Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Harvey Weinstein scandal (Mod warning in op.)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,194 ✭✭✭Spon Farmer

brevity wrote: »
    I don't know what their logic is for ignoring what he did

More allegations have come out about him recently.

Look up Victor Salva - another director who gets away with stuff. Plenty of rumours about Brian Singer as well.

I had never heard of Salva but it is astounding to think he could be back in a career and flies under the radar while Mel Gibson is still facing hostility.

It just doesn't match.

I remember allegations about Singer but wasn't the person proved to be telling lies?
    sonic85 wrote: »
    Is Weinstein just going to be the fall guy here? As in he'll take the heat and the flak and when it dies down it'll be as you were?

This stuff is rife but will the rest of the sick fcuks be outed?

There is no organised sexual harassment fraternity at play. They may brag and such to each other but Weinstein is the fall guy for what he himself has down - here won't be mass culling of dirty old men in the next few days.

Depending on the outcome, this could, hopefully, be the end of the "casting couch" in Hollywood. Producers, etc. will be running scared if a guy like Weinstein can fall, anyone can.
    anna080 wrote: »
    Mel Gibson made Anti- Semitic comments, and since Hollywood is built upon Jewish money he was shunned for that over being shunned for being a stupid aggressive drunk.

Yes, I understand that but it the bare faced gall to lynch mob a guy for that while calling for heroes return to child molester.

I don't buy into this excuse of 'afraid' of speaking up or being ruined etc. The guy is a freak and a weirdo and lots of people are now saying so. None of them had the balls to speak about it as it's been going on for years to basically protect the little thing they have going on in Hollywood. All complicit in it and they know it.

How many of these women knew there was other women in the same situation?

How many people who heard gossip knew the actual extent of it?

The fact that even when a woman is a victim and can prove what she says, she is forever tarnished with the scandal herself. How many rape cases but the woman on trial more than the deviant?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,915 ✭✭✭dogbert27

tara73 wrote: »
    beside all of this atrocities I would really like to know what brought this guy to fall. what or what not he did and who was or felt affected and had the power to call it quits with this guy.

It must be a very, very influential person or group. known to the public or not known, working behind the curtains.

we 'ordinary people' will most likely never know.

It was his brother who leaked the story to the papers so that he could take over the company

Candie wrote: »
    The balance of power was so enormously stacked against them, and abusers are careful to abuse in their lairs, safe from witness. There's also the well vocalized threat that no one would believe you, and if they did, you can't prove it, and I can ruin you.

They speak out now because there's safety in numbers, and they know for sure they're not the only ones and that they didn't overreact to what happened, other people were confused, afraid, and fearful of their futures, and with an army of other voices behind them, they'll probably be heard now in a way they didn't think they would be before.

It's not that hard to understand, should one care to try.

Yes, I was confused myself and had the attitude of why didn't they speak up, but I was pointed towards looking at better reports from those involved and it gave me a whole knew perspective.

I'm not easily upset but when I read Romola Garai's account of her experience I felt sick. She was just a kid and had a very lucky escape. I have often wondered why she hasn't cracked Hollywood but maybe it was because the disgusting pervert frightened her off.

dogbert27 wrote: »
    It was his brother who leaked the story to the papers so that he could take over the company

Is that just your conspiracy theory or is that what is being said?

Leornardo diCaprio and Sean Penn are always telling us what to do with their crusades.

What have they said on this?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,915 ✭✭✭dogbert27

Is that just your conspiracy theory or is that what is being said?

Sources to Harvey Weinstein saying it apparently:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-4969698/Harvey-prove-brother-leaked-sordid-details-press.html

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Just because Clooney was in Weinstein's social circle doesn't men he knew everything that went on. Socialising with people doesn't make you friends. And even with this well known secret, actress are saying they didn't want to speak out. Maybe Clooney didn't know because people made the same assumption you have - Clooney and Weinstein are friends so why try to talk to him about it.

Maybe Pitt never told Clooney about what happened to Paltrow? Why is Clooney in the firing line for not knowing but not Pitt, who did know something for sure.
    Oh I have no issue with asking questions of Pitt on this matter. Especially Pitt. Two of his exes were pawed by Weinstien, one refused to work with him again(Jolie).
    So it is okay okay to gossip about you and tag you as guilty by association?
    Nothing to do with gossip. If a friend of mine was surrounded by rumours of being a handsy creep and I chose to ignore those rumours even when it was an open secret in our social circle and business, damn right I'm "guilty" for not speaking up. I take personal responsibility, well... personally.
    Naive by who? Me or Affleck?
    You TBH.

