Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

High Noon with George Hook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,040 ✭✭✭optogirl

DeadHand wrote: »
    Told by whom?

Boardsies for a start and society in general. I have so often heard the old 'Feminists are man haters' trope but I am also hearing that if we spend time alone with a man we can reasonably expect to be raped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

is today's show a pre record???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭mikep

MC had items over 2 days consisting of people discussing the issue generally agreeing that Hook was a monster and should be taken to task.
    Matt also dug up an old clip of Hook reacting particularly badly in a TV interview when he was described as one who stokes controversy.
    My overall sense was that Cooper was taking great relish in Hooks situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭chicken foot

Told by whom?

Those who believe this girl was partly at fault, obviously!
    Are women to presume all men are rapists from here on in? Is that a fair assumption in order for them not to put themselves in harm's way?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

is today's show a pre record???

No, in the bit I heard he read out a text message.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

optogirl wrote: »
    Boardsies for a start and society in general. I have so often heard the old 'Feminists are man haters' trope but I am also hearing that if we spend time alone with a man we can reasonably expect to be raped.
    This now is hysteria gone in overdrive. We keep in different society then because that certainly isn't my experience.

Anyway I dislike how the calls are made for Hook to be gone, but I also dislike how those signing the letter are vilified. Firstly nobody here knows who signed petition, neither does anyone know under how much pressure those working on NT are from twitterati, sponsors and others. Singling out one or the other for abuse just because some think they signed the letter and why they signed it is complete mob mentality. This became really ugly on both sides, mob on both sides either looking for blood or making themselves to be victims because everyone needs to be a victim today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭DeadHand

Alright then, quote a single post made on these boards within the past ten years telling us "Not all men are rapists... But expect all men are rapists" or an argument to that effect.

Quote a single post made on these boards in the last ten years telling us "if women spend time alone with a man they can reasonably expect to be raped" or an argument to that effect.

As for society in general (how conveniently vague) I'm yet to hear a single person express the ugly sentiments you claim to hear so often, so either we move in dramatically different circles or you are making stuff up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭DeadHand

Those who believe this girl was partly at fault, obviously!
    Are women to presume all men are rapists from here on in? Is that a fair assumption in order for them not to put themselves in harm's way?

More hysteria.

Very few people actually believe the girl was partly at fault- if they do they are wrong. I don't think she was, and I do not believe Hook thinks she was.

Women (and everyone else) can keep themselves out of harms way without presuming all men are rapists- millions of men, women and children manage it everyday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

His general point (that people have a responsibility to themselves to avoid danger as much as possible) was correct- how he expressed it was wrong.

And everybody knows what he meant. Jumping on a poorly expressed line that of effectively the same logic as many have expressed here along the lines of - if you leave your car unlocked and it is stolen, the thieves not you are still responsible for it being stolen, but you should have locked it - is just nonsense.

You would think he had said - that women who have sex outside marriage, are skanks who probably will be raped and deservedly so, and the law should be changed to reflect that - then he would correctly be seen to be way outside the norms of accepted attitude and behaviour in Ireland and expect to be vilified. I would still feel he has a right to say it nonetheless - and the rest of us to criticism his view. And he should expect and accept the criticism or sanction by his employer giving him public airtime were he to say something so out there.

But he didnt say that. This whole discussion, petitions, apologies, sackings, is all going along as if he did. The only people with any guilt in this issue are those jumping on their high (noon) horses and loosing their reason and run of themselves to be offended.

Alright then, quote a single post made on these boards within the past ten years telling us "Not all men are rapists... But expect all men are rapists" or an argument to that effect.

Quote a single post made on these boards in the last ten years telling us "if women spend time alone with a man they can reasonably expect to be raped" or an argument to that effect.

As for society in general (how conveniently vague) I'm yet to hear a single person express the ugly sentiments you claim to hear so often, so either we move in dramatically different circles or you are making stuff up.

