Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Arcade and Retro Chat - Insert Coin -

Lost three slates during the height of it, thankfully that's all the damage that was done.
    Still though those poor bastards had only two days left to retirement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭Nerdkiller1991

You lads got so wrapped up on the storm yesterday that you forgot the biggest retro news of the year.

https://www.analogue.co/pages/super-nt/

HDMI out only, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭Jack burton

I was honestly expecting a bigger price tag.

I am tempted alright. Might treat myself, just for the clear case model. Not enough consoles are clear case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,406 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

'It is the definitive way to explore Nintendo's 16-bit era'

Actually, the 'definitive' way is with an actual bloody snes... :pac: - you'd swear they didn't work anymore.

o1s1n wrote: »

Actually, the 'definitive' way is with an actual bloody snes... :pac: - you'd swear they didn't work anymore.

Real SNES doesn't have HDMI out though! :pac:

Master of the Universe

Real SNES doesn't have HDMI out though! :pac:

HDMI out is not definitive Snes! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭Nerdkiller1991

o1s1n wrote: »

Does the Snezz come with a BIOS to fiddle with to your heart's content? No? Didn't think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭Inviere

The definitive way to play the Snes, and indeed it's retro brethren, is original hardware, on a 28" Sony Trinitron tv via RGB. Sadly, definitive is no longer practical for most, so an fpga replica with hdmi out and scanlines goodness, will likely take the top spot in terms of accuracy, compatibility, practicality, and pretty much everything else. Hell, it's likely you'll be able to load roms from an SD card on this too, so no need for an Everdrive. It ticks pretty much ALL of the boxes in the eyes of the majority of people.

Master of the Universe

Does the Snezz come with a BIOS to fiddle with to your heart's content? No? Didn't think so.

Why would you want the Snes to come with a bios you can fiddle with when it's already perfect? :pac:
    Inviere wrote: »
    The definitive way to play the Snes, and indeed it's retro brethren, is original hardware, on a 28" Sony Trinitron tv via RGB. Sadly, definitive is no longer practical for most, so an fpga replica with hdmi out and scanlines goodness, will likely take the top spot in terms of accuracy, compatibility, practicality, and pretty much everything else. Hell, it's likely you'll be able to load roms from an SD card on this too, so no need for an Everdrive. It ticks pretty much ALL of the boxes in the eyes of the majority of people.

Splitters! You're all a bunch of splitters! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,924 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

Skerries wrote: »

I follow them on twitter and missed this. They need to work on that.

At least the goal is more realistic than the £350,000 they were looking for last time.

EDIT: Oh wait. They already released the rom for this one earlier in the year. I stuck it on the Everdrive and already played it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,753 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Christ Dizzy games, I never got into those on the Spectrum, felt a little too much like Spellbound and Knight Tyme, which I was also terrible at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

I loved them. Well the first 3 anyway. They got a bit boring after Fantasy World Dizzy.

They should have kept mixing up the genres instead of just sticking him in fantasy adventures each time.

Treasure Island Dizzy is my favourite one, but the least forgiving as it has no health bar and no lives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

CEX is some rip. They seem to have really inflated prices for anything SNES related, maybe they are expecting a big interest in the SNES as a result of the mini.

Some prices:

SNES - €120
    Super Metroid big box version - €130!
    Megaman X boxed - €190! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭geotrig

They are not the best prices but just look at ebay(which they probably did) and you see what super metroid is selling for ,similar to the above ....hmm i thought that megaman was cheaper a few weeks ago :think: or maybe it was more expensive cant remember now .still would never pay their prices ... the console price is ridiculous same for the gamecube . I take sf2 turbo is gone ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Mr.Saturn

CEX is some rip. They seem to have really inflated prices for anything SNES related, maybe they are expecting a big interest in the SNES as a result of the mini.

Some prices:

SNES - €120
    Super Metroid big box version - €130!
    Megaman X boxed - €190! :eek:

I was in the one in Finglas recently and was surprised how semi-reasonable their n64 stuff was. Don't imagine that's gonna last long, mind.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,753 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

The big box version of Super Metroid, if it's complete, isn't bad at all tbh.
    Given it was about £60 on release, and taking inflation into account it'd be about £90 in punts now which would then be around €115.
    So, all in all, €130 is decent money for it.
    I'd further say, if I could check that the manual, box and game are all there intact and in decent condition, I'd snap that up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭geotrig

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    The big box version of Super Metroid, if it's complete, isn't bad at all tbh.
    Given it was about £60 on release, and taking inflation into account it'd be about £90 in punts now which would then be around €115.
    So, all in all, €130 is decent money for it.
    I'd further say, if I could check that the manual, box and game are all there intact and in decent condition, I'd snap that up!

I've seen a lot worse box wise ,the box is not perfect by any means a bit tatty around the side iirc , can't remember if it has the manual. The mega man X box is good condition but I have wondered if the box is original. Maybe it is I haven't really checked.

Tbh I still think the metronidazole is on the upper side of what people would want to pay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,355 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Mr.Saturn wrote: »
    I was in the one in Finglas recently and was surprised how semi-reasonable their n64 stuff was. Don't imagine that's gonna last long, mind.

I've been keeping an eye on their Wii U stuff, just waiting for that sweet-spot to start buying stuff up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Mr.Saturn

I've been keeping an eye on their Wii U stuff, just waiting for that sweet-spot to start buying stuff up.

Hmm. I actually think they're semi-okay for Wii U stuff once it ain't got the words 'Mario', 'Sonic' or 'Pokemon' on the front of it. Their Gamecube stuff, on the hand, is something I'm surprised to see them shift, 28 quid for Mario Sunshine comfortably registers on the nonsense scale.

Just set up my stand at the 8 bit gaming conference. Any of ye lot going make sure to say hello.

Not much setup when I left earlier but I had everything don't pretty early, nice few CRTs with consoles hooked up. Looking forward to seeing the whole place done tomorrow now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

I'm sure you all know about shpock.
    Anyone buy from them. Had a look at the spectrum stuff there https://en.shpock.com/i/WeoDaqZP4wTocVB_/?lft=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

Just set up my stand at the 8 bit gaming conference. Any of ye lot going make sure to say hello.
    Hope it's a good turn out!
    We've Omnicon on down here but didn't end up going. Weather is absolutely awful, quite a bit of flooding.

They've a Sinclair C5 too
    https://en.shpock.com/i/WYs33tIATAxRNZC-/?lft=

Could rock up to a conference on this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭KeRbDoG

Stoner wrote: »
    They've a Sinclair C5 too
    https://en.shpock.com/i/WYs33tIATAxRNZC-/?lft=

Could rock up to a conference on this!

Never knew they had been manufactured by Hoover

KeRbDoG wrote:

Yeah spotted that on the pictures too.

You've to get a new battery and charger, probably very little wrong with it after that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,291 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

KeRbDoG wrote: »

They finished the original Sinclair more or less, not their fault, but they were owed over a million pounds for the manufacturer of the feckin C5 which forced the sale to Amstrad.

I'd still love a C5 though! That's a bargain price.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭eddhorse

Not much setup when I left earlier but I had everything don't pretty early, nice few CRTs with consoles hooked up. Looking forward to seeing the whole place done tomorrow now

Balls which stand were you?

Lazer Steak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭eddhorse

Lazer Steak

Ah balls should have went around with a Boards.ie name badge

jKmwBd7.jpg

Also should have put my fat head further in (oh er matron)