Me - not in this case, I simply said it seems that McGowan has misinterpreted what Affleck said. Affleck knows it happened to her, but that doesn't mean he must have known about all the others or bears responsibility for it. Weinstein became powerful because he had certain skills in dealing with people. Is it far fetched to believe he could manipulate Affleck?
    I'd say it was more the success and folding green that did it. Put it another way, do you think he'd have remained silent if it was a lowly crew member like a set builder that had the same rumours around him? My arse he would have.
    I'm not saying for sure Clooney and Affleck didn't know, but there is no evidence that they did. Denying they knew the rumours doesn't make them guilty of anything unless you also want to accuse the women who stayed silent.
    Two different things. Though I do reserve some WTF for the number of women that said nothing, or took the money. When Judd says that this was known and talked about whenever women in the business got together, yet it's only now that a couple have actually decided(and fair play) to speak up? How many women could have avoided being pawed by this guy if they'd spoken up earlier? That said like all bullies and perverts he was clearly good at picking his victims.

And at least they did speak up and more are speaking up, yet the men, many of whom were actually going out with these women - and you can be damned sure they talked about it - are now coming out all shocked? Pardon my cynicism. Again.

Never mind how long it took the majority to actually say "oh yes terrible terrible, I'm shocked #sobrave". They waited to see which way the PR wind was blowing.
    Dragging others down is just taking the spotlight away from the guilty party.
    If this was an isolated case, yes, but it's not. This sort of carry on has and continues to go on in the entertainment(film,fashion, music) business. It's part of the fabric of it. It's a small part. The vast majority of people in the business where it's just their job like any other aren't like this, but there exists a hushed and usually protected few in positions of power who earn the big bucks that are like this. Harvey got away with this for over twenty years and that's just the stuff that has come to light so far and about him. I guarantee it's going on now, today. When it's an endemic issue in certain circles and those who inhabit those circles, or are on the periphery of them and know of it chose to remain silent because of their careers and wallets then damn right they have blame to acknowledge. The only one I've seen so far who has come close to that is Kate Winslet when she admits she heard of the rumours “I had hoped that these kind of stories were just made up rumours, maybe we have all been naive,”

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭A Little Pony

I don't buy into this excuse of 'afraid' of speaking up or being ruined etc. The guy is a freak and a weirdo and lots of people are now saying so. None of them had the balls to speak about it as it's been going on for years to basically protect the little thing they have going on in Hollywood. All complicit in it and they know it.

The balance of power was so enormously stacked against them, and abusers are careful to abuse in their lairs, safe from witness. There's also the well vocalized threat that no one would believe you, and if they did, you can't prove it, and I can ruin you.

They speak out now because there's safety in numbers, and they know for sure they're not the only ones and that they didn't overreact to what happened, other people were confused, afraid, and fearful of their futures, and with an army of other voices behind them, they'll probably be heard now in a way they didn't think they would be before.

It's not that hard to understand, should one care to try.
    Speaking out now, yes which is a waste of time. He has been at it for years, decades probably when they all knew what was going on. Don't tell me people in Hollywood didn't know, they knew rightly and they closed ranks to protect the little elite club they have.

If you are willing to sell yourself out for money then I have absolutely no sympathy for any of them, if you are willing to be abused and used like a toy then you won't be getting my sympathy when you have a mouth you can use to speak out and stand up for yourself. 

Hollywood has known he is a freak for years and no one spoke out about it until now, don't tell me multiple people didn't have similar experiences years ago too. People speak out far too late, the damage has already been done, so much so that Saville got away with his crimes as he had died. 

If all you are telling me is these people are only interested in money and profit and protecting themselves in that elite club, then as I said don't expect much sympathy from people, I can only laugh at pathetic people like Meryl Streep who is such a moralist and yet applauded Polanski who committed rape on a 13 year old and did it KNOWING those facts. 