I'm not saying that one person or persons has said both of these things at once but we get these conflicting messages all the time. There are any amount of threads in GC about feminism/feminiazis (shudder) and the vilification of men. Then we are called hysterical when we react to people saying that the victim of a rape should take some responsibility for the rape or should not be surprised to be the victim of rape.

More hysteria.

Very few people actually believe the girl was partly at fault- if they do they are wrong. I don't think she was, and I do not believe Hook thinks she was.

Women (and everyone else) can keep themselves out of harms way without presuming all men are rapists- millions of men, women and children manage it everyday.

Hook actually asked if the girl in question should be 'surprised' that a second man expected to have sex with her. He used the word blame which I accept he has since apologised for...but only because of the backlash.

On the letter writers who want Hook gone, they would want to tread carefully because if Communicorp have proper procedures in place for disciplinary matters these will have to be followed so workers looking for a head on a plate could themselves get in trouble with management...if one of those was someone who had just recently been demoted I expect managements view of them won't be enhanced by the stoking of the controversy by writing the letter and leaking it to the press...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,719 ✭✭✭Heroditas

More hysteria.

Hook actually asked if the girl in question should be 'surprised' that a second man expected to have sex with her. He used the word blame which I accept he has since apologised for...but only because of the backlash.
    It's also not the first time either that he's made dodgy comments regarding rape. The Niamh Ní Dhomnaill case is  case in point.
    As for the section in his autobiography regaridng plyig a woman with alcohol on a date while he pretended he was drnking and thinking he wa in with a shot ... well... the less said the better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Vorenus400

If Hook does get fired, then Ciara Kelly needs to take a long hard look at herself. Hook was a big part of getting her on the radio, which lead to all the subsequent shows that she got. I wouldn't expect her to support what he said, but she could have said "Look he was completely wrong, but he is a decent guy". She probably played out in her head how that might look to the baying liberal mob if she had said something in mitigation, and how it would play out with all of the other squares that run Newstalk. If George has only friends like her, then who needs enemies?

To me is seems that she put her career ahead of doing the right thing and standing up for a man that has been a good friend to her, and a great help to her career. Maybe she figures she'll get the job if George goes?

Am I alone in thinking that Dr Ciara and George arranged the ear lashing he got from her. Both their career reputations were on the line. She needs to be seen to give out to him and he needs to publicly be seen to get an earful. People did feel sorry for George after Mondays health check. The fact that she didnt tweet or publicly say anything up to Monday would give credence to this.

The 2 of them are good friends and I believe she was being groomed to be his successor. I dont think she would take pot shots at him if it wasnt already okayed.

If shw was to attack him, it should have been over the hpv vaccine months ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭quintana76

mikep wrote: »
    On the letter writers who want Hook gone, they would want to tread carefully because if Communicorp have proper procedures in place for disciplinary matters these will have to be followed so workers looking for a head on a plate could themselves get in trouble with management...if one of those was someone who had just recently been demoted I expect managements view of them won't be enhanced by the stoking of the controversy by writing the letter and leaking it to the press...

The actions of a certain individual could be classed as 'gross misconduct'.
    A very serious charge in an organisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

I wonder did Mr Coleman sign the letter, I am sure he did,cause he is one of those even though he has been on georges old show as well as sometimes on his present one. But one must not offend you know.

Does George usually thank the team at the end of the show? I can remember him doing it some times but not always. The end of the show was just kinda weird as if it was an ad break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭coolshannagh28

George may have been lucky that Noirin O Sullivan resigned this weekend and the full focus is not on him ,his apology did compound his error but would have been forced on him .He has sounded strained on the show and but if he can drag it out till the end of the week may survive, if he wants to by that point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭Den14

meeeeh wrote:
    Anyway I dislike how the calls are made for Hook to be gone, but I also dislike how those signing the letter are vilified. Firstly nobody here knows who signed petition, neither does anyone know under how much pressure those working on NT are from twitterati, sponsors and others. Singling out one or the other for abuse just because some think they signed the letter and why they signed it is complete mob mentality. This became really ugly on both sides, mob on both sides either looking for blood or making themselves to be victims because everyone needs to be a victim today.

