dregin wrote: » Hope to jesus people don't forget what FF have done to this country in the last 20 years. Can't wait for FF & FG to just amalgamate and get it done with.
Buer wrote: » Both FF and FG already came out last week and said they would not go into a government with SF. Sinn Fein can make eyes all they want and claim they're ready to go into government in a coalitiion but they're still on the outside p*ssing in. I can't understand why they'd want an election at this point. They've their own leadership contest to go through yet and the unknown aspect of that surely won't increase their vote at this point.
Yeah_Right wrote: » I checked them out. Listened to them while I cooked dinner. Some songs had strains of Violent Femmes and Talking Heads (obviously nowhere near as good). Others were a bit 80s to the point I could imagine one of them with a keyboard guitar. There was a bit of The Killers and Franz Ferdinand in there and then also some highly repetitive EDM. Overall they were alright as background music. Not really my thing and not something I'd put on but the sort I'd have no issue with. When I hear the words dance music, I immediately think of some guy plugging his iPod in and waving his hands in the air while some female pop singer repeats the same few lines over and over. The fact LCD Soundsystem actually play instruments is a big plus.
pickarooney wrote: » Listen to Home by LCD Soundsystem. Get annoyed by how there's nothing there. Keep listening all the way through. Wait 5 minutes and listen to it again. Fall in love with the simple trick of progressively adding layer by layer until you have an absolutely stonking tune.
Buer wrote: » With all that said, Varadkar has missed an opportunity to come out with some sort of boost in terms of PR by sacking Fitzgerald on this matter. He'd come across as decisive and actually taking some action in the McCabe situation. I can only hope she resigns at this point for the greater good and any election is deferred. I find the SF motion of no confidence hilarious. Fair play to them for wanting to protect an honourable Garda like Jerry...I mean Maurice McCabe.
ClanofLams wrote: » I wouldn't rule out FF going in with SF. Martin would accept it to be Taoiseach.
ClanofLams wrote: » Don't see them ever amalgamating, why would they? They're the two biggest parties in the State and there has never been a govt without one of them.
ClanofLams wrote: » FF SF are both nationalist parties though and if it makes Martin Taoiseach, it would be foolish to rule out.
thomond2006 wrote: » I'd be shocked if anyone would go into bed with SF.
Buer wrote: » That's what I said; he has "missed an opportunity" At this point, it needs to be a resignation from Fitzgerald or nothing.
Buer wrote: » They may both be nationalist parties technically but there's pretty much zero in common between them. I'd eat my hat if they entertained it. FF held a vote at their ardfheis this year which specifically said they would not go into coalition with SF. Martin cannot break that vote; if he did, there would be a mutiny from party membership.
errlloyd wrote: » I've a 90s era apartment, and I wanna buy Hue light bulbs on black Friday. Problem is I'm in China and don't know which type of bulb get. If I get the wrong ones, I'll adverts them. Anyone know which is a safer bet, Bayonets or E27?
Teferi wrote: » I don't think that Mary Lou would give much of a new-leader boost to SF's poll results tbh. Has she ever come across as particularly likeable to non-Shinners?
Buer wrote: » She's the leader in waiting but I really wouldn't rule out someone like Pearse Doherty who is a pretty competent and savvy operator (yes, the benchmark for success in Irish politics is "competent"). For all the dislike of Adams, the guy is quite charismatic and engaging. He has been a great leader for the party and, his past aside (a minor detail), will be a tough act to follow for the next leader.
Don Kiddick wrote: » He'd be hung by his balls after SinnFein screw him for ministries .. finance is wnwt they want...and I'm not sure Pearce Doherty can count past 10
Buer wrote: » Hey guys, remember when awec was cool? Me neither.
dregin wrote: » Just checked and he has a degree in civil engineering. I'm fairly sure that would require a reasonably decent ability to count. Baseless mud slinging like this is exactly what's wrong with Irish/most politics.
kuang1 wrote: » Torn between buying a house or buying a site and building my own. Building would be done on a tight budget but would end up being a house of my liking...is it worth the stress? Most I've spoken to say it is. Buying a house would be a little less expensive but would more of a practical move rather than one that my heart would be behind. Shame the whole house bidding process lacks any transparency...recently withdrew from a bidding process only to have the agent call back 2 days later saying I could have the house for my last bid. 2 days was enough to give me some clarity though and told him that my offer was now reduced by (approximately) 4%. He laughed and we said our goodbyes.
Synode wrote: » Online? Have you a link?