Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Breaking: At least 1 man dead after stabbing rampage in Dundalk

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

Omackeral wrote: »
    Is it yeah? Ever been? I'd suggest heading to Krakow, Poznan or Sopot. Far from sh*tholes. Disrespectful and ignorant tripe out of you as usual.

Been there plenty of times, thanks so much for the tourist tips though.

pilly wrote: »
    Been there plenty of times, thanks so much for the tourist tips though.

Why would go somewhere you think is a sh*thole?!!

Here's a tourist tip. Don't go to places "plenty of times" that you don't like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭soups05

It is. People are bang too. The reason a lot came over here is because it made sense financially. I know a chap who was in their equivalent of the ERU/SWAT police over there. Making sweet f*ck all compared to doing a menial warehouse job over here, that's according to himself. Friendly guy, good at his job and never late or absent. Why wouldn't you want someone like that here?!

Why? you need to ask Why? Are you insane?

all the hot polish guys are driving my wife insane, am knackered trying to please her. send em all back, i need a good nights sleep.

There's this little thing called work that some people have to travel for. Imagine that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭testaccount123

Lads you are supposed to be anti-immigration racists, can you stick to the script its confusing the trots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Get Real

This guy had been declined asylum in the UK. Legally, under EU law he should not have been here and we would have been well within our rights to deport him back to UK. But Paddy didn't want the paperwork, so he was sent on his way to murder an innocent man.

He was refused asylum in the UK. Whether people think it's right or proper or not, he still had the freedom to travel anywhere within the UK. He travelled over to the North. As pointed out, he was free to do this. There's no passport checks between mainland UK and the North, they're all in one union. It'd be the equivalent of having passport checks to travel from Dublin to cork.

There were passport checks up to the 50s in Belfast harbour. Unionists were in uproar over this as there were no other checks within the Uk. They felt that it was a threat to the british union and made them feel like an outside country. The Aliens Order of 1953 was passed. No more passport checks in Belfast. The UK was for everyone to travel in.

Paddy didn't want to do the paperwork you say. It seems he immediately legged it after being denied asylum in the UK. He then crossed the border (as has been happening for the past 70 years through the Common Travel Area) and authorities here managed to come across him within a day. Considering the tens of thousands who cross that border unchecked, and the numerous directions he could have gone, that's pretty good locating.
    We've no facts yet, just speculation, but the Garda have indicated that the Egyptian was denied leave to stay in the UK immediately before arriving here.

The Dublin Agreement provides for the scenario where an asylum seeker fails to gain asylum in a first EU country and expressly prohibits going to another to re-apply.

It appears for whatever reason neither the UK or Irish authorities are enforcing this. The agreement seems to have been abandoned for political reasons.

I agree with the above post somewhat. If I read it correctly. (Sorry if I've misinterpreted ��) yes the Dublin agreement provides for that and you could be right in terms of political reasons.

I'm not so sure it's a lack of enforcement completely. More a difficulty in being able to enforce it due to past history. Since the Free State, in one form or another, there has been unrestricted travel between Ireland and the UK. This is for the benefit of all those on the islands.

Now, you're going to have hiccups such as this one. It doesn't mean not enforcing it it just means it was possible for him to come here. To make it humanly impossible for him to have gotten here, it would politically mean the UK policing their own internal borders (which of course they wouldn't want) and us having a hard border with them, regardless of Brexit.

Going back to the first poster I quoted. The attack is to be condemned. But I fail to see a solution to the matter with regards how it was "paddys fault". The system has been in place for decades. He was in the country (from what we know) practically a day and picked up on.

He was a human with a brain. He obviously copped "I can just travel to the North unchecked" are you saying we tell the UK to start policing their internal borders? Or maybe you have issue with the fact he walked over the border? Something you or I or any tourist, business shipment, employee can do and have been doing for the past number of decades. Do we just cut that off immediately and endure negative results tourist wise, business wise and money wise, not to mention a hardening among certain republican groups seeing British posts again?

All well and good seeing black and white. And you blame paddy as you say. In the real world (and I would probably agree with you with regards how these are processed after being denied asylum) people are notified they have been denied, they are not picked up and thrown on a plane. They are allowed appeal, can easily travel about, and are entitled to their rights. Numerous systems have to be changed if we conclude so easily "well there he is, cuff him"

There's this little thing called work that some people have to travel for. Imagine that?

