossing.

He's literally told them why he done it, but they still don't know why he did it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,504 ✭✭✭✭Alun

As much as you'd like it to be, it's simply of no interest to the majority of people outside of Ireland.

Thats simply not true. Another EU country with a potential terror attack is big news.

As much as you'd like it to be, it's simply of no interest to the majority of people outside of Ireland. It's that simple, no conspiracy, no dictate from Merkel or other such madness.

It was actually covered in brief in Britain including by the BBC, and it was in media outlets around Europe and some in the US too.

Obviously it was covered in Japanese media outlets in much the same way as you'd expect if an Irish citizen had been killed in a similarly weird and unexpected incident in a small town in a country you wouldn't expect that to happen in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,860 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Alun wrote: »

Couple of lines, incomplete\ill informed. ("unclear if all 3 attacks were done by the same guy".... was that ever in doubt?) by the state broadcaster on their website.

2 newspaper links when i google "Dundalk steekpartij Japanner"

I can tell you, it is not widely reported in The Netherlands

It was actually covered in brief in Britain including by the BBC, and it was in media outlets around Europe and some in the US too.

Obviously it was covered in Japanese media outlets in much the same way as you'd expect if an Irish citizen had been killed in a similarly weird and unexpected incident in a small town in a country you wouldn't expect that to happen in.

I know, but it's still not of a huge interest to most people in those countries I would happily bet.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I think it's fair to say a large part of the evolution of the human race was because of a willingness to focus more on the hope than the reality.
    You require both to make the hope a reality. The problem is in this debate the pro multiculturalism folks seem to avoid the realities as much as possible.
    Is that because of those that come or because of the welcome they receive?

I'm not suggesting the native culture should change to accommodate the arriving one but telling them continually how little you trust them and making it difficult for them to assimilate is a big part of that problem.
    For me it doesn't matter so much the why it doesn't work, but that it doesn't. Yes the lack of welcome is a major factor, the culture clash, basic human tribalism, ghettoisation, economics are all factors. The failure is the bastard child with many fathers and because of that even if you could wave a magic wand and get rid of one or two of these factors the problem would be there.

In the end I see it like this; monocultures, or cultures that are very close in makeup are quite simply more socially stable than multicultures. We have our own internal issues and it beggars belief for me why so many are so willing to import more issues to no real benefit.

Someone earlier noted that people in the North of this island were able to work the two cultures thing out in the end(still debatable) against a background of over 3000 people dead. It cost the lives of 3000 people to do it, never mind the ongoing economic costs. If you could go back in time to the Plantations and stop them, no doubt other crap would have gone down, but not an centuries old civil war.

We are in the rare enough position within Europe in that we have the opportunity to observe other European nations over many decades with their experiences of multiculturalism and where it has led them and we have the opportunity to not go down the same road as them. To follow them into this morass of a failed experiment seems to me beyond idiotic.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Same way that the Flinders Street guy who ploughed his car into a crowd was reported in the media as being a junkie with mental health issues, even though "Police say the man who crashed his car into Melbourne pedestrians yesterday has blamed "the mistreatment of Muslims" for "some of his activities", but they still do not know what motivated him to drive through a busy crossing.

He's literally told them why he done it, but they still don't know why he did it.

The MSM soon will never be mentioning it again, even if another 9/11 happens they will claim it was just 19 mentally ill men that couldn't get treatment because of the disgraceful US health service while attending flying lessons (but don't bother showing us how to land there lads) ... bla bla bla

Unfortunately (for them) the public know and don't swallow the lies and bull**** of the MSM.

The MSM will be extinct soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

An innocent man who came to this country has died and that's the best you can do.

It was fine quipping that those concerned about the nature of the attack were jizzing their pants in anticipation? Can't have it both ways.

I know, but it's still not of a huge interest to most people in those countries I would happily bet.

Well, it's as much interest to those people as a similar incident might be in some small French town to Irish people. It's hard to generalise about how interested people might be.

Things become less relevant the further away they are physically and culturally to your own backdoor. However, in general Western European countries tend to see things in neighbouring countries as close enough to home-news, even if it is in some obscure town that not many people have heard of.

And in the US you've got a large number of people who will consider Ireland familiar enough even if they know nothing about it and tend to confuse Ireland and Scotland. So, again it'll find an audience.

Also once any story is reported in the major newswires, it will just syndicate and pop up all over the place, even if it's not very relevant to the local audience.

The MSM soon will never be mentioning it again, even if another 9/11 happens they will claim it was just 19 mentally ill men that couldn't get treatment because of the disgraceful US health service while attending flying lessons (but don't bother showing us how to land there lads) ... bla bla bla

Unfortunately (for them) the public know and don't swallow the lies and bull**** of the MSM.

Then we can be free from all facts?

A world that works exclusively on opinion, hysteria, gossip, whispers and half truths. That'd definitely work well!

This trumpesque media conspiracy rubbish is beyond tiresome.

Well, it's as much interest to those people as a similar incident might be in some small French town to Irish people. It's hard to generalise about how interested people might be.

Things become less relevant the further away they are physically and culturally to your own backdoor. However, in general Western European countries tend to see things in neighbouring countries as close enough to home-news, even if it is in some obscure town that not many people have heard of.

And in the US you've got a large number of people who will consider Ireland familiar enough even if they know nothing about it and tend to confuse Ireland and Scotland. So, again it'll find an audience.

Also once any story is reported in the major newswires, it will just syndicate and pop up all over the place, even if it's not very relevant to the local audience.

And as Alun has posted more than once, it is being reported outside of Ireland. But yet people persist with their dumb conspiracy theories.