Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 3.0

• Administrators Posts: 55,090 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

stephen_n wrote: »
    Would give ye a sore head listening to thon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Yeah_Right wrote: »
    Band?!? I thought we were discussing dance music.

Do you think dance music just magically appears out of thin air?

House music is probably one of the biggest genres in the world right now, in terms of money through the door. Old age can detach some people from these things though. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

awec wrote: »
    Would give ye a sore head listening to thon.

It's no Daniel O'Donnell right enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

kuang1 wrote: »
    Torn between buying a house or buying a site and building my own.
    Building would be done on a tight budget but would end up being a house of my liking...is it worth the stress? Most I've spoken to say it is.
    Buying a house would be a little less expensive but would more of a practical move rather than one that my heart would be behind.

Build all the way but, as Venjur says, it's highly unlikely you'll complete it within the original budget particularly if you're already looking to do it on a relatively tight budget. Also be prepared for delays and heartache.

But, if you can do it you'll have the house you wanted which is impossible to buy. It all really depends on the size and spec you want.

I've friends and family who have done it and I'm always shocked at how big the houses they build are. Just completely unnecessary and building for the sake of building. I'd much rather build a comfortable sized house (say 1,900 square feet) where I'll actually use the space rather than the 2,500 - 3,000 square foot monsters I see being built all the time with rooms that sit empty for years.

Do many people (other than the super wealthy) build in Dublin?

Buer wrote: »
    Build all the way but, as Venjur says, it's highly unlikely you'll complete it within the original budget particularly if you're already looking to do it on a relatively tight budget. Also be prepared for delays and heartache.

But, if you can do it you'll have the house you wanted which is impossible to buy. It all really depends on the size and spec you want.

I've friends and family who have done it and I'm always shocked at how big the houses they build are. Just completely unnecessary and building for the sake of building. I'd much rather build a comfortable sized house (say 1,900 square feet) where I'll actually use the space rather than the 2,500 - 3,000 square foot monsters I see being built all the time with rooms that sit empty for years.

A lot comes down I'd imagine to size of family or intended family.

Honestly, I'd go for the bigger house personally. Put as much space between me and hassle as possible without having to go outside.

I'd have a secret toilet that no one else knew about.

Bliss.

I don't think you can do single builds in Dublin.

Not really. There was a spate of buying, knocking and building a new house on the site during the tiger years in some areas. But that would fall into the category of super wealthy, I guess.

North Dublin is fairly rural and has the space for people to build but the population is obviously far lower there. I'd say 95%+ in Dublin aren't building their own home.

You should really be able to do them anywhere.

EDIT: Shouldn't!

Buer wrote: »
    You should really be able to do them anywhere.

You should, but I think single unit builds in Dublin can't get planning permission. I didn't look it up myself but that's what I've been told.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,469 ✭✭✭kuang1

I'm in Waterford.
    My intention would to build to a minimal (ish) finish, move in and finish the thing gradually over 2/3 years.
    Small site, small house (as small as 1100 sq ft!)

Grateful for the opinions all.

You should, but I think single unit builds in Dublin can't get planning permission. I didn't look it up myself but that's what I've been told.

Eek. I meant shouldn't!

Completely takes away from the areas they're built in and leads to isolation and infrastructure issues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Lots of people build single houses on extra land at the side of houses in Dublin

I'm in Waterford.
    My intention would to build to a minimal (ish) finish, move in and finish the thing gradually over 2/3 years.

Jesus, sorry to hear that.

I'd say if you are going to build small and conservative you are better just getting a good deal on a house and using that as an initial investment to fund a proper build down the line. Best of both worlds though you'll wait 5 years or so to get the ball rolling on the build.

Whatever you do get, make sure you would be reasonably happy to live in it for life.

I'm in Waterford.

A Waterford man who supports Leinster eh?

I'm in Waterford.

Seems sensible and if you've got control over the design you can make that 1,100 feel more spacious. If you're happy to go with the minimal finish and long term plan for the completion, fair play. I'd absolutely go with that rather than buying second hand.

You need to be conscious of future plans though and if that space is going to be sufficient. You're only going to build one house in your life, more than likely.

Synode wrote: »
    Lots of people build single houses on extra land at the side of houses in Dublin

I think if you've owned land for a certain amount of time (since before restrictions came in) you can get an exemption.

If it's just an extension it's a regular planning issue.

Again - this isn't something I'm upto date on at all so I could be wrong, but that's my understanding.

Me and the missus are trying to buy right now but haven't seen anything yet. I am in no rush, the only concern I have is the child is coming in February and I don't know at what point we need to be looking at schools and therefore we'd need to know where to look!

You should be grand, we were in the same boat and didn't buy until after we had our first. If you plan on staying in roughly the same area you shouldn't run into trouble.

