Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

All Ireland SHC Final (formerly SHC thread) - READ MOD NOTE POST #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

You said many teams, Galway included, threw the towel in early leading to poor spectacles. If Galway were ahead at half time in both, they surely didn't throw in the towel early. 2012 was an excellent final for excitement. 2015 was close up until the 60 minute mark.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    You said many teams, Galway included, threw the towel in early leading to poor spectacles. If Galway were ahead at half time in both, they surely didn't throw in the towel early. 2012 was an excellent final for excitement. 2015 was close up until the 60 minute mark.

The first game in 2012 was decent. The replay wasn't and Galway didn't turn up. Nor did they turn up for the second half in 2015.

I'd question whether it was still close in 2015. KK were 3 points down at half time. They were 7 points up with a minute of the game left, a turnaround of 10 points. Joe Canning got a fairly lucky goal to bring it back to a 4 points difference but KK had taken their foot off the gas at that stage.

Galway were awful in the second half. There is no other way of describing it other than they collapsed and threw in the towel when KK really started to play. The lack of fight from Galway in the second half wasn't pretty to watch.

Not going to pick out Galway alone. Waterford failed to show up in 2008. Tipperary weren't great in a couple of finals, but were brilliant when they did 'show up'. There's been a predictability about most KK finals.
    Its good to see other counties contesting the AI final and it definitely helps with the excitement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

In 2015, as soon as KK got a run at them early in the second half, Galway simply collapsed. Early in the second half is early.

In 2012 likewise, they were soundly beaten in the replay.

Galway should have won both years. They ran up the white flag in the second half of 2015 when KK scored a couple of points early in the second half. They showed no fight. Once KK start to get on top, those Galway teams collapsed in AI finals. Most Galway supporters would agree with this.

I wouldn't say they didn't fight in 2012 and 2015. They lacked the composure and didn't hurl intelligently. In both years, in the second half, they dropped deep and just fonged the ball down to the KK half back line who were unmarked. It was different all throughout this year, always looking to pick out a man.

As an example, McInerney last year used to just drive the ball without looking. He was obviously instructed to lay the ball off this year. I'm not sure what the stats are but I'd say he didn't strike 10 balls from the quarter final on. The majority of balls were hand passed off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 James lakes

Is  it  the  cup  you  go  to  see  handed  over  or  a  match,  how  many  times  last  sunday  had  the  ball  be  thrown  in  with  lads  bunching   last  sunday  it  was  a  lot  and  it  was  like  the  rugby  when  Waterford  were  taking  frees  lad  running  in  wipping  hurls  on  a  dry  day  like  last  Sunday  slowing  the  game  down.

What the hell is going on with the double spacing between words? :confused:
    I  suffer  from  a  disease   called  parkinsons   is  that good  enough answer  for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭C__MC

Best final for me was 2014 draw, an absolute thriller

thelad95 wrote: »
    I'd agree with the fear aspect, Tipperary never could quite get over their fear of Kilkenny apart from 2010 and 2016 but that fear severely hampered them in 2011, 2012 and 2014.

I really do disregard 2010 as a 'classic' final, imagine if the tables had been turned and Kilkenny had socked it too Tipperary with 4 goals, it would have just been another Kilkenny All Ireland. As others have said, that was a serious off day for Kilkenny, every single one of those goals were from awful defending.

That game was in the melting pot on 60 minutes, tipps bench blow kk away. Score line flattered Tipp

Is  it  the  cup  you  go  to  see  handed  over  or  a  match,  how  many  times  last  sunday  had  the  ball  be  thrown  in  with  lads  bunching   last  sunday  it  was  a  lot  and  it  was  like  the  rugby  when  Waterford  were  taking  frees  lad  running  in  wipping  hurls  on  a  dry  day  like  last  Sunday  slowing  the  game  down.

What the hell is going on with the double spacing between words? :confused:
    This  mans  brother here there will be double spacing in you if I ever come across the likes disaster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

This  mans  brother here there will be double spacing in you if I ever come across the likes disaster

Relax, he was only asking a question ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,614 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Excuse me? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,034 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

In terms of the sense of occasion and emotion, that must be the best final since 1995 or 1996. It really felt different to others hurling finals I have been to (granted Galway lost all of them since 88).

