Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Off down the yard now, still windy but nothing out of the normal.

That could change once I hit the yard though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,809 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Off down the yard now, still windy but nothing out of the normal.

That could change once I hit the yard though.

Have you still power?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

whelan2 wrote: »
    Have you still power?

Power went down. Got generator going, came back on. Left Genny going. Sods law would guarantee that power would go in the middle of milking otherwise. Genny here almost 40 years. One of the best investments in machinery ever. I still remember the lad collecting it rearing the front wheels of a 188 of the ground leaving the yard where we bought it. Nothing like the modern ones. Only around 35kva but the windings are almost 2ft diameter.

Glanbia have suspended all milk collections, my milk tank wont know whats happening if we are not collected tomorrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Have you still power?
    Yeah, just finished now. The power cut out once or twice during the day but back again straight away. Just a blustery wind out now and a bit of drizzle.

Glanbia have suspended all milk collections, my milk tank wont know whats happening if we are not collected tomorrow

Milk collected as normal at 4am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

70% of sfp in a/c this am.

Thanks to Min. Creed and his hardworking staff. :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,287 ✭✭✭alps

Postman at 8.30, Ration at 9.30 and milk lorry on time and up to date on his collections....great effort by the people of this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Milk lorry man rang last night at half 10 asking was road blocked, I said theres a tree down the road alright, only me and one other guy for milk on this very quiet by road, but the tree was between us so had to approach from both ends, bit of a pain I know but no putting him out too much to be fair I think seen as it's once in years, so cane out this morning, milk gone but the sulky hoor never turned on the wash on the tank 😡

simx wrote: »
    Milk lorry man rang last night at half 10 asking was road blocked, I said theres a tree down the road alright, only me and one other guy for milk on this very quiet by road, but the tree was between us so had to approach from both ends, bit of a pain I know but no putting him out too much to be fair I think seen as it's once in years, so cane out this morning, milk gone but the sulky hoor never turned on the wash on the tank 😡

They're getting their chains well yanked by the processors though. No leeway with two day and three day milk with glanbia anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Signpost

Talked enough about doing it, any recommendations on a generator for farm? What size would be needed in general for a farm? Don't need to have everything running at the same time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭Snowfire

Signpost wrote: »
    Talked enough about doing it, any recommendations on a generator for farm? What size would be needed in general for a farm? Don't need to have everything running at the same time

Bought a 25kva one bout 10 years ago from Bradley's of portlaoise. Pto driven one. It has its own little insulated shed, bolted down to concrete. just a big master switch to change from Esb mains to genny. It gets used few times ever year. Good to have the peace of mind to know milking can be done at milking time.

Generator.....an absolutely vital piece of kit for a dairy farm.,.

Should be included in TAMS.......as important as many of the items included...

alps wrote: »
    Generator.....an absolutely vital piece of kit for a dairy farm.,.

Should be included in TAMS.......as important as many of the items included...

+1. Genny is a vital piece of kit.

But do you have to get grant aided for every-feckin-thing??

Lowest CoP dairy in the world...once all investment is grant aided. Ffs.

Rant over.

Rant over.

Highest living costs in the world though....😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,731 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Rant over.

Lowest cop in world ......there’s a research farm in kk with pure grass and bit of meal fed ,no sheds worth talking about no parlour feeders fully costed Labour etc etc mid 30s cop hardly cheap then again our advisory body shovel out profit monitor ****e that will shown a cop on elite farms of less than 20 but land is free ,Labour is free ,capital repayments are left out etc etc

Highest living costs in the world though....😉

Coke and hooker prices tracking milk price??

If so gov should step in and sort it...Big Phil is supposed to be taking on the supermarkets atm, why not tackle the drug and sex industry at same time?

Signpost wrote: »

Pto driven here but if I was buying today I'd look seriously at a self contained unit. Pita hooking up tractors esp if you're not really thinking through where you are siting generator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,573 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Pto driven here but if I was buying today I'd look seriously at a self contained unit. Pita hooking up tractors esp if you're not really thinking through where you are siting generator.
    Is a tractor generator not a much simpler system though, and a lot cheaper? Looking into one for 3 point linkage that can be stored in workshop untill needed. Self contained unit for 40kva would be an expensive unit I'd imagine and you'd worry it would give trouble starting up if not used that much.