I'm imagining you as a holiday rep. Such craic. "Yeah don't go there, sh*thole mate". "Poznan? Sh*thole". "Gdansk? Let me spell it out for you... S.H....."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,989 ✭✭✭✭recedite

baylah17 wrote: »
    Actually at least 4 Irish people were found Not Guilty of murder by reason of insanity in the Central criminal Court last year.
    If your life is a bit $hitty and you believe that by killing a few infidels you can gain entry to paradise as a martyr, does that count as "insanity"? Or is it just Islam.

BTW there will be no need for the guy to plead insanity, the "fact" that he is 17 will mean being treated as a minor by the law. Ever noticed that none of these guys are ever 18 years old? They always seem to be 17 unless they are very obviously over 35.

Japanese don't get killed on home soil by third world migrants. For a reason. They don't have bogus asylum seekers wandering around.

Poland - another country with no third world migrants - have lost close to 10 Poles' lives to third world migration on western-EU soil in the course of two years. But none on Polish soil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Get Real wrote: »
    He was refused asylum in the UK. I'm not saying it's right or proper, but he had the freedom to travel anywhere within the UK. He travelled over to the North. As pointed out, he was free to do this. There's no passport checks between mainland UK and the North, they're all in one union. It'd be the equivalent of having passport checks to travel from Dublin to cork.

There were passport checks up to the 50s in Belfast harbour. Unionists were in uproar over this as there were no other checks within the Uk. They felt that it was a threat to the british union and made them feel like an outside country. The Aliens Order of 1953 was passed. No more passport checks in Belfast. The UK was for everyone to travel in.

Paddy didn't want to do the paperwork you say. It seems he immediately legged it after being denied asylum in the UK. He then crossed the border (as has been happening for the past 70 years through the Common Travel Area) and authorities here managed to come across him within a day. Considering the tens of thousands who cross that border unchecked, and the numerous directions he could have gone, that's pretty good locating.

Yeah, worked out great for Yosuke Sasaki. I'm sure his family will be delighted the Gardai did some pretty good locating and nothing else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭testaccount123

You were whinging about hateful posts earlier in the thread, now you are posting xeonphobic rants about entire countries being ****holes. A touch hypocritical dont you think?

Do you hate Poland cos it has loads of right-wingers in it? How come people like you dont apply the same standards of judgement to Islamic nations which are basically 100% right-wing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,337 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Maybe it's not just the muslims who are intolerant.

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2017/may/23/fifty-years-gay-liberation-uk-barely-four-1967-act

Also, how tolerant was the catholic church and Irish society in general of homosexuals not so long ago?

We are much better than a lot of places but people in glass houses....

Are sure lets make good oul' rape legal. Sure didn't the vikings think it was ok? I mean we can hardly criticize someone in the present if someone in the past had a different standard of morals can we?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,879 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

recedite wrote: »
    If your life is a bit $hitty and you believe that by killing a few infidels you can gain entry to paradise as a martyr, does that count as "insanity"? Or is it just Islam.

BTW there will be no need for the guy to plead insanity, the "fact" that he is 17 will mean being treated as a minor by the law. Ever noticed that none of these guys are ever 18 years old? They always seem to be 17 unless they are very obviously over 35.

Japanese don't get killed on home soil by third world migrants. For a reason. They don't have bogus asylum seekers wandering around.

Poland - another country with no third world migrants - have lost close to 10 Poles' lives to third world migration on western-EU soil in the course of two years. But none on Polish soil.

Every source I've read says he's 18.

The centre of the cities are quite nice. The rest of the place is horrible. Just because the central square in Krakow is lovely doesn't mean that the rest of the place is nice.
    It's not an either/or situation. I've been all around South America and South east Asia. I've also been to the middle east. Lots of places are great to visit but it doesn't mean you'd want to be a local.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Icepick wrote: »
    Everybody responsible for this should be fired. If not arresting people in breach of law is department policy, the minister should resign. If the garda acted contrary to normal policy, they should be fired and face charges.
    Advising criminals to go and waste more public resources must be stopped too.

Fired for what?!? An asylum seeker has so many hours from arrival to present themselves to be processed for asylum.
    What are you raving about?

You were whinging about hateful posts earlier in the thread, now you are posting xeonphobic rants about entire countries being ****holes. A touch hypocritical dont you think?