I didn't think it was a classic final but it was a very good game. The quality of some of the points scored was breathtaking.

Had Waterford nailed some of those wides they hit in the last 10 to 12 minutes of the game then we might have had a real classic but they missed them so it always looked like Galway were in control coming down the finishing stretch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,284 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

This mans brother here there will be double spacing in you if I ever come across the likes disaster

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D
    Tony Sopranos brother ??
    Cop on boy will yaa FFS .... :rolleyes:
    247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

greenspurs wrote: »
    This  mans  brother here there will be double spacing in you if I ever come across the likes disaster

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D
    Tony Sopranos brother ??    
    Cop on boy will yaa FFS ....  :rolleyes:
    Have you a problem with that it shows how ignorant immiture a comment like that yesterday can have on a person with an illness, we will keep going are you going to be in Thurles tomorrow shouting for the cats or will you have your laptop in front of you passing comments I say more likely that's where you be.

Your Illness didnt cause you to threaten someone though did it ?
    Why not just give the reason for the typing, instead of getting so threatening, Did you think that would work out ok??

I will be in Thurles tomorrow, and i will be in Croke Park on Sunday....
    Hon the Cats !!!

Jackie Tyrell fairly slating Tipp in his new book about their meekness and mental fralties during their rivalry between 2009-2014. Lar Corbett comes in for particular attention as does bubbles o Dwyer. Tyrell feels both didn't have the stomach for battle with the cats. Must have been tough for Jackie watching Tipp run rings around kk in 2016.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

He doesn't come across well. Very arrogant and disrespectful. Hard listen to as a pundit too.

Must have forgot about Lar's hat trick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Nettle Soup

I suffer from a disease called parkinsons is that good enough answer for you

I think you are spoofing.

C__MC wrote: »
    Jackie Tyrell fairly slating Tipp in his new book about their meekness and mental fralties during their rivalry between 2009-2014. Lar Corbett comes in for particular attention as does bubbles o Dwyer. Tyrell feels both didn't have the stomach for battle with the cats. Must have been tough for Jackie watching Tipp run rings around kk in 2016.

I feel he would know.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,079 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Just trying to be controversial to sell a few books.

He's punditry continues to get worse perhaps the money will be useful for when RTE finally give him his P45.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Patww79 wrote: »

TG4 have shown the B final for the last four or five seasons tbf to them. I can certainly remember they showed Kildare v Meath around 2012 when Conor Kenny who later transferred to Tipp, had a terrific game

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭letsseehere14

C__MC wrote:

If they thought about Tipp like that god know how they viewed the rest of us. In AI finals against tipp in that timeframe its kk won 3 Tipp won 2 and 1 draw and Kilkenny shipped 2 beatings in that.
    Every county not just tipp should use comments like that as motivation against them next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭jam83

Reading the extracts from Tyrell's book last Sunday in the indo I couldn't help thinking he was exaggerating how much Kilkenny wanted to "put hurling out of these lads heads". The title of the book is stupid and all that talk about filleting teams, gutting them etc seemed exaggerated to me.
    It just feels like he's trying too hard to portray how ruthless and mean that Kilkenny team were, to the point that they sound psychotic by his descriptions.
    Truth probably is that lads kept hurling against beaten teams because Cody is the only lunatic there and would drop a lad if he dropped his standard during a game.
    Even that talk about tipp not having fighters or whatever, it's all trying to portray Kilkenny as the leanest meanest team ever. They just had better players than other teams.
    Bit disappointed to see he's filled the book with that kind of "warrior" ****e talk. Books have to be sold but that nonsense will put me off buying it. His thoughts don't seem genuine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

jam83 wrote: »
    Reading the extracts from Tyrell's book last Sunday in the indo I couldn't help thinking he was exaggerating how much Kilkenny wanted to "put hurling out of these lads heads". The title of the book is stupid and all that talk about filleting teams, gutting them etc seemed exaggerated to me.
    It just feels like he's trying too hard to portray how ruthless and mean that Kilkenny team were, to the point that they sound psychotic by his descriptions.
    Truth probably is that lads kept hurling against beaten teams because Cody is the only lunatic there and would drop a lad if he dropped his standard during a game.
    Even that talk about tipp not having fighters or whatever, it's all trying to portray Kilkenny as the leanest meanest team ever. They just had better players than other teams.
    Bit disappointed to see he's filled the book with that kind of "warrior" ****e talk. Books have to be sold but that nonsense will put me off buying it. His thoughts don't seem genuine.