All it tells me is Hollywood has no morals, it is full of scumbags who are willing to literally bend over backwards and take it up the ass in order to enrich themselves, no principles, no morality, no convictions in any of these so called feminist beliefs many of the leading Hollywood women talk about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Leornardo diCaprio... What have they said on this?

Too busy flying around the globe on his private jet, with VictoriaSecret models, half his age, 'saving the world from travel pollution'.

• Registered Users Posts: 85,259 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Leornardo diCaprio and Sean Penn are always telling us what to do with their crusades.

What have they said on this?

http://ew.com/movies/harvey-weinstein-stars-speaking-out/leonardo-dicaprio

"There is no excuse for sexual harassment or sexual assault — no matter who you are and no matter what profession," DiCaprio said in a statement that didn't name Weinstein. "I applaud the strength and courage of the women who came forward and made their voices heard."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭A Little Pony

How many of these women knew there was other women in the same situation?

How many people who heard gossip knew the actual extent of it?

The fact that even when a woman is a victim and can prove what she says, she is forever tarnished with the scandal herself. How many rape cases but the woman on trial more than the deviant?
    So let me get this right, leading Hollywood people exceptionally close to Weinstein in a working environment, one of the biggest names in the movie industry didn't ever hear 'rumours', or 'stories' about an absolute freak who masturbated into a plant pot and sexually harassed multiple women, they knew absolutely nothing, didn't hear a word of it? Do they take us for thick bastards or something?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,495 ✭✭✭brevity

Wibbs wrote: »
    . The only one I've seen so far who has come close to that is Kate Winslet when she admits she heard of the rumours “I had hoped that these kind of stories were just made up rumours, maybe we have all been naive,”

I thought Charlize Theron's Instagram post was pretty good.

I'd be interested to hear what Uma Thurman's thoughts are on this. She worked a lot with Tarantino and by extension Weinstein.

Whomever is hosting next year's Oscars, will they be brave to use in jokes, get Gervais to host

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

So let me get this right, leading Hollywood people exceptionally close to Weinstein in a working environment, one of the biggest names in the movie industry didn't ever hear 'rumours', or 'stories' about an absolute freak who masturbated into a plant pot and sexually harassed multiple women, they knew absolutely nothing, didn't hear a word of it? Do they take us for thick bastards or something?

Maybe they didn't realise the extent or the degree - it's entirely possible. I've worked in my job for donkeys years, bar a very select few people, I could barely tell you a thing about most people here. Sometimes there are rumours about people - but that's what they are, rumours - they may be true, they may be false. The majority of people aren't going to go screaming all sorts about their boss just because they've heard a rumour. That applies in all and any walks of life, why would actors be any different?

Just because people work together - doesn't mean they actually know each other in any real sense of the word.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Whomever is hosting next year's Oscars, will they be brave to use in jokes, get Gervais to host

Yer man, the Family Guy guy, he's already made reference to Weinstein previously at an awards ceremony. There was some laughter followed by nervous silence.
    There are also references to it in 30 Rock.

Found it, from 2013

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Yer man, the Family Guy guy, he's already made reference to Weinstein previously at an awards ceremony. There was some laughter followed by nervous silence.
    There are also references to it in 30 Rock.

Jimmy Kimmel will return as the host

• Registered Users Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Jimmy Kimmel will return as the host

He can have a nice little cry about it.

Venom wrote: »

He can joke about his buddy Matt Damon :P

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

• Registered Users Posts: 2,341 ✭✭✭tara73

al87987 wrote: »
    I am completely aware of the Italian girl story. She told her story to the police, as she had done twice before in Italy on separate cases (once with Berlusconi), so fair play to her. If she had not gotten cold feet when going to his bedroom while under surveillance then this would probably have come out years ago.

omg, this is laughable, you just demonstrated you havn't read the whole story at all.
    Don't presume I'm uninformed because I don't have the same opinion as you.
    you are uninformed, see above. How about getting the important stuff about a story and reading to the end?

And yes, you have an opinion, that's exactly what you have. I stated facts in my post, not an opinion. Do you know the difference?
    Unfortunately these are the lengths one must go to when taking on positions of power, you need indisputable evidence when going against money and influence.

Of course you have to have proof in some way, otherwise you could slander anybody with rape allegations. Let us not forget that in the eyes of the public to be accused of rape, is to be a rapist. A DA in America would not touch this case after the Strauss-Khan affair without proof/evidence.

