Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

All Ireland SHC Final (formerly SHC thread) - READ MOD NOTE POST #1

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 35,423 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

It's boring. Dull end to the year.

Heath and safety.. no one died yet. :rolleyes:

You think it's better to wait till someone dies? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,107 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Not surprised - he has put his life on hold by taking a leave of absence from his teaching job.

you're a scream :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭C__MC

Gaa logic

Pitch invasions in thurles are grand but not in Croke park

I agree , really tame way to end the year. There was something magestic about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Lucy8080

Mayo won't like this continued dominance of All-Ireland finals by the Leinster champs. Another bad omen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,567 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

C__MC wrote: »
    Gaa logic

I agree , really tame way to end the year. There was something magestic about it

I agree too. It's always the baby with the bathwater when someone mention 'health and safety'.

If egress was the problem why not work at making egress safer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,288 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

C__MC wrote: »
    Gaa logic

I was never in Thurles but at other grounds there are regular announcements requesting patrons not to encroach on the playing area. And the ground regulations printed in the match programme also prohibit it. But when masses of people force their way past the stewards the announcer asks them to "stand down" for their own safety.

The game was definitely won on the Back of Niall Burke coming on, really classy performance by him

Waterford just lacked forwards with the wrist skill of Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,828 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Galway were the better team all and deserved the AI

Disappointed with Babs Keating really disrespectful to Derek McGrath

I think Derek might go as it's really affecting his working life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Not surprised - he has put his life on hold by taking a leave of absence from his teaching job.

Not sure about the comments from Babs Keating this morning saying in a newspaper piece that McGrath should resign if Waterford lost.

Waterford have only got to one all ireland in the 50 years before this year but apparently McGrath getting them to an all ireland final isn't good enough.

The ****e Derek McGrath has had to put up with really pisses me off.The man dared to do something a little different from most managers and all the "hurling men" can't bear the idea of it actually being a success and seem to want to undermine him at every given opportunity.I'd love to see McGrath get an all ireland with this team , to take a leave of absence from your job show you the sort of passion he has for Waterofrd hurling and it would be great to see it being rewarded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,531 ✭✭✭passremarkable

Motm?
    I'm thinking hanbury, David Burke , canning good for Galway
    Pauric Mahony very good for Waterford, Moran had good first half

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Burial. wrote: »
    Fine speech to be fair. Lot of pain for Galway hurling in the last few decades. They deserve to drag this out.

Great speech by Daithi Burke,very natural and from the heart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

pimpmyhat wrote: »
    You think?

Yes I do think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Patww79 wrote: »

Exactly, if Babs is praising you then you know you're doing something wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,623 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

I believe it will be a close game for the first 50-55 minutes but Galway then pulling away to win by 7-8 points. Something like 25 points to 1-14 or 15 points.

I just can't see Waterford scoring enough or stopping Galway from a run of points for the full 70. My preference would be for Waterford and will be shouting for them and of course Cork in the minor.

I would have been close enough except for the second fluke of a Waterford goal. Galway just had more scoring power though with 20 to go it could have swung either way. Moran missed a very easy chance to put Waterford two up but Galway missed very few when a score was needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

I think Galway were the better team and deserved their win. Just found their scores a little bit easier. Waterford wides towards the end when the game was still up for grabs probably killed them.
    Feel sorry for Waterford, Brick and Derek McGrath. A lot of purists seem to enjoy slating McGrath and want to see him fail. They didn't win, but he got them very close to an All-Ireland. I'd like to see him get them over the line at some stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Delighted for Galway, serious haul of medals going home with the Minors as well. Will go down as a glory year for certain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭dubcat51

Cant agree dont like the way they play.galway best team today and only their keeper and silly frees kept waterford in the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

Better team won, no question about that. Waterford were lacking that bit of class. Remind me of mayo football, they were at full throttle, couldn't fault the effort. Still, a great season for them. Well done Galway, did a fine job on a sork minor team too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Rightwing wrote: »
    Better team won, no question about that. Waterford were lacking that bit of class. Remind me of mayo football, they were at full throttle, couldn't fault the effort. Still, a great season for them. Well done Galway, did a fine job on a sork minor team too.