His analysis for the Irish Times (I think??) And how terrible it is and cliched is enough of a precursor to me that I don't fancy reading the book

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

You can't win with GAA fans. Say nice things, you're boring stepford wives, say controversial things, you're a bollocks. Say nothing? Hurlers have an obligation to promote the game, they should talk to the media.

What should say they say?

**** knows. I'll wait till I hear what they say and then tell you what they should have been saying all along.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Nothing wrong with saying controversial things so long as you can back them up

Don't want to end up like that mess that is eamonn dunphy spewing shte for the sake of it

Just I was of the opinion alot of his articles were poorly researched and full of cliches,it was his first year doing them so he'll prob get better??

(But tbf I only read his articles on waterford matches....you'd want them to take out your sister :rolleyes: )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭jam83

You can't win with GAA fans. Say nice things, you're boring stepford wives, say controversial things, you're a bollocks. Say nothing? Hurlers have an obligation to promote the game, they should talk to the media.

What should say they say?

**** knows. I'll wait till I hear what they say and then tell you what they should have been saying all along.

They should say it as it is, without coning across like it's being made up. Controversial is great if it doesn't seem forced. But some of the bits from tyrrells book just read as exaggerated to me. That's my gut instinct from reading it.
    I prefer a book to have strong opinions and good stories.
    The opposite of that is codys book which is the worst sports autobiography I've read by a mile. The cagiest man in Ireland. He didn't say anything we don't already know ourselves.
    I found it interesting when tyrrell mentioned how they grew sick of that striking cork team and wanted to hammer them. That I could understand and relate to. But he went on to mention that ken mcgrath said he was never the same player after the hammering Waterford got in the 08 final and the way tyrrell wrote it, it sounded like he got great satisfaction from that because that Kilkenny team wanted to destroy lads confidence through hammering teams into the ground. I just find that last bit hard to believe because it's almost psycho stuff and that's why I think it seems forced and exaggerated.
    The truth is probably somewhere between what he says, and there simply being internal pressure within the squad to keep hurling to your max potential no matter the score, or you'd lose your place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭dubcat51

Great player who most teams of his time would have loved to have him on their team.big ques yesterday in kilkenny for his book signing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭evolving tipperary

I find it hilarious that some people think the issue is either about being boring or controversial!

Also, Jackie is not or never was or will be a great player. He'll be the first person to tell you that. He was a dog, a hard worker, who gave it everything he got. That doesn't make him great. For example, Tony Browne or Ciaran Carey he was not. Medals or winning don't make the player. If Ollie Canning, Tony Browne or Carey were born in KK, I think it's safe to say Tyrell would not be on the team sheet ahead of them. Surely that's one of the markers of greatness, a player who would make any side of his generation in numerous positions. Tyrell was never good enough to man a central position - like truly great players like Brian Whelehan or Brian Corcoran - who played all over the field. Forwards or backs.

The issue is not controversy or the book. The issue is how Tyrell believes the game should be played and how he played the game. The issue is the example he is setting. The issue is his complete lack of class.

Look how at Joe Canning carried himself over the All-Ireland and years. That's a great player - great players bring something to sport beyond the 'game'. Tyrell doesn't see it as sport or a game. His ego is completely wrapped up in 'winning at any cost'. Joe Canning, Brian Corcoran, Brian Whelehan, or DJ Carey are the type of men and players, Jackie Tyrell couldn't dream of being. Attaching the word great to Tyrell is beyond belief. Jackie is in the Gerry Quinn bracket of player, take a player's eye out rather than try and out hurl them. That's the measure of the man. His words are his words, and he is advocating what he is advocating.

The whole attempt to ape a Roy Keane-style biography is what it is, tasteless and copied. No originality. Say anything at all costs to make a few pound in the market and stay relevant as a pundit a la Joe Brolly's style. That's Tyrell's limit view of winning and 'the game'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Wait till you read Joe's book next year, "I am Galway"...