Do you hate Poland cos it has loads of right-wingers in it? How come people like you dont apply the same standards of judgement to Islamic nations which are basically 100% right-wing?

Do you know what xenophobic means? Or is is just a word you heard?

BTW, not liking a place doesn't mean you hate it. I like visiting places like that but I wouldn't want to live there. Thailand and Vietnam for example are beautiful countries that are great holiday destinations. The average wage there, the average living standards though are far below here. Neither is a functioning democracy. People are imprisoned for dissent.

However the thai and vietnamese people are lovely and they are lovely countries to visit as a tourist.

They're both ****holes though.

Now, am I a xenophobe? Do I hate the thai and vietnamese people?

Or are you just trying to sound outraged on the internet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Whatever about the rest of your post, I've no issue with anyone coming to our shores to work for a living. Beats a lot of our lazy homegrown idle spongers anyway.

Here, I've no problems with Eastern Europeans at all and they are a hard-working productive bunch in general. My only bugbear is right-wing Polish and Hungarian governments chest-beating about migrants to those countries while also losing their absolute sh*t about the likes of UKIP slamming mass migration to the UK from the accession countries.

Much of the absolute rubbish being spouted by Orban about migrants in Hungary is word for word what Farage is saying about Eastern Europeans here. Namely that they don't integrate, steal all the jobs, send too much money home and have no allegiance to the country. People also slate Eastern Europeans for living ten to a house and hanging around in groups drinking cans in the park and intimidating people.

Whatever about debates on migration, I'll be shagged if I'm going to accept finger-wagging lectures about migration from the governments of Poland and Hungary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chrongen

jmayo wrote: »
    Funny how many lethal mentally ill attacks are carried out by migrants/asylum seekers from North Africa, Middle East and parts of Asia.

I wonder what is the common thread that links all these supposed mentally ill people ?
    Is it source state, is it culture, is it upbringing, is it religious ideology ?

How come we don't get mentally ill people from other parts of the world and other religious backgrounds resorting to unprovoked lethal attacks ?

We have huge issues with lack of funding for dealing with mental illness in this country and yet some think it is a good idea to import a group of people that are proving to contain it seems a high amount of sufferers of even more destructive forms of mental illness.

It beggars belief.

Well if you think about it in the US there are 3 suicides daily perpetrated by veterans. That in and of itself is violence. Then there are the daily attacks by veterans on random members of the public or members of their families resulting in severe injury (permanent or otherwise) and/or death. Most of these episodes go unreported on a national level because there are just so many of them that it would take a 24 hour news channel to constantly loop through them as new ones emerge. I suppose I'm trying to draw a comparison in that PTSD most likely affects veterans in a similar way to civilians coming from war zones. Most of the children in refugee camps are withdrawn, nervous, clinically depressed, prone to bedwetting and nightmares etc. So it doesn't really beggar belief that a huge percentage of people coming from these places, seeing and experiencing what they have, have mental scars.

What are you raving about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭s3rtvdbwfj81ch

An 18 year old wouldn't have experienced Egypt as a war zone though.

They had a revolution or two, but never war. And I can tell you, the violence surrounding the revolutions was centred around Tahrir Square and even a few blocks from there, you wouldn't have known there was anything going on.

Cairo is vast. VAST. And the chances that this piece of shít was even in the vicinity of any of that violence is vanishingly small.

Try again.

I'm imagining you as a holiday rep. Such craic. "Yeah don't go there, sh*thole mate". "Poznan? Sh*thole". "Gdansk? Let me spell it out for you... S.H....."

The fact that you think the only people that travel for work are holiday reps tells me all I need to know about you. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chrongen

FTA69 wrote: »
    Here, I've no problems with Eastern Europeans at all and they are a hard-working productive bunch in general. My only bugbear is right-wing Polish and Hungarian governments chest-beating about migrants to those countries while also losing their absolute sh*t about the likes of UKIP slamming mass migration to the UK from the accession countries.

Much of the absolute rubbish being spouted by Orban about migrants in Hungary is word for word what Farage is saying about Eastern Europeans here. Namely that they don't integrate, steal all the jobs, send too much money home and have no allegiance to the country. People also slate Eastern Europeans for living ten to a house and hanging around in groups drinking cans in the park and intimidating people.

Whatever about debates on migration, I'll be shagged if I'm going to accept finger-wagging lectures about migration from the governments of Poland and Hungary.

