Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Breaking: At least 1 man dead after stabbing rampage in Dundalk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭testaccount123

Deise Vu wrote: »
    Is the fact that it happened in Dundalk coincidental? Did this guy just maybe just drive across the border?

As usual these threads jump straight to the nuclear button and there is no sensible discussion about what should we do when we witness barbarity in another country and are faced with the decision to do nothing about it or else help the victims but run the risk importing that barbarity.

Not good choices but any chance of rational discussion of lending assistance with a lot safeguards included?

Naw, I didn't think so either.

Assist the refugees in countries neighbouring the conflicts. Take a reasonable number of heavily vetted, at-risk individuals - like women, children, Christians, homosexuals etc. and offer them properly supported asylum. Close the borders to MENA youth who have nothing to do with any conflict and nothing to offer Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Hammeron Frazier

enricoh wrote: »
    Yeah absolutely no difference between a drink filled row that gets out of hand and a fella that gets up in the morning and stabs as many randomers as possible. Who possibly shouldn't even have got through immigration and maybe doing it for isis etc.
    No difference at all!

Yeah, this guy got up out of bed and out the door into that weather to hurt people!

Happens all the time in Ireland(sigh)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,168 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

enricoh wrote:
    Yeah absolutely no difference between a drink filled row that gets out of hand and a fella that gets up in the morning and stabs as many randomers as possible. Who possibly shouldn't even have got through immigration and maybe doing it for isis etc. No difference at all!

You said it yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,900 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

enricoh wrote: »
    Yeah absolutely no difference between a drink filled row that gets out of hand and a fella that gets up in the morning and stabs as many randomers as possible. Who possibly shouldn't even have got through immigration and maybe doing it for isis etc.
    No difference at all!

There's no difference for the victim though, is there? I somehow doubt a stabbing victim would be relieved to hear he had been stabbed by an Irish person and not by a migrant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Omackeral wrote: »
    A guy (regrettably) got injured in a drunken argument/brawl over a taxi on one of the busiest nights of the year vs a guy getting stabbed to death by an absolute randomer at 9am.

Oh, so the two guys knew each other.

You well know yourself that there's a great amount of attacks in the country perpetrated on a weekly basis by strangers upon strangers for no reason. Some resulting in deaths.

Are you that naive to think otherwise?

baylah17 wrote: »
    Whatever the background to this event be it a terrorist attack or not, nothing excuses the level or bigotry bile and pure hatred being spewed by some on this thread.
    RIP to the man who was killed

TBH I don't see any "pure hatred" on this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭testaccount123

Strazdas wrote: »
    Even if it was Islamist related, we are seeing people being assaulted on our streets every day of the week along with numerous gangland killings (including completely innocent people being murdered) in the last couple of years.

I'd be very wary of overreacting to incidents like this as there are plenty of unpleasant types out there just itching to have a go at Ireland's immigrant population.

This is the thin edge of the wedge. The more fighting age Islamic males we admit into our country, the more of this we will see, along with various other cultural delights. Its happened everywhere else, we are not special.

Call it racist or whatever, but its the sad truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,171 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Japanese people want to severely restrict people coming to their country. A bit hypocritical if they expect that they can go anywhere they like themselves. We're under no obligation to implement their rules just because they might want to come here for whatever reason.
    You don't go "blaming" individual people for the opinions of others, even if it's a majority. You don't know what this Japanese man thought about his country's immigration policy. The fact that he was here, seeing a country outside of Japan, suggests he was more open-minded than average, but who knows? We can't ask him now, can we? :(

However, countries have the right to set their own immigration policies. Some posters in this thread don't seem to get that this is a statistical problem. There is an increased likelihood that young male immigrants from Muslim countries are sufficiently radicalised - and stupid - to carry out an attack like this. It's a probability, not a certainty. But without the ability to answer that question on a case-by-case basis, what are countries supposed to do? We can't be certain you're a terrorist, so come on in?

PS: I expect we'll find that this young man came in to Ireland legally, as a student or with family.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,551 ✭✭✭kaymin

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Someone claimed that when there's a random attack, it's not random, it's terrorism. A guy was sent to hospital and is in a serious condition as a result of one such random attack a day or two ago.

That was my comment and was made in the context of the circumstances surrounding this incident. It doesn't mean every random attack is terrorist related.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

London in particular is dealing with a knife culture amongst schoolchildren for the last 10+ years

London's crime rate, particularly knife (x4 fatal attacks on NYE), acid and gang-culture is up across the board.
    Stat's are up 20-30 on last year for serious crimes such as this.
    Maybe Major Khan should take lessons from Trump's NYC, which is now much safer than London.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,900 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Oh, so the two guys knew each other.

You well know yourself that there's a great amount of attack in the country perpetrated on a weekly basis by strangers upon strangers. Some resulting in deaths.

Are you that naive to think otherwise?

Yes indeed....innocent people walking along the street and some lunatic walks up to them and flattens them or even launches a frenzied attack on them, kicking them and punching them to the ground. These incidents are often barely even reported in the press.

What's the story with Europe these says?

