Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

High Noon with George Hook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

nuac wrote: »
    Varad is building some bridges between us and Canada. They are close to us in many ways. We are a small country and will need friends.

Hooke should leave his rants about that until he gets home to Ingrid

Fixed that there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,355 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

ThisRegard wrote: »
    It's been said before, but Hook is basically low level trolling you, he's there to stir up a bit of controversy, agitate people a bit, it's all done on purpose.

Compare him to when he hosted his evening show, there's no comparson really.

Yep, he's slowly morphing into a yellow-pack Alex Jones. Painful stuff altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,850 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

ThisRegard wrote: »

And this gem down the replies:

DHwcUTAW0AAzFy-.jpg:medium

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Fixed that there

Ingrid might be rather tired of being married to THE LEGEND

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

At last a few straight questions about Ibrahim Halawa.... And for the record I dont think he should still be locked up, but his sisters should not be allowed to portray them as having "gone on holiday". I think they did their own attempts at gaining the support of the Irish people a lot of harm by lying at the start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Conservative

Hopefully he's found guilty. His passport should be revoked and his family returned with him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭Lt Dan

Hopefully he's found guilty. His passport should be revoked and his family returned with him.

That might be a big problem if he was found guilty.

Found guilty of what though?

Guilty of membership of the MB, which is illegal in Egypt, but not in Ireland or other countries? That will be awkward.

Guilty of more minor offence of public disorder? We have loads of Irish people who get involved in that , we even had a drugs mule, and lads allegedly training FARC (allegedly)

I have heard several different accounts as to the place of his birth

If he was born in Ireland, and remember, the laws pre 2005, then the lad is legally as Irish as we all are. THERE ARE NO GROUNDS under Irish law to revoke citizenship on that ground.

If he is a naturalised Irish Citizen, then there are grounds to revoke, but, there are very important EU law cases on that point that can be problematic , especially taking into account how long a person can have resided in the country and if revocation might deprive him of EU citizenship, it has to be proportional . I am not saying EU would stop Ireland, but, they might have something to say about it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Hook is such a fool he starts off the show supporting railways and has now switched to attacking them with Graham. Trots out ****e like the majority of rail travellers are on Free passes - God help us what a tool. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Melodeon

He's off at the vaccines again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Effing Gobsh1te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭rustynutz

I have only recently started listening to George Hook after bouncing between todayfm and 2fm over the last ten years and I have to say I think he is very entertaining, he doesn't seem to get too bogged down in political correctness and comes as across like he couldnt give a fook what anyone thinks of him. He is definitly the best thing on the national airwaves in that time slot, fair enough, that wouldnt be too hard when you are up against Al porter and Tracey Clifford!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,191 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

George really going on a rant there. Throwing 'bull****' out there was something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭jooksavage

Only a few months ago the president of the IMO voiced concern over a serious drop in uptake of the HPV vaccine and went as far as citing ill-informed media as one of the reasons. Whether your like him or think he's an idiot, what Hook is doing here is highly irresponsible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭peneau

Has anyone pointed out to Hookie that in the daily intro to his show he proclaims his show doesn't "harp on about it" seems to me when or whatever torn in his arse on any given day, Georgie Boy has, that's precisely what he does do !

Who's the guy that's on now? He's from the Ayurveda clinic and I missed his name. Is he actually a doctor? Because the stuff he's on about sounds like a massive pile of new-age quackery.

--- EDIT---

Yup, he's a medical doctor.

Also, I think Hook cited again his displeasure at Varadkar's response to a question about Lyme disease that was put to him by one of the Healy Raes. In fairness to Varadkar, that's a tricky one for a doctor - there isn't a consensus among doctors that chronic lyme disease even exists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

His rants are getting wilder and more irresponsible. Time he gave it a rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Is George trying to tell us he never heard of The Jam or Paul Weller?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭bot43

That would be regular shtick for George alright, pretending not to know anything at all about pop culture.

I flicked in briefly but switched as soon as I realised it was him. I used be a big fan of his shows, but the more he turned into a caricature of himself the less I listened. Now I cannot bear his voice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭southstar

jooksavage wrote: »
    Only a few months ago the president of the IMO voiced concern over a serious drop in uptake of the HPV vaccine and went as far as citing ill-informed media as one of the reasons. Whether your like him or think he's an idiot, what Hook is doing here is highly irresponsible.

Hook doesn't give a crap...its all about him and his image as some form of 'Dirty Harry' of the airwaves.Given his self confessed aversion to the bath its probable correct in the literal sense.He was over the top today on this one all right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

bot43 wrote: »
    That would be regular shtick for George alright, pretending not to know anything at all about pop culture.

I flicked in briefly but switched as soon as I realised it was him. I used be a big fan of his shows, but the more he turned into a caricature of himself the less I listened. Now I cannot bear his voice.

You are not alone there. Now I am wondering which was the real George? I hope it was the Right Hook one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭delaad

Such as he have been labelled "emotional terrorists" on this issue in this mornings papers,... hence his hysteria.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,881 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Now I am wondering which was the real George.

Will the real not-so-slim Hookie please stand up, please stand up, please stand up!:P

delaad wrote: »
    Such as he have been labelled "emotional terrorists" on this issue in this mornings papers,... hence his hysteria.

As the father of a 9 week old baby girl, I wouldn't disagree with that term. The internet is already full of unsubstantiated, anecdotal scare-mongering - we don't need this stuff getting legitimized by non-medical pundits on mainstream radio.

The fact is that literally hundreds of millions of Gardasil administrations have demonstrated it to be as safe as other vaccines and it's expected to prevent millions of avoidable deaths in the coming years. Meanwhile, gombeens like Mattie McGrath are demanding the resignation of the head of the HSE because he called out baseless vaccine skepticism for what it is.

Will Ciara Kelly take Hook to task next time she's on? She's publicly dismissed the vaccine "debate" as "scaremongering" and she's available at the drop of hat for every media appointment. It would be a public service to shut down Hook's layman dithering about vaccinations once and for all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

sligojoek wrote: »
    Is George trying to tell us he never heard of The Jam or Paul Weller?

No no no, it's "Peter" Weller!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

Will Ciara Kelly take Hook to task next time she's on? She's publicly dismissed the vaccine "debate" as "scaremongering" and she's available at the drop of hat for every media appointment. It would be a public service to shut down Hook's layman dithering about vaccinations once and for all.

She ought to, but she won't. Much like she happily treats his sexism as a little nod and a wink joke, but then goes on like a proper feminist stalwart on Twitter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

She ought to, but she won't. Much like she happily treats his sexism as a little nod and a wink joke, but then goes on like a proper feminist stalwart on Twitter.

She pretty sexist herself as I recall a couple of weeks ago she said that she was getting "warm" during a discussion about George Clooney - ugh...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭i71jskz5xu42pb

No no no, it's "Peter" Weller!
    Easy get confused ...
    pink-panther-peter-sellers-inspecter-clouseau.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭southstar

Del.Monte wrote: »
    She pretty sexist herself as I recall a couple of weeks ago she said that she was getting "warm" during a discussion about George Clooney - ugh...

Think you're confusing sexist with horny....though makes a change from PC gone mad