Rant over.

Pot and kettle dawg. Profile of a French suckler farmer in last week's comic. 300k shed built with a 200k grant.

Not gov grant. Grant from processor, I would think...would you sign a contract for 15 to 25yrs with your processor for a 66% grant? I wouldn't.
    The only grant that's available to me is for chicken houses at 45%, with a 25yr contract. No thanks.
    Poor old moi...no pot, no kettle. :)

Fyi never got a grant in my life!

I'd prefer a tractor driven genny. We used to hire in a fairly large engine driven one for the grain drying campaign at home and they were not hassle free.
    I've two here. A 35kva which any little tractor could drive and a 135kva that needs a good 160hp at the pto to drive. At least I'm sure that my tractors are in good order but it's hard to guarantee that the donkey engine is going to start etc when only used a few times a year.

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Lowest cop in world ......there’s a research farm in kk with pure grass and bit of meal fed ,no sheds worth talking about no parlour feeders fully costed Labour etc etc mid 30s cop hardly cheap then again our advisory body shovel out profit monitor ****e that will shown a cop on elite farms of less than 20 but land is free ,Labour is free ,capital repayments are left out etc etc

Are you sure about greenfields cop?
    Maybe they're paying through the nose for land rent?

I was reading last night where the German cop is 41cpl. How in Gods name did they allow it get to that....and they're the Eu biggest producer!

Ebidta I reckon is the fairest metric for comparing cop in different farms.
    It shows profitability and repayment capacity...I hate seeing the Irish spin about no labor-no borrowings. That translates to no future ( in my book!).

I find it hard to read the milk price thread on boards. 36cpl and still moaning!!

I was reading last night where the German cop is 41cpl. How in Gods name did they allow it get to that....and they're the Eu biggest producer!

It shows profitability and repayment capacity...I hate seeing the Irish spin about no labor-no borrowings. That translates to no future ( in my book!).

I find it hard to read the milk price thread on boards. 36cpl and still moaning!!

They're moaning because some have gone to 37........dum de dum...
    While others are still on 35

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Pity about ye. Some of us aren't as well off as you or getting a SFP from a country they're not actively farming in.
    2c is 2c. We all work hard enough and deserve to get what our hard work is worth. They'll all drop it as soon as possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,731 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Yes fully costed 36/37 cent a liter give or take ,that figure rarely talked about instead we’ll hear the highly flawed but much better sounding profit monitor figure which is somewhere around 20 cent and maby below this is not a cheap country to produce milk well maby not unless we get hold of jack Kennedy’s calculator !!!!!!
    We have a huge advantage in our grass growing ability ,nice green image but we pump milk into commodities

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Signpost

I have PTO system for parlour but have no cooling or water without power is why I want the option of a genny. Based on location I can see more and more occasions where I could loose power so I think its a solid investment.
    Everyone selling them tries to tell you that you need something big enough to power a small city, don't see my logic that I don't have to have everything on together :/
    What kind of price bracket would a 20 KVA either PTO or engine powered be coming in at? Can vat be claimed back if its bolted to the ground?

Not gov grant. Grant from processor, I would think...would you sign a contract for 15 to 25yrs with your processor for a 66% grant? I wouldn't.
    The only grant that's available to me is for chicken houses at 45%, with a 25yr contract. No thanks.
    Poor old moi...no pot, no kettle. :)

Fyi never got a grant in my life!

Not you personally dawg but French farming in general seems to have a fairly high "cos I'm worth it" metric and ****e au coq if anyone dares to differ.

Pity about ye. Some of us aren't as well off as you or getting a SFP from a country they're not actively farming in.
    2c is 2c. We all work hard enough and deserve to get what our hard work is worth. They'll all drop it as soon as possible

I don't claim any sfp in Ireland and haven't done for years. I'm certainly not well off either unless you consider substantial debt as wealth.

Yes 2c is 2c, but why the constant moaning??
    It'd be refreshing to read just ONE post that says, truthfully, that we're raking it in.

It must be fair difficult reading for non dairy farmers to read the milk price thread.