Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 3.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

dregin wrote: »
    Hope to jesus people don't forget what FF have done to this country in the last 20 years. Can't wait for FF & FG to just amalgamate and get it done with.

In politics, it's ancient history for most people. The fact that they doubled their seats in the last election shows that people don't really care if they think this FF leadership group is talking their language.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

Buer wrote: »
    Both FF and FG already came out last week and said they would not go into a government with SF.

Sinn Fein can make eyes all they want and claim they're ready to go into government in a coalitiion but they're still on the outside p*ssing in. I can't understand why they'd want an election at this point. They've their own leadership contest to go through yet and the unknown aspect of that surely won't increase their vote at this point.

If the numbers match up post election (they don't currently) it would not be very surprising at all for FF to come out and say in the interests of the country etc we can't keep going back to the people.

FG SF won't happen because they both genuinely hate each other. FF SF are both nationalist parties though and if it makes Martin Taoiseach, it would be foolish to rule out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Yeah_Right wrote: »
    I checked them out. Listened to them while I cooked dinner. Some songs had strains of Violent Femmes and Talking Heads (obviously nowhere near as good). Others were a bit 80s to the point I could imagine one of them with a keyboard guitar. There was a bit of The Killers and Franz Ferdinand in there and then also some highly repetitive EDM.

Overall they were alright as background music. Not really my thing and not something I'd put on but the sort I'd have no issue with.

When I hear the words dance music, I immediately think of some guy plugging his iPod in and waving his hands in the air while some female pop singer repeats the same few lines over and over. The fact LCD Soundsystem actually play instruments is a big plus.

Most of their songs are influenced by 70s & 80s funk, disco and pop as well as some early electronic music. I've often wondered do they pay for samples. Not that I care really as they do it so well that the tracks are completely different animals than what they borrow from.

Their gigs at the Picnic last year and in the Olympia this year were epic. Raging I'll be away for Malahide Castle next year
    Listen to Home by LCD Soundsystem. Get annoyed by how there's nothing there. Keep listening all the way through. Wait 5 minutes and listen to it again. Fall in love with the simple trick of progressively adding layer by layer until you have an absolutely stonking tune.

Forgot about Home. Such a happy song

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭Rigor Mortis

With all that said, Varadkar has missed an opportunity to come out with some sort of boost in terms of PR by sacking Fitzgerald on this matter. He'd come across as decisive and actually taking some action in the McCabe situation. I can only hope she resigns at this point for the greater good and any election is deferred.

I find the SF motion of no confidence hilarious. Fair play to them for wanting to protect an honourable Garda like Jerry...I mean Maurice McCabe.

There isn't enough to sack Frances for this one. The point is well made above, McCabe has now taken down a Minister, two commissioners and either a second minister or a Government. All the while the current acting Commissioner states he wont be disciplining Gardai for the mass systematic corruption of the breath testing corruption. Why, because to do so would stretch Garda resources too thin. Translated as - the GRA have told me if I so much as touch a hair on the head of one guard there will be hell to pay.

Hope to jesus people don't forget what FF have done to this country in the last 20 years. Can't wait for FF & FG to just amalgamate and get it done with.

Don't see them ever amalgamating, why would they? They're the two biggest parties in the State and there has never been a govt without one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

ClanofLams wrote: »
    I wouldn't rule out FF going in with SF. Martin would accept it to be Taoiseach.

I'd be shocked if anyone would go into bed with SF.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Don't see them ever amalgamating, why would they? They're the two biggest parties in the State and there has never been a govt without one of them.

The problem in a nutshell. They'd obviously never do it by choice.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/o-herlihy-says-fine-gael-and-fianna-f%C3%A1il-should-come-together-1.1505260

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Yeah, get a room you two!

Seriously though, politics in this (and any other country) is really just a big joke at this point. People who are meant to lead are meant to set a good example. Just watch any of the goings on in the Dail at almost any stage and it's that petty two faced hypocritical teenage like sniping. Constantly.

This whole situation for me is ridiculous. Does anyone out on the street actually care? Anyone? And yet we have 2 parties willing to bring down the Government over it at a really bad time for the country? If ever FF and SF should be told to f off it is now.

Mind you at least one of them should have been told that long before now so I won't be holding my breath.

FF SF are both nationalist parties though and if it makes Martin Taoiseach, it would be foolish to rule out.

They may both be nationalist parties technically but there's pretty much zero in common between them.

I'd eat my hat if they entertained it. FF held a vote at their ardfheis this year which specifically said they would not go into coalition with SF. Martin cannot break that vote; if he did, there would be a mutiny from party membership.

I'd be shocked if anyone would go into bed with SF.

Why? If FG and FF are both around 50 odd or even if FF move a little ahead and SF have the seats to put Martin as Taoiseach, what are they gonna do?

FG won't do a confidence and supply if they feel they have been shafted here. So it would be FF SF or another election. Martin will be choosing between being Taoiseach or another roll of the dice. With some in FF probably starting to mutter that with a fresh leader untainted from the 2000s they could do even better. So potentially Martins one shot.

It's even more likely if Adams is out of the way. Mary Lou was in ogra FF sure.
    I'm not saying it will happen, I actually think FG will do well and FF will regret this in an election. But I wouldn't rule out the above.

