Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Hope everyone has Roto vaccine for early calvers got, won't be available till 15/20 jan I'm told

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Getting there

Very tidy work, good set of pans in operation there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,792 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

simx wrote: »
    Hope everyone has Roto vaccine for early calvers got, won't be available till 15/20 jan I'm told

Feck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

I read an Agriland article at lunchtime on the young farmer of the year. Jesus wept.
    Poor lad had only 250 owned acres to start...
    More Teagasc/dairy establishment bullshyte!!
    When are you guys going to be market led, rather than supply driven??

I’d be a lot more impressed if a young fellow was producing something from a perch of land that consumers actually wanted.

33.4 litres.
    3.5 pr.
    4.88 bf.
    6k tbc.
    188k scc.

Once cows stopped grazing, solids took a huge leap.

Fair money being earned from milk now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,128 ✭✭✭jaymla627

I read an Agriland article at lunchtime on the young farmer of the year. Jesus wept.

I’d be a lot more impressed if a young fellow was producing something from a perch of land that consumers actually wanted.

I'm just hoping I can come across a young lad like that despite spending a small fortune only has a cop of 22c/l I'll simply hand the farm over to him on a 20 year lease and live a life of leisure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

jaymla627 wrote: »
    I'm just hoping I can come across a young lad like that despite spending a small fortune only has a cop of 22c/l I'll simply hand the farm over to him on a 20 year lease and live a life of leisure

I'm not sure I'm reading the right article or not, but am I right in saying that he's gone from 72 cows to 320 without spending anything on housing. How is he complying with nitrates? Can't imagine the farms were stocked anywhere near as intensely in the previous regime.

I went to a Teagasc meeting last week in mallow on the new nitrates derogation rules. They kept banging on and on about getting slurry storage nailed down properly for next year, so much so that it must be very common for intensive farmers to be without the required storage. But I thought you had to have it all sorted to get the derogation in the first place. Tbh I was confused and haven't talked to my advisor since to ask him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭moneyheer

I went to a Teagasc meeting last week in mallow on the new nitrates derogation rules. They kept banging on and on about getting slurry storage nailed down properly for next year, so much so that it must be very common for intensive farmers to be without the required storage. But I thought you had to have it all sorted to get the derogation in the first place. Tbh I was confused and haven't talked to my advisor since to ask him.

Probably have the cows in straw beded shed☺

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,524 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

There is a market, they call it intervention,Can't believe the CAP budget is still being spent on buying and storing this stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

I'm not sure I'm reading the right article or not, but am I right in saying that he's gone from 72 cows to 320 without spending anything on housing. How is he complying with nitrates? Can't imagine the farms were stocked anywhere near as intensely in the previous regime.

That man has spent a fortune in the yard and on the land. 50 unit rotary went in last year and a pile of topless cubicles that will be roofed at a later date. You won't find a piece of steel in the place that isn't galvanised. Take a closer look at the photos and you will see!!

They also used to fatten 350 bulls so I would imagine that accommodation was changed for cows.
    His cost of production obviously doesn't include his loans or what he pays himself.

How about you stick up your cost of production and what litres you sold this year so we can work out how much you owe the bank Jay?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,720 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

That man has spent a fortune in the yard and on the land. 50 unit rotary went in last year and a pile of topless cubicles that will be roofed at a later date. You won't find a piece of steel in the place that isn't galvanised. Take a closer look at the photos and you will see!!

They also used to fatten 350 bulls so I would imagine that accommodation was changed for cows.
    His cost of production obviously doesn't include his loans or what he pays himself.

How about you stick up your cost of production and what litres you sold this year so we can work out how much you owe the bank Jay?!

Fair points but no way I’m
    Buying his cop and no way it should be posted as is cause it’s nothing only a crock of ****e ,I’m taking nothing away from the chap serious progress but why oh why are we constantly been fed profit monitor crap missing so much ,to then print it and feed it to national and international media is plain criminal and insulting to dairy farmers all over this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Link to the article please?

Timmaay wrote: »
    Link to the article please?

Agriland article on twitter Tim ,

Sitting at 2000 euro a cow if you really want to know, haven't done up the figures for 2017 but am keeping the wolf from the door and all bills will be cleared up starting into 2018, and I don't own a acre of land either I do know repayments on capital and interest plus land rental comes in at nearly 8 cent a litre with 7800 litres been sent per cow so maybe you might just understand my awe and amazement at the above lad when he throws out 22 cent a litre as cop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭MF290

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭ted_182

I think some of ye have yer wires crossed between this years and last years young farmer of the year lads, simalar herd sizes alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

ted_182 wrote: »
    I think some of ye have yer wires crossed between this years and last years young farmer of the year lads, simalar herd sizes alright

Yeah it was the article on last year's winner earlier in the month that I was reading

