Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Katy French

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,177 ✭✭✭PeterParker957

valoren wrote: »
    She had a beauty that suggested itself as emanating from an infinity within. She seemed to believe anything was possible and her smile convinced you, for an instant, that she was right. I wanted her dreams to come true.

The old saw has it wrong: those who volunteer to act out our fantasies in public are both fools and angels. Driven by longing beyond knowing, their folly arises from a failure of awareness, experience, wisdom.
    Driven by angelic recall, they plod on clay feet into the mire of three-dimensional reality. They do not know, are not conscious, that their appetites are infinitely greater than the world's capacity to satisfy them.

Katy French was a personification of our fantasies, of our sense of what we were becoming, of how we might unfold ourselves. She was not the only one, but in the immediate past was perhaps the most spectacular light on the skyline, a meteorite of desire plummeting through the Irish zeitgeist.

https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/dreams-die-with-death-of-katy-1.990174

Any excuse for me to share this tripe is welcome.

God that is brutal.

"She did not, other than literally, die of whatever it will say on her death certificate. She died of desire, of being utterly human".

Yeah desire to snort her body weight in coke.

I swear Our Lady wouldn't have had a piece written like that for her - let alone a two bob promotions girl with a drug habit!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

The edgy ****ers annoyed the arse off me when she died, thinking they were profound saying what amounted to 'Sure look at all the other people that die from taking drugs and nobody cares about them cause they're poor'. I'm sure lots topped themselves the day Kurt Cobain died, but it's hardly relevant. She was famous, so it was news.

Same nonsense happened when there was an investigation into who it was that supplied the drugs that she took that night. Lots moaning saying nobody forced her and that they're only investigating cause she was famous, which was nonsense sure they even charged the mother of one of the lads from Waterford that died five or six years back and recently there's a case of a young lad about to be sentenced for supplying some psychoactive drugs to another lad who died after taking it.

For whatever reason people seemed overly annoyed that Katy's death was focused on, and some of them still seem to be.

• Registered Users Posts: 468 ✭✭w/s/p/c/

• Registered Users Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭elefant

Amazing levels of vitriol towards her.

It's a tragic story, and one that could happen to any of our family members, friends, colleagues, teammates etc. on any given weekend in Ireland.

I don't know what Katy French did to deserve the posthumous excoriation she gets every time one of these threads pops up. Weird.

elefant wrote: »
    Amazing levels of vitriol towards her.

It's a tragic story, and one that could happen to any of our family members, friends, colleagues, teammates etc. on any given weekend in Ireland.

I don't know what Katy French did to deserve the posthumous excoriation she gets every time one of these threads pops up. Weird.

Snorted coke, died and then we all had suffer the "who was responsible ?" stories.

Spoiler alert - she was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭mikeysmith

If she was ugly and talented would so many posters dislike her

or is it because she was pretty and they couldn't aspire to have her

• Registered Users Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

435208.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 40,308 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

mikeysmith wrote: »

or is it because she was built up (and still is by some) as something to aspire to when she was nothing of the sort?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭elefant

or is it because she was built up (and still is by some) as something to aspire to when she was nothing of the sort?

I think that would be fair enough if it was the media that bore the brunt of the ire.

She seems to have just been a regular 20-something woman, and she's being compared to paedophiles and murderers on this thread.

I can safely say I neither wanted her not wanted to be her.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

It's sad for her family etc. but I can't bring myself to use the word tragic. She willingly took a Class A drug.

Just like the death of an Everest climber is not tragic, nor is an Isle Of Man TT rider.

All are high risk activities with a possibility of death.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

What annoys the general public is when the media pluck someone with no discernible talent, who hasn’t done anything extraordinary, and force feed that person to us on the grounds that this person will bring some sparkle into our otherwise sad little existence.
    Katy getting out of a taxi...
    Katy coming out of a club...
    Katy shopping in BTs...
    The Sindo were determined to have a Tara Palmer Tomlinson (sadly dead too) or Paris Hilton and Katy was determined to be that girl.
    Nobody aspired to be her

• Registered Users Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Omackeral wrote: »
    Grayditch wrote: »
    Ireland hasn't been the same without her...

Our Diana.

This deserved more likes. Best post I've seen on Boards in a long time.

