Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 3.0

• b.gud wrote: »
    Funny enough I was just recently in at the banks for a meeting about getting a mortgage, I'm a bit over the avg wage herself is a bit below and we were told under the new rules what we could we could get €250k. The very next sentence was don't worry about that though we can apply for an exemption for about €20k more for ye and they are pretty much always approved.

We were looking to buy an existing house but the mortgage consultant then went on to tell us about new builds that were going up near there and that we should look into the help to buy scheme and see if we could get a bit more of a deposit together with the help of our parents. By the end of the meeting she had us looking at getting a mortgage for about €40k more than we went in wanting.

It's not quite the heady days of the boom where they were sending you out with a 110% mortgage at a completely unsustainable amount but there certainly is still some pushing from the banks to get you to a borrow more

The Central Bank stipulate that only 20% of mortgage applications can be granted an exemption so someone has to be turned down anyway.

Anyway I'm going through the process myself at the moment, we've spoken to one bank only so far but they seemed to think an exemption wouldn't be a problem. I wouldn't trust any of those mortgage advisors who are employed by the banks as far as I could throw them though, they do not act in your best interests (I'm finding pretty much nobody else does either!) in this process so just be careful there.

Even with the exemption you're still going to need a 10% deposit so keep that in mind as well, if you're buying an 'old' house. If the value of the house, and hence the amount you're borrowing goes up, so does the amount you need for your deposit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,876 ✭✭✭b.gud

Well lads, is the France NZ game televised on any of the French TV channels?

Not sure but you might be better off asking here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

The thing about new builds is the lack of a bidding war which tend to happen in second hand houses.

• molloyjh wrote: »
    The thing about new builds is the lack of a biddin way which tend to happen in second hand houses.

I'm guessing biddin way = bidding war but yes at the moment we know what the max we can pay for a house is so we're looking for houses about 5-10% below that, because there's almost no point in looking at houses that are actually advertised at what we can afford. I suppose there's no harm in throwing a bid in but would need literally no other interest.

• Speaking of mortgages, arranged a callback from BOI at 7:30 tonight, got two texts confirming it, and they never bothered to ring me. Then a month or two back arranged a meeting with one of the KBC mortgage advisors in one of their branches and the guy didn't show up. Is customer service that bad in the banks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

Atmosphere in the Aviva on a different level. Get in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

85mins of defending
    HONTAFUQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Very special atmosphere

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

80 minutes to go

Aviva sounds mental

On the mortgage front something not many are aware of is that some of the bigger credit unions now do them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,546 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

Very special atmosphere
    Very lively game. Could be watching rugby. :D

What a goal from Eriksson

Well that didn't last long. :(

Think I'll switch channels, the lights in my house seem to be attracting the ball to the Irish net.

• Administrators Posts: 55,084 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Denmark are technically superior to Ireland in every way. They look comfortable on the ball, Ireland don’t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

I’m sad now

That's the end of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

danishbucsfan is currently departing the Aviva to watch rally driving on TV somewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Don Kiddick

I swore I heaed someone singing "Are you Tampa Bay in disguise"

Jesus that's schoolboy stuff, who in gods name stops a ball like that in the box. Amateur hour.

The fecking Boks only scored 3.. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,002 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I don't want to sound like a smart arse but are most of these lads on a minimum of 25 - 30 grand a week?

Why can they not execute the basic skills? Crossing the ball - goes waist height for 10 metres. Taking a shot at goal - ball gets belted 10 feet wide and 10 feet high. Pass to team mate - ball ends up being too far in front of player.

Surely to God these lads must have the basic skills or they wouldn't get to where they are. Should a professional footballer not hit the target with at least 90% of his efforts and not the 10% that seems to be the norm?

Would we accept the same mediocrity from the rugby lads if say our out half had a 40% ratio off the tee?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Times like these (which is quite often to be honest) I'm glad I didn't grow up a football fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Sver lining: No summer clickbait for J*e.ie

• Administrators Posts: 55,084 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

mfceiling wrote: »
    I don't want to sound like a smart arse but are most of these lads on a minimum of 25 - 30 grand a week?

Why can they not execute the basic skills? Crossing the ball - goes waist height for 10 metres. Taking a shot at goal - ball gets belted 10 feet wide and 10 feet high. Pass to team mate - ball ends up being too far in front of player.

Surely to God these lads must have the basic skills or they wouldn't get to where they are. Should a professional footballer not hit the target with at least 90% of his efforts and not the 10% that seems to be the norm?

Would we accept the same mediocrity from the rugby lads if say our out half had a 40% ratio off the tee?

All about the coaching and tactics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,002 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

awec wrote: »
    All about the coaching and tactics.

Yeah but no amount of coaching or tactics can make you drop in perfect crosses every time. Some of the crosses tonight you'd see at an under 8's on a Sunday morning. Is crossing the ball so difficult for players of a professional ability?

mfceiling wrote: »
    Yeah but no amount of coaching or tactics can make you drop in perfect crosses every time. Some of the crosses tonight you'd see at an under 8's on a Sunday morning. Is crossing the ball so difficult for players of a professional ability?
    I saw some lovely passes early in the game. Good movement with the passes and all. It just fell apart when the Danes got the equaliser.

Bit of pressure and the skills fall down.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 392 ✭✭Didactic Ninja

eriksen bankrupted banter.ie one goal at a time. delighted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

The RTÉ analysts live in cloud cuckoo land. Reality is Ireland don't have the talent to play an attractive style of football and would get passed off the park.

They keep banging on about Wes Hoolahan like he's Christian Eriksen, he's a 35 year old Championship footballer who isn't always on the team sheet. Not disrespecting him, good player and probably Ireland's best 'natural' footballer.

Also amazes me that Brady constantly pushes for his inclusion and is never asked why he was so often not picked when Brady was part of the set up. I know it was probably Traps call but at least acknowledge it.

Tony O'Donoghue a terrible interviewer too. Asking McClean who is in tears if 'heart and spirit isn't enough'. What does he expect him to say? You're right there Tony, we are ****e sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Sver lining: No summer clickbait for J*e.ie

No sh1te about how we're the best fans in the world, and look even the Russian hooligans saw how much craic we were and joined the party. And no Irish fans embarrassing the rest of us by harassing women shopping in underwear shops in the name of "banter".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,469 ✭✭✭kuang1

Zzippy wrote: »
    No sh1te about how we're the best fans in the world, and look even the Russian hooligans saw how much craic we were and joined the party. And no Irish fans embarrassing the rest of us by harassing women shopping in underwear shops in the name of "banter".

No arguments here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,548 ✭✭✭swiwi_

Lads, you've finally made it! Your rugby team is consistently one of the best in the world...while your soccer team is just a little bit rubbish. The Irish - honorary New Zealanders :D