Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,296 ✭✭✭J.pilkington

Giles up next, this is usually where I switch off as I'm sick of hearing about Leeds this and Leeds that.

I can't believe that they mentioned they are actually going to seek out for Giles to compare a current football situation to what would have gone on back in his Leeds days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,706 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Joe in a nut shell.

Not the first (current) NT presenter to be labelled thus:

hqdefault.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭monstermag

Not the first (current) NT presenter to be labelled thus:

hqdefault.jpg

Should've given him his own show. Who are Pat's guest's, one is Linda Martin, I can't make out the other two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

monstermag wrote: »
    Should've given him his own show. Who are Pat's guest's, one is Linda Martin, I can't make out the other two.

Louis Walsh and Brendan O'Connor? edit: It's not Louis, but it is O'Conner? No idea who the other guy is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,706 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

monstermag wrote: »
    Should've given him his own show.

We'd have the world's safest roads if he was.

Shouldn't be mocking the poor man I suppose, he's since passed away...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,647 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Giles up next, this is usually where I switch off as I'm sick of hearing about Leeds this and Leeds that.

I can't believe that they mentioned they are actually going to seek out for Giles to compare a current football situation to what would have gone on back in his Leeds days.

Still love hearing anything John Giles has to say about football. Sure, he mightn't know all the names of all the guys that are out there playing today and he does fall back a bit into tales of the glory days, but he still talks loads of sense about the game. People are too quick to dismiss him.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

I really get the impression that some people in this forum just hate everything and anything to do with radio. Same few people bitching and moaning about the same shows. Yawn.

Someone actually had a go at Joe Molloy for pronouncing the 'h' in Thomas. Jesus Christ some of you must be great craic at parties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

Faugheen wrote: »
    I really get the impression that some people in this forum just hate everything and anything to do with radio. Same few people bitching and moaning about the same shows. Yawn.

Someone actually had a go at Joe Molloy for pronouncing the 'h' in Thomas. Jesus Christ some of you must be great craic at parties.

Don't like parties because I hate most people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,524 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Faugheen wrote:

I don't know what it is or if it's uniquely Irish but I find it the most baffling thing about Boards.

Check out the the thread on unfunny Irish comedians. Apparently we've never had a funny comedian but are a nation of experts on why they're all so bad.

People are entitled to their opinion, get that but I can't figure out why people listen to a show if they hate everything about it.

I stayed away from this thread for a few weeks because I found every post was just whinge whinge whinge.
    Doesn't seem to have changed alas.

Faugheen wrote:

I don't know what it is or if it's uniquely Irish but I find it the most baffling thing about Boards.

Check out the the thread on unfunny Irish comedians. Apparently we've never had a funny comedian but are a nation of experts on why they're all so bad.

People are entitled to their opinion, get that but I can't figure out why people listen to a show if they hate everything about it.

I stayed away from this thread for a few weeks because I found every post was just whinge whinge whinge.
    Doesn't seem to have changed alas.

We don't listen to every show. That's the beauty of the podcast because (a) we can choose which show to listen to and (b) wind forward when Joe decides that he wants to talk sociopolitics. What you hear is peoples' annoyance at having to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,567 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Isn’t it the way with most things. People are far more inclined to post a negative review on TripAdvisor for example than a positive one.

I’d imagine the silent majority are more than happy / indifferent to Ger, Joe and co.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,955 ✭✭✭Raoul

Faugheen wrote: »

That was me. :cool:

If you look back through the thread I have stuck up for the lads a few times. Just sometimes the PCness can grate on me and the pompousness. I really like the show and most of the people on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

I think people need to remember what it would be like if they had to depend on RTE and Today FM for radio sports coverage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Dots1982 wrote: »
    I think people need to remember what it would be like if they had to depend on RTE and Today FM for radio sports coverage.

The world is changing. We don't need to consume media via traditional TV and radio avenues any more. That's why we don't have to depend on them because the likes of Wooly Parkinson have a platform to put out real content. I don't have a clue about what Wooly thinks about women in the workplace because when I turn his show on he talks about GAA. Why wouldn't he?

Patww79 wrote: »

I remember when newstalk did sports coverage too. Was way better than the current society sermons masquerading as sport.[/quote]

So you don't listen anymore?

Jayesdiem wrote: »

The world is changing. We don't need to consume media via traditional TV and radio avenues any more. That's why we don't have to depend on them because the likes of Wooly Parkinson have a platform to put out real content. I don't have a clue about what Wooly thinks about women in the workplace because when I turn his show on he talks about GAA. Why wouldn't he?

Indeed but when Irish sports lovers want to listen to sport on the radio what channel do they turn on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,524 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Patww79 wrote:

I think he's trying to understand the fascination with complaining about everything. All the time.