The absolute state of this. Have a word with yourself.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Jaysus lads it's been 10 years and some of ye are as angry over the girl as ye would have been on day dot.
    Bit odd.

anna080 wrote: »
    Jaysus lads it's been 10 years and some of ye are as angry over the girl as ye would have been on day dot.
    Bit odd.

It's the forced ten year "anniversary" hoopla.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭Deusexmachina

BillyBobBS wrote: »
    She took a product that is illegal and causes untold harm and grief to people worldwide be they users or those who are caught up in it's production and distribution. She took the risk and is a loss to nobody but her family and friends.

I don't do drugs as it's a question of morals for me but people who take it and those who are well off in particular are complete scum. You'll often hear toffs talk down about people who live in working class communities the same communities that have been ravaged by the effects of drugs and where people live in fear of the local drug runners but yet they are only to happy to get coked out of their mind when they please.

These are the worst kind of people, the Katie French's, the Gerry Ryan's of this this world and yes the others we all know about who virtue signal from their gated estates with 24/7 private security and instant reaction from the Gardai to any crime.

Really?

Any 24 year old dying from a drugs overdose is a tragedy. She was only a kid. Same with any other young person who gets caught up in this evil.

There are plenty of really awful people in the world who you can hate - people who deliberately hurt others for their own gain.

Really?

Any 24 year old dying from a drugs overdose is a tragedy. She was only a kid. Same with any other young person who gets caught up in this evil.

There are plenty of really awful people in the world who you can hate - people who deliberately hurt others for their own gain.

Like the lovely entrepeneurs she would have bought her gear from ??

You seem to be very angry with a dead young girl. Get over yourself.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

I simply can't believe that neither Barry Egan or Niamh Horan have anything on this yet. If their respective **** journalism skills were to mate and spawn, a story about the ten year anniversary of Katy French's death would be the perfect marker.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

I knew her to say hello to, she'd be polite but I doubt she knew my name. A really nice girl, yer man Ducie saw himself as somewhat of a 'fixer' as can be seen what the guards found, Katie and the people like her that socialised in Renards needed somebody like him to meet the dealers and that's how he ended up in that circle.
    It's wrong on so many levels but the city was awash and still is with coke. If I wanted coke now I'm sure I could have some within the hour with a few calls, it's crazy. Lots of drink, inhibitions lowered and somebody offers a bump, next thing you know you're buying a gram before a night out

I'm not a user btw, just been around this city a long time

• Registered Users Posts: 10,323 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

w/s/p/c/ wrote: »

Oh God ....... :rolleyes:
    "I became instant friends with her when she first exploded onto the Dublin nightlife scene. She was just so likeable and fun and few could resist her sunny personality. I, amusingly enough, was known as an 'it' girl at the time, horrible tag, I know. She wanted to be known as a socialite too and was pulled towards people who could offer her that status."

And Brunker got to be an "IT Girl" by how exactly ??
    I don't think it was through her knowledge of computers :rolleyes:

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

greenspurs wrote: »
    "I became instant friends with her when she first exploded onto the Dublin nightlife scene. She was just so likeable and fun and few could resist her sunny personality. I, amusingly enough, was known as an 'it' girl at the time, horrible tag, I know. She wanted to be known as a socialite too and was pulled towards people who could offer her that status."

The "sh" is of course silent.

Did she rob your sweeties or something?

Would you like to stop making personal attacks on me please and debate the issue ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Would you like to stop making personal attacks on me please and debate the issue ?

Tbf your wallpapering the whole thing with slurs and put downs on someone who is near on 10 years dead and can't talk back?

It's kind of the elephant in the room

• Registered Users Posts: 3,241 ✭✭✭TheDavester

I can’t wait for Amanda’s take on quantum physics

• Registered Users Posts: 10,323 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Tbf your wallpapering the whole thing with slurs and put downs on someone who is near on 10 years dead and can't talk back?

It's kind of the elephant in the room

Amanda Brunker is dead ?!?! :eek:

Because that who we were talking about when yee two jumped in !

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

Amanda Brunker is dead ?!?! :eek:

Because that who we were talking about when yee two jumped in !

We were indeed. And no, sweeties are very much still intact. Nom nom nom.

I can’t wait for Amanda’s take on quantum physics

I imagine it's along the lines of "well I was out one night with my mate Bono and guess who walked in... only Peter Higgs!"

There is no issue to debate. A young person died from an overdose. Calling her names and sneering at her memory is not debating any issue.