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Sitting at 2000 euro a cow if you really want to know, haven't done up the figures for 2017 but am keeping the wolf from the door and all bills will be cleared up starting into 2018, and I don't own a acre of land either I do know repayments on capital and interest plus land rental comes in at nearly 8 cent a litre with 7800 litres been sent per cow so maybe you might just understand my awe and amazement at the above lad when he throws out 22 cent a litre as cop

his COP definitely is 22 but that's his decision if he wants to tell us or not. 22 only covers the bare direct costs of producing the litre

If it was me I wouldn't want my COP to be published so i could be gossiped about in the pub as to what I owe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Yeah it was the article on last year's winner earlier in the month that I was reading

He built a shed in the yard beside the milking parlour. He has sheds on some of the land he rents and he rents a shed for the heifers on another separate spot

his COP definitely is 22 but that's his decision if he wants to tell us or not. 22 only covers the bare direct costs of producing the litre

If it was me I wouldn't want my COP to be published so i could be gossiped about in the pub as to what I owe

Never heard the term "bear cost of production" before it's a good one maybe the journal/agriland could put that as a disclaimer every time they publish more bulls**t figures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Why can't farm debt be included in the cop? Fact is a lot of lads probably have put out more milk just by being more efficient on existing land anything extra is likely to come from borrowings. As I said earlier leave it out if you want to compare farms within your group o
    Just on variable costs or whatever but putting out a cop without everything in it is fooling no-one only playing into the hands of processors and supermarkets. My borrowings last year cost me over 6 c/l and because of tb now it's up to 8c, so you can see why it gets annoying when your told produce for 20cent

Mooooo wrote: »
    Why can't farm debt be included in the cop? Fact is a lot of lads probably have put out more milk just by being more efficient on existing land anything extra is likely to come from borrowings. As I said earlier leave it out if you want to compare farms within your group o
    Just on variable costs or whatever but putting out a cop without everything in it is fooling no-one only playing into the hands of processors and supermarkets. My borrowings last year cost me over 6 c/l and because of tb now it's up to 8c, so you can see why it gets annoying when your told produce for 20cent
    That's the rub, though. Farm debt varies widely and the COP used by Teagasc is a comparison of common costs, not all costs. So two farms can compare their costs against each other without different drawings and loan repayments skewing costs in favour of a farmer with no loans and low drawings.

Teagasc need to be brought up on this and soon.

Milk price- ProfitMonitor COP does not equal profit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

The

That's the rub, though. Farm debt varies widely and the COP used by Teagasc is a comparison of common costs, not all costs. So two farms can compare their costs against each other without different drawings and loan repayments skewing costs in favour of a farmer with no loans and low drawings.

Agree cop is cop though ,full cost if not included don’t print it ,a pure half arse attempt to include wages was made for profit monitors but still the figure without is peddled out

Just saw an article in the Indo about a dairy farm that has a 25% empty rate after a Schmallenberg infection this Summer.

Schmallenberg investigated by Athlone vet lab confirmed (farmer estimates 25pc of herd lost their calves)

https://www.independent.ie/business/farming/dairy/schmallenberg-investigated-by-athlone-vet-lab-confirmed-farmer-estimates-25pc-of-herd-lost-their-calves-36411823.html

And that could be the good news when you think about the malformations that are likely to occur as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Floki

Just saw an article in the Indo about a dairy farm that has a 25% empty rate after a Schmallenberg infection this Summer.

Schmallenberg investigated by Athlone vet lab confirmed (farmer estimates 25pc of herd lost their calves)

https://www.independent.ie/business/farming/dairy/schmallenberg-investigated-by-athlone-vet-lab-confirmed-farmer-estimates-25pc-of-herd-lost-their-calves-36411823.html

And that could be the good news when you think about the malformations that are likely to occur as well.

Didn't Greenfields have a problem with fertility this year?

Come to think of it my bull had a period of infertility this year. But I never noticed much problems with the cows.
    Scmallenberg was a few miles away from me in sheep flocks a few years ago.
    Not nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

33.4 litres. 3.5 pr. 4.88 bf. 6k tbc. 188k scc.

Once cows stopped grazing, solids took a huge leap.

Fair money being earned from milk now!

What are you feeding them atm Dawg?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,286 ✭✭✭alps

It needs to be renamed "Cost Comparison".....it actually has nothing to do with profit....

Data is collected for use in cost comparison between farmers who submit and wish to share....

It is not for the use of teagasc or journalists to be Mickey waving building profiles...

There is no service to farmers in the way these figures are bandied about....

blackdog1 wrote: »
    What are you feeding them atm Dawg?

Making a mix while typing this...

11.5 kgdm maize silage.
    6 kgdm lucerne.
    4 kgdm clover silage.
    3 kgdm 81 dmd grass silage.
    1 kg soya.
    1.5 kg barley.
    60gms osr haulm.