I will however say it's more convenient to own than rent when the sprog comes along. Greater freedom to make the place child proof and ultimately babies are somewhat messy (especially when they start eating) so it's a lot handier not to be worrying about the landlord flipping out.

Saw a few houses up for sale in the Leopardstown Heights area!

You should be grand, we were in the same boat and didn't buy until after we had our first. If you plan on staying in roughly the same area you shouldn't run into trouble.

I will however say it's more convenient to own than rent when the sprog comes along. Greater freedom to make the place child proof and ultimately babies are somewhat messy (especially when they start eating) so it's a lot handier not to be worrying about the landlord flipping out.

Saw a few houses up for sale in the Leopardstown Heights area!
    Pretty expensive (which alone is ok), but most of the ones I've seen would need a good bit of work done when you move in to make them look semi-decent.

We're kind of limited to new builds anyway right now with the help-to-buy.

Pretty expensive (which alone is ok), but most of the ones I've seen would need a good bit of work done when you move in to make them look semi-decent.

We're kind of limited to new builds anyway right now with the help-to-buy.

Few do need work but they are decent builds. We very nearly went there and a family member who has donkeys years construction experience reckoned they were good quality houses.

Limiting to new builds is problematic with the way things have gone. Developers are taking the complete piss again and the banks are happy to let them.

I'm waiting for my 3 year old to get loan offers through the door from AIB any day now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Few do need work but they are decent builds. We very nearly went there and a family member who has donkeys years construction experience reckoned they were good quality houses.

Limiting to new builds is problematic with the way things have gone. Developers are taking the complete piss again and the banks are happy to let them.

I'm waiting for my 3 year old to get loan offers through the door from AIB any day now.

Where we were looking to buy (a little over a year ago) it was actually cheaper to go with a new build. No price war, no "fix up" work after moving in etc. Have things gone much more mental since then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

My mate just bought a four storey town house within 10 minutes walk of the centre of Antwerp for 245k - 100% mortgage at 1.6%. Needs a bit of work, but still.

Ireland just dicks people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,205 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

stephen_n wrote: »
    Do you think dance music just magically appears out of thin air?

House music is probably one of the biggest genres in the world right now, in terms of money through the door. Old age can detach some people from these things though. :)

I always assumed dance music was some guy or girl sitting there with a laptop and some sort of music mixing program. Didn't think instruments were involved.:D

I know house music is popular. It's big back home. But I'm not into it. There's the occasional good song but generally I find it quite meh. I don't dislike it but it doesn't smoke my tires.

And I agree with awec, Saul Hudson is a god. And yes I am old.

molloyjh wrote: »
    Where we were looking to buy (a little over a year ago) it was actually cheaper to go with a new build. No price war, no "fix up" work after moving in etc. Have things gone much more mental since then?

I don't know at all to be honest, I don't follow the market bar keeping an eye on the odd potential investment.

That said a new estate near my house went for prices that I thought were both cruel and obscene. At least with second hand you can get one that isn't in great condition (which puts a LOT of people off) and do some good work with it.

Our house was a **** hole when we got it which was perfect, no one really bid against us and I took a month off and made it fairly nice.

Neil3030 wrote: »
    My mate just bought a four storey town house within 10 minutes walk of the centre of Antwerp for 245k - 100% mortgage at 1.6%. Needs a bit of work, but still.

Ireland just dicks people.

We really have the balance wrong. Far far far too much income goes into property and to a degree childcare. It has a knock on effect of inflating wages but not nearly enough to compensate.

Financial institutions in Ireland have it great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Other little tidbit I learned during the week - interest rates on carloans in the states are lower than interest rates on home loans, suggesting higher risk to banks for the latter. I guess they feel people can live without a permanent home easier than they can live without their car. Madness!

We really have the balance wrong. Far far far too much income goes into property and to a degree childcare.

My mortgage < My childcare costs

Jesus, sorry to hear that.
    Ah it's not too bad down here. Not too big, not too small of a place. Negligible traffic to deal with, superb choice of restaurants, plethera of beaches within 15 minutes. Where I live I have a tesco, lidl & an aldi within 4 minutes drive.
    People generally nice, although typically Irish in that if you're not born here, you're not really from here no matter how long you've called it home.
    I'd say if you are going to build small and conservative you are better just getting a good deal on a house and using that as an initial investment to fund a proper build down the line. Best of both worlds though you'll wait 5 years or so to get the ball rolling on the build.

Whatever you do get, make sure you would be reasonably happy to live in it for life.

Being self employed, the banks ain't keen to shell out cash to me so this will be a cash-funded exercise.
    I'm leaning towards the build idea...so long as the type/size and price of the site is right.

A Waterford man who supports Leinster eh?

I'll stand up and fight you for that remark!!!

awec carries around a little bell for just these occasions...