Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

I don't know the first thing about it, but is it safe to open so soon?

I don't think a silage pit would be.

Small amounts first and build up. Used to keep the last trailer separate and cover it and feed it out first had no issues untill the cows found out and destroyed it one evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

I don't know the first thing about it, but is it safe to open so soon?

I don't think a silage pit would be.

No issue at all. Can be fed straight away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,864 ✭✭✭visatorro

Mooooo wrote: »
    Fcuking hate bales

Different fella made bales here this year. They are chopped. Not liking the way they fall apart and trap netting and /or plastic. Handy graped in thou!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

No issue at all. Can be fed straight away.

Careful now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

kowtow wrote: »
    Still no power, water, phone signal here. Mobile signal 3 miles away.

Pulling gennys around between farms and somehow managing to get everyone milked once a day.

Very few able to cool milk though.

Back on at last.

Knackered, and the house now a bit flooded as well, but my God without even phones, let alone power or water, to get in the way this has been a happy and hardworking parish the last few days.

kowtow wrote: »
    Back on at last.

Knackered, and the house now a bit flooded as well, but my God without even phones, let alone power or water, to get in the way this has been a happy and hardworking parish the last few days.

If there's an upside to any crisis, it's the way the community can pull together and muddle through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Mooooo wrote: »
    Fcuking hate bales

I'm buying a bale shear. The thought of the other option could leave me with a heap of rotting bales and hungry cows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Electricity back here just there, Genny gave in, are they expensive to fix? Mt bridge for the house and two corrugated pipes were taken away with the flood today, one problem to the next.

Careful now...

What should I not do ? 🙈

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Electricity back here just there, Genny gave in, are they expensive to fix? Mt bridge for the house and two corrugated pipes were taken away with the flood today, one problem to the next.
    Once you and yours are around to complain, it's not too bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

I'm buying a bale shear. The thought of the other option could leave me with a heap of rotting bales and hungry cows.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057074601

What should I not do ? 🙈

Feed hot cooking maize, without precautions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭stretch film

Have you your research done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭stretch film

visatorro wrote: »
    Different fella made bales here this year. They are chopped. Not liking the way they fall apart and trap netting and /or plastic. Handy graped in thou!

Stopped raising bales off the ground here for cutting. Thought it was dangerous with chopped and inevitably net got caught up.

What I do now is spike bale with tine grab on the flat face .
    Drop wherever its needed and turn it around with loader so it's now facing the grab on the round.
    I run a Stanley around the bale through net and all but not cutting edge nearest grab.
    Peel plastic/net back over bale .
    Put tines under bale and roll if over leaving plastic and net on the tines and bale intact and rarely any pesky net issues ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭Snowfire

Cows in tonight here getting their first taste of baled silage since last march. Have a feeling it will be a while before they get taste of grass again. Still have good covers of grass, but ground saturated after today's rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

kevthegaff wrote: »

If it's a smaller sized machine might be the capacitor used to get over the big spike inloads like starting a big motor(for the genies size). One of the lads in work does odd jobs fixing things of a Saturday in winter it's what checks first. Find same thing in a water pump etc

Mike Brady, Brady consulting, on Newstalk...dairying is 8-10 times more profitable than any other farming enterprise.
    Farms with no successor should rent/partnership with dairy farms.

Very balanced opinions from a farm consultant...it sounded like an infomercial...

Great to see independent consultants towing the establishment line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

Mike Brady, Brady consulting, on Newstalk...dairying is 8-10 times more profitable than any other farming enterprise.
    Farms with no successor should rent/partnership with dairy farms.

Very balanced opinions from a farm consultant...it sounded like an infomercial...

Great to see independent consultants towing the establishment line.

From reading that lads articles in FI he seems to be getting carried away. Most sensible people will make their own minds up. The new entrants i know are happy with their decisions but dont have any expectations of making millions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Not too bad considering yesterday's rain. We got 13mm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

when are you going to graze it:confused:

Cow with broken stifle.

Cows out grazing with a fortnight (indoors since June) and got 10mm last night so extremely greasy...feckin hate waste like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,287 ✭✭✭alps

He's absolutely right.

What's 8 times 0...?

alps wrote: »
    He's absolutely right.

What's 8 times 0...?

Zero!

He must be spending too much time reading the boards milk price thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,727 ✭✭✭straight

Hi lads. I'm just putting in a volume washer for my parlour. 12 units. Do ye think a retractable reel down the pit or maybe 3 drops in the pit would be better?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

straight wrote: »
    Hi lads. I'm just putting in a volume washer for my parlour. 12 units. Do ye think a retractable reel down the pit or maybe 3 drops in the pit would be better?
    Both?

Having the reel is handy to tidy it away during milking. I also have drop downs every 4 units for washing after milking and washing away the odd sh!te during milking. And put in a valve at the beginning of the drop down line so you can stop the water if you want to replace a tap. Don't use Jubilee clips if you can avoid them, use the Philmac fittings as they last way longer than the jubilee clips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Autumn calving started proper 2night1 bb bull and 2 fr bulls. Heifer had one of the fr bulls and he was bigger than the blue from the cow. Must check the sire see if I have any others in calf to him. 4 altogether now including my premature calf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,809 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Are most cows indoors now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

whelan2 wrote: »

No stock in bar 5 left to calve

whelan2 wrote: »

Cows in the last few nights. Probably going to stay in fulltime soon. Lots of grass left though for ICH and weanlings

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Maybe someone has posed this question already but the cows have taken aserious drop passed few days with milking once a day and off grass and im giving thought to staying once aday if there isnt forcast of good weather.am i mad given the price of milk