It is a possibility because of fear of being perhaps villified by their peers a few of the staff agreed to sign that letter. The amount of vitriol one may attract by thinking differently can be huge epecially when going up against a very spiteful PC brigade

quintana76 wrote: »
    mikep wrote: »

The actions of a certain individual could be classed as 'gross misconduct'.
    A very serious charge in an organisation.
    Are you referring to Hook here?
    It will all depend on the procedures in place..likewise for those who started the letter thing..

Do people here leave money, in full view, on the passenger seat of their car, when walking away from the car?

If you do not, care to explain why? I mean it would not be your fault if it were stolen (this is not sarcasm) and you should be free to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Vorenus400 wrote: »
    Does George usually thank the team at the end of the show? I can remember him doing it some times but not always. The end of the show was just kinda weird as if it was an ad break.

Ah he does, yeah. Every day, I think.

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Ah he does, yeah. Every day, I think.

He didnt do it today unless I missed it. I wonder were any of the names on the letter from his production team?

I really thought George would weather this grand but then came the letter and fecked everything into the air

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

Vorenus400 wrote: »

which is why i thought it sounded more like a prerecorded show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,191 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Feel sorry for George. He's full of bluster etc. but he's essentially a good person. A showman really, of an old mould.

I have listened to his show for years and have always enjoyed it. The quality dropped away at the end of the Right Hook though and High Noon is not up to the standards of before, but I still listen because George is entertaining.

He is kinda old now and with age, he is a bit more ponderous than before and a bit more liable to say something off colour. He probably should have finished with the Right Hook but, like a lot of old people, he doesnt want to stop working, retire, and become irrelevant.

I just feel bad for him that after all this time, very many of his colleagues and the twitter Social Justice Warriors doing their best to blacken his name and ruin him. George is basically on the way out anyway. He is terrified of dementia amd very often talks about trying to train himself to avoid.

Finally, my Dad is in his 70's too, and so I relate to George a bit like that. Makes me more sorry for him that he's being witch hunted. Good guy, didnt think before he spoke. Massive overreaction .

J Mysterio wrote: »
    Feel sorry for George. He's full of bluster etc. but he's essentially a good person. A showman really, of an old mould.

I have listened to his show for years and have always enjoyed it. The quality dropped away at the end of the Right Hook though and High Noon is not up to the standards of before, but I still listen because George is entertaining.

He is kinda old now and with age, he is a bit more ponderous than before and a bit more liable to say something off colour. He probably should have finished with the Right Hook but, like a lot of old people, he doesnt want to stop working, retire, and become irrelevant.

I just feel bad for him that after all this time, very many of his colleagues and the twitter Social Justice Warriors doing their best to blacken his name and ruin him. George is basically on the way out anyway. He is terrified of dementia amd very often talks about trying to train himself to avoid.

Finally, my Dad is in his 70's too, and so I relate to George a bit like that. Makes me more sorry for him that he's being witch hunted. Good guy, didnt think before he spoke. Massive overreaction .

My Dad is in his 70's. Quote from him yesterday 'Hook's a misogynist pric*' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭chicken foot

Doe people here leave money, in full view, on the passenger seat of their car, when walking away from the car?

If you do not, care to explain why? I mean it would not be your fault if it were stolen and you should be free to do so.

Boom!! There it is folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭Bazzy

Boom!! There it is folks.

But do you blame me on the glass being clear?

If the glass wasnt clear you wouldnt be able to see the money

you can see through the windows of every car so is it my fault the windows are clear?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,191 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

My Dad is in his 70's. Quote from him yesterday 'Hook's a misogynist pric*' :D

I'm not saying my dad is like George Hook, only that they are of a similar age.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭i71jskz5xu42pb

J Mysterio wrote: »
    but he's essentially a good person

He has some antiquated views on rape/women that have no place in a modern society.
    He has created up fear uncertainty and doubt about HPV vaccine that will result unnecessary deaths down the line.
    He has had an Islamophobic leaning going back god knows how long.

You may not agree with me on on the above but I hope you'll see why some of us don't think he's a good person.