Europe. Pull up your pants.
    av7xKXZ_700b.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Mahony0509

I just read there that the attacker was disarmed by an unarmed member of the Gardai. Fair play to the Garda for taking him on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,898 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

What about the "I'd attack anyone who looked middle eastern who got too close to me" post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

So did this chap claim to be Syrians, have fake syrian papers or were assumptions made?

Grayson wrote: »
    What about the "I'd attack anyone who looked middle eastern who got too close to me" post?

I don't call that hatred, I call that stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Irishmale0399

Assist the refugees in countries neighbouring the conflicts. Take a reasonable number of heavily vetted, at-risk individuals - like women, children, Christians, homosexuals etc. and offer them properly supported asylum. Close the borders to MENA youth who have nothing to do with any conflict and nothing to offer Europe.

Assist the refugees in countries neighbouring the conflicts
    Saudi Arabia offered over 1 million people a place to seek asylum....less than 1% took them up. They all want to come to the EU.

Close the borders to MENA youth
    These youths arrive at the EU border without passports and claim to be Syrian or Afgan, very often making themselves younger than they actually are. In some cases upon entering the EU they adopt multiple identies and are claiming social benifits in many cities/countries. Perfect example of this was the young man who commited the terror attack in Berlin last Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭ebbsy

baylah17 wrote: »
    Whatever the background to this event be it a terrorist attack or not, nothing excuses the level or bigotry bile and pure hatred being spewed by some on this thread.
    RIP to the man who was killed

And I bet that man came into the country properly and was of good character, unlike that ****ing scum from Egypt who should have been pushed back across the sea on the tyre that he came from before he stabbed that poor man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Omackeral wrote: »
    That's worrying. Not the fact he's Egyptian (if he is) but the fact they know nothing about him or how long he's here. Who else are we harboring here?

But shure its grand. Sure don’t we have Irish criminals here already. If the mantra of the do-goodies wasn’t so dangerous, it’d be laughable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

ebbsy wrote: »
    And I bet that man came into the country properly and was of good character, unlike that ****ing scum from Egypt who should have been pushed back across the sea on the tyre that he came from before he stabbed that poor man.

He didn't come in a tyre, he came in a plane or on a ferry and walked on past our immegration people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,168 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Still think that?
    ebbsy wrote:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭FionnK86

Mahony0509 wrote: »
    I just read there that the attacker was disarmed by an unarmed member of the Gardai. Fair play to the Garda for taking him on.

Absolute hero.

Strazdas wrote: »
    Even if it was Islamist related, we are seeing people being assaulted on our streets every day of the week along with numerous gangland killings (including completely innocent people being murdered) in the last couple of years.

I'd be very wary of overreacting to incidents like this as there are plenty of unpleasant types out there just itching to have a go at Ireland's immigrant population.

Just on this. Innocent people are caught up in gangland stuff from time to time and it's reprehensible. It's vile. Not excusing innocents getting caught up in gangland stuff in the slightest here at all just stating that it's usually cases of mistaken identities, not that it matters a jot to the loved ones of those effected or indeed the wider community.

Terror attacks, on the other hand, set out to maim and kill innocents. Purposefully. There's malicious and deliberate intent there. That's their entire MO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,551 ✭✭✭kaymin

kaymin wrote: »

No, I don't.

For the third time, the DoJ is not responsible for "influencing politicians to strengthen such laws".

Yeah. For the third time, is that what happened? If so, why and how did it happen?

Or are you just going to repeat your "It's all the fault of the DoJ" mantra?

Why do you say the DoJ has no responsibility for influencing politicians (minister for justice specifically) to tighten up loopholes in laws? Please provide some facts since you have repeated this assertion 'three' times already!

Do you extend this rationale to advice in general- the minister for justice does not take advice from DoJ personnel? What a ridiculous notion you have of how things work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Rory28

Still think that?

So we should speak of murderers with respect now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Still think that?

You don't think calling a murderer f-ing scum is warranted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,898 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I don't call that hatred, I call that stupid.

It can be both.

And I know people get fed up with the term racist but I think "I'd punch anyone who looks middle eastern" is pretty racist too.

Assist the refugees in countries neighbouring the conflicts
    Saudi Arabia offered over 1 million people a place to seek asylum....less than 1% took them up. They all want to come to the EU.

Close the borders to MENA youth
    These youths arrive at the EU border without passports and claim to be Syrian or Afgan, very often making themselves younger than they actually are. In some cases upon entering the EU they adopt multiple identies and are claiming social benifits in many cities/countries. Perfect example of this was the young man who commited the terror attack in Berlin last Christmas.

The Saudi's don't want any refugees because why? They don't want to have to deal with the terrorists that will come in with them, that's an official statement.

Another thing the Saudi's had been doing for the past few years was offering convicted criminals in their prisons the option of being released and sent to Syria to fight for ISIS. What the logic was behind this policy was escapes me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 824 ✭✭✭studdlymurphy

wakka12 wrote:
    Irish people murder people too How many syrians have we had murder anybody in ireland? This is the first Ive ever heard of

Wonder what the ratio of irish to syrians is vs the ratio of irish murderers to syrian murderers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

It’s nonsense put out by lefties to try to stir up a panic and get the thread closed. It’ll happen more and more as more details come out, along with thread derailment. Best ignored.