The funny thing is evidence goes out the window in the face of insurmountable allegations which is what has happened now. Strength in numbers.

One more point: I don't like it at all when hush money is accepted as a payoff to stay quiet in these situations. Very hard to take the moral high ground when you've already put a price on your dignity, pride and indignation.

what's this whaffling? nothing to do with your former post about why you don't understand 'people don't speak up'.

Anyway, I leave it at this, doesn't make any sense to discuss with people who don't understand the point and try to distract with whaffling.

Venom wrote: »

Apt username

• Registered Users Posts: 33,270 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Oh dear....

How is this in any way comparable or related? It was for a TV show, the women agreed to it, they weren't actually feeling his genitals, it was filmed, it was in public...

I genuinely don't get what point you're trying to make.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,844 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Perhaps it was simply the weight of numbers. There are only so many out of court settlements any company will carry before questions are asked.

I can't help but think of Bill Cosby and how he's become a persona non grata.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I can only laugh at pathetic people like Meryl Streep who is such a moralist and yet applauded Polanski who committed rape on a 13 year old and did it KNOWING those facts. 
    Yep. She toasted Plolanski, a damn good director yes, but a man who under the pretence of a photoshoot drugged and had sex with and sodomised a 13 year old girl. A crime he was charged and convicted of. That's pretty much all you need to know about her (lack of) moral compass and the compass of all those other botoxed morons who gave Polanski a standing ovation that night. And her and these cretins have the hard neck to lecture the world on morality? Get off the stage. It says much about a particular darkness within the entertainment industry.

It also illustrates the drive for fame of people and in the case of child "stars" their parents. The 13 year old's mother agreed to a private shoot with Polanski. Now I sincerely doubt she would have predicted what transpired, but the need for fame and the speed at which she agreed to said private shoot says much. What's also illustrative is how some in the Hollywood legal fraternity handled it. They claimed she was a willing participant(as did Polanski) and that she was physically and emotionally mature. Yeah. A 13 year old girl.

Then look further into the music biz and its record of men sleeping with underage girls. Jimmy Page an example. David Bowie another. Yet both remain with halos intact.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Yep. She toasted Plolanski, a damn good director yes, but a man who under the pretence of a photoshoot drugged and had sex with and sodomised a 13 year old girl. A crime he was charged and convicted of. That's pretty much all you need to know about her (lack of) moral compass and the compass of all those other botoxed morons who gave Polanski a standing ovation that night. And her and these cretins have the hard neck to lecture the world on morality? Get off the stage. It says much about a particular darkness within the entertainment industry.

It also illustrates the drive for fame of people and in the case of child "stars" their parents. The 13 year old's mother agreed to a private shoot with Polanski. Now I sincerely doubt she would have predicted what transpired, but the need for fame and the speed at which she agreed to said private shoot says much. What's also illustrative is how some in the Hollywood legal fraternity handled it. They claimed she was a willing participant(as did Polanski) and that she was physically and emotionally mature. Yeah. A 13 year old girl.

Then look further into the music biz and its record of men sleeping with underage girls. Jimmy Page an example. David Bowie another. Yet both remain with halos intact.

Can't understand why Polanski gets a pass. Bowie & Page too. I'll admit I only learned of those two recently.

I guess the "art" that they have produced transcends all the crappy **** they did. A weak argument though.

Maybe people just don't care...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

David Bowie!? I'd never even heard that one, not some superfan type or anything but he's probably one of my favourite ever musicians, that's another bummer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Don't forget the thread in AH a few days ago lamenting the lack of rock stars/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

brevity wrote: »
    Can't understand why Polanski gets a pass. Bowie & Page too. I'll admit I only learned of those two recently.

I guess the "art" that they have produced transcends all the crappy **** they did. A weak argument though.

Maybe people just don't care...

With Polanski, one mitigating factor that gets mentioned is that it occurred shortly after his girlfriend was murdered by the Manson cult and he was on a massive drug bender.

Ipso wrote: »
    With Polanski, one mitigating factor that gets mentioned is that it occurred shortly after his girlfriend was murdered by the Manson cult and he was on a massive drug bender.
    Which would be one thing(if highly bloody dubious), but two other women who were IIRC 15 also came forward about his predilections for younger girls. And those incidents happened in the 70's.