Patww79 wrote:

Or when they see everything negatively.

If they won the lotto, they'd be complaining that they had to go to Dublin to collect it.

I guess it boils down to I don't actually agree it's in decline. I think ger gilroy is a terrible gob****e at times but I like kilbane as I find him insightful and doesn't rely on dunphy or Ken early style exaggeration or gimmicks, like their GAA coverage and how they are taking the Dublin domination thing seriously and I like Joe molloy. I think his interview with Jeff & Kammy this week was excellent.

Patww79 wrote:

You hear what you want to hear.
    Sport is by its nature a social engagement. I don't think it's unreasonable that all elements are explored from time to time. They have 20+ hours a week to produce. I don't think it's in any way overly heavy on the social element.

Look at the conversation with Cora Staunton. The part discussing her mother's passing and the part sport played in her overcoming that was very interesting. Would you prefer they didn't discuss that at all?

Maybe just leave it to the banal phrases of "give it 110%", "stick with the game plan" that you get elsewhere.

Patww79 wrote:
    I don't see a problem with people not wanting a social message shoved down their throats on what used to be a very good sports show.

Sport is by its nature a social engagement. I don't think it's unreasonable that all elements are explored from time to time. They have 20+ hours a week to produce. I don't think it's in any way overly heavy on the social element.

Look at the conversation with Cora Staunton. The part discussing her mother's passing and the part sport played in her overcoming that was very interesting. Would you prefer they didn't discuss that at all?

Maybe just leave it to the banal phrases of "give it 110%", "stick with the game plan" that you get elsewhere.

I would agree with this. Parkinson does a good pod but has 2 hours to fill a week which is a very different ball game. Wooly painting himself as a tactics expert when he's never coached is a pet peeve of mine. Secondcaptains are more liberal lefty than OTB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,995 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

I guess it boils down to I don't actually agree it's in decline.
    I think it's in decline. I still download the podcast but rarely listen to it all and forward through a lot of it.
    It is very preachy and I don't like that.
    I blame Joe Molloy mostly, but Ken Early is as bad on Second Captains. McDevitt realises that and keeps him in check a bit

I guess it boils down to I don't actually agree it's in decline.
    I think it's in decline. I still download the podcast but rarely listen to it all and forward through a lot of it.
    It is very preachy and I don't like that.
    I blame Joe Molloy mostly, but Ken Early is as bad on Second Captains. McDevitt realises that and keeps him in check a bit

Can't say I've noticed anyone checking anyone about anything on secondcaptains, for the most part it's an echo chamber on sport and anything else. That's why I find it an entertaining but frustrating listen.

Patww79 wrote:
    I don't see a problem with people not wanting a social message shoved down their throats on what used to be a very good sports show.

I would agree with this. Parkinson does a good pod but has 2 hours to fill a week which is a very different ball game. Wooly painting himself as a tactics expert when he's never coached is a pet peeve of mine. Secondcaptains are more liberal lefty than OTB.

Sorry I have to stop you right there. I'll give you the benefit of the doubt for now but why, in the name of sweet jaysus above, do you have to have coached to be considered a tactical expert? Could a top class former player not be good tactician? If he hasn't coached might it be due to any random circumstance like the time investment required, particularly given it could be an unpaid gig? Maybe he decided to take his tactical skills and combine them with the much more rare talent of radio presenting to earn himself a living analysing the game. Please make your reply logical because it's level of implicit assumption is boredering on audacious.

Patww79 wrote:

Sorry I have to stop you right there. I'll give you the benefit of the doubt for now but why, in the name of sweet jaysus above, do you have to have coached to be considered a tactical expert? Could a top class former player not be good tactician? If he hasn't coached might it be due to any random circumstance like the time investment required, particularly given it could be an unpaid gig? Maybe he decided to take his tactical skills and combine them with the much more rare talent of radio presenting to earn himself a living analysing the game. Please make your reply logical because it's level of implicit assumption is boredering on audacious.

Well if you haven't actually coached your tactical knowledge is just theory. Theory that is impossible to prove or disprove. It's fairly straightforward.

I can give an example on one of Wooly's tactical calls that I found to be extremely dubious if it would help?

Patww79 wrote:

Well if you haven't actually coached your tactical knowledge is just theory. Theory that is impossible to prove or disprove. It's fairly straightforward.

I can give an example on one of Wooly's tactical calls that I found to be extremely dubious if it would help?

No, I don't care about the minutiae of the matter, it's the wider principle I'm talking about. In any case every coach can point to examples of when they were wrong so it wouldn't prove anything for you, or to me. The game is too chaotic and unpredictable to be able to preempt every scenario.