Funny how many countries have had their citizens flee war, famine and economic hardship in the past (Poland, Hungary AND Ireland) but when other people are fleeing war, famine and deprivation to their countries there's always a fucking complaint and it's usually the lie that they are spongers who don't integrate.....whatever integrate is supposed to mean.

You take a look at the Irish in New York and Boston. How many of these troglodytes spend their lives in the Irish pub or Irish club, spuds and cabbage for dinner, vacation is a boozefest in the Catskills. It's only by pure demographic happenstance that they have any interaction with the natives because their birth tongue is English so they have some interface. If their mother tongue was Irish these knuckledraggers would be as isolated as any other ethnic group.

An 18 year old wouldn't have experienced Egypt as a war zone though.

They had a revolution or two, but never war. And I can tell you, the violence surrounding the revolutions was centred around Tahrir Square and even a few blocks from there, you wouldn't have known there was anything going on.

Cairo is vast. VAST. And the chances that this piece of shít was even in the vicinity of any of that violence is vanishingly small.

Try again.

There's been an ongoing uprising there. The revolutions did involve thousands of people being arrested and tortured.

Now, no-one is saying that this is the case with this guy. They were talking about refugees in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Lionofjudah

Islamization of Britain is now complete. Here's how the British have passively succumbed to the Muslim invasion;

Mayor of London: Muslim
    Mayor of Birmingham: Muslim
    Mayor of Leeds: Muslim
    Mayor of Blackburn: Muslim
    Mayor of Sheffield: Muslim
    Mayor of Oxford: Muslim
    Mayor of Luton: Muslim
    Mayor of Oldham: Muslim
    Mayor of Rochdale: Muslim

All this achieved by just 4 million muslims out of a population of 66 million

Over 3000 mosques
    Over 130 Muslim Sharia Courts
    Over 50 Muslim Sharia Court Councils
    Muslim Only no-go areas across the UK
    Muslim women.... 78% don't work and are on FREE benefit/housing
    Muslim men... 63% don't work and are on FREE benefit/housing
    Muslim families... 6-8 children planning to go on FREE benefit/housing and now all UK schools are ONLY serving Halal meat.

Ireland is well on its way in the same direction. The joys of the EU and Angela Merkels migrant policy.

The fact that you think the only people that travel for work are holiday reps tells me all I need to know about you. Thanks.

Wrong.
    Nope.
    Proof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,852 ✭✭✭take everything

The middle class/elite tend to live very isolated and bubbly lives; tending to be smart but often not very smart (as a result easy prey to bullshìt ideologies) and for a lot of people, being seen to care is a status signaller (in the same way you buy a new car say), rather than actually caring.

Irish people are go along to get along very risk averse people. We dislike things that stand out.

Western Europe is increasingly depressed and nihilistic which means that people don't actually care about what is going on.

This won't end well. It never does.

Quoted for truth.
    This sums up what's going on.

Not that it will change anything as people will continue to be idiots and ignore common sense.

Islamization of Britain is now complete. Here's how the British have passively succumbed to the Muslim invasion;

Over 3000 mosques
    Muslim families... 6-8 children planning to go on FREE benefit/housing and now all UK schools are ONLY serving Halal meat.

Ireland is well on its way in the same direction. The joys of the EU and Angela Merkels migrant policy.

Do you work for the Daily Mail by chance?

Wrong.
    Nope.
    Proof.

Okay EOTR. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,835 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

baylah17 wrote: »
    a few things on this horrific incident that make me wonder if it was a planned terrorist attack.
    The guy presented himself the GNIB and applied for asylum before returning to Dundalk on Tuesday, why bother applying for asylum if you are planning a terror attack?
    Secondly , though details are still scarce he does not appear to have been shouting Islamist slogans as he attacked, and he he picked an area that was away from the centre of the town where he could have done so much more harm.
    Thirdly, the Gardai describe him as having been in a distressed state when arrested.
    None of that seems to match up to what we have become used to (sadly) in other terror attacks in the UK and Europe.

One other thing that was overlooked yesterday is that this guy was acting very erratically when arrested : he was apparently observed by Gardai swinging a pole around with nobody even near him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Over 3000 mosques

Jesus Allah wept.

Britain has a population of 60 odd million.

That's some shyte right there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,502 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Rick Shaw wrote: »
    Jesus Allah wept.

That's some shyte right there.

https://fullfact.org/news/muslims-uk-viral-poster-factchecked/