Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

€7000 in fines for doing donuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭EPAndlee

I'm fairly big into modified cars and in fairness doing doughnuts in fairly boring to do and watch. Everyone knows this sort of thing is illegal so if you get caught you can't complain. If your going to be at that **** at least go somewhere away from houses and roads that aren't busy

Seen a good few people calling the Garda awful names because of this and at the end of the day they are actually doing their job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,493 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

Saw a lot of donut marks on the N11 leaving Wexford today. They deserve harsher penalties. Don't care if it's late and nobodies on the roads. Find private land, plenty of it around. The rules are the rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭gctest50

rebel456 wrote: »
    Cheers. Looks as easy to bypass too!

They'd have the physical evidence if you were caught over 100 km/h

especially when it shows " LIMITED TO 100KM/H " on this yoke :

EIrDgcK.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

Several junctions close to me in a rural area regularly coated with fresh rings of melted rubber.. didn't pass too many remarks early on, but fairly sick of it now. Good enough to get fines, as long as they don't get put on a 2 euro a week payment plan because they 'can't afford it'. Can't see any valid argument for allowing this on public roads.

Little tidy 6x4 is what they need :

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭Old Perry

Some fella fell out of a Lexus mid donut, at Donegal rally this year, and got crossed God love him. Punishment for these lads is a bit harsh imo especially since it was at an organized event with like minded ppl probably on closed roads aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭carsQhere

Poor box is just archaic. Should have been dealt with by way of points/ban/resit test as appropriate. The lads might see it differently of course.

If they were being used to send out a message then that's wrong too because by definition the punishment is is excessive in that case.

Modified car crowd get a bad name for the antics of a minority. No excuse for blocking a public road at the end of the day but this 7 grand poor box and speed limiters stuff just makes the court case read like a Fr. Ted script.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,818 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

The court report sounds as if he is asking for poor box donations then giving them Peobation Act benefit (adjourned until November) meaning no actual conviction and not even a single penalty point or licence suspension.

Sounds like a crap decision to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭Negative_G

Scroats. €3,500 fine will soften their cough.

The poor lads just got caught up in the moment. You would think at 21 and 25 they would have a bit of cop on. Obviously not much between the ears.

Great work by the Gardai.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,951 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I think the fines will be the least of these drivers issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭circadian

JC01 wrote: »
    How? How could they easily have injured somebody?

Is this a serious question?

I think the fines will be the least of these drivers issues.

this will :P

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/200X120MM-100-kmh-SPEED-LIMITER-FITTED-STICKER-VAN-BUS-CAR-COACH-BUSINESS-/141311955914

vDcYr4n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Doing it with a crowd around you isn't that clever though
    Bigus wrote: »

Have to agree.
    Having an audience right around is not greatest idea.

Still think there's nothing wrong with lads doing their stuff in quite place on their own or in small group.

I always used to do lots of vehicle control / skid training around quite roads, forest roads, especially on snow.
    Sometimes as well on big supermarket parkings after closing hours, or even city junctions when empty at night when covered in snow. Control skidding is lots of fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,307 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

No issue with car enthusiasts and with that kind of stuff as such, we all have our hobbies and to some others they seem silly. But the article said it was done on a busy public road and that is a bit stupid and in fact potentially very dangerous. FFs I've seen donut marks on motorways. There is no excuse for that kind of sh1te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,141 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Sure can't they just sell the car, buy a different model of the same car, and move on with no speed limiter.

No excuses for young lads doing rings, you see it all the time, I have to travel the back roads near the border sometimes with work and every crossroad nearly is covered in donut marks.

ELM327 wrote: »
    Sure can't they just sell the car, buy a different model of the same car, and move on with no speed limiter.

nope, limiter in whatever they drive

Judge James O'Connor ordered both men to pay €3,500 each and to install devices in whatever vehicles they drive to limit their speed to a maximum of 100km/h.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

How has no one asked how you get insured on an AE86 at 21... Anyone?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,951 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I suspect it has just gotten considerably more expensive for those two drivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

CiniO wrote: »
    Sure - should be penalised when doing in public busy place, but what harm is it, if lads find a rural spot at night where no one is going to be around anyway?
    If it's a public place, then there are people around. End of story.

If they want to go off and be idiots, they can do it on private land where they only stand to harm other likeminded idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

I suspect it has just gotten considerably more expensive for those two drivers.

No denying a conviction like that will ramp up the premiums significantly, regardless of what they insure next, but to insure an AE86 at 21 seems like it would be extremely expensive initially or... :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,141 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

I suspect he has no insurance. Or a micra at home and that's insured and the ae86 is registered in "de memmehs name".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

CiniO wrote: »
    I honestly think there's way too much public hate toward people doing donuts, skids, handbrake turns and other funky stuff.

Sure - should be penalised when doing in public busy place, but what harm is it, if lads find a rural spot at night where no one is going to be around anyway?

Fines of €3500 seems crazy for what it is - just few lads playing, learning skills, and risking damaging their wheels or suspension when hitting the kerb... nothing more.

It's not as bad as people think.

It was a public road on one of the main tourist routes in kerry, so not rural.

It was in the day not the night!

There was another idiot in the middle of them egging them on who could have easily been injured.

You're right..its not as bad as people think...Its worse!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,692 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

JC01 wrote: »
    How? How could they easily have injured somebody?
    Eh..the donkey standing in the middle of the two cars?
    I suppose you're going to argue that the two boyios couldn't possibly lose control!

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,922 ✭✭✭Wossack

play stupid games, win stupid prizes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

No denying a conviction like that will ramp up the premiums significantly, regardless of what they insure next, but to insure an AE86 at 21 seems like it would be extremely expensive initially or...

Daddy could have a few cars insured or something.

My 19 year old friend with a learner permit got insured on 1.9tdi audi for less than me (30,full clean licence) on a 1.6 avensis!

He's father has 8 or 9 lorries insured so had bargaining power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

2 clowns.Every crossroads or wide stretch of road in the country is a playground for eejits like those 2.Even driving along the Gorey Bypass which is a motorway the evidence of lads doing donuts is there. It takes a special kind of stupid to do stuff like that on a motorway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭millington

I had mine insured at 22 no hassle. 23 now and still insure it no questions asked.

I don't see any danger whatsoever in donuts. It's safer to watch donuts than to cross a busy street. It's the nuisance aspect of it that would annoy me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

millington wrote: »
    I had mine insured at 22 no hassle. 23 now and still insure it no questions asked.

I don't see any danger whatsoever in donuts. It's safer to watch donuts than to cross a busy street. It's the nuisance aspect of it that would annoy me.

What happens if you're the innocent party who comes around a bend on a county road and is hit by one of these fools? It's not just the donuts it's also their driving in general.They take on every trip as if they were driving in the WRC.The amount of crashes down my way since the recession has ended has sky rocketed.Many go unreported but we hear about how so and so's young lad wrote his car off.Only a few weeks ago 6 lads were in one car that ploughed through a ditch as he raced along a narrow,windy road and couldn't take a bend. Pure luck dictated that they all made it out alive.

millington wrote: »
    ...I don't see any danger whatsoever in donuts.....

Time for some sensible glasses?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,563 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Public roads are no place for this type of muppetry in my view. These children need to find their cheap thrills some other way.