I don't get the lazy comparison to Mayo football. Because they lost the final?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭letowski

Fair play to Waterford and their effort, their supporters should be proud of their effort, as Im sure they are. I thought Galway would pull away by about 5 or 6 points before the game, but they didn't and Waterford had a chance right up to the ending. They missed a couple of chances towards the end, wides from Mahonay free, Fives and Moran were costly. That said Galway were the better team and were cruising early, they probably would have won it with more comfort if it wasn't for the keepers blunder for the 2nd goal. They just had too much firepower really. David Burke was my MOTM, he bounced back well after a poor semi.

Congrats to my neighbours anyway, wouldnt begrudge them in the slightest, they are fully deserved champs. They had a great year, it seems they were scoring about 26 plus scores a game which showed their relentless form they were in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

I don't get the lazy comparison to Mayo football. Because they lost the final?

A comparison is a comparison.

No, because they did well to get to the final. Mayo have also done well to get there.

Galway have so much talent available, it's a freak they went so long without winning. Not so for Waterford I'm afraid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,722 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Better team on the day won through and the only unbeaten team remaining in this year's AI, so some justice in that. Would have been happy too if Waterford had prevailed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

seligehgit wrote: »
    Great speech by Daithi Burke,very natural and from the heart.

Ah jaysus, he nearly thanked all 80k people individually for coming up. Waaaaaaay too long but I've never liked the speech anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

I've experienced some unreal moments around Eyre Square during RAG weeks but the scenes there, especially in Supermacs over the next few nights will be something else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Motm?
    I'm thinking hanbury, David Burke , canning good for Galway
    Pauric Mahony very good for Waterford, Moran had good first half

'Greenboots' McInerney for me all the way.
    A colossus again today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭Whiplash85

Congrats to Galway. The Tipp Galway All Ireland semi final was the real All Ireland final won by a moment of magic from Joe Canning. Felt Galway today always were comfortable enough apart from a shaky moment or 2. They have everything you want from a team. It must have been the most emotional All Ireland in years. Both sets of supporters of the older generation remarked when interviewed that they may never see this day again. I thought that was quite poignant. Then you have Niall Donnoghue and Tony Keady thrown in as well may God have mercy on them. I felt quite emotional at various stages. It was a momentous occasion and the only pity is there had to be a loser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Django99

Just reading through the posts during the game. Like the football a majority are negatives, most seem to be criticising almost never praising. Why is this I wonder?

Anyway, superb game. Galway always that bit better I felt. Middle third were brilliant for Galway, and Niall Burke and Jason Flynn brilliant coming on. Moran very good for Waterford, De Burca on a lot of ball too.

Great quality, up there with what KK and Tipp have provided in the last few years. Hopefully I'm not overreacting to one All Ireland but Galway have the look of a team that could win a few more, consistency all over the field and on the bench. Quite a young team too.

Anyway back to my original point, don't know why posters spend the whole game pointing out mistakes and criticising, when we saw some brilliant individual pieces of play and a great game today. Congrats to Galway and hard luck Waterford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭spideyman92

Devastated but best team won. Crazy to think Galway will still be in 1B in the league next year after doing a clean sweep of everything this year.

Django99 wrote: »
    Just reading through the posts during the game. Like the football a majority are negatives, most seem to be criticising almost never praising. Why is this I wonder?

Anyway, superb game. Galway always that bit better I felt. Middle third were brilliant for Galway, and Niall Burke and Jason Flynn brilliant coming on. Moran very good for Waterford, De Burca on a lot of ball too.

Great quality, up there with what KK and Tipp have provided in the last few years. Hopefully I'm not overreacting to one All Ireland but Galway have the look of a team that could win a few more, consistency all over the field and on the bench. Quite a young team too.

Anyway back to my original point, don't know why posters spend the whole game pointing out mistakes and criticising, when we saw some brilliant individual pieces of play and a great game today. Congrats to Galway and hard luck Waterford.

The exact same thing was said about Tipp this time last year. To early to make calls like that.