kevthegaff wrote: » Getting there
simx wrote: » Hope everyone has Roto vaccine for early calvers got, won't be available till 15/20 jan I'm told
Gawddawggonnit wrote: » I read an Agriland article at lunchtime on the young farmer of the year. Jesus wept. Poor lad had only 250 owned acres to start... More Teagasc/dairy establishment bullshyte!! When are you guys going to be market led, rather than supply driven?? I’d be a lot more impressed if a young fellow was producing something from a perch of land that consumers actually wanted.
jaymla627 wrote: » I'm just hoping I can come across a young lad like that despite spending a small fortune only has a cop of 22c/l I'll simply hand the farm over to him on a 20 year lease and live a life of leisure
Injuryprone wrote: I went to a Teagasc meeting last week in mallow on the new nitrates derogation rules. They kept banging on and on about getting slurry storage nailed down properly for next year, so much so that it must be very common for intensive farmers to be without the required storage. But I thought you had to have it all sorted to get the derogation in the first place. Tbh I was confused and haven't talked to my advisor since to ask him.
Injuryprone wrote: » I'm not sure I'm reading the right article or not, but am I right in saying that he's gone from 72 cows to 320 without spending anything on housing. How is he complying with nitrates? Can't imagine the farms were stocked anywhere near as intensely in the previous regime. I went to a Teagasc meeting last week in mallow on the new nitrates derogation rules. They kept banging on and on about getting slurry storage nailed down properly for next year, so much so that it must be very common for intensive farmers to be without the required storage. But I thought you had to have it all sorted to get the derogation in the first place. Tbh I was confused and haven't talked to my advisor since to ask him.
GrasstoMilk wrote: » That man has spent a fortune in the yard and on the land. 50 unit rotary went in last year and a pile of topless cubicles that will be roofed at a later date. You won't find a piece of steel in the place that isn't galvanised. Take a closer look at the photos and you will see!! They also used to fatten 350 bulls so I would imagine that accommodation was changed for cows. His cost of production obviously doesn't include his loans or what he pays himself. How about you stick up your cost of production and what litres you sold this year so we can work out how much you owe the bank Jay?!
Timmaay wrote: » Link to the article please?
mahoney_j wrote: » Agriland article on twitter Tim ,
ted_182 wrote: » I think some of ye have yer wires crossed between this years and last years young farmer of the year lads, simalar herd sizes alright
jaymla627 wrote: » Sitting at 2000 euro a cow if you really want to know, haven't done up the figures for 2017 but am keeping the wolf from the door and all bills will be cleared up starting into 2018, and I don't own a acre of land either I do know repayments on capital and interest plus land rental comes in at nearly 8 cent a litre with 7800 litres been sent per cow so maybe you might just understand my awe and amazement at the above lad when he throws out 22 cent a litre as cop
Injuryprone wrote: » Yeah it was the article on last year's winner earlier in the month that I was reading
GrasstoMilk wrote: » his COP definitely is 22 but that's his decision if he wants to tell us or not. 22 only covers the bare direct costs of producing the litre If it was me I wouldn't want my COP to be published so i could be gossiped about in the pub as to what I owe
Mooooo wrote: » Why can't farm debt be included in the cop? Fact is a lot of lads probably have put out more milk just by being more efficient on existing land anything extra is likely to come from borrowings. As I said earlier leave it out if you want to compare farms within your group o Just on variable costs or whatever but putting out a cop without everything in it is fooling no-one only playing into the hands of processors and supermarkets. My borrowings last year cost me over 6 c/l and because of tb now it's up to 8c, so you can see why it gets annoying when your told produce for 20cent
Buford T. Justice V wrote: » That's the rub, though. Farm debt varies widely and the COP used by Teagasc is a comparison of common costs, not all costs. So two farms can compare their costs against each other without different drawings and loan repayments skewing costs in favour of a farmer with no loans and low drawings. Teagasc need to be brought up on this and soon. Milk price- ProfitMonitor COP does not equal profit.
Buford T. Justice V wrote: » Just saw an article in the Indo about a dairy farm that has a 25% empty rate after a Schmallenberg infection this Summer. Schmallenberg investigated by Athlone vet lab confirmed (farmer estimates 25pc of herd lost their calves)https://www.independent.ie/business/farming/dairy/schmallenberg-investigated-by-athlone-vet-lab-confirmed-farmer-estimates-25pc-of-herd-lost-their-calves-36411823.html And that could be the good news when you think about the malformations that are likely to occur as well.
Gawddawggonnit wrote: 33.4 litres. 3.5 pr. 4.88 bf. 6k tbc. 188k scc.
Gawddawggonnit wrote: Once cows stopped grazing, solids took a huge leap.
Gawddawggonnit wrote: Fair money being earned from milk now!
blackdog1 wrote: » What are you feeding them atm Dawg?