That's what I said; he has "missed an opportunity" :confused:

At this point, it needs to be a resignation from Fitzgerald or nothing.

Ah sorry, I missed that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Waterford Whispers have nailed it again with this one:

Nation Urges FG & FF To Quit This Ross And Rachel Bullsh**

SF the "Gunther" of the group! :D

They may both be nationalist parties technically but there's pretty much zero in common between them.

I'd eat my hat if they entertained it. FF held a vote at their ardfheis this year which specifically said they would not go into coalition with SF. Martin cannot break that vote; if he did, there would be a mutiny from party membership.

Coalitions have been done between parties further apart than these two, SF are left wing and FF centrist. I don't think the numbers will add up in any case but if they do, I wouldn't rule it out.

• Administrators Posts: 55,090 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

errlloyd wrote: »
    I've a 90s era apartment, and I wanna buy Hue light bulbs on black Friday. Problem is I'm in China and don't know which type of bulb get. If I get the wrong ones, I'll adverts them.

Anyone know which is a safer bet, Bayonets or E27?
    Bought a Hue light today myself, one of the standalone lamps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

I don't think that Mary Lou would give much of a new-leader boost to SF's poll results tbh. Has she ever come across as particularly likeable to non-Shinners?

Teferi wrote: »
    I don't think that Mary Lou would give much of a new-leader boost to SF's poll results tbh. Has she ever come across as particularly likeable to non-Shinners?

She's the leader in waiting but I really wouldn't rule out someone like Pearse Doherty who is a pretty competent and savvy operator (yes, the benchmark for success in Irish politics is "competent").

For all the dislike of Adams, the guy is quite charismatic and engaging. He has been a great leader for the party and, his past aside (a minor detail), will be a tough act to follow for the next leader.

There probably won't be a contest in SF though? Even if Doherty wanted to have a crack. Up north Adams and McGuinness just decided it was Michelle O'Neill taking over, guessing SF will do likewise here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Don Kiddick

I wouldn't rule out FF going in with SF. Martin would accept it to be Taoiseach.

He'd be hung by his balls after SinnFein screw him for ministries .. finance is wnwt they want...and I'm not sure Pearce Doherty can count past 10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Sephiral

Mary Lou is the next leader. Pearse is too useful as an orator sticking knifes into the other parties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭Rigor Mortis

She's the leader in waiting but I really wouldn't rule out someone like Pearse Doherty who is a pretty competent and savvy operator (yes, the benchmark for success in Irish politics is "competent").

For all the dislike of Adams, the guy is quite charismatic and engaging. He has been a great leader for the party and, his past aside (a minor detail), will be a tough act to follow for the next leader.

I reckon Pearse has been told he isn't getting the gig.

Adams going for anyone competent is worth 2-3% bump in an election result for SF. Its the drop in support that they get every election from the moment it is called to the day of polling. It happens every time. This is the period in which people move from thinking they might vote SF to actually marking their ballot paper. People of a certain age in SF have a problem with voting SF when it comes to it.

He'd be hung by his balls after SinnFein screw him for ministries .. finance is wnwt they want...and I'm not sure Pearce Doherty can count past 10

Just checked and he has a degree in civil engineering. I'm fairly sure that would require a reasonably decent ability to count. Baseless mud slinging like this is exactly what's wrong with Irish/most politics.

Correction, he dropped out. No degree for Pearse.

Lads, hate to do this but politics is against the forum charter. You've all been civil but we'll stop it now to ensure it doesn't descend into any arguments.

Hey guys, remember when awec was cool?

Me neither.

Hey guys, remember when awec was cool?

Me neither.

Sure do you remember where awec learned all his dance moves for his wedding:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,469 ✭✭✭kuang1

Torn between buying a house or buying a site and building my own.
    Building would be done on a tight budget but would end up being a house of my liking...is it worth the stress? Most I've spoken to say it is.
    Buying a house would be a little less expensive but would more of a practical move rather than one that my heart would be behind.

Shame the whole house bidding process lacks any transparency...recently withdrew from a bidding process only to have the agent call back 2 days later saying I could have the house for my last bid.
    2 days was enough to give me some clarity though and told him that my offer was now reduced by (approximately) 4%.
    He laughed and we said our goodbyes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Don Kiddick

Just checked and he has a degree in civil engineering. I'm fairly sure that would require a reasonably decent ability to count. Baseless mud slinging like this is exactly what's wrong with Irish/most politics.

Oops... sorry...was reading in line...didn't see the warning :)

kuang1 wrote: »
    Building would be done on a tight budget but would end up being a house of my liking...is it worth the stress? Most I've spoken to say it is.
    Buying a house would be a little less expensive but would more of a practical move rather than one that my heart would be behind.

Shame the whole house bidding process lacks any transparency...recently withdrew from a bidding process only to have the agent call back 2 days later saying I could have the house for my last bid.
    2 days was enough to give me some clarity though and told him that my offer was now reduced by (approximately) 4%.

If building is going to mean doing so on a tight budget then I would say don't build.

The build will not be done within the initial budget and you really need to do your homework on the builders as there are SO many cowboys out there.

kuang1 wrote: »

You in Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Synode wrote: »
    Online? Have you a link?

https://www.mixcloud.com/Hask/deep-house-011/