Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland Team Talk/Gossip/Rumour Thread VIII - ** MOD NOTE POST #4781 **

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 511 ✭✭✭RichieRich89

No, the argument that they pick the team based on who is paid the most by position does not make any sense. Noone made that argument.

It's what you get to if you take your argument to its logical conclusion. Picking a player because they're paying him wouldn't make sense if you didn't also pick the player who is earning more than his competitors for the jersey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

durthacht wrote: »
    With everything being geared towards the World Cup, the best move would be to deselect Zebo forthwith and not consider him for international selection henceforth. There's no point building towards the future with a player who is unlikely to be picked when RWC 2019 comes around. O'Halloran, Ludik, Nelson and Carbery are good options.

Don't see many forthwiths or henceforths around here.

What I want to know is where the concurrentlys and the ergos are.

the-source-copy.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

It's what you get to if you take your argument to its logical conclusion. Picking a player because they're paying him wouldn't make sense if you didn't also pick the player who is earning more than his competitors for the jersey.

Only if you misunderstand the original point. This is a straw man.

Ireland's priority over the next 6 months will be to win a grand slam. It'll be miles ahead of any other target. And they will pick anyone in the country who helps them do that unless it's a 50/50 decision, which looks extremely unlikely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭clsmooth

Any chance we could see Henshaw back at 15 in the future with Zebo out of the (long term) picture? Aki and Ringrose as 12/13? I think Carbery will be given a chance to lock down 15 for 2019, but if he doesn’t take it, Henshaw could find himself back there. Good news for Ross Byrne as he’ll get more time at 10 with Carbery at 15 for Leinster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

durthacht wrote:
    Don't see many forthwiths or henceforths around here.

Notwithstanding our best efforts heretofore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,021 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Shame to see him go from an Ireland POV. A significant blow to Munster mind.

No doubt he will still be selected for the squad for the remainder of the season. Not sure what the take will be on the Australia tour. The emergence of Stockdale and Carbery ought to soften the blow for Ireland.

I wonder whether the IRFU will be a bit more lenient come the WC on overseas players as presumably they would have full access to Zebo once the Top 14 has finished in June 2019.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,861 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

clsmooth wrote: »
    Any chance we could see Henshaw back at 15 in the future with Zebo out of the (long term) picture? Aki and Ringrose as 12/13? I think Carbery will be given a chance to lock down 15 for 2019, but if he doesn’t take it, Henshaw could find himself back there. Good news for Ross Byrne as he’ll get more time at 10 with Carbery at 15 for Leinster.
    I think there's zero chance Henahaw moves to 15. Never played there for Ireland and won't play there for Leinster for either. His best position is in the centres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

Clegg wrote: »
    I think there's zero chance Henahaw moves to 15. Never played there for Ireland and won't play there for Leinster for either. His best position is in the centres.

He has started at full back for Ireland and in fact I think he has on more than one occasion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

I'd still pick Zebo until the RWC tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

thebaz wrote: »
    he'd be well paid if he stayed too - terrible loss for our WC , just for a few extra euros - if he left post WC I'd say - fair play too - but not now.

We'll still make the QF of the world cup with or without him

Bazzo wrote: »

He has started at full back for Ireland and in fact I think he has on more than one occasion.
    Really, when? I'm not being antagonistic here, it's just I can't recall him ever starting a game for Ireland at full back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,741 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Really, when? I'm not being antagonistic here, it's just I can't recall him ever starting a game for Ireland at full back.

Started FB against the US in 2013.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭Wegians89

His debut in America

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,991 ✭✭✭jacothelad

I'd still pick Zebo until the RWC tbh.
    Have you changed pyjama suppliers? Fickle......much. :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

With everything being geared towards the World Cup, the best move would be to deselect Zebo forthwith and not consider him for international selection henceforth. There's no point building towards the future with a player who is unlikely to be picked when RWC 2019 comes around. O'Halloran, Ludik, Nelson and Carbery are good options.

Leinster picking Ben Teo really hurt Ringrose's career

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭FellasFellas

Niall Scannell out of action with broken thumb, Tracey doesnt cut the mustard for me at International level so is it going to be a recall for Strauss as the 3rd choice or will JS go Heffernan/McCartney?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Somewhat of a loss for Munster, no loss for Ireland really. Took advantage of Joe-time and did develop his game to be fair, so hope it works out for him.
    We will always have the heal-flick recovery that time he over-ran the ball against Wales.
    Cheers Zeebs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Niall Scannell out of action with broken thumb, Tracey doesnt cut the mustard for me at International level so is it going to be a recall for Strauss as the 3rd choice or will JS go Heffernan/McCartney?

JS will pick Tracy in extended squad IMO

Strauss is absolutely miles away from being in the squad. Any of TracyTray-Z, Heffernan, Herring, McCartney and probably more should be ahead of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

Would like to see Heffernan come in if it's 3 hookers named after best and Tracy. When is Marshall Irish qualified? Can't see it being McCartney nor do I think should it be seen as he's 32 already and hardly any sort of long term option

Bridge93 wrote: »
    Would like to see Heffernan come in if it's 3 hookers named after best and Tracy. When is Marshall Irish qualified? Can't see it being McCartney nor do I think should it be seen as he's 32 already and hardly any sort of long term option

Marshall isn't qualified for another 2 years. Sean Cronin will surely feature.

Bridge93 wrote: »

Marshall won't be qualified until after the WC....
    Munster aren't short of hookers.... Mike Sherry for a recall :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

Bazzo wrote: »
    Marshall isn't qualified for another 2 years. Sean Cronin will surely feature.

Totally forgot Cronin, no idea why. Yeah he'll bench behind Best in the bigger games I'd assume. Tracy or Heffernan to start the Fiji one for me. No real qualms either way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭gleesonisgod

How is McCartney not a long term option if he's only 32?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭gleesonisgod

Henshaw will be FB in the 6N.

Aki a much better 12 and Ringer a better 13.

Henshaw and Ringrose will stay at 12 and 13. Aki may replace one of them, but I don't see either changing position to accommodate, one will fall to the bench if that's the case.

Ringer?!.... Can we not just settle on either
    Ringtone.
    or
    Rosie..

Henshaw is being vastly underrated here. He's the best 12 on the island.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

Henshaw's a better 13 than 12. I didn't see the Leinster game last weekend but his performance at 13 the week before was the best I have seen him play for Leinster.

It will be interesting to see what happens if Aki and Henshaw tear it up v South Africa.

He was the best IQ 12 before Aki became(or becomes in a few days...) qualified alright.

Whether he is after is entirely subjective.