Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

€7000 in fines for doing donuts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sue Pa Key Pa

So with that logic, the fella doing a few burnouts with no real risk of killing anyone, deserves bigger punishment than a fella driving home scuttered?

You see, you just threw in the bit in bold as an assumption of fact, when it isn't. Also, how do you know that Seamus wouldn't advocate crushing cars for drink drivers if this was a thread on that subject?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭dense

So with that logic, the fella doing a few burnouts with no real risk of killing anyone, deserves bigger punishment than a fella driving home scuttered?

There's a risk when there's a crowd of whooping onlookers.

How big a risk is debatable.

The main point is you can't have kids taking over public roads for doing doughnut displays.

And that's what they did. If they want to do it in their farmyard off with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

No. Drink driving should be more heavily leaned on too, we make far too many concessions on it. Someone being caught slightly over the limit can reasonably say they made a mistake. Someone with a BAC of 0.1% and upwards is knowingly disregarding the law and it should carry a 5 year ban for a first offence. Driving above 0.15% should carry an automatic lifetime ban.

There is absolutely no excuse for it and no good reason why someone who seriously disregards the privilege of driving should be permitted to continue it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭dense

CiniO wrote: »
    See, your post is a perfect example of how people perceive it.
    Skidding, powersliding, drifting etc equals deadly danger.
    That's what most people think including judges and that's why situation is what it is.

In fact skidding can be done in fully controlled manner and it can be great fun.
    It's just a skill which requires lots of training and possibly some talent, but it definitely can be learnt. Similar like mountainbiking, surfing, paragliding and other things which might seem difficult and dangerous for someone who never tried.

I spent huge amount of my time training that kind of driving, skid control, etc, and I feel confident about negotiating bends with a skid, especially when driving in snow.
    And normally when I do drive on snow on quite roads with no one around, i purposely skid a lot and have fun. Can't see anything dangerous in doing that, the same as I don't see anything dangerous in mountain biking or windsurfing etc...

Lots to learn here!

How do you skid or drift around a corner and simultaneously keep the car on your side of the road?

I take it we're talking fairly acute bends here, R roads, L roads type of thing?

What speed do you have to hit before you lose tyre grip?

Your perfectly controlled loss of tyre grip of course........

Also, can you see around corners?

How does that work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭muddle84

The video in the below link is an example of the risk associated with "diffing" or donuts. He could have easily gone into a crowd of spectators if the venue was different. Its a rare occurrence granted but there is risk associated with it. 
    https://youtu.be/V6YlfmH7PTI

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

CiniO wrote: »
    Fines of €3500 seems crazy for what it is - just few lads playing, learning skills, and risking damaging their wheels or suspension when hitting the kerb... nothing more.

Well if they were on private land they could do all that without an issue so if they want to learn they can do so where they will not kill someone on a public road!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,432 ✭✭✭bladespin

marcus001 wrote: »
    Here

Now where in all of that does he state he powerslides around corners on public roads or deserves to crash even?

Not defending the muppets in the video but you can't just go around interpreting posts as you want and leveling someone who doesn't support your view.
    Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭marcus001

dense wrote: »
    Lots to learn here!

How do you skid or drift around a corner and simultaneously keep the car on your side of the road?

I take it we're talking fairly acute bends here, R roads, L roads type of thing?

What speed do you have to hit before you lose tyre grip?

Your perfectly controlled loss of tyre grip of course........

Also, can you see around corners?

How does that work?

He says its okay to do on corners with perfect visibility. Never in my life have I encountered a corner with perfect visibility on a public road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

He says its okay to do on corners with perfect visibility. Never in my life have I encountered a corner with perfect visibility on a public road.

So every corner on all roads everywhere is a blind corner?

You must not drive a lot...

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,951 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I approve of this however.....:D

Cheensbo wrote: »
    So every corner on all roads everywhere is a blind corner?

You must not drive a lot...

Where did I say that?

Well, here, or am I misunderstanding you?

Yeah you're misunderstanding English.

:D thats unposstible

Do go on - tell me what you mean by "never in my life have I encountered a corner with perfect visibility on a public road"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭circadian

There's a range of visibility on a corner from completely blind to perfect visibility. I'd agree that you can never be 100% of what's coming around a corner regardless of how visible it may seem.

circadian wrote: »
    I'd agree that you can never be 100% of what's coming around a corner regardless of how visible it may seem.

Not necessarily true, there's a time and place where a slide is fine, there's also a time and place. where it's not
    Untitled Image

bladespin wrote: »
    Not necessarily true, there's a time and place where a slide is fine, there's also a time and place. where it's not

Where it's fine: the race track, private property
    Where it's not: public roads

Where it's fine: the race track, private property
    Where it's not: public roads

Exactly, it's not a mortal sin to like to lash the back out (though you'd swear they were worse than kiddy fiddlers by some of the attitudes shown here) but it's just not ok on a public road.
    Untitled Image

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

They also effectively closed the road.You need a license to close a road. Surely fellas who follow the rally would have known that;) Oh yeah, they just went to Killarney to act the bollix,I doubt they even saw 5 minutes of the actual rally.
    I'll pose a hypothetical question, what would any of the posters do if they were in an emergency situation and found the road blocked by a crowd of eejits "not doing any harm,just a bit of diffing".Would they still be so sympathetic towards these lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭cbreeze

The Judge was sensible to fine these two drivers €3,500 apiece. I hope they will be able to pay it in instalments out of their dole money, or whatever money they have to live on.

The limiter was a brilliant idea and should be applied to all cars driven by those convicted of speeding offences and other categories known to be high risk. However, I thought 100 km was too much and should be lower. As the national speed limit is 120 km, should not all cars and bikes be limited?

Well done, Judge!

cbreeze wrote: »
    The Judge was sensible to fine these two drivers €3,500 apiece. I hope they will be able to pay it in instalments out of their dole money, or whatever money they have to live on.
    Both are employed, I'm sure a payment plan would be made available to them.
    cbreeze wrote: »
    The limiter was a brilliant idea and should be applied to all cars driven by those convicted of speeding offences and other categories known to be high risk. However, I thought 100 km was too much and should be lower. As the national speed limit is 120 km, should not all cars and bikes be limited?

Well done, Judge!

Making them an even bigger nuisance by restricting them to less than the national limit would be plain silly, why would a judge put other road users as potential risk by doing so?

Why do you think all cars and bikes be limited?

As a matter of fact each and every road going vehicle one is, in fact limited.
    Untitled Image

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,951 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

bladespin wrote:

Power slides etc. are always illegal on a public road.

Did I suggest otherwise?
    Untitled Image

Exactly, it's not a mortal sin to like to lash the back out (though you'd swear they were worse than kiddy fiddlers by some of the attitudes shown here) but it's just not ok on a public road.

I would rate people who like to use racing moves on public roads as more blameworthy than a drunk driver. At least the drunk driver has the excuse of being drunk, a sober minded idiot has no excuses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,618 ✭✭✭grogi

From what I've observed of the local yahoos who do donuts near my parents house, it's just one aspect of their dangerous driving. I've yet to see one driver who has done donuts come back out onto the public road and drive in a civilised manner. No, they all tear past my parents house (which is on a country road) at dangerously high speeds. If anyone is ever unlucky enough to ever meet them coming towards them, god help them. ..

And they should be prosecuted with all the State powers for endangering the bystanders and driving like a moron, unlicensed modifications, driving without insurance etc.

But doing donuts isn't really dangerous, if the road was (even illegally) closed and the speeds in 15 km/h range. Based on that video they should be prosecuted for closing the roads, emitting excessive noise, damaging road surface etc. But not for dangerous driving, because it was not dangerous. There was hardly any driving too.

I would rate people who like to use racing moves on public roads as more blameworthy than a drunk driver. At least the drunk driver has the excuse of being drunk, a sober minded idiot has no excuses.

A powerslide is certainly not a racing move.

I agree up to a point but if you're not putting anyone other than yourself and your own property at risk then I draw a line, there are far worse things I see drivers do more often every day that put more lives at risk than a drift.
    Untitled Image

A powerslide is certainly not a racing move.

I agree up to a point but if you're not putting anyone other than yourself and your own property at risk then I draw a line, there are far worse things I see drivers do more often every day that put more lives at risk than a drift.

Really? Then why do rally cars powerslide so much? For fun is it?

As much as I hate doing donuts, this thread makes me want to weld the diff in my car and go out diffing.

Doing donuts is worse than drink driving :pac: Welcome to the thread, Mr Healy Rae

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,469 ✭✭✭blackwhite

I would say biggest worry now will actually been able to stay on the road legally.

Insurance will be a sh1tstorm.

Doughnuts isn't as bad as they can make out.

Yes they should have done off road but it is great fun to watch and the noise and smell is something you will never forget.

Many a car cruise I went to and the cops would even sit by and watch.

Now in these cases it was off road on private grounds for most and some industrial estates which were empty.

Based on the last line I've a feeling that the €3,500 each won't be a fine, but will be a donation to the poor box, and that the two lads could find themselves with the probation act being applied instead of gaining a conviction (so long as they comply with the limiter being installed between now and November).
    Judge James O'Connor ordered both men to pay €3,500 each and to install devices in whatever vehicles they drive to limit their speed to a maximum of 100km/h.

He adjourned the case until November.

As much as I hate doing donuts, this thread makes me want to weld the diff in my car and go out diffing.

Doing donuts is worse than drink driving :pac: Welcome to the thread, Mr